San Jose ATTRACTIONS See all

San Jose Central Market (Mercado Central)

The lively San Jose Central Market was founded in 1880. For free entertainment and a real taste of the local atmosphere, there’s no better place in the city! The market has more than 200 stalls, selling everything under the sun from souvenirs ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 71 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Kara H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

My guide was excellent. San Jose is a beautiful city with so much history and heritage.

Doing what: San Jose City Sightseeing Tour

Christina B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Jurgen and Cristopher were great guides and shared many insights into the Costa Rican lifestyle and history. The meal was probably the best of my five-day trip! This was a great overview of San Jose. As noted by another visitor, the name does need to change since the meal is no longer in Escazu.

Doing what: San Jose Evening Tour with Dinner in Escazú

Emily H

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

My husband and I were a bit surprised that it was just us on the tour, but that was probably because it was the down season. Out guide, Carolina, was knowledgeable and personable. She led us through the central market and a number of lovely parks. We learned a lot about Costa Rican history and culture. High points for me were learning about traditional medicine and superstitions and seeing the political murals. I was a bit disappointed that the dinner was at a fairly standard bar, but it seemed popular among the locals, so it was an authentic experience.

Doing what: San Jose Evening Tour with Dinner in Escazú

Darlene S

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

The name of the tour needs to change since it no longer includes a trip to Escazu. :- The tour however was a succinct way to get the feel and your bearings in San Jose. We did a lot of walking thru the town and to the restaurant... definitely a few miles. It was a beautiful evening and the group of 6 and the tour guide, Jurgen, had a delicious dinner and an enjoyable evening in the outdoor area of the restaurant. Since we didn't have to go all the way out to Escazu, the short Uber drive back to our hotels was much easier. Jurgen was knowledgeable and provided good background and history on the sites of San Jose.

Doing what: San Jose Evening Tour with Dinner in Escazú

Helen H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This is a must if you're only in San Jose for a day or two. Jurgen lead us around town, explaining the historical and cultural context. We went around food markets where we got to try some local fruit. Then we were taken a little further out for a very nice dinner. Not your typical tourist experience, but a great way to get a feel for San Jose if time is short.

Doing what: San Jose Evening Tour with Dinner in Escazú

Ours

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Carolina was amazing, she gave us the real San Jose experience.

Doing what: San Jose Evening Tour with Dinner in Escazú

Mireille S

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

I was hoping to taste more food , not just fruits. It was nice, but not worth doing again

Doing what: San Jose Walking Tour: Food, History and Architecture

Quinn B

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2016

So many things to see in Costa Rica...this one was not needed.

Doing what: San Jose City Sightseeing Tour

Edward D

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Tour was a good overview of the city. Disappointed that our guide conversed in Spanish most of the time with other tour members that were Hispanic. Also, the stop at the gift shop at the end of the tour to sell us trinkets was a bit tacky.

Doing what: San Jose City Sightseeing Tour

Irene L

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2016

Young lady led our tour. Food part was fantastic. She did a great job showing us the 3 markets and arranging samples of unknown fruits and a great cup of coffee. Her knowledge of statues, monuments and history was a work in progress. She needs to continue to learn and read all the guidebooks she can get her hands on, Very congenial and pleasant person to spend time with.

Doing what: San Jose Walking Tour: Food, History and Architecture

Alina N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

It was a great tour - Really shows you the old part of the city and you get to experience the Costa Rican way of life, smells and sounds from up close. Our guide was very knowledgeable about each part of the city. Dinner was a one of a kind gourmet three course meal and totally yummy!

Doing what: San Jose Evening Tour with Dinner in Escazú

Jayne E

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

I was fortunate to have Brenda all to myself on this tour. She is a lovely girl and was very happy to share her knowledge about the tour topics and also life in Costa Rica in general. It was more like walking around with an old friend and she fielded my dozens of questions with cheerful enthusiasm. We spent half the time in the market and half outside so if you are looking for a more all encompassing orientation tour, I would suggest a different tour. However it was a nice way to spend the morning, tasting the different fruits and foods I was unfamiliar with. I loved the place she took me for chorreador made coffee and plantains with cheese and spice so much that I had to go back on my last day!

Doing what: San Jose Walking Tour: Food, History and Architecture

Michael S

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2016

picked up the tour guide at some low rental area and than dropped her off downtown. the tourist were than left in the hands of the driver which we did not even know who he was. We were to be on an English speaking tour but six Hispanics were on the bus and the tour guide had to speak Spanish and at times we would pass the place of interest and than she would inform us in English, once we passed the sight.

Doing what: San Jose City Sightseeing Tour

Valerie R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

The guide was very knowledgeable! It was a fun tour.

Doing what: San Jose Walking Tour: Food, History and Architecture

Frank G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Great evening. Learned so much about San Jose and a wonderful dinner in Escazu. Thanks to Manuel and Eric. This is a great way to get a cool perspective of the city. Don't miss this tour.
Frank G.

Doing what: San Jose Evening Tour with Dinner in Escazú

Joel L

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

Very good City Tour. Informative, we got to see a lot and visited the National Theatre and the Gold Museum. Well worth the cost. The guide was great.

Doing what: San Jose City Sightseeing Tour

Zuriel R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

We did this tour on the same day we arrive to San Jose. What a great way to start our trip. The tour guy was very informative! Central market is amazing! We drink costarican coffee and the dinner was delicious. This tour is a MUSSSSTTT DOO!!! Our group was small and perfect!!! lol If I go back to Costa Rica I will definitely do this tour again!

Doing what: San Jose Evening Tour with Dinner in Escazú

Joshua C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Like other reviewers we had a tough time finding the meeting spot. This is because San Jose started using road names/numbers but the locals aren't used to it yet. Once we found the spot however the rest of the evening was great. We had 2 guides for 4 people because another group had to cancel, so we never felt like we had to jockey for time or keep up with just 1 person. We were able to see parts of the city that we never would have, such as the history of the post office, behind the scenes of the Central Market, and experiencing exotic fruit. We had a great coffee, local dinner, and out of the way bar. Each guide brought their own personality and views for living as a tico, and one of them even hung out with us after the tour. I would highly recommend this experience.

Doing what: San Jose Evening Tour with Dinner in Escazú

Ronald S M

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

Great tour of the Central Market and other sites. The public bus ride from San Jose to Escazu should be replaced with private transportation.

Doing what: San Jose Evening Tour with Dinner in Escazú

Liliana Q

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Excellent tour!! Our guide Erik was excellent, we have a really good time in San José and the food of the dinner was amazing!!

Doing what: San Jose Evening Tour with Dinner in Escazú

Jay B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Very good tour. Eric was extremely friendly and knowledgeable about San Jose. We didn and #39;t focus on the touristy side of the city but more of the and #34;secret and #34; history of San Jose. Highly recommend this tour. We will definitely book another tour on our next trip.

Doing what: San Jose Walking Tour: Food, History and Architecture

Rachael D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Eric is a wonderful and knowledgeable tour guide! We learned so much about Costa Rica from him. We enjoyed our delicious dinner, as well.
Thank you, Eric! Pura Vida!

Doing what: San Jose Evening Tour with Dinner in Escazú

Marina P

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

It was ok tour. I don't think they are very organized on where to go and what to show to tourists but overall at lest you get to see the museum and theater inside and it is nice to see it.

Doing what: San Jose City Sightseeing Tour

Thea S

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Our guide was very informative and friendly. We enjoyed the history of Jan Jose and the markets and museums.

Doing what: San Jose City Sightseeing Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message