San Jose ATTRACTIONS See all

Orosi River Valley

The thick green forests, fertile coffee plantations and scenic mountains of the Orosi River Valley draw bird watchers, freshwater fishermen and nature lovers to the banks of the Reventazon River, as well as the pristine lake formed by the Cachi Dam. ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 42 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Jaime D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This whole day outing out of San Jose was a wonderful experience. It was just unfortunate that it was drizzling or raining for most of the entire day. We went to the top of Irazu and checked out the three craters then did the los Angeles cathedral at Cartago, the major pilgrimage site for Costa Ricans a great place if you're Catholic - and we were then the Lancaster botanical reserve, which was a pleasant diversion - although the much vaunted 1000 orchid varieties were nowhere to be seen since most of them weren't in bloom then to the old town of Orosi with its primitive very old church and finally, a very late buffet lunch beside the man-made lake. Food was quite good so no complaints there. And the whole trip was made pleasurable by the warmth, humor, enthusiasm, and bilingual dexterity of our wonderful tour guide Gaybin aka Jesus aka Chucho. Hard to imagine anyone else doing a better job than he did. Even while we had to stop on the way back because one of the passengers threw up all over the floor and he and the driver had to clean up, he never lost his affability. Great day with a great guide.

In talking with natives, they all thought this was a great tour they also recommended the Poas volcano tour with the oxcart town and coffee plantation. This will have to be for another day.

Doing what: Irazu Volcano, Orosi Valley and Lankester

Pavel V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Nice tour, the botanical gardens were a little disappointing, especially because it started raining.

Doing what: Irazu Volcano, Orosi Valley and Lankester

Kim W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our guide Mauricio was fantastic. The pace was perfect. He didn't hurry us along but we arrived back in a timely fashion and went the extra mile to show us things not mentioned in the brochure. For example an overview of the whole valley. We are currently taking a tour of the whole country which is very good, but I would rather have Mauricio as our guide. We choose this tour because it showed us things not on the whole country tour. I highly recommend this tour and this guide if you have a little extra time in San Jose.

Doing what: Irazu Volcano, Orosi Valley and Lankester

Arlene N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We had a wonderful guide by the name of Miza and it was the best day we had. It was fantastic

Doing what: Irazu Volcano, Orosi Valley and Lankester

Valerie R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Great tour! The guide was very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Irazu Volcano, Orosi Valley and Lankester

Jay83

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Excellent tour

Doing what: Irazu Volcano, Orosi Valley and Lankester

Ekaterina B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

The tour was very well organised. Our guide, Mario, was very friendly and knowledgeable and told us lots of interesting information. We were lucky with the weather, and Mario with David, our driver, made a couple of surprise stops on the route so that we could enjoy spectacular views, including of another volcano, Turrialba. The scenery was very beautiful throughout the tour, and even the lunch was in a restaurant located in a picturesque place and the lunch was very good too.

Doing what: Irazu Volcano, Orosi Valley and Lankester

Claire O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We went to the volcano early in the morning to avoid the rain. It was beautiful and our guide was very knowledgable. The ride to the Orosi Valley and through it was spectacular. The lunch spot was perfect: delicious food, lovely establishment, beautiful scenery. Our guide and driver were both very accommodating and kind. It was a beautiful day.

Doing what: Irazu Volcano, Orosi Valley and Lankester

phx_sunz United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Senor George was outstanding. He took very good care of all of us. He was very patient and knowledgeable and took great care to answer all in details. Thanks a lot for showing your beautiful country to us.

Doing what: Irazu Volcano, Orosi Valley and Lankester

Arlene Lynn A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

It was fantastic. Thoroughly enjoyed the stops, lunch, guide. Good driver as well.

Doing what: Irazu Volcano, Orosi Valley and Lankester

Z R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The tour was fabulous, the driver Christian and guide Enrique were both wonderful. Enrique especially was so friendly, fun, knowledgeable, accommodating, and kind he made the whole thing work! His knowledge of plants especially made the botanical gardens part of the tour perfect.

Doing what: Irazu Volcano, Orosi Valley and Lankester

Wesley D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Fantastic views

Doing what: Irazu Volcano, Orosi Valley and Lankester

Martha A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Great trip! Lankester Gardens was beautiful and our tour guide was very knowledgeable. Our lunch was very good in a perfect setting on a hill over looking a lake and garden. Everything about the day couldn't have been better.

Doing what: Irazu Volcano, Orosi Valley and Lankester

K T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Did not see much at volcano due to weather. The rest was great....absolutely beautiful at the gardens. Great lunch at beautiful restaurant.

Doing what: Irazu Volcano, Orosi Valley and Lankester

Enrique G Puerto Rico

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Very nice tour and the guide was excellent.

Doing what: Irazu Volcano, Orosi Valley and Lankester

Karen M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

The views at the volcano in the morning were fantastic. Who knew you could walk in volcanic craters? We couldn't see the lake in the bottom though so don't really expect the view shown. The Orosi Valley is full of gorgeous scenes - something wonderful around every curve in the road. Both churches we stopped at were awe inspiring both in beauty and age. THe lunch we had was absolutely fantastic and the view from the restaurant was marvelous. Really enjoyed being outside in the Lankester garden enjoying the outdoors and all the plants. THere was a lot of driving around and it often felt like we were driving in circles around the valley but it was a beautiful drive.

Doing what: Irazu Volcano, Orosi Valley and Lankester

Shemia S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Driver was very safe and knowledgeable, and our guide was great. He gave concise descriptions of what we were going to see, then gave us time to explore the sites on our own, all the while making sure he was available to answer questions if we had any. Lunch on a coffee plantation was tasty and the scenery was breathtaking. Lankester gardens was well worth the visit.

Doing what: Irazu Volcano, Orosi Valley and Lankester

Eshwar J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This was my first tour in Costa Rica. We were lucky that we went on a very sunny and clear day. We took some great pictures and walked in the crater of the volcano. It was very cold at Irazu. You definitely need a jacket.
We stopped at a beautiful restaurant by a man made lake. The food was great, the desert was great and the coffee was the best I have had in Costa Rica. I actually bought some to bring back home.
Our guide was great. he spoke both English and Spanish. This tour is worth its money with hotel pick up and lunch.

Doing what: Irazu Volcano, Orosi Valley and Lankester

miguel Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Miza our guide made this trip awesome, he kept us entertain while driving through scenic views. Orosi Valley picturesque, Irazu is like you are stepping in on a different planet.

Doing what: Irazu Volcano, Orosi Valley and Lankester

Debra R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Scenery on way up to volcano is stunning. Church was beautiful as were the Lankester Gardens. Miza is an excellent, very enthusiastic guide and a safe driver.

Doing what: Irazu Volcano, Orosi Valley and Lankester

Britt B USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

A great experience with a highly educated guide. The weather was perfect and the views spectacular. We were only three people on the tour, the van was comfortable and the lunch was very good. I never felt rushed and our guide was always there to answer any questions. We made several stops on the way, and there were many opportunities for photo shoots. A great tour and I highly recommend it.
Britt B

Doing what: Irazu Volcano, Orosi Valley and Lankester

Gautam M Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

Great trip. The ruins and church was good to see. The valley had a breathtaking view and the volcano was spectacular. Recommend taking a sweater or a light jacket.

Doing what: Irazu Volcano, Orosi Valley and Lankester

Barbara D USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

This tour was absolutely striking! The volcano was magnificent! Orosi Valley was charming! Lankester was fantastic! Gina, our tour guide, was so entertaining! We highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Irazu Volcano, Orosi Valley and Lankester

David M USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

The tour guide was very friendly and had a lot of knowlege about Costa Rica. I am going to use Viator for my future trips.

Doing what: Irazu Volcano, Orosi Valley and Lankester

Katherine O USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2010

This was one of our favorite days. The volcano has a lot less traffic than Poas and was, in my opinion, more beautiful. Plus we enjoyed the other items paired with Irazu. The Lankester garden is definitely worth it!

Doing what: Irazu Volcano, Orosi Valley and Lankester

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message