San Jose ATTRACTIONS See all

Arenal Volcano National Park

The most famous national park in Costa Rica, Arenal Volcano National Park protects the still sizzling Arenal Volcano, one of the world’s 10 most active volcanoes. The park also encompasses 16 reserves and an amazing dozen different ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 224 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

nishijgd

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

It was a really good tour. The drive is long or it ends up being the afternoon before you actually get to the Volcano since they try to fill the tour with other random stuff. Our tour guide was great and very proud of his country. The view of the volcano is a hit or a miss, if you don't see it like we didn't then it could be a waste. The lunch and hotsprings were great. We had originally paid for the baldi springs but after the tour guide's recommendation and other people on our tour, we paid the extra 10 to switch to the Tabocon hot springs. They are so worth it. Overall, it was a nice experience but the drive is long and try to enjoy the rest of the activities because the volcano part could be a disappointment.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Shauna B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This tour was so great! Between the food, the sights and the hot springs, you cannot go wrong. Please be prepared that weather is not necessarily cooperative and this is the rain forest, there may be rain and clouds. The clouds covered the volcano, but that has be a possibility to expect the guides have no control over this. The food was fantastic at both locations and I felt authentic to Costa Rica. I chose Tabacon over Baldi and other hot springs for the resort's reputation and I was not disappointed. Four hours at that paradise was more than amazing. Everything on the tour ran like a well-oiled machine. We got back later than I expected, but I didn't really care after relaxing in the hot springs, I just went right to bed at my hotel.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Tabacón Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

agasman6948

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Great tour. Great food. Gorgeous scenery

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Pamela G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

WORTH IT!
Hot springs are unique. Excellent for couples in love. You need to spend the night in tabacon.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

frances.marin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The tour to the Arenal Volcano was great. Our tour guide was Filander. He started our tour with a great amount of information of Costa Rica. He was very knowledgeable about different topics, and he spoke in Spanish and English all the time. We went to Sarchí, to Arenal and then to the hot springs.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Christina B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Jesus and Juan Carlos took great care of us on this day! We learn much about the country and had a great time enjoying the beautiful Hot Springs! The meals were also delicious. Another amazing day in Costa Rica!

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Tabacón Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Margaret C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This tour was really fantastic. The lunch after a few hour bus ride was very good they gave you a choice of several options. The town of Sarchi was interesting, as well as the world's largest ox cart. The Arenal volcano was cloudy at the top the day we were there, but you could still see the volcanic black lava on one side very clearly. The hot springs was absolutely terrific, they provide you with dry towels and a medium size locker. You can turn your towel in for a dry one as many times as you want. I left my towel in my locker. The shower area was very nice and clean, but they only provided body soap so I was glad that I brought some shampoo and conditioner from my hotel. The buffet dinner afterward was equally delightful. There was a large salad bar, a hot soup, several kinds of breads, a pasta station, grilled steak, chicken, vegetables, and a dessert buffet. If I went back to Costa Rica again, I would do this tour again. Definitely worth the money, but be advised, it is a long day.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Tabacón Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Patty

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

The hot springs was the highlight of the tour and the meal at the springs was wonderful. You could see some of the Volcano, but we did not spend much time viewing. It was partly cloudy also.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Naomi D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We had a great time with a nice guide.

Doing what: Hanging Bridges Walking Tour in Arenal

Derek S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Excellent. Trip.guide.and.driver.very.helpfull

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Morgan R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The day of our trip, was extremely clear! It was absolutely beautiful getting to see the volcano. Our tour guide was very educated about Costa Rica and all of the things we saw. I didn't just learn about the volcano I also learned about Costa Rican culture, animals, history, economy, and much more. The majority of the trip is spend in the car due to the long drive. But we made many different stops as well. We also spent 3 hours at the hot springs, which were beautiful.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

John O C

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Good trip although very long day. A 2 day trip with an overnight stay may have been a better option but was not feasible with my timetable. Costa Rica certainly does the eco tourism scene very well.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

John O C

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Good trip although very long day. 2 day with overnight stop may have been better option but not possible with my timetable. Costa Rica certainly does the eco tourism bit very well.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Vipil

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Good and refreshing. The travel guide was very helpful and took care of the entire group.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Tabacón Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Bart C

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Unfortunately, it was too cloudy/rainy to see the Arenal. Baldi Springs were excellent!
Very timely pick up, safe driving, nice guiding, delicious meals, no wildlife

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Anna C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The long distance created some time crunches. On the other hand, I appreciated the fact that there was a tour from the San Jose area to Arenal. Food at both lunch and dinner was delicious it was some of the best I've had in Costa Rica so far. Tour guide told funny jokes, which I enjoyed. The Baldi Hot Springs resort was one of the most posh places I've ever seen. Pretty fabulous.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

ROBERT S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

A long day but very worthwhile.. You do spend a long time on the coach and the way home is rather longer than is truly comfortable however it and #39;s a price worth paying for a great day out.

The views of the volcano were spectacular, both meals were more than passable and the hotsprings were amazing.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Ours

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We were lucky that we were able to see it, the hot springs were the best part!

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Tabacón Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Lindsay D

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

This was great day trip. We loved getting to see this area of Costa Rica. The majority of our fellow tourists were all Spanish speakers so the majority of the tour was conducted in Spanish even though we didn't speak much Spanish. Just be aware that you will be going with people from all over the world and they may be some language barriers. We went to Baldi hot springs resort which was fantastic with about 25 different pools and a great spa. We even had time to get a massage!

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Quinn B

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

The volcano is incredible but the Hot Springs is very touristy.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Nick K

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

Very long day with the traffic. Views were good, but the morning portion of the tour was rather dry.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Vincent R

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2016

Bus ride took forever. Tour included lunch and dinner buffet. But to be out from 7am to 11pm for 7 minutes at a elevated view of the volcano isn and #39;t worth it.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Tabacón Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

lynda s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Fantastic, Our Guide Daniel was very knowledgeable and a super fun guy to spend time with. Every attention to detail was taken and the food amazing. Great way to see Costa Rica when you only have 11 days. We highly commend Viator and will travel with them again. China here we come. G and L

Doing what: 11-Day Tour from San Jose: Monteverde Cloud Forest and Tortuguero, Arenal Volcano and Manuel Antonio National Parks

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message