San Jose ATTRACTIONS See all

Poas Volcano National Park

There aren’t too many places in the world where you can almost touch the rim of an active volcano, but at Poas Volcano National Park you can get up close to the smoking crater. One of the world’s most accessible volcanoes, Poas Volcano is ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 94 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Alma V

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

Didn't see the volcano. frustrating, but it was a great tour.

Doing what: Combo Tour - Best of Costa Rica from San Jose

Ann B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great tour. We were only in San Jose for one full day so we thought we should maximize our time with a tour. I'm really glad we did. We were picked up at our hotel and had a great Tico style breakfast at the coffee plantation, followed by a tour. We were able to see the crater at the volcano and hike around for a bit, then off to the Peace Lodge to see the wildlife sanctuary. Beautiful! Had a nice buffet meal at the sanctuary and then back to our hotel. I recommend this tour for anyone who wants to see some of the natural wonders of Costa Rica when time is short.

Doing what: Combo Tour - Best of Costa Rica from San Jose

srul59 Israel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Very nice trip good guide .at volcano we did not see because of the fog

Doing what: Combo Tour - Best of Costa Rica from San Jose

Charles C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

What a fantastic tour. The bus picked us up and it fits around 20-30 people, so I was slightly worried at the size of the tour. But not for long. Mauricio was our guide and he was incredible. Very funny, charismatic guide. He made the bus ride, which is about an hour to the first stop, seem like nothing. He would often have our driver pull over for us to take pictures with the view.

Our first stop was the coffee plantation. As a coffee lover, it was very neat to see the plants, the facility, and hear the process the beans go through. The coffee was good, not great. We bought a few bags and brought them home - pretty reasonable prices. They served us breakfast here which I don't think was mentioned in the description of the tour - pleasant surprise.

Next was the volcano. It's neat, but can often be obscured by clouds rolling in. We were lucky enough to get to the volcano right before the clouds completely covered it. The clouds move quickly though, so be patient if you cannot see it right away.

After this, we headed to the waterfall/nature reserve. We first started by touring the nature reserve. Got to hold a bird, look at some monkeys, and walk through a snake exhibit. From there, we had lunch which was buffet style. Not the best food, but we were hungry. From there, we went to see the jungle cats. Finally, we toured the waterfalls. This was my favorite part. Gorgeous, gorgeous views. Be sure to take a camera along because you'll want to snap a ton of pictures. Be warned though, the hike up and down is a bit of a strenuous one!

Overall, this tour was amazing - can't recommend this one enough. It will take up most of your day, but is well worth it. We had an absolute blast and feel like we got to see a good amount of Costa Rica within just a day.

Doing what: Combo Tour - Best of Costa Rica from San Jose

Anthony D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The tour was awesome, they picked my up right outside the hotel I was staying at and as soon as everyone was picked up the tour guide got everyone in the spirit to be traveling about. We started at the Doka coffee farm had breakfast drank some of their best coffee and learned about how the plants produce, before eating some chocolate covered coffee beans. Even though it was rainy season we were able to see everything even the Poas volcano which can be hard to see later in the day. My favorite part was the hike through the water gardens at the end. It wasn't too strenuous and the views were amazing.

Doing what: Combo Tour - Best of Costa Rica from San Jose

lmchatmon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was our favorite tour while in Costa Rica. We visited Doka Coffee Estate and were fed breakfast, which was great. We toured the estate, tasted coffee, and saw where all the magic happens. Then we went to the Poas Volcano and it was awesome! It was foggy when we arrived, but maybe two minutes later the fog moved and we were able to get some great pictures. After that, we went to the La Paz Waterfall Gardens and ate lunch a-MAZ-ing, by the way- lots of variety. The views of the waterfalls were breathtaking and the tour of the wildlife and plants was awesome as well. Our tour guide, Chewy can't think of his real name, was outstanding! We wanted to keep him for our whole vacation. You must do this tour!

Doing what: Combo Tour - Best of Costa Rica from San Jose

Hector G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Tour was great!! Our tour guide was very knowledgeable about everything. Doka Coffee fields were very interesting, beautiful scenery while driving to poas volcano, which was the only disappointing thing, because we were not able to see the crater due to clouds. Only 30% of people get to see it!

Doing what: Combo Tour - Best of Costa Rica from San Jose

Robert L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

If you are in San Jose and have just limited time to get the flavor and soul of Costa Rica, this is the tour to take. From coffee, to the volcano edge, to the amazing walk though the La Paz Waterfall Garden/Peace House, this definitely worth the fee and time.

Doing what: Combo Tour - Best of Costa Rica from San Jose

DERRICK W

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

This trip allowed me to check off my list a visit to an active volcano. It was fantastic!!! I hope to visit Arenal hopefully via helicopter the next time I am in Costa Rica. I was not overly enthusiastic about visiting the colonial coffee plantation at first, but it turned about to be highly educational, fun and interesting. The food at Doka was absolutely delicious.

Doing what: Poas Volcano, Doka Coffee Estate and Sarchi Arts and Craft

Boyd

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

Our best our of the entire trip! The Poas volcano crater was spectacular. We originally thought our driver was driving a bit too fast, but we discovered that the volcano is in a cloud forest and often becomes invisible in the clouds by 11 am. We got there about 10:15 and had a perfect view of the crater. But within a half hour the clouds began moving in and by the time we left, the crater was almost obscured. Our driver was right to get us there on time. The coffee plantation was OK, but it was raining again and we didn't take the long walk through the fields. And at Sarchi, we stopped at a souvenir shop that was not the best in town according to other travellers who had been here before but we were not given enough time to look around to find others. So we did not really have a chance to shop in Sarchi, only to visit the guide's favorite souvenir place. This was disappointing to us and we did not buy anything in Sarchi, though we had intended to. The MOST annoying part of the trip was Eugenio, our guide, who kept referring to us as chico during the trip. We are seniors, we have never met this man before and never will again, and it was offensive and disrespectful to be called chico over and over again. He was probably just trying to be friendly, but he should KNOW that chico is NOT something that you EVER call your elders or those who are not intimate friends of yours. I mentioned this to him once during the tour, but he still called everyone chico. We will not travel with this particular company again.

Doing what: Poas Volcano, Doka Coffee Estate and Sarchi Arts and Craft

Deallia W

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

The tour was excellent. The only disappointment was we did no see the crater of the volcano because of heavy clouds. The tour guide Jorge was good. We had a very good day.

Doing what: Combo Tour - Best of Costa Rica from San Jose

Syed H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The whole experience was awesome but it could have been better if it wasn't raining at the volcano. We also meet so great people while on tour who we go to share our Costa Rican coffee with.

Doing what: Combo Tour - Best of Costa Rica from San Jose

kmkilford

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We saw the Poas Volcano crater with no clouds when we first arrived, but it very quickly clouded up, so timing is everything, We were lucky but the earlier you get to the crater the better.
Not many people can say they have stood on top of an active volcano, but it was fabulous. Also the Le Paz waterfall gardens were great. 5 big waterfalls at least by UK standards.
My wife and I had a great day.

Doing what: Combo Tour - Best of Costa Rica from San Jose

Meredith S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

I did three tours in Costa Rica, and this was my favorite! The weather was perfect, the food was good, and the scenery was gorgeous! I loved the diverse activities of the trip and would highly recommend it. Bring a jacket for the volcano portion.

Doing what: Combo Tour - Best of Costa Rica from San Jose

Ann V

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Enjoyed the tour very much - we were fortunate to have perfectly clear skies and beautiful weather! Terrific views of the volcano. Be prepared for many stairs at the waterfall gardens - wear comfortable shoes! A lovely setting. My only wish is that we had time to meander a bit more. I only had one day on a work related trip, so this tour provided the opportunity to squeeze in some exploration. Tour guide was attentive and friendly.

Doing what: Combo Tour - Best of Costa Rica from San Jose

Brittany M

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2016

The coffee at the estate wasn't that good, and I couldn't eat most of the things at their breakfast due to dietary restrictions. The volcano couldn't be seen because of fog though, this is not the fault of the tour, but after the disappointment at the coffee estate it further contributed to the dislike of the tour. The only good part of the tour was the La Paz Waterfall garden. However, since they had spent so much time at the other places, there was not enough time to thoroughly enjoy the Waterfall garden as you were bing rushed through. It would have been nice to be able to spend at least another two hours there.

Doing what: Combo Tour - Best of Costa Rica from San Jose

William F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

A must tour. We seen a variety of things such as the Coffee Plantation. That was so informative and beautiful. The breakfast was very good to and able to sample various coffee blends. The Poas volcano was awesome. The sanctuary was so beautiful and interesting. Take your camera because there are many great photo ops. The buffet lunch was very good. Our tour guide and driver were awesome. Highly recommend this tour as you will be able to see many things in a day.

Doing what: Combo Tour - Best of Costa Rica from San Jose

Neil F

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

The only thing keeping it from five stars was that the volcano was clouded in by the time we got there. From what I heard from locals, if we had stopped at the volcano before the coffee plantation, we had better chances of seeing it. That said, the tours were great, the food was good, and our tour guide Oliver was amazing.

Doing what: Combo Tour - Best of Costa Rica from San Jose

Zuriel R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Poas Volcano is beautiful! This tour is a MUST DO!!! The day was perfect! Then La Paz Waterfalls are amazing!

Doing what: Combo Tour - Best of Costa Rica from San Jose

Jay83

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Misty volcano, but beside all...excellent tour

Doing what: Combo Tour - Best of Costa Rica from San Jose

Catherine Eng C

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Three great attractions in one day trip: Doka coffee plantation tour with breakfast, Poas volcano, and La Paz Garden and waterfalls, lunch included Great value for the price. Tour descriptions says this is 8 hour tour, but should plan on 10-11 hrs from hotel pick up to hotel drop off.

Doing what: Combo Tour - Best of Costa Rica from San Jose

Juan T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

IWe covered a lot of nice places during the day. The waterfalls were impressive. I also enjoyed the coffee plantation and going to the mini zoo. The only thing to be aware of is that you might not see the volcano and the lake due to the weather. In our case it was too foggy, and we could not see anything, but still it was good to go.

Doing what: Combo Tour - Best of Costa Rica from San Jose

Joyce C

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Great way to spend a full day! The volcano was agreeable and we were able to get a break in the clouds to view the crater. There is a small but interesting museum at the visitor's center, along with a small café and the obligatory gift shop. Next stop was the Doha Coffee Estate where we started with a buffet lunch ok but not great and then proceeded to walk through the coffee process of getting from tree to cup. It was all very interesting and we were able to enjoy some samples before leaving for the final stop. Sarchi is a pretty little town with a history of woodworking. Our stop was at a workshop/store combination where after viewing the artisans at work, you had about 30 minutes to shop. Ordinarily this would not be my ideal way to shop - I prefer to stop at little shops that I can wander in and out of but since this is the rainy season in Costa Rica, it was nice to be able to go through a view variety of items in the comfort of one dry store. The guide Ricardo was excellent. He did a fine job in English and Spanish of explaining everything we saw and did and answering additional questions. The tour was through a local tour company and I would definitely recommend it.

Doing what: Poas Volcano, Doka Coffee Estate and Sarchi Arts and Craft

Rob F

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Really good tour. The guide was amazing at speaking both English and Spanish, and had incredible coffee knowledge!

The volcano was spectacular, as was the Waterfall gardens. The coffee estate had amazing coffee ... as you would expect!

Doing what: Combo Tour - Best of Costa Rica from San Jose

Tina A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

The best tour I did during my visit to Costa Rica. It was amazing being so close to this volcano and the entire tour had a lot of interesting elements, including the coffee tour which I enjoyed. Lunch was great and the variety of animals we saw were just fabulous and we had time to take photos which was very nice too. Highly recomended!

Doing what: Combo Tour - Best of Costa Rica from San Jose

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message