So you're in San Francisco and you're looking to visit what the locals call “The Rock”. Anything you need to know? In short, yes. Aside from its extensive history as a military barracks, prison, and Native American political settlement, tours ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 2687 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

donlovee

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Awesome tour and truly enjoyed the whole day!!!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Raquel M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

recomendaria que el tour tambien pudiera ser en español. gracias

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Karen K B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Totally Awesome! Our bus guide was fantastic. Easy to book and we got to see more that we expected! Well worth it!

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

Renay J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was well worth the money spent. Alcatraz although a bit run down was fascinating to visit. The sunset cruise was fabulous and so relaxing. Wish we had more time to go to some of the places we saw from the sunset cruise.

Doing what: Jail and Sail: Alcatraz Tour and Sunset or Twilight Bay Cruise

Jimena M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

I hardly recomend to do the tour. it give you a view of everything you need to see in san francisco.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

susan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great visit to the island. Bring jacket as it cold there even in the summer months. Eat before you go as there is only water available and you cannot bring food. Loved the audio tour. Worth it!

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Ticket and Alcatraz Tour

Abdelsalam Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Sausilito and Muir Woods where marvelous ,the boat trip was a bad experience as the Boat was overloaded,we had to stand up all trip long and the boat didnt seem to be safe ,so old,rusty and not comfrtable.

Doing what: Alcatraz Tour plus Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Day Trip

Robert A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The guide was awesome on the Segway tour and allot of fun. One person in our group said it was one of the best tour experiences she ever had and would have to agree!

Doing what: Alcatraz and Hills of San Francisco Segway Tour

Patricia F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great excursion!! The Muir Woods was not familiar and turned out to be realy l enjoyable for three generations! The ride to it is even exceptional as curvy, narrow switchbacks for 5 miles with great views. The Sausalito was basically a great luncheon spot unless you moved really fast but all we needed. Had ask driver for idea and he pointed to a great little sandwich shop that would never have noticed with really good food to take across to the park and eat! Alcatraz was the jewel of the day! SO glad I had called ahead almost 4 months to insure an inside tour. Tickets are really hard to get but didn't know this before. Worth every penny and walking tour was well done with narration at different cells etc. by taped convicts, as what they did daily routines, which cell was their's etc. AND they have a tram to scale the 13 floor hike for us older folks!!! At beginning and end we were at our hotel. What more could we ask? There were 9 of us.

Doing what: Alcatraz Tour plus Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Day Trip

Corey S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This tour was excellent, from the Alcatraz audio tour to the Sunset Cruise on the Harbor. I would definitely recommend this as one of the number one combo tours SF. You won't be disappointed.

Doing what: Jail and Sail: Alcatraz Tour and Sunset or Twilight Bay Cruise

Fiona P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

A very informative tour and well worth the money. Loved it

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

Sharon D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Something to cross off my bucket list. I have always wanted to go to Alcatraz. I love things that have something historic about them. The narrator was very easy to understand. And the staff were helpful as well. Very interesting

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

Greg S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

GREAT TOUR ...... MUST DO IN SANFRANCISCO......

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

mjp4711

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Gray Line bus arrived at our Hotel on time. The tour of the city and bridge area was great, and the driver was very knowledgeable and entertaining.
The boat trip around Alcatraz and the bridge was also superb. The only negative was the 2+ hours to wait between the bus tour ending and the boat trip.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

Kelly H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Due to an error of judgement in getting a bus to Alcatraz landing, my husband and I missed our scheduled departure. I was devastated, but thankfully the kind staff explained that it wasn't an issue and we simply went into the standby queue and made it onto the next boat across to the island. The audio tour is an absolute must.
The twilight cruise was done on a very cloudy day, but it was still a great time and the food was better than anticipated!

Doing what: Jail and Sail: Alcatraz Tour and Sunset or Twilight Bay Cruise

Joguar3 United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The early access was the best way to go on this tour. Alcatraz self guided tour was very interesting and worthwhile. The crowds to visit are huge. You must have a reservation to be sure you can visit. The cable car tour was excellent. You will ride through all the neighborhoods and the commentary by the local guide Arturo was terrific. We stopped under the Golden Gate Bridge and at several other spots to see aspects not done by other tours. Only disappointment was the box lunch was not from the Boudin Bakery as expected. It was still good.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Charles

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The tour guide, Pete, was amazing. Great knowledge of San Fransisco and the various sites.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

David K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Keith and Erin did an excellent job as guide and driver.

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Ticket and Alcatraz Tour

rdowen

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

City tour driver was excellent and we learn't so much about San Francisco.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

Carol C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This tour combo was great and I would recommend it to anyone. If you are going to Alcatraz, which I thoroughly recommend, book it way in advance or else you might not get to go. We went to the Muir Woods and Sausalito in the morning, and then to Alcatraz in the afternoon. The walk to Pier 33 for the ferry to Alcatraz is a little bit of a walk from the drop off point of the first two adventures, so be prepared to walk a ways. But other than that everything was great. The audio tour at Alcatraz is a must.

Doing what: Alcatraz Tour plus Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Day Trip

Greg P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The GoCar tour was much much more fun then expected. The entire 2 hour tour went over many hot spots. We booked in the beginning of the trip to get an idea of all the landmarks in San Fran and which ones we'd like to come back to. It took us to some great scenic shots although there is not much time to stop if you plan on making it back in 2 hours and follow the entire GPS route. If you're like you may be charged more for each 15 minutes you run over. We stopped 3 times and took some pictures at the golden gate bridge, a beach, and another scenic stop and we were able to make it back exactly in time, 5 minutes over but we were not charged. Overall it was really fun and my girlfriend and I both enjoyed it.

Doing what: San Francisco Combo: Alcatraz and GPS-Guided GoCar Tour

Rosie V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was a great tour ,loved it!

Doing what: Alcatraz Tour plus Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Day Trip

Lee G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Excellent tour, well organised and very informative.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

Irene B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

it was great the office we went to in the morning to catch the bus was walking distance.Every thing worked out just fine.Thank You.

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Ticket and Alcatraz Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message