Few city entrances are as grand as San Fran’s silvery Bay, and the often fog-draped 1937 Golden Gate Bridge is the waterway’s signature Art Deco crown. San Francisco’s pride and joy measures 12 miles (20km) across, 60 miles (95km) long and at points ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 2855 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Jon Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The bus driver was pretty funny, kept us entertained as he drove through Fisherman's Wharf, across the Golden Gate Bridge, and through Marin County on our way to Muir Woods. The forest was beautiful. Don't think I've ever found a more peaceful, awe-inspiring, spectacular place in my life. Only had an hour or so there, could have spent the entire day. We next went to Sausalito and then I took a ferry back to the city.

Highly recommend this trip! Great value!

Doing what: Muir Woods and Sausalito Tour plus Bay Cruise

Jessica C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Great time at Alcatraz, the twilight cruise was cold but if you sit inside first floor you can eat tons of appetizers and drink too. The views were great!

Doing what: Jail and Sail: Alcatraz Tour and Twilight Bay Cruise

alexander j

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Chablis was a really great driver/guide...Muir Woods, obviously are amazing, but he made that trip very special, with little stops here and there, so the people on the bus could make awesome pictures.

Doing what: Muir Woods and Sausalito Tour from San Francisco Including Optional Bay Cruise

TANIA M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Amazing experience with a great team!

Doing what: San Francisco Bay Sunset Catamaran Cruise

Carol B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Excellent trip on sailing catamaran! Staff was very accommodating and view of scenery at sunset was awesome! Would do it again and so romantic.

Doing what: San Francisco Bay Sunset Catamaran Cruise

Rob H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

well worth the money expecially if your only in san fran for a short time

Doing what: Jail and Sail: Alcatraz Tour and Twilight Bay Cruise

Subir C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Loved the bay cruise tour!

Doing what: Golden Gate Bay Cruise

Daveen USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We really enjoyed this tour, but we felt a little eerie touring inside Alcatraz. Alot of places to see on Alcatraz. Very interesting and informative. Loved the Bay Cruise, appetizers and drinks. Windy and cold outside, so we stayed indoors.

Doing what: Jail and Sail: Alcatraz Tour and Twilight Bay Cruise

Jean-Philippe M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Amazing tour, the guide was excellent!!

Doing what: Muir Woods and Sausalito Tour plus Bay Cruise

Fiona H New Zealand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Great couple of trips. A couple of hours at Alcatraz was only just long enough, but the evening tour of the Bay was fantastic

Doing what: Jail and Sail: Alcatraz Tour and Twilight Bay Cruise

David C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

It made for a great evening

Doing what: San Francisco Bay Twilight and Sunset Cruise

Frank H

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Overall great tour. Was a great way to relax after a long flight from Atlanta. Meal was served on the boat. The ride gives a good scenic night view of the Bay area. Good trip and worth the money.

Doing what: San Francisco Bay Twilight and Sunset Cruise

Prashanth M

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

The tour was really good but the rain played a spoil sport. The bus tour could not be enjoyed because of that. Bay cruise late afternoon was the best experience with bumpy ride near Golden Gate bridge : Alcatraz with the lights on was looking better than the daytime view. Also, downtown of SFO being lit with Bay bridge on the other side was a fantastic view. Pier 39 and Girardelli Chocolate factory was nicely lit. Except the first half of disappointment due to rain, rest of the day was very good : I am enjoying Girardelli dark chocolate back home : Thank you team.

Doing what: City and Sea Adventure: San Francisco Bay Cruise Including Hop-On Hop Off Tour

Steven R

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Great views, nice trip and good audio commentary. For smaller kids, I'd take a shorter tour, though.

Doing what: San Francisco Bridge-to-Bridge Cruise

TERESA T

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

This seems like it would be a perfect way to see a little bit of EVERYTHING in a comfortable, interesting way. However, the website does not inform that the last boat leaves at 2:45pm. The booking website for this tour only states that the boat leaves starting at 10am every 30 minutes. We arrived at 3pm too late to do the tour and the next tour is at 5:30pm and its a night tour, that includes drinks and appetizers. That didn't appeal to us. Our tickets are good for year. Hopefully we'll get back to San Francisco...

Doing what: Golden Gate Bay Cruise

Joe

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

This was a very worthwhile tour. The guide gave us very useful information about the sights we passed by. If sightseeing is your primary motive, I highly recommend it. Forget about the buffet. They recycled leftover food from previous days and some of it was ghastly to even to look at.

Doing what: San Francisco Champagne Brunch Cruise

Catherine M

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2017

I had booked this trip as it looked fantastic. A trip to Alcatraz of course and a trip across the bay to see the city and sites by boat, which looked awesome and was right up my street. However, the what you can expect details need to be clearer in relation to the timings for each of these trips.

Once I had booked the trip, confirmation details came through the following day, along with the timings for the two trips. The ferry to Alcatraz was in the morning - my ferry was at 9.45 am and the RIB boat trip was at 1.30 pm, allowing time to get up to Pier 39 ready in wet weather outfits before hand. This meant only a couple of hours to see Alcatraz, back on to the ferry to the mainland and then up to Pier 39 for the boat experience. This was a huge disappoint and as such I didn't make the boat trip in the afternoon.

More time needs to be allocated to take into account the island intro, walking up and then queueing for the audio guides and then experiencing the tour, seeing the island, heading back down and waiting for the next ferry back to the mainland. When alone, these timings would be very achievable and straight forward. This is so not the case as you are experiencing this with hundreds of other people and as such need to move with the flow of the people.

Had the RIP Boat trip been organised an hour or so later in the afternoon this then would have provided more breathing space to enjoy one tour before moving to the next. Poor planning by the tour operations I'm afraid. If you want to zip round the rock and head over to Pier 39 then it's possible but I'm afraid the balance of this was unfair, and as such disappointing.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco Bay RIB Boat Experience

Note from Viator: 

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We have received the following response from the operator of your tour:

Catherine, I am very sorry to see that you were not happy with the timing of the trip. In the past 3 years, I have not had any complaints but will take yours in to consideration for future planning of the cruises. I appreciate your feedback on this issue and still hope you had a wonderful time in San Francisco. Thank you Capt. Charles

oyime21

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2017

It was subpar, just okay in my opinion, could have been better!

Doing what: San Francisco Bay Twilight and Sunset Cruise

Treena C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

The crew was wonderful, the food was delicious, and the views were breathtaking. The boat had plenty of room for everyone to have a good view and to move around. And the musician did a nice job of telling us about the areas we were seeing. Sometimes these tours have guides that use strange humor but this was not like that-and we are thankful for that! Loved the whole experience.

Doing what: San Francisco Bay Twilight and Sunset Cruise

Teresa M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

The tour of the Muir woods was beautiful and majestic. It is hard to capture their height on pictures. We also enjoyed lunch by the water in Sausalito. It was a great day trip.

Doing what: Muir Woods and Sausalito Tour plus Bay Cruise

Jennifer S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

We loved the Alactraz portion of the tour. The audio guided tour is wonderful and extremely informational. The twilight bay cruise was very nice and a great way to see the city and the Golden Gate bridge up close at night.

Doing what: Jail and Sail: Alcatraz Tour and Twilight Bay Cruise

michael d

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Absolutely Wonderful way to tour Alcatraz and the Bay area.

Doing what: Jail and Sail: Alcatraz Tour and Twilight Bay Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message