San Jose ATTRACTIONS See all

Braulio Carrillo National Park

The vast protected forest of Braulio Carrillo National Park may be divided by one of the nation’s busiest highways, but this just means easy access for travelers, as well as the possibility of picturesque views without ever having to leave the car.  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 93 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Brad C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Awesome Rainforest. Awesome Guide. Learnt a lot about Costa Rica.

Doing what: San Jose Tropical Rainforest Adventure including Chocolate Tasting

Brad C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Loved every minute of it. So much fun.

Doing what: Whitewater Rafting on the Pacuare River in Costa Rica

Mireille S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I love it, especially the chocolate making and lunch. The rainforest was an amazing experience.

Doing what: San Jose Tropical Rainforest Adventure including Chocolate Tasting

dtemp99

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was the best river we have ever rafted on. Our guide, Ray, was fantastic and he pointed out key points along the way. The trip is long and involves a great workout but well worth the money and time. When we return to Costa Rica in the future we will definately go down the Pacuare River again. It was the highlight of our trip!

Doing what: Whitewater Rafting on the Pacuare River in Costa Rica

Michael K USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

An outstanding tour. It included two nature walks, lunch, the aerial tram, and butterfly garden. Our tour guide, Fabian was very knowledgable and accommodating. A must do in all respects!

Doing what: Rainforest Adventure Atlantic Aerial Tram Tour

Valerie E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Loved our guide Jimmy!! Informative, happy, excited about teaching us so many things about the unique rainforest. Thank you Jimmy!!

Doing what: Rainforest Adventure Atlantic Aerial Tram Tour

Esteban J L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Great experience!!! Would do it again definitely

Doing what: Whitewater Rafting on the Pacuare River in Costa Rica

Valerie R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Thrilling ride! I can't wait to do it again! The tour guide was awesome.

Doing what: Whitewater Rafting on the Pacuare River in Costa Rica

viator

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Great staff! had a great time! I highly recommend this experience.

Doing what: Whitewater Rafting on the Pacuare River in Costa Rica

Marie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Great tour guide and great way to spend my first day of travelling alone. Couldn't recommend this tour highly enough.

Doing what: San Jose Tropical Rainforest Adventure including Chocolate Tasting

Jason Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

It was a great tour with great tour guides. Manuel was very knowledgeable throughout the trip and answered all of my questions. The hike through the rainforest was nice and walking over the suspension bridge was pretty cool as well. The guide that led the chocolate tour was great in introducing the history behind chocolate and we were able to taste it in many different forms, from the cocoa plant to an actual piece of chocolate.

Doing what: San Jose Tropical Rainforest Adventure including Chocolate Tasting

rrnlv

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

GREAT TOUR AND WE HAD A GREAT TOUR GUIDE.

Doing what: San Jose Tropical Rainforest Adventure including Chocolate Tasting

Rob F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

What a day!! We did this on day one of our holiday in Costa Rica .. and what a welcome it was!

So much fun! The river wasn't at it's highest when we went, but still an incredible experience. It was so good, we decided to go rafting again on another river. This was the better river by far.

Doing what: Whitewater Rafting on the Pacuare River in Costa Rica

Ekaterina B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was a very enjoyable and interesting tour. Our guide was knowledgeable and attentive the walk in the forest was great - we saw monkeys, toucans and a red frog and the chocolate tasting with explanations was great. Not only was it tasty, but we actually learned a lot about both ancient and modern chocolate production.

Doing what: San Jose Tropical Rainforest Adventure including Chocolate Tasting

Robert G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This was a wonderful trip. The guide on the bus gave us great information about what to expect and what to do on the river. He also gave us information about the country. Our guide on the river was very good he made the trip fun and exciting. I felt well taken care of the whole time. I have always wanted to do this and I am glad I did.

Doing what: Whitewater Rafting on the Pacuare River in Costa Rica

Valerie E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Highlight of our trip!! Wish we had done this one first, and booked all day trips with Viator.
Beautiful drive, knowledgeable guides, easy walking tour but truly through a rainforest! We ate in a small local place that was the best meal of the trip. Do this!

Doing what: San Jose Tropical Rainforest Adventure including Chocolate Tasting

spyridon v

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Going through the forests with a trained guide Mainor was nice. He was able to use his expertise to show me things that otherwise I would have not been able to do. The Chocolate teating was also excellent in that you got to learn the history behind chocolate and to actually see step by step the process of making cacao.

Doing what: San Jose Tropical Rainforest Adventure including Chocolate Tasting

Raquel C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

I loved it! I wanted to be in the middle of a rainforest, and that is where I found myself. I could easily do the hike, which was good because I had bruises on my left leg from another activity done elsewhere, so I couldn't have done a strenuous hike, and even managed to cross the suspension bridge despite a fear of heights! Manuel was a great guide and very knowledgeable, and my only regret is that we never did finish our last conversation because suddenly we were back in San Jose and the tour was done. The rainforest was quiet that day but I did see a sloth and three iguanas and many insects and a huge ceiba tree and lianas and walking palms...honestly just being there in the middle of the rainforest was wonderful! I also enjoyed the chocolate explanation and demonstration. Next time I'm in Costa Rica I will definitely use Viator when looking at tours - do you do anything else in the Caribbean region?

Doing what: San Jose Tropical Rainforest Adventure including Chocolate Tasting

CATHERINE H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was great! I would highly recommend it to anyone. I was picked up at my hotel and realized that since I was the only one to book it that day, it would be a private tour. We had an exciting drive through a beautiful rainforest, through pouring rain with many waterfalls falling off the hill sides, dodging landslides. It was a bit crazy, but I never fled unsafe. My guide was very knowledgable about the rainforest preserve, showing me frogs, millipedes, a snake, toucans, and a troop of howler monkeys. He obviously loves the rainforest and wants to share its beauty with others. The chocolate demonstration was very interesting and well done, and of course delicious. After a great lunch of typical Costa Rican food and a neat roadside restaurant, we had a much calmer drive back to the city with the rain gone. It was a day well spent!

Doing what: San Jose Tropical Rainforest Adventure including Chocolate Tasting

Jennied7331

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This is more like a private tour guide for us. We were transported in a SUV by Urban Adventures Tour Agent hosted by Eric Gomez to Caribbean side of CR. There were a lot of information regarding rainforest and cocoa tasting. The hanging bridge was awesome if you hold your breath and look down the river. Bullet ant is about an inch and half, don't touch them with your finger. They are poisonous insect. We had local food for lunch next to the forest and after that it was pouring. May- November is rainy season however we love tropical rain.

Doing what: San Jose Tropical Rainforest Adventure including Chocolate Tasting

Andrina O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

LOVED every minute of this tour! we started off the day with a 6:15am pickup at my hostel in san jose. then we drove an hour and half to the tour company's operations center for a good hearty breakfast. after that, we drove a little more to the pacuare river with class 3-4 rapids. my friend and i did this at the end of may, during rainy season so the rivers were full of water and super fast moving. apparently, the water levels were so high and fast that we finished the course in 2 hours, instead of the usual 4 hour it takes to traverse the course. after getting absolutely soaked and knocked down by massive rapids, we went back to the operations center, took a shower in their well-kept shower facilities and ate a delicious lunch. also, there's a photographer in a kayak taking pictures of all the participants on the course- my tip is to purchase the photo package with your raft members- it's around 10/person and they will send you a link to the pictures online where you can then download. this is my first time doing whitewater rafting- it was intense and an adrenaline-filled adventure and i would totally do it again in a heartbeat!

Doing what: Whitewater Rafting on the Pacuare River in Costa Rica

Mary M P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Excellent guides, food was great! Had the best time. This was my 2nd time with this company. Will do it again.

Doing what: Whitewater Rafting on the Pacuare River in Costa Rica

Karina S United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The chocolate tasting was nothing I expected but better. I was truly impressed with all the information they gave us. I got to taste chocolate from the very beginning the fruit to the last step of the process. Timbirina rainforest was also very impressive. If you are into hiking and seeing the forest, you should do this tour. I really want it to try one of Costa Rica hanging bridges and they have a very long and impressive one or maybe I am easily impresses. Our guide Eric was very nice and knew a lot about the area and San Jose in general. During lunch we got to try Costa Rica typical food, very delicious.

Doing what: San Jose Tropical Rainforest Adventure including Chocolate Tasting

Sam G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Fantastic trip. Didn't know exactly what to expect, but turned out it was 27km of some of the best rapids in the world. Beautiful scenery. Our guide Mathias was one of the most professional and reassuring guides I've ever met in any adventure sport. A must.

Doing what: Whitewater Rafting on the Pacuare River in Costa Rica

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message