Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Questions?

Call (888) 651-9785

So you're in San Francisco and you're looking to visit what the locals call “The Rock”. Anything you need to know? In short, yes. Aside from its extensive history as a military barracks, prison, and Native American political settlement, tours ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1647 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Gordon W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

The driver and tour director were awesome. He gave us come little know facts of San Francisco and Alcatraz. Getting to Alcatraz early, without the crowds, was amazing. We finished the tour of Alcatraz in plenty of time to enjoy the city tour after lunch. We went on the tour on Sunday morning which was great because there was very little traffic. I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Tess P Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

A great way to get around the city!!

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Ticket and Alcatraz Tour

Ronald G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Alcatraz, the audio tour is a must, it is terrific. The segway tour is the best trip I have done in my lifetime, I am 67 and my daughter and myself had a ball. The tour guide Kevin was great and was very knowledgeable about San Francisco. Three hours went way to quickly and I will definitely do it again.

Doing what: San Francisco Combo: Alcatraz and City Segway Tour

sai.teja

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

If this is your first time going to San Francisco, the going to Alcatraz is worth it. The City Segway tour was awesome, the guide was extremely helpful, and overall, it was a wonderful experience. Highly Recommend it!

Doing what: San Francisco Combo: Alcatraz and City Segway Tour

Graham D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Alcatraz is everything you want it to be and well worth going to. Enjoyed the trip and had a good guide.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

diannetrus

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

A must if you're visiting SF. Gives a different perspective of what prison life was really like on the Rock, before closing in 1963.

Doing what: Alcatraz Tour plus Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Day Trip

Donna G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Randy was our driver/tour guide for the day and he was awesome! He was pleasant, personable and funny. Full of interesting facts and trivia. He knew the best place to eat fish and chips in Sausalito, never mind the best guava sorbet I have ever eaten. Muir Woods was majestic. Alcatraz was unbelievable. Highly recommend this tour and especially Randy! Thanks again. I

Doing what: Alcatraz Tour plus Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Day Trip

DAFOOTE43

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

I found this trip very good , better then I had expected .

Doing what: Alcatraz Tour plus Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Day Trip

Mark P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

We enjoyed the daylight cruise to Alsatraz and chose to do our visit by just walking around by ourselves. The line picking up the audio tour was very long so we maximized our time in this way. It was still a moving experience. We enjoyed the trip back and walked over to the next Pier for the Twilight Cruise. Seeing the sunset as we passed through the Golden Gate then on the Bay Bridge after dark was very cool. A five star Cruise.

Doing what: Jail and Sail: Alcatraz Tour and Twilight Bay Cruise

FRANK B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Wow! about seven hours, worth every dollar and every minute. Don't miss this, we spent three days in SF, but this tour showed us triple what the other two days did...enjoy!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Jessica C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Great time at Alcatraz, the twilight cruise was cold but if you sit inside first floor you can eat tons of appetizers and drink too. The views were great!

Doing what: Jail and Sail: Alcatraz Tour and Twilight Bay Cruise

David H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was well worth the money, the tour guide was very well informed. the tour bus itself was and attraction with people stopping and asking to get a picture of it where ever we went. The day started around 7am and finished at 4pm. keep this in mind as it is a full day but i would recommend it if you want to see all parts of the city. The trip to Alcatraz was brilliant we where never rushed giving us plenty of time to learn about the island as well as the prison. Overall i would rate this 10/10 and a must for anyone who comes to San Francisco.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Carmelina V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was an amazing trip to take, the ferry across to Alcatraz was short and smooth, they explained all the things you could see ant when in the prison block you had audio to tell you the stories, it's great to understand and visualise what it was like when it was in use.
The hop on off bus was great also, it helps to get off and see different areas of San Francisco, the ride across Golden Gate Bridge was great, overall it's great to discover many things and it's history, suitable for educational for children.

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Ticket and Alcatraz Tour

Rob H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

well worth the money expecially if your only in san fran for a short time

Doing what: Jail and Sail: Alcatraz Tour and Twilight Bay Cruise

a u

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Wow Wow Wow, now this is what prisons should be like today!! Met with one of the book authors in the gift shop whilst on the rock and he had plenty of information to give. A busy trip and glad we had the first boat out in the morning before the crowds appeared at the rock! The rest of the day was very informative and lots of areas of the city were shown that other tours wouldn't have. Antonis the tour guide was native to SF and was informative about parts of the city that is not found in books, personal touch! Had a great day and would highly recommend this VIP trip above other Alcatraz tours when coming to SF:

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Chris P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Alcatraz tour is a must. The Segway tour was also great front.

Doing what: San Francisco Combo: Alcatraz and City Segway Tour

Ashley P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Amazing to hear and see the history, we learnt heaps. thoroughly recommend this trip!

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Ticket and Alcatraz Tour

Doug H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The boat tour around the island was nice.The Muir woods Grey line Bus tour and the driver Ray, were professional, informative and punctual. The Muir woods forest is chilli but stunningly beautiful, to me. Almost worth the price of the plane tickets alone. This forest is not so big that you have to be a top fit hiker, but big enough that you are in awe of these beautiful trees and thankful to those who took the time to preserve them. The smell is over the top mind clearing and refreshing. I would recommend this trip 100 percent.

Doing what: Alcatraz Tour plus Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Day Trip

Steven R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The Segway tour was the highlight of the trip for my teenage kids and their parents. You can cover a lot of ground. There were four of us, and we had no one else in our group so we had a lot of control over the itinerary. Since we had been on Segway before just once, we did the advanced tour. Going down Lombard in a Segway was a blast. Melanie, our guide, was terrific. She knows a lot and was a lot of fun.

Part of the reason I booked the package was because I wanted the kids to visit Alcatraz, and it was sold out I only booked a few days before. We had a bit of a glitch exchanging our voucher for the tickets the tickets were in someone else's name - maybe we filled in for a cancellation. It got straightened out, but I'd advice getting to the pier early, just in case. The Alcatraz visit itself was interesting and well worth it.

Overall, I'd highly recommend the package.

Doing what: Alcatraz and Hills of San Francisco Segway Tour

Larry C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We really enjoyed our Alcatraz tour. Arturo was simply the BEST!!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Gamaufteam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Highly recommend this tour. We had a lot of useful information to make our experience very enjoyable. Love having a local tour guide that can show you best places to see and have a meal at. Special thanks to our guide Arturo.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Sherri C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Great tour! Great tour guide! Loved being the first into Alcatraz and avoiding the crowds!!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

conor.d United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Great audio tour. Well organised trip.

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Ticket and Alcatraz Tour

Daveen USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We really enjoyed this tour, but we felt a little eerie touring inside Alcatraz. Alot of places to see on Alcatraz. Very interesting and informative. Loved the Bay Cruise, appetizers and drinks. Windy and cold outside, so we stayed indoors.

Doing what: Jail and Sail: Alcatraz Tour and Twilight Bay Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message