San Jose ATTRACTIONS See all

National Museum

The National Museum, housed in the barracks of the Bellavista Fortress, has been proudly displaying indigenous and pre-Columbian artifacts, religious artwork and geological and archeological pieces linked to Costa Rica’s rich and colorful history ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 68 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Kara H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

My guide was excellent. San Jose is a beautiful city with so much history and heritage.

Doing what: San Jose City Sightseeing Tour

Haiyan L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Loved this tour ! Friendly small group very efficient and feels like a local strolling in town ! The lunch was perfect and the mask maker home visit is the highlight ! We got much more values that expected ! Thanks Urban adventures !

Doing what: San Jose Walking Tour including Central Market and Lunch

Kimberly B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was a great way to see the city! Our guide, Carlos was very knowledgeble and fun. The weather was great to visit the city. The lunch at a private home was lovely, although, the tour info said we were to dine in a historical Inn.

Doing what: San Jose Walking Tour including Central Market and Lunch

catherine M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We had a pleasant walking tour with Brenda. After showing us some of the landmarks of San Jose, we had a typical lunch. In the afternoon, we visited a local figure making masks in a traditional way. Brenda's boss drove us while we were supposed to be using public transport for the tour. This was our first contact with Costa Rica and Costa Ricans. The tour constitutes an excellent introduction to the country

Doing what: San Jose Walking Tour including Central Market and Lunch

Bridget S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We arrived in San Jose on 7th March and had pre-booked this trip for the next day. Our guide Carlos went out of his way to make sure that we really enjoyed the tour. His English was excellent. This Tour gave us a lovely flavor of the sights and sounds of the capital. We had been told by other people that San Jose is dirty and not worth looking around...We definitely did not find this to be true attall. We enjoyed looking around the Central Market stalls and spotting things that are not on sale in the UK in our markets. We saw several beautiful buildings, statues and monuments and Carlos told us a bit about their history as we walked around San Jose. We thought it was a great idea to get onto a local bus to transfer to the suburbs for lunch at a traditional Tico home. We also enjoyed meeting the patriarch of the family who had made traditional masks for festivals for many generations. This tour gives you a great flavour of San Jose with a lovely variety of experiences. We felt it was great value for money.

Doing what: San Jose Walking Tour including Central Market and Lunch

Ella F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Eric was an excellent tour guide! He cared deeply about giving us a good experience, and his knowledge about San Jose is very extensive. I'm glad we did this tour the day after we arrived in San Jose so we could get to know the city better and have more confidence exploring on our own. The tour was kept to 6 people, which made it easy to get around and ask more questions.

Doing what: San Jose Walking Tour including Central Market and Lunch

m S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Absolutely wonderful and informative daytrip! Our guide, Randall, could not have been better than he was. Both his English and knowledge of the area were impressive. Thank-you Randall for a terrific day,

Doing what: San Jose Walking Tour including Central Market and Lunch

Sam C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Our tour guide, Eric, did a great job showing us every day life in San Jose! He handled two couples with language differences with ease. He also handled a transportation return to our hotel by the airport issue for me and my wife at the end of the tour in a very professional manner. We would highly recommend this tour to future Viator customers!

Doing what: San Jose Walking Tour including Central Market and Lunch

Paul D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

very good

Doing what: San Jose City Sightseeing Tour

Mary P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

It was an excellent tour and our tour director was very interesting and informative. I would recommend this tour.

Doing what: San Jose City Sightseeing Tour

Jason H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: San Jose City Sightseeing Tour

Deborah L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Overall, I had a great experience with this tour. Our tour group was very small, which allowed us to ask lots of questions and get everywhere easily. We enjoyed learning cultural and historical details from our guide who was very helpful and nice. We ate lunch at a small local restaurant where we were the only non-locals. The value of the tour is very worthwhile for the cost. I definitely recommend it for anyone who wants to learn about the city and see a variety of places!

Doing what: San Jose Walking Tour including Central Market and Lunch

Paul W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The tour was great and so was the weather. The guide was knowledgeable and informative. We really enjoyed the trip to the artisan mask maker!

Doing what: San Jose Walking Tour including Central Market and Lunch

Melissa B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

I was the only one who showed up and my guide Eric was a wonderful tour guide! He had excellent knowledge of San Jose and I soaked up all the historical and cultural details and stories! He was very patient when had to translate for I have to say this one probably one of the more relaxed and fun days I've had in a long time!

Doing what: San Jose Walking Tour including Central Market and Lunch

Carol W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Great tour !!! Saw San Jose at it's best. Enjoyed seeing the celebration at the win of the soccer match. Happy people who enjoy a good party. Thank you San Jose for all your hospitality.

Doing what: San Jose City Sightseeing Tour

CarolynS

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Excellent tour! We had an informative walk through the city seeing markets, the Cathedral, government buildings and learned some information about Costa Rica. After the tour we were brought to an authentic restaurant for lunch. It was great to try local food with someone who knew what to order. The highlight of the day was to visit a mask maker. He had local teenagers show us how they danced in the costumes and our son got a chance to try one out too! - quite an unexpected experience! Thanks, Eric!

Doing what: San Jose Walking Tour including Central Market and Lunch

Rebecca W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Carlos was terrific. We enjoyed he walk and the sites. He was patient and fun to listen to.

Doing what: San Jose Walking Tour including Central Market and Lunch

William D USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

We had an absolute blast. Carlos, our guide, knew all about San Jose and Costa Rica in depth. He was also just plain fun. Very flexible tour. Highly recommend

Doing what: San Jose Walking Tour including Central Market and Lunch

Irina K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

An excellent tour around San Jose which offers a view on the city from both a tourist's and a local's perspective. The tour includes insights on Costa Rican history, philosophy of life, and is done in a very interactive and friendly way.

The highlights include walking through the city centre (read what the notes on graffiti actually say, many are quite witty!:)), visiting a local market (try to buy at least 1-2 pieces of each unknown fruit you meet, it's a great way to discover new tastes!), and visiting the festival mask maker.

This tour is an excellent way to see San Jose in its full beauty and to learn more about Costa Rican history and people. Highly recommended!

Doing what: San Jose Walking Tour including Central Market and Lunch

Sharon H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The guide was informative, entertaining and very knowledgeable. It was a very well organized tour and very enjoyable. I learned a lot of history and saw a beautiful theater, and was surprised by the many parks right downtown. Thank you for a perfect introduction to the urban area of Costa Rica.

Doing what: San Jose City Sightseeing Tour

Norma S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

This was a very good overview of San Jose for people that do not have a lot of time to explore the city in depth. Our guide was very proud of the culture and monuments of San Jose. We appreciated his knowledge and patience in answering our questions. This was a well paced pleasurable experience.

Doing what: San Jose City Sightseeing Tour

Mully

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Excellent tour, very informative and the guide was fantastic!

Doing what: San Jose City Sightseeing Tour

Britt B USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

Great introduction to the best sites of San Jose. Learning about the history, culture and architecture from a highly educated and friendly guide made for a great afternoon. I highly recommend the tour. A taste of the national drink at the end of the tour was a pleasant and welcomed surprise.
Britt B, Mountain View, California

Doing what: San Jose City Sightseeing Tour

Barbara D USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

We enjoyed the tour so much! We got to know the history of Costa Rica!

Doing what: San Jose City Sightseeing Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message