So you're in San Francisco and you're looking to visit what the locals call “The Rock”. Anything you need to know? In short, yes. Aside from its extensive history as a military barracks, prison, and Native American political settlement, tours ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 2706 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Tracy E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Really good. Guide very informative and helpful.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Vivian M Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

An excellent self guided tour of Alcatraz preceded by the tour of San Francisco with a tour guide/bus driver was a great way to spend a day in San Francisco and to see many of the sights and to learn about the history of the city as well.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

Alan F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The SF city tour was very good and informative.
Alcatraz tour was excellent as well.
Both are worth doing.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

johan h

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

great tour, small group, alcatraz when it is not crowded yet.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

jimandkelly

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our guide Arturo provided interesting and informative commentary as we drove around the sights of San Fran, bringing the neighbourhoods to life. There are many high points on the tour - the opportunity to experience Alcatraz before it gets really busy is brilliant as is the drive across Golden Gate Bridge. One word of warning - it can get very breezy on the Bridge so bring a jacket/coat/jumper.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Christoph M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Fantastic tour. We really enjoyed it. Special thanks to our guide Carlos, who made great photos from the tour. Best Segway-Tour we ever made. Don and #39;t think about the money. It is absolutely worth it.

Doing what: Alcatraz and Hills of San Francisco Segway Tour

djohn76

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

DO IT! It is well worth it. My wife and I enjoyed both of these tours immensely! To see the city before enjoying the sites, and seeing Alcatraz for the first time in person was just amazing. We were even able to meet and purchased a signed book of one of the last of the inmates that lived at Alcatraz and it too was worth reading for a far in-depth look at what is was like to be imprisoned in this place. San Francisco was one of most enjoyable trips we have experienced and we have been to many places. If you would like to see the city for what it is now and what is was like in the very beginning, take this tour. AND do Alcatraz. Its well worth it!!!

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

Lynne A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Alcatraz was fascinating and the trip went very well. We also had a bus tour of the San Francisco and that was fabulous. The driver took us all over and was quite entertaining and informative.

Doing what: San Francisco City and Alcatraz Tour with Optional Bay Cruise and Ferry to Sausalito

Susan C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was a very good tour. You just have to make sure you sit on the correct side of the boat/bus to get the best photos. Obviously in the USA that means on the right hand side, well worth the money!

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

Suzanne M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

What an awesome tour! From our collection point to the time we were dropped off, we were educated, entertained and enthralled. Our tour guide was amazing. If you haven't booked your Alcatraz tour before getting to San Fran, you may miss out. All tours were booked for 3 weeks in advance when we were there, so we were glad we'd booked in advance.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

richos114

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The tour was wonderful and the tour guide was terrific and gave us some great advice to make a day flow even better. Thank you very much.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Eleanor E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Brilliant day. Well organised. Really interesting.
Be aware that timings are flexible through the day. Our day finished quite late which was fine for us. Don't make early dinner reservations!!!
Highly recommend.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

Adam L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great value for money- we felt this was one of the highlights of our trip to San Francisco. Alcatraz was great and the sunset cruise was amazing! We'd had dinner but if you had a big lunch you could easily get away with having the appetizers as a dinner! Wonderful trip! :

Doing what: Jail and Sail: Alcatraz Tour and Sunset or Twilight Bay Cruise

Allen W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The trip was a great way to see Alcatraz, Sausalito and Muir Woods. Our bus driver was great, and he shared many interesting facts about the area. We were a little confused about the timing of the trip, so be sure to confirm ahead of time to understand when to pick up your tickets. There was not a lot of time to visit Sausalito if you wanted to eat lunch, but the ferry was a great alternative. All in all, we were very happy with our tour experience.

Doing what: Alcatraz Tour plus Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Day Trip

Miss LLP United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This is the only way to make the most of Alcatraz. It is definitely worth doing, and avoids most the crowds for a little while at least. We were picked up from Union Square just a block away from our hotel in the converted cable car bus. We then went on a little tour on the way to the Alcatraz departing pier. Our tour guide made sure we were confident in where we checked in and which boat to get back before leaving us to go to the island independently. After a short boat journey we walked up to the main cell block and got our audio tour equipment. It is worthwhile having the audio tour! It is not like cheap and nasty ones I've experienced in other places - its is really, really good. The narrators of the audio tour are former prison officers and former prisoners. When we arrived back at the pier in SF, our tour guide drove along the Embarcadero slightly and we stopped for lunch. After lunch, we then went to the Golden Gate bridge, all I can say about that is wow!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

debjohntaylor

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great tour, well organised and good timekeeping. Well worth the extra cost for the early-bird access to Alcatraz. When we were leaving there were several parties of school children arriving so we got to see everything at a leisurely pace and avoid the crowds. The audio tour of the prison is extremely informative and eye-opening. Great idea to do the sightseeing tour on a modified cable car. Good fun going over the Golden Gate Bridge. Very informative and helpful tour guide/driver who doubled as a photographer - no need for selfies, he was always there to suggest good photo shots. This is the perfect tour for seeing all the major sights and experiencing life on the rock .

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Susan B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Fantastic trip to San Francisco! Great job Viator. Exceptional service with booking with Viator. Never knew it could be so COLD in August. Make sure you bring more than a wind breaker. Locals said the real summer weather is in October. Bundle up just in case....it was freezing on the water at night.

Doing what: Jail and Sail: Alcatraz Tour and Sunset or Twilight Bay Cruise

Elizabeth M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The tour lead, Kevin was excellent.

Doing what: San Francisco Combo: Alcatraz and City Segway Tour

Caroline S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Fantastic tour! Booked this as we only had two full days in SF and wanted to include a much as possible. Our tour guide Aaron was brilliant, full of information and local knowledge. We saw so much on the tour, far more than we expected, yet it did not feel rushed because we had lots of stops. Showed us lots of places we would go back to for longer if we get the chance to return to SF. You have to exchange the voucher from bus company for Alcatraz tickets at the pier. We had a good few hours at Alcatraz and it was every bit as good as we had hoped. Highly recommend this tour and especially Aaron. Thank you.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

Rachael F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We had Doug as our tour guide who was excellent, very knowledgeable about everywhere we went and was a great example of a friendly Californian.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

Diana R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Excellent all round tour, audio tour in Alcatraz was very clear and easy to follow. Views to and from the island are magnificent. Another bright and sunny yet windy and chilly day in SF. Sunset cruise very good as well, foggy and chilly as usual, impressive views of the almighty Golden Gate Bridge, generous and delicious buffet food.

Doing what: Jail and Sail: Alcatraz Tour and Sunset or Twilight Bay Cruise

Robert D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Alcatraz tour was amazing, very educational and fun just to roam about. Need a little more time in Muir Woods so you dont have to rush. Sausalito was beautiful, good shopping and great food.

Doing what: Alcatraz Tour plus Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Day Trip

William Tanoto T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This is a San Francisco 101 in my opinion You'll get to see almost all the sights there is to see in San Francisco. The early access to Alcatraz meant that there isn't as many people on the island as there would be normally.

The stops made at Golden Gate Bridge, especially Fort Point and Vista Point gave us a breathtaking view of the bridge itself. The good weather definitely helps. Arturo our tour guide was very friendly, engaging without being too restrictive. Good fun!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message