Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Call (888) 651-9785

A lot is said about San Francisco, both by visitors and locals alike. Foreigners often dub it "the most European" city in America. W.H. Taft called it "the city that knows how," and Rudyard Kipling was known to have said "San ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 2851 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

FRANK B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Wow! about seven hours, worth every dollar and every minute. Don't miss this, we spent three days in SF, but this tour showed us triple what the other two days did...enjoy!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

David M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Really enjoyed this way of crossing the Golden Gate. Pace was relaxed.

Doing what: San Francisco Golden Gate Bridge Evening Bike Tour

Diane P R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We had a great time. I love San Francisco. The Hop on Hop off tour was excellant

Doing what: Big Bus San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

tmillanf

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Just for the Muni pass it pays for it self. Acuarium of the Bay is not that interesting. It's small. Exploratorium is fun. California Academy it's great! Blue and Gold cruise it's great too, just a bit bumpy and the turn around of the boat behind Golden Gate Bridge, was pretty scary! We felt it would turn over!

Doing what: San Francisco CityPass

djjc1

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

our guide was fun

Doing what: San Francisco Waterfront Segway Tour

David H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was well worth the money, the tour guide was very well informed. the tour bus itself was and attraction with people stopping and asking to get a picture of it where ever we went. The day started around 7am and finished at 4pm. keep this in mind as it is a full day but i would recommend it if you want to see all parts of the city. The trip to Alcatraz was brilliant we where never rushed giving us plenty of time to learn about the island as well as the prison. Overall i would rate this 10/10 and a must for anyone who comes to San Francisco.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

a u

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Wow Wow Wow, now this is what prisons should be like today!! Met with one of the book authors in the gift shop whilst on the rock and he had plenty of information to give. A busy trip and glad we had the first boat out in the morning before the crowds appeared at the rock! The rest of the day was very informative and lots of areas of the city were shown that other tours wouldn't have. Antonis the tour guide was native to SF and was informative about parts of the city that is not found in books, personal touch! Had a great day and would highly recommend this VIP trip above other Alcatraz tours when coming to SF:

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Nancy P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

From easy use of the transportation system to enjoying the many museum and special views of the area the Harbor Boat Ride, the City Pass provided access to some of SF most popular and unique sites. Good value if you are planning on really exploring the area!

Doing what: San Francisco CityPass

Chris P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Alcatraz tour is a must. The Segway tour was also great front.

Doing what: San Francisco Combo: Alcatraz and City Segway Tour

emintl

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Best way to see the city. Night tour and walking tours fun and informative.

Doing what: Big Bus San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

AKKURSRINIVASAN R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

OVER ALL VERY GOOD AND INFORMATIVE

Doing what: Big Bus San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Eugene R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Friendly staff and on time.I recommend Big Bus tours without hesitation

Doing what: Big Bus San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Steven R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The Segway tour was the highlight of the trip for my teenage kids and their parents. You can cover a lot of ground. There were four of us, and we had no one else in our group so we had a lot of control over the itinerary. Since we had been on Segway before just once, we did the advanced tour. Going down Lombard in a Segway was a blast. Melanie, our guide, was terrific. She knows a lot and was a lot of fun.

Part of the reason I booked the package was because I wanted the kids to visit Alcatraz, and it was sold out I only booked a few days before. We had a bit of a glitch exchanging our voucher for the tickets the tickets were in someone else's name - maybe we filled in for a cancellation. It got straightened out, but I'd advice getting to the pier early, just in case. The Alcatraz visit itself was interesting and well worth it.

Overall, I'd highly recommend the package.

Doing what: Alcatraz and Hills of San Francisco Segway Tour

Larry C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We really enjoyed our Alcatraz tour. Arturo was simply the BEST!!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

babe5448

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Great way to experience San Francisco. It was even more convenient for us because there was a Big Bus Hop-on-Hop-off bus stop right in front of our hotel.

Doing what: Big Bus San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Gamaufteam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Highly recommend this tour. We had a lot of useful information to make our experience very enjoyable. Love having a local tour guide that can show you best places to see and have a meal at. Special thanks to our guide Arturo.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Sherri C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Great tour! Great tour guide! Loved being the first into Alcatraz and avoiding the crowds!!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Nancy P

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Buses were on time, used them as frequent mode of transportation over 3 days to get to key spots and enjoy people and site watching from the top of the bus. Definitely plan to layer up with clothing, especially in rainy season. Plastic ponchos are provided but hats, gloves and warm outer clothing truly needed if you are sitting up top, even on a warmer day!!! Would be nice if the tour tapes were a bit varied in the content over a couple of days so that you might learn more about the city as you ride. So much to do at each of the stops that it is hard to take full advantage of all that is available. Appreciated being able to get out to various parks, Sausalito, The Bridge, and museums, as well as downtown spots!

Doing what: Big Bus San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

brian.marwood

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Very good trip around sf. Excellent host and well worth the money.

Doing what: San Francisco Urban Adventure and Alcatraz Tour

Jason P

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

A really good informative tour with a great, friendly guide.
The highlight of course is the early access to Alcatraz island, which is fantastic first thing, before the large crowds descend on this historic, atmospheric site.
As your guide will tell you, it's best to slowly walk up towards the prison as soon as you arrive on the island ignoring the introductory chat is the best idea so that you get to enjoy the prison and take a few photos, before too many others are there. Otherwise, enjoy exploring and make the most of the included audio guide with its interesting facts.
As feed back for the company that runs the tour, we were left by our guide, at the group booking office for the boat to Alcatraz, if he had com with us to make sure that everything was OK, we would have felt happier as it turns out there were ongoing problems with incorrect names being left with the group booking office and this was left with Alcatraz staff to sort out. Thankfully they were able to eventually get us on the first boat but it was frustrating to have paid quite a lot of money for the tour only for the highlight to be left in limbo till the last minute.
The photo opportunities that we were given afterwards were fantastic for the Golden Gate Bridge and the guide happily taking photos for the group before depositing us all back at Union Square to continue our San Francisco experience.
Recommended, but with a few small changes to the way it is administered.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

kinevsky

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Everything worked well and smooth. Only complaint was that for the same price someone is sitting in the front with the pilot and someone in the middle with a view obstructed by people's cameras. Can't you sell the tickets with a place, so that one knows what they are buying?

Doing what: San Francisco Helicopter and Alcatraz Tour

Joe

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

This was a very worthwhile tour. The guide gave us very useful information about the sights we passed by. If sightseeing is your primary motive, I highly recommend it. Forget about the buffet. They recycled leftover food from previous days and some of it was ghastly to even to look at.

Doing what: San Francisco Champagne Brunch Cruise

tounces106

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

One of the trips only had a driver. The others had guides that were good. I would have improved the tour by having the guide tell us what was beyond the various stops--places that you could get off and explore.

Doing what: Big Bus San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Rosemary S

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

Unfortunately it was raining and we had to sit on the bottom, which greatly hindered our view. It was also difficult to hear and understand the tour guide.

Doing what: Big Bus San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Catherine M

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

The staff and guides were great and had us all up and running within about 20 minutes. I think next time i would opt for the park tour as the traffic was so bad during parts of the tour we ended up spending a lot of time stuck in one place.

Doing what: San Francisco at Night: Segway Tour of North Beach, Chinatown and the Embarcadero

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message