San Jose ATTRACTIONS See all

Arenal Volcano National Park

The most famous national park in Costa Rica, Arenal Volcano National Park protects the still sizzling Arenal Volcano, one of the world’s 10 most active volcanoes. The park also encompasses 16 reserves and an amazing dozen different ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 205 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Anna C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The long distance created some time crunches. On the other hand, I appreciated the fact that there was a tour from the San Jose area to Arenal. Food at both lunch and dinner was delicious it was some of the best I've had in Costa Rica so far. Tour guide told funny jokes, which I enjoyed. The Baldi Hot Springs resort was one of the most posh places I've ever seen. Pretty fabulous.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

ROBERT S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

A long day but very worthwhile.. You do spend a long time on the coach and the way home is rather longer than is truly comfortable however it and #39;s a price worth paying for a great day out.

The views of the volcano were spectacular, both meals were more than passable and the hotsprings were amazing.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Lindsay D

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

This was great day trip. We loved getting to see this area of Costa Rica. The majority of our fellow tourists were all Spanish speakers so the majority of the tour was conducted in Spanish even though we didn't speak much Spanish. Just be aware that you will be going with people from all over the world and they may be some language barriers. We went to Baldi hot springs resort which was fantastic with about 25 different pools and a great spa. We even had time to get a massage!

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Vincent R

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2016

Bus ride took forever. Tour included lunch and dinner buffet. But to be out from 7am to 11pm for 7 minutes at a elevated view of the volcano isn and #39;t worth it.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Tabacón Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

lynda s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Fantastic, Our Guide Daniel was very knowledgeable and a super fun guy to spend time with. Every attention to detail was taken and the food amazing. Great way to see Costa Rica when you only have 11 days. We highly commend Viator and will travel with them again. China here we come. G and L

Doing what: 11-Day Tour from San Jose: Monteverde Cloud Forest and Tortuguero, Arenal Volcano and Manuel Antonio National Parks

Haynes M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour is All about the Hot Springs and the Dinner Buffet at Tabacón ☆ the mini bus while well air-conditioned the seats could use a little more padding - Our tour guide Eugene and driver Roy were wonderful, informative and safe. This is a Must Do tour every time I am in Costa Rica

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Tabacón Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

zas07

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

The sites visited were fantastic on their own but any added fun depends on tour guides and tourist group. If you research individual prices and tranport for these places you will quickly realize this is the better deal. The schedule runs as described and yes it is a really long day! But so much fun!

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Tabacón Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Elsa Y

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

We had a great time on this tour! The guide, Chewy, had a lot of knowledge and his English was very good! we went to a lovely place for a wonderful view of the volcano. And the spa after was fantastic! The best and most relaxing part!

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Nelida M

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2016

No much information between one tour and other. Transportation terrible. hotel terrible not air condition, not TV, and Not Wireless. To much waiting time from activities to activities.

Doing what: 9-Day Best of Northwest Costa Rica from San Jose: Arenal Volcano National Park, Monteverde Cloud Forest and Guanacaste

Kelcie C

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2016

This trip was booked and PREPAID in April for a May tour. We reconfirmed by email before we left the states as well. The tour operator was an hour late and only when we called from our hotel front desk did they quickly rebook with another sub-tour company. The original local tour operator lied and said they had trouble with the tour van at a hotel. Apparently, the driver broke down and didn't bother to tell anybody that he left 4 people stranded with no tour. Real professional. The new tour operators had never done this tour before so basically shared nothing with us on a LONG 3 1/2 hour ride up and back. In fact, we get to the volcano and they show us the 2 entrances but we never get to go in or do the things we signed up for and listed in the tour description hanging bridge, volcano observatory, nature hike, etc.. They stopped ON THE SIDE OF THE HIGHWAY so we could get photos! So, when Viator says submit your photos of your trip, I had to laugh! Not only were we rushed through that part of the tour, we almost missed the lunch buffet at the hot springs resort that was included in the package. We got there with only a 1/2-hour to spare and all the food was cold or picked over. We did get to dip some toes into the hot springs, but the tour operators told us to hurry up because they wanted to get back before dark mind you, after the local tour operator had scrambled to get someone else to pick us up for this tour due to their lack of organization/professionalism. Awful waste of our time and money!

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs

Lei United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was an awesome day trip. The tour guide was very nice. The hot spring felt amazing. I would definitely do it again. Great stop to buy souvenirs. Please note: if you are scared to drive on winding roads at night take a sleeping pill on the way back. But do not miss out on this. Totally worth every penny. The drive is long but I really didn't mind.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Tabacón Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Ana C

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

The tour began with an early pick up at the hotel and then a pretty lengthy ride to the Arenal park area. We stopped at Sarchi at a coop and took some fun photos and purchased souveniers. Then we had lunch at La Fortuna. The guides shared information along the way. Lunch was pretty tasty! Then we went to the Arenal area. We lucked out that it was very visible. After that, we made our way to Tabacon, which was absolutely gorgeous. It was surreal to be in the hot springs when it started raining as it created this very cool steam. Dinner at Tabacon was above average. Then we headed back for into San Jose on a three hour ride. You spend a lot of time on the van. We enjoyed getting to know our fellow travelers on the way there and all napped on the way back. You should definitely pack a swimsuit. Towels and small lockers are included at Tabacon.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Tabacón Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Heather M

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Great tour, the guide was very knowledgeable and friendly

Doing what: Hanging Bridges Walking Tour in Arenal

Bernadine S

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

I would not recommend this tour from Jaco as the drive time is too long. We were able to see the volcano from the road but never got a good photo of it. The hot springs were relaxing and the lunch was good at the Baldi Hot Springs but we were there only for about two hours before starting our return trip. This would work best for those closer to this site.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs

Bernadine S

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

I would not recommend this tour from Jaco as the drive time is too long. We were able to see the volcano from the road but never got a good photo of it. The hot springs were relaxing and the lunch was good at the Baldi Hot Springs but we were there only for about two hours before starting our return trip. This would work best for those closer to this site.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs

Jeannie L W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was a fantastic tour and the guide Eugenio and the driver Edgar were a great team and took care of everything. It was a LONG day 12 hours, but a great price and a beautiful tour.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Syed H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The hot springs were like a natural water theme park. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

kmkilford

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was a brilliant tour from start to finish. It was well organised and the transfers all arrived on time apart from one which was an hour late. The hotels were all good, with the exception of the Arenal Paraiso which was amazing fantastic view of the Volcano. The hotel in Manuel Antonio Casitas Eclipse was a bit disappointing, but the restaurant over the road El Avion, more than made up for it. We saw a Sloth in a tree whilst we were eating our dinner. It came out of cover and started eating. Absolutely amazing.
I would recommend this trip to anyone. Only thing to bear in mind is that some of the transfers between places are quite long, but we met lots of lovely people on these transfers, where you can chat and compare experiences.
Well worth the money

Doing what: 11-Day Tour from San Jose: Monteverde Cloud Forest and Tortuguero, Arenal Volcano and Manuel Antonio National Parks

James S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

driver roy did a great job. Mad maxx was informative, funny, and a great example of a good coasta rican. they both deserve a pat on the back, and while doing that a raise, why not, too veterans doing what they love...

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Hosni A

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Pros:
Tour guide was a blast :
Tabacón is really great, I had one of the most relaxing experiences of my life, I did not wanted to return to San José!!!!
Food was good, we had a traditional casado meal on a local restaurant, included in the price.
Dinner at Tabacón, very nice and big buffet, with seafood, fish, salads, pasta, meat, really nice.

Cons:
We really did not stop for more than 20 minutes to see the volcano... which I wan't very happy with.
The seats on the van were extremely small and unconfortable.

It's a nice trip for the price, but don't expect to see much of the volcano.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Tabacón Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

dan b

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

good glad I did it great view of arenal

Doing what: Hanging Bridges Walking Tour in Arenal

Anastasia W

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Tour was great! It was a 15 hour tour and included expensive restaurant lunch/dinner and Guides are nice! Tips: bring breakfast (it and #39;s not included and they picked up at 7am before places are open). Bring extra water- it and #39;s ridiculous to buy! ($8-10 us for water and $13 us for deodorant) bring everything!

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Michael K USA

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

Tour was good. The view of the volcano was beautiful. The hot springs were interesting and fun. This part of the trip could have been an hour less. The road is rough and long so be prepared for a long day. Our tour guide was knowledgable but since we were in a smaller van without a microphone, he tended to speak and explain only to the people directly behind him. On the return trip the van had mechanical problems which caused it to have trouble going up hills and meant no ac. This added an hour to the already long return trip.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message