Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Call (888) 651-9785

Perhaps you’ve heard, but San Francisco doesn’t have the most appealing summer months. There’s a Mark Twain quote of dubious authority, there’s the scientific explanation involving terms like ‘marine layer,’ but the simple truth of the matter is ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 13 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Monise H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The San Francisco trip was a memorable one filled with history Alcatraz, beauty Napa Valley and culture. I enjoyed all of the excursions. They made the trip worth every penny spent. I only wish I had bought more chocolate from Ghiradelli's to take back home. It was delicious! This city never sleeps. I'm glad we made this a stop on our summer vacation.

Doing what: San Francisco 3-for-1 Pass: Alcatraz, The San Francisco Dungeon and Madame Tussauds

Aldo C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

There wasn't much of a sunset, or even any sun, during our four day stay in San Francisco. I almost forgot it was summer. That being said, this cruise is so much fun. It's relaxing and the photo opportunities are endless. The views of the San Fran skyline, the Bay Bridge, Alcatraz Island, Tiburon and Sausalito, and the prize - the Golden Gate Bridge. The boat passes right under the bridge, at night, and the view is amazing. One drink is on the house, and the light food fare is pretty darn good! It was a nice spread, indeed. A bar is available for purchase of additional drinks. This was a wonderful experience for my wife and me. I would definitely recommend it.

Doing what: San Francisco Bay Twilight and Sunset Cruise

Rebecca L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Nice trip for the end of the day. They had good snacks, decent wine, and very important... For those of us unaccustomed to 'summer' in San Francisco...they had warm coats available for everyone quite necessary in August. Good value

Doing what: San Francisco Bay Sunset Catamaran Cruise

Susan B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Fantastic trip to San Francisco! Great job Viator. Exceptional service with booking with Viator. Never knew it could be so COLD in August. Make sure you bring more than a wind breaker. Locals said the real summer weather is in October. Bundle up just in case....it was freezing on the water at night.

Doing what: Jail and Sail: Alcatraz Tour and Twilight Bay Cruise

mark z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Excellent with very caring crew unfortunately the weather didn't cooperate was a little chilly and windy cold and rainy. A typical San Francisco summer day

Doing what: San Francisco Bay Sunset Catamaran Cruise

Robert H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This was so much fun! My wife, son and I took this tour for my wife's b-day. First of all, the tour lasts for a couple of hours so you really get your money's worth. At first, it's hard to listen to the guide because the Segways are so much fun but after about 15 minutes you really have the hang of it and you can also experience the tour as well as play on the Segway. Each unit has a remote ear piece so you can easily hear the tour guide. You get to see a lot of GG Park and even "off-road" a bit. I actually learned a lot of interesting facts about the park that I didn't know and I'm from the area. The Segways are a blast and you get plenty of time to ride, sometimes even at full speed, with no worries. But...it's gets cold in San francisco! Take a coat. I highly recommend this trip and plan on taking the Chinatown Night-time tour this summer.

Doing what: Golden Gate Park Segway Tour

Rebecca H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Our guide “Tree-Flower” welcomed us with a flower for our hair, and remained in character as a time-travelling hippie for the entire tour. Great acting job! The tour was both entertaining and educational. It not only covered Haight-Ashbury and the Summer of Love, but the broader background of the hippie movement in San Francisco and its context in history.

Doing what: Ride the Magic Bus: A 1960s-Era San Francisco Tour

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

Everything we expected. Absolutely fabulous going under the Golden Gate Bridge on a beautiful summer day in San Francisco. A fabulous event to commemorate our first wedding anniversary. Everyone from our shuttle bus drivers to our helicopter pilot was extremely knowledgeable, helpful and friendly. We definitely will do it again. Thanks!

Doing what: San Francisco Vista Grande Helicopter Tour

Sharron N

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

This was a very long, but interesting day. Our guide, Andy, was a fantastic source of history and information, and his genuine love for this area was infectious. Our snapshot of Yosemite, and the drive out of San Francisco gave us a teaser of that part of the world, but travelling in early May, I would have expected fewer people. Can only imagine what it gets like during summer.

Doing what: Yosemite National Park and Giant Sequoias Trip

Marilyn USA

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2013

The trip to Alcatraz was great. The Hop on-Hop Off was a good way to get around. However, the wait time was 30 minutes which seemed longer than most other similar tour organizers. (15-20 min). Two times we could not get on one of the buses as they did not have enough room. I can't imagine what it would be like in the summer. The guides had a fair amount of information to share to make it interesting. However, SF is compact enough for the three of us to have taken taxis perhaps more economically. San Francisco is a great place to visit and using this tour helped to orient us.

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Ticket and Alcatraz Tour

Scott F

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

Tour was worth doing. We hopped on off three times. Would like to see bus availability later in the day especially during summer. Also we were not happy with all the political comments. While San Francisco may be a liberal city, not all tourists are. Our bus host at one point went on a tirade about republicans that was so long he admitted to missing telling us about several sites we had passed but missed seeing.

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

powermetalmad

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2013

What must be said about this particular trip is DO NOT BOOK IN ADVANCE. The success of this trip is purely dependent on the weather in San Francisco on the day as the city is prone to fog, low cloud and mist which particularly during the summer months masks any sign of the sun. Our trip proved a total washout as we saw no sign on the sun or sunset whatsoever. The buffet on board was plentiful and we remained inside the vessel and were entertained by a solo musician.

Doing what: San Francisco Bay Twilight and Sunset Cruise

Peter E

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2013

We didn't go on the cruise as planned. We had the tickets and waited and waited and waited in the line in the freezing cold (we were rugged up but still really cold). Took any enthusiasm away - would have helped if they'd boarded us early - so we left and passed on our tickets to a young couple for them to enjoy instead. The cruise would be great to do at a different time of year when the weather is warmer and San Francisco isn't suffering from its summer fog.

Doing what: San Francisco Bay Twilight and Sunset Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message