San Jose ATTRACTIONS See all

Arenal Volcano National Park

The most famous national park in Costa Rica, Arenal Volcano National Park protects the still sizzling Arenal Volcano, one of the world’s 10 most active volcanoes. The park also encompasses 16 reserves and an amazing dozen different ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 218 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Margaret C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This tour was really fantastic. The lunch after a few hour bus ride was very good they gave you a choice of several options. The town of Sarchi was interesting, as well as the world's largest ox cart. The Arenal volcano was cloudy at the top the day we were there, but you could still see the volcanic black lava on one side very clearly. The hot springs was absolutely terrific, they provide you with dry towels and a medium size locker. You can turn your towel in for a dry one as many times as you want. I left my towel in my locker. The shower area was very nice and clean, but they only provided body soap so I was glad that I brought some shampoo and conditioner from my hotel. The buffet dinner afterward was equally delightful. There was a large salad bar, a hot soup, several kinds of breads, a pasta station, grilled steak, chicken, vegetables, and a dessert buffet. If I went back to Costa Rica again, I would do this tour again. Definitely worth the money, but be advised, it is a long day.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Tabacón Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Patty

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

The hot springs was the highlight of the tour and the meal at the springs was wonderful. You could see some of the Volcano, but we did not spend much time viewing. It was partly cloudy also.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Naomi D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We had a great time with a nice guide.

Doing what: Hanging Bridges Walking Tour in Arenal

Derek S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Excellent. Trip.guide.and.driver.very.helpfull

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Morgan R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The day of our trip, was extremely clear! It was absolutely beautiful getting to see the volcano. Our tour guide was very educated about Costa Rica and all of the things we saw. I didn't just learn about the volcano I also learned about Costa Rican culture, animals, history, economy, and much more. The majority of the trip is spend in the car due to the long drive. But we made many different stops as well. We also spent 3 hours at the hot springs, which were beautiful.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

John O C

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Good trip although very long day. A 2 day trip with an overnight stay may have been a better option but was not feasible with my timetable. Costa Rica certainly does the eco tourism scene very well.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

John O C

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Good trip although very long day. 2 day with overnight stop may have been better option but not possible with my timetable. Costa Rica certainly does the eco tourism bit very well.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Vipil

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Good and refreshing. The travel guide was very helpful and took care of the entire group.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Tabacón Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Bart C

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Unfortunately, it was too cloudy/rainy to see the Arenal. Baldi Springs were excellent!
Very timely pick up, safe driving, nice guiding, delicious meals, no wildlife

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Anna C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The long distance created some time crunches. On the other hand, I appreciated the fact that there was a tour from the San Jose area to Arenal. Food at both lunch and dinner was delicious it was some of the best I've had in Costa Rica so far. Tour guide told funny jokes, which I enjoyed. The Baldi Hot Springs resort was one of the most posh places I've ever seen. Pretty fabulous.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

ROBERT S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

A long day but very worthwhile.. You do spend a long time on the coach and the way home is rather longer than is truly comfortable however it and #39;s a price worth paying for a great day out.

The views of the volcano were spectacular, both meals were more than passable and the hotsprings were amazing.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Ours

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We were lucky that we were able to see it, the hot springs were the best part!

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Tabacón Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Lindsay D

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

This was great day trip. We loved getting to see this area of Costa Rica. The majority of our fellow tourists were all Spanish speakers so the majority of the tour was conducted in Spanish even though we didn't speak much Spanish. Just be aware that you will be going with people from all over the world and they may be some language barriers. We went to Baldi hot springs resort which was fantastic with about 25 different pools and a great spa. We even had time to get a massage!

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Quinn B

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

The volcano is incredible but the Hot Springs is very touristy.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Nick K

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

Very long day with the traffic. Views were good, but the morning portion of the tour was rather dry.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Vincent R

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2016

Bus ride took forever. Tour included lunch and dinner buffet. But to be out from 7am to 11pm for 7 minutes at a elevated view of the volcano isn and #39;t worth it.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Tabacón Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

lynda s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Fantastic, Our Guide Daniel was very knowledgeable and a super fun guy to spend time with. Every attention to detail was taken and the food amazing. Great way to see Costa Rica when you only have 11 days. We highly commend Viator and will travel with them again. China here we come. G and L

Doing what: 11-Day Tour from San Jose: Monteverde Cloud Forest and Tortuguero, Arenal Volcano and Manuel Antonio National Parks

Haynes M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour is All about the Hot Springs and the Dinner Buffet at Tabacón ☆ the mini bus while well air-conditioned the seats could use a little more padding - Our tour guide Eugene and driver Roy were wonderful, informative and safe. This is a Must Do tour every time I am in Costa Rica

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Tabacón Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

zas07

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

The sites visited were fantastic on their own but any added fun depends on tour guides and tourist group. If you research individual prices and tranport for these places you will quickly realize this is the better deal. The schedule runs as described and yes it is a really long day! But so much fun!

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Tabacón Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Elsa Y

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

We had a great time on this tour! The guide, Chewy, had a lot of knowledge and his English was very good! we went to a lovely place for a wonderful view of the volcano. And the spa after was fantastic! The best and most relaxing part!

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Nelida M

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2016

No much information between one tour and other. Transportation terrible. hotel terrible not air condition, not TV, and Not Wireless. To much waiting time from activities to activities.

Doing what: 9-Day Best of Northwest Costa Rica from San Jose: Arenal Volcano National Park, Monteverde Cloud Forest and Guanacaste

Kelcie C

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2016

This trip was booked and PREPAID in April for a May tour. We reconfirmed by email before we left the states as well. The tour operator was an hour late and only when we called from our hotel front desk did they quickly rebook with another sub-tour company. The original local tour operator lied and said they had trouble with the tour van at a hotel. Apparently, the driver broke down and didn't bother to tell anybody that he left 4 people stranded with no tour. Real professional. The new tour operators had never done this tour before so basically shared nothing with us on a LONG 3 1/2 hour ride up and back. In fact, we get to the volcano and they show us the 2 entrances but we never get to go in or do the things we signed up for and listed in the tour description hanging bridge, volcano observatory, nature hike, etc.. They stopped ON THE SIDE OF THE HIGHWAY so we could get photos! So, when Viator says submit your photos of your trip, I had to laugh! Not only were we rushed through that part of the tour, we almost missed the lunch buffet at the hot springs resort that was included in the package. We got there with only a 1/2-hour to spare and all the food was cold or picked over. We did get to dip some toes into the hot springs, but the tour operators told us to hurry up because they wanted to get back before dark mind you, after the local tour operator had scrambled to get someone else to pick us up for this tour due to their lack of organization/professionalism. Awful waste of our time and money!

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs

Lei United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was an awesome day trip. The tour guide was very nice. The hot spring felt amazing. I would definitely do it again. Great stop to buy souvenirs. Please note: if you are scared to drive on winding roads at night take a sleeping pill on the way back. But do not miss out on this. Totally worth every penny. The drive is long but I really didn't mind.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Tabacón Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message