Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Call (888) 651-9785

So you're in San Francisco and you're looking to visit what the locals call “The Rock”. Anything you need to know? In short, yes. Aside from its extensive history as a military barracks, prison, and Native American political settlement, tours ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1607 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Diana C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

I recommend this tour for its convenience and the amazing sights. The bus drives right up to the entrance of Muir Woods which were amazing. A quick lunch stop in stunning Sausalito was wonderful. Visiting Alcatraz in the afternoon fulfilled a lifelong dream of seeing the prison.

Doing what: Alcatraz Tour plus Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Day Trip

Christopher D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

The excursion to Alcatraz was both eery and amazing. The Lady tour guide was friendly and knew her stuff. She took us to see many sights on the cable car incliding the house they filmed Mrs Doubtfire and basic instinct, would highly recommend the trip!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Vaheteiole

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Both tours were amazing. Bring jacket for sunset cruise - it gets cold and windy.

Doing what: Jail and Sail: Alcatraz Tour and Twilight Bay Cruise

ch_duffey

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

We were starting to feel disappointed in our visit to San Fransisco until we took this trip. Alcatraz was good but our trip was made to be exceptional by our Cable Car driver David. We would recommend the audio tour of Alcatraz but if you can you need to lag behind the main groups of people before you start the tape. Otherwise you do feel like a herd trying to view the same cell door.
The best part of the trip was back on the Cable Car. David was excellent host and coming from San Fransisco his inside knowledge and view of history made it feel like you were getting a VIP priveldged tour of the city. The Golden Gate Bridge, Booth Fort and the a tour through the posh housing district were really special.
We would highly recommend this and it's excellent value for money.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

GLENN P W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Had a great time! Loved the cable car bus! Arturo our tour guide was knowledgable, entertaining and certainly contributed to a great day!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Nicholas L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

A really great trip. Learned a lot and enjoyed the day despite having to think about what an ordeal a spell at Alcatraz must have been like for the prisoners and the guards too. Would say that a trip to Alcatraz when you visit San Francisco is a must

Doing what: Jail and Sail: Alcatraz Tour and Twilight Bay Cruise

JeffBarbara

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

We really enjoyed this tour of Alcatraz and also the cruise. Of course, we picked a time of year when it gets dark early, so we weren't able to see a whole lot, but it was enjoyable non-the-less.

Doing what: Jail and Sail: Alcatraz Tour and Twilight Bay Cruise

belles.fotos New Zealand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This tour was the best and I would thoroughly recommend!! Not only do you get to travel in a cable car with your group on wheels, you ride across the bridge and have a yummy lunch.
Tickets to Alcatraz are included and you arrive to go on the first boat trip of the day!! Afterwards the cable car driver takes you around the backend of San Fran for a fantastic tour showing you life of the Rich and Famous!! If you have limited time Buy This Tour!! You will not be disappointed.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Lea M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Great package. The Twillight Bay Cruise was perfect to end my trip to San Fransisco

Doing what: Jail and Sail: Alcatraz Tour and Twilight Bay Cruise

Tim G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Tour was amazing. Muir Woods is beauiful.
Alcatraz was better than I thought it would be.
Driver was great, very informative and funny.

Doing what: Alcatraz Tour plus Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Day Trip

Juan G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Excellent value for the price. My Japanese visitors truly enjoyed the experience.

Doing what: Jail and Sail: Alcatraz Tour and Twilight Bay Cruise

ROGER D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

I would highly recommend this tour, it was such a breathtaking experience that we will never forget in the Muir woods. Alcatraz is all you would expect and much more, it's is a real learning experience that should not be missed when your in San Francisco. We enjoyed lunch in Sausalito such an awesome little town with such a great vibe!

Doing what: Alcatraz Tour plus Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Day Trip

Gregorio

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

The tour is well organized and you have sufficient time to spent at each activity. The guide/bus driver has a lot of interesting stories about the sights.

Doing what: Alcatraz Tour plus Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Day Trip

Leonie W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This is a great way to get the San Francisco vibe. The Go Car is fun to drive and 'talks' you around the area you have chosen to see. We learnt lots about the area in a fun and interesting way, and saw sights we wouldn't have known about if we hadn't taken the tour. Do yourself a favour, and just do it.

Doing what: San Francisco Combo: Alcatraz and GPS-Guided GoCar Tour

James A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

We had the greatest time on our Viator tour. Our tour guide, Arturo, was fantastic. Our 4 kids loved the open air trolley/bus, the trip to Alcatraz was one of the highlights of our tour, and the trip across the Golden Gate Bridge was breathtaking. This tour was worth every penny and I would recommend it to everyone.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Herve M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Really enjoy the tour of Alcatraz and the GoCar was so fun . We had a great day

Doing what: San Francisco Combo: Alcatraz and GPS-Guided GoCar Tour

Tara W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

I would highly recommend this tour if you want to go to Alcatraz, you get the first boat out to Alcatraz so you really get to see the inside without too many people around. I loved the cable car around the city and our tour guide/driver was amazing!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Kim M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Had a great time. Our Trolley bus driver was a local -- new all the ways to get around traffic and save us time and had great stories to share. We really felt like we got to know the city. Would have liked an extra hour on Alcatraz -- felt like we kind of ran through it -- but also felt like we really got our money's worth.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Terrie B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

The staff was very knowledgeable about the sights. the tour was lovely and the snacks were great. If it wasn't raining all day, and it was not night time, it would have been perfect! The staff was not only knowledgeable, but they were a lot of fun, as well!

Doing what: Jail and Sail: Alcatraz Tour and Twilight Bay Cruise

Dianna B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

One stop shopping for any tour in San Francisco! HIghly recommend

Doing what: Jail and Sail: Alcatraz Tour and Twilight Bay Cruise

Joan H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Excellent,,,saw a lot of San Francisco and lots of information

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Ticket and Alcatraz Tour

carlandtraceybridge

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

A great visit to Alcatraz starting first with a visit to Muir Woods and Sausalito both of which are really beautiful. Alcatraz itself is still in marvellous condition and the audio tour really completes the picture. Very interesting tour and worth the money and time whilst in the lovely San Francisco Bay Area.

Doing what: Alcatraz Tour plus Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Day Trip

Annette P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Very good trip to Muir Woods. Driver was very informative. Took us to a great photo spot of Golden Gate Bridge before bringing us back to the city. Got us to the Alcatraz queue on time. The only slight annoyance was the need to phone 24 hours beforehand to confirm the booking which had already been confirmed and paid for beforehand. Also there was a lot of waiting around before the trip started.

Doing what: Alcatraz Tour plus Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Day Trip

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message