San Jose ATTRACTIONS See all

Arenal Volcano National Park

The most famous national park in Costa Rica, Arenal Volcano National Park protects the still sizzling Arenal Volcano, one of the world’s 10 most active volcanoes. The park also encompasses 16 reserves and an amazing dozen different ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 246 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Iris Yolanda M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

One of the best tours we had, The guides were excellent and provided information on the ride and the location.
Very accommodating after i fell a few times. They took us to an alternate location where we were able to enjoy the biking and lunch.

Doing what: Single-Track Mountain Bike Tour in Arenal Volcano

Yi

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

This is a really wonderful trip. The places I visited are really interesting. It combined the Caribbean site, the middle, the Pacific side and the capital downtown of Costa Rica. The hotels are amazing with very nice view and excellent locations and services. The tour guides are professional.

Doing what: 11-Day Tour from San Jose: Monteverde Cloud Forest and Tortuguero, Arenal Volcano and Manuel Antonio National Parks

Delores Pifer United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

This was a very relaxing tour as we kayaked led by 3 guides that knew how to call and spot the birds to respond back to us. We kayaked quite a distance amongst the tall grasses that grow along the edges of Lake Arenal. It was morning so cool with nice breezes and very quiet on the lake. The lake is surrounded by many trees and foliage in a natural setting, in the area that we kayaked.

Doing what: Kayaking Tour on Lake Arenal

Mark O

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

Good tour, it and #39;s a long ride to the Volcano. We were lucky and the clouds lifted for a bit and we could see the summit. The hot springs were great with a wonderful buffet dinner. The windey mountain roads at night might not be a good experience for someone prone to motion sickness

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Baldi Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Neil H

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2017

This was an extremely uncomfortable trip. We were picked up from the hotel in some kind of Toyota van and told that this was to take us to meet the bus in San Jose, but all we did was drop off people for another tour. However this was the vehicle we stayed in for the whole trip. The headrest on the seat ahead was about a foot from my face. There was no lumbar support as the seats were so short. It was very claustrophobic. After an hour, Both me and my wife were in pain, mainly our behinds and back. After two hours my wife was car sick. This was the most uncomfortable ride of my life. Our guide was Spanish, and had learned a little English. He spoke over a terrible sound system in both languages. His accent was so strong, you couldn't tell when it was English. One just tried to 'tune out' after a short while as it was not understandable. The narrative just added to the discomfort. Lunch was welcome as we got to get out of the van. At our destination, we got a look at a volcano from a distance, during a break in the rain. Then we got left at man-made hot springs for four and a half hours. One hour would have been fine. The buffet supper was pretty poor, especially the meat dishes. Then the ride back, which was approx. three ours in the dark in the same van was excruciating. While the driver did open the window, the smell of exhaust gave me a headache to compliment the other pains. Overall I would recommend to people that if you really want to see a volcano from afar for a few minutes and spend most of the day at man made hot springs, take a tour with another company. It will take me long time to reconcile paying over 300 dollars for an unbelievably painful, wasted day in Costa Rica.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Baldi Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Berto

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

It's a long drive from San Jose all the way to Arenal area, but the trip was in a very comfortable bus, so it was all good and so worth every single dime we paid for. The view of the volcano is amazing, but definitely the hot springs at the resort it was a must!!!
It's totally awesome!!!!

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Tabacón Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Michelle W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The tour was terrific! Our tour guide was so informative, and kept us entertained all day long!

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Baldi Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Carol D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Great day Highly recommended. Dinner was exceptionally good.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Tabacón Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Mortoza A United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Excellent trip, I really enjoyed the tour. The guide Hugo was great. Lunch and dinner were outstanding.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Baldi Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Heather B

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Had a great time on this trip. The food was wonderful, the guides entertaining and knowledgeable, and hot springs gloriously relaxing. I might have enjoyed a bit more of a hike or something at the volcano, because it was just an overlook, which was pretty, but I'd expected to see into the crater or something like that. However, it IS an active volcano, so I can understand why that wasn't possible.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Baldi Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Eliane Q

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

The trip started at a stop on a large souvenir place where we bought coffee and other souvenirs,the prices were in the high end, what to expect is made for tourist, then we went to see Arenal,beautiful volcano, we went to an area what the called the Mirador, where you see the volcano from a distance , we can't get any closer, close enough for pictures and we can have a sense how big and magnificent it is. Love driving through the varies plantations, waterfalls and rivers, we end at Tabacon springs, very beautiful, nice hot water, and we had enough time to enjoy ourselves. They served a very nice dinner,buffet style,lots of choices. The bathrooms are large, showers with lockers and bathing suit drying machines.then it was a long drive back to hotel.The guide was knowledgable,organized and attentive to our needs.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Tabacón Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Lalani J

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Hot springs and active volcano is great! Tour guide's communication was not clear for me since his English has a strong Spanish accent and spoke very fast.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Baldi Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Archana N

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

A little disappointing as it was very cloudy that day but that's Mother Nature nobody's fault. We would have like to have done a short hike closer to the volcano. The hot springs were great they are built within a hotel resort which was somewhat disappointing we thought they might be in the open jungle. However a must do we felt so refreshed after and the facilities were very comfortable. The Buffett dinner was awesome at the resort. Well worth doing this trip.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Baldi Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Linda W

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

It was a wonder trip. We were a little tired when we got back to our hotel about 10:00 p.m. but it was well worth it. The transportation was a little rough. It almost felt like riding on a school bus, but the staff was great! Over all a nice trip.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Tabacón Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Ritu J

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

This was the tour I looked forward to the most but it didn't quite turn out to be what I expected. Our guide Max was phenomenal, kept everybody entertained throughout the long ride and was very good at keeping us on time. From San Jose it is a 3.5 hr drive to Arenal where you stop for 20 minutes at the viewing area to take some pictures of the majestic volcano. The views are great no doubt but basically this tour is just one long drive to the Baldi resort where you are left on your own. If you are not that into a water park and hot tubs then this is not for you. Me and my daughter got sick the day before this tour and didn't want to go into the hot tubs because basically that's what Baldi hot springs is all about. Its a beautifully landscaped resort with about 20 hot tubs and some water slides. Its beautiful but all man made and although we were told that the water is naturally heated from the volcano it just felt like any other water park. I wanted to either cancel it or cut it short so we can return after visiting the Arenal volcano but was told I will get zero refund. If I wanted to come back early then it was extra 70 per person. If you have little kids who enjoy water slides or if you just want to soak into hot water and have some drinks from the super expensive bar then you will enjoy it. But be careful the water can be super hot. Dinner was a huge spread but tasted just OK, it was big on quantity but not on quality

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Baldi Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

hvbendre

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

I would rate my experience of the trip as 3.5 stars
Sarchi stop was just a visit to a gift shop nothing else.
The Arenal volcano view was over rated. I did not feel there is much to see but a distant volcano mountain covered in clouds
We enjoyed the Baldi hot springs. That Hot spring experience was amazing with a buffet dinner at the hilltop restaurant to end the day.
The tour guide Max was very good with humorous narrations throughout the trip.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Baldi Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Betsy B

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

The bus ride took almost 3 hours, and then we spent about 10 minutes at the volcano before they us to get back on the bus. We weren't able to walk around any of the lake area. Apparently, it's normally very cloudy, so a very rare occasion to actually see the top of the volcano. With the clouds it looked more like a regular mountain that you can't get close to. The hot springs were fine, felt like a resort, but was nice to sit and relax for a bit. Guides were all very nice.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Baldi Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Donald C

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

Tour was good but delays on road construction and repairs added a couple of hours to the long day. Tour guide spent more time talking in Spanish than English and conversing with driver

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Baldi Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Kundan S

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2017

We couldn't see the volcano as it was cloudy and raining. Tour companies should not organize such trips at this time of the year when the dry season has not fully started. Baldi Hot springs was good but I was not in Costa Rica to enjoy man-made hot springs.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Baldi Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

nishijgd

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

It was a really good tour. The drive is long or it ends up being the afternoon before you actually get to the Volcano since they try to fill the tour with other random stuff. Our tour guide was great and very proud of his country. The view of the volcano is a hit or a miss, if you don't see it like we didn't then it could be a waste. The lunch and hotsprings were great. We had originally paid for the baldi springs but after the tour guide's recommendation and other people on our tour, we paid the extra 10 to switch to the Tabocon hot springs. They are so worth it. Overall, it was a nice experience but the drive is long and try to enjoy the rest of the activities because the volcano part could be a disappointment.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Baldi Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Anthony B

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

Great bus ride is long to get to volcano, but well worth trip. Hot springs best part of trip. Loved it.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Baldi Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

hamiltonch47

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2016

We day trip was good. I tried to contact the local tour operator with the information provided on the back of the tour receipt and neither the local phone number or email address were good.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Baldi Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

m.damsteegt

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2016

Great tour, Eugine was our guide and told a lot about Costa Rica, the different regions we crossed, the coffee, the coffee-process, animals and more. Unfortunately due to the weather we didn't get to see the Arenal Volcano. The Baldi Hot Springs were amazing, very lovely on a colder/rainy day, warming one-self up in the hot spings. Great tour, but a bit expensive for what was offered.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Baldi Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Shauna B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This tour was so great! Between the food, the sights and the hot springs, you cannot go wrong. Please be prepared that weather is not necessarily cooperative and this is the rain forest, there may be rain and clouds. The clouds covered the volcano, but that has be a possibility to expect the guides have no control over this. The food was fantastic at both locations and I felt authentic to Costa Rica. I chose Tabacon over Baldi and other hot springs for the resort's reputation and I was not disappointed. Four hours at that paradise was more than amazing. Everything on the tour ran like a well-oiled machine. We got back later than I expected, but I didn't really care after relaxing in the hot springs, I just went right to bed at my hotel.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Tabacón Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

agasman6948

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Great tour. Great food. Gorgeous scenery

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Baldi Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message