The capital of Alajuela province, Sarchi is renowned for its arts and crafts, in particular its decorative oxcarts recalling the heyday of Costa Rica’s coffee industry. Lying almost 1,000 meters (3,280 feet) above sea level in the Cordillera ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 89 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Kathy H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Excellent outing! The itinerary, guide, and driver all were outstanding. Thanks!

Doing what: Poas Volcano, Doka Coffee Estate and Sarchi Arts and Craft

Lauren M United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

This tour was wonderful! We had a fantastic guide who was extremely knowledgeable, friendly, and somehow switched seamlessly between Spanish and perfect English. We had a lot of fun and would recommend this tour.
(Trip Nov 2016. I thought I sent a review in Nov but apparently it didn and #39;t go through)

Doing what: Doka Coffee Tour, Grecia and Sarchi Day Trip from San Jose

John P

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

Tour was great.. only problem ride was late and I had to call in to find out where it was and it cost me 15HST.

Doing what: Poas Volcano, Doka Coffee Estate and Sarchi Arts and Craft

Jason B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

I am writing this review quite a bit after we took this tour you will understand why at the end. I love coffee, and we heard good things about this tour, so we decided to go. The tour was extremely informative, with a history of the estate itself and how the coffee is raised and harvested. After the tour, we were given a chance to taste and buy some coffee from the estate. The premier coffee from the estate is Peaberry AA. I've had other really good Peaberrys from other parts of the world that I really did not like very much. With that in mind, I didn't really expect much from this coffee either. SURPRISE!! This is one of the best coffees I've ever had the pleasure of enjoying! We bought several bags to take home, and I enjoyed it all summer long. Unfortunately, I ran out at the beginning of the November, and I thought I would have to wait until next year. Then, by a fortunate turn of events, we were able to come down again in early December. I contacted the estate and asked if I could purchase coffee without buying a tour. They responded that not only could I buy coffee, they would deliver it to me at my hotel in San Jose' right after roasting was completed in the morning. I placed a large order, including bags for my friends whom I introduced to this coffee over the summer. Come 9 am on Saturday morning before we headed down to Domincal, Mario showed up with the delivery! He told us if we needed anything, or ran into any difficulties, we could call him on his cell phone and he'd be happy to give us hand. This is why we love coming to Costa Rica. The people are so friendly and helpful. Doka offers more than just Peaberry, they also offer a breakfast blend, french roast, italiano espresso roast, and decaf versions of everything. We brought one suitcase down just to make sure that we had enough room to bring all of our coffee home. see picture below

If you love coffee, take the tour and bring your wallet!

Doing what: Doka Coffee Tour, Grecia and Sarchi Day Trip from San Jose

Victor L

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2016

The tour is relatively uneventful. There's limited commentary throughout the excursion aside from the coffee plant, information was scant and limited. Not sure if this was the tour company or the destination that led to this relatively disappointing tour.

Doing what: Doka Coffee Tour, Grecia and Sarchi Day Trip from San Jose

Robert W

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2016

Long day with much of tour on bus. No one's fault, distance is distance. Coffee processing facility was interesting, but volcano was obscured by clouds.

Doing what: Poas Volcano, Doka Coffee Estate and Sarchi Arts and Craft

frances.marin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We went to Sarchí and Doka Plantation. In the coffee plantation, we had a delicious buffet lunch with natural juice, and we also tasted different types of coffee. In Doka, they showed us the entire process to make coffee. In Poas, you have to bring sweaters because sometimes is cold. It was great.

Doing what: Poas Volcano, Doka Coffee Estate and Sarchi Arts and Craft

Benedicte G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This trip was great, so many highlights in one day. Mario, our guide, was very knowledgable and always had interesting information to share about everything from plants and animals to history and local fun facts. The volcano was beautiful, and I recommend doing the trail back to the parking lot rather than walking back the same way. Visiting Doka was great and the lunch was very tasty. I also enjoyed driving through the country side and visiting Grecia and Sarchi. I can definitely recommend this day trip if you want to explore the areas around San Jose!

Doing what: Poas Volcano, Doka Coffee Estate and Sarchi Arts and Craft

Tatiana K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great trip. A lot of new information was provided.

Doing what: Poas Volcano, Doka Coffee Estate and Sarchi Arts and Craft

Donna L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Knowledgeable and friendly tour guides made the experience even more pleasant.

Doing what: Poas Volcano, Doka Coffee Estate and Sarchi Arts and Craft

Haiyan L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour is very interesting and you really got the chance to see the city as a local ! Plus the trip to the mask maker legend is just too wonderful ! I highly recommend it !

Doing what: Poas Volcano, Doka Coffee Estate and Sarchi Arts and Craft

lobna e

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

Everything was amazing except that I was dropped off at the airport instead of the hostel so I had to pay 5 dollars for a taxi. Even though it said when I booked that the drop off point is the same as the pick up.

Doing what: Doka Coffee Tour, Grecia and Sarchi Day Trip from San Jose

Michelle B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Yes I totally would recommend this trip! Loved the variety of places we went to!

Doing what: Poas Volcano, Doka Coffee Estate and Sarchi Arts and Craft

DERRICK W

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

This trip allowed me to check off my list a visit to an active volcano. It was fantastic!!! I hope to visit Arenal hopefully via helicopter the next time I am in Costa Rica. I was not overly enthusiastic about visiting the colonial coffee plantation at first, but it turned about to be highly educational, fun and interesting. The food at Doka was absolutely delicious.

Doing what: Poas Volcano, Doka Coffee Estate and Sarchi Arts and Craft

Boyd

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

Our best our of the entire trip! The Poas volcano crater was spectacular. We originally thought our driver was driving a bit too fast, but we discovered that the volcano is in a cloud forest and often becomes invisible in the clouds by 11 am. We got there about 10:15 and had a perfect view of the crater. But within a half hour the clouds began moving in and by the time we left, the crater was almost obscured. Our driver was right to get us there on time. The coffee plantation was OK, but it was raining again and we didn't take the long walk through the fields. And at Sarchi, we stopped at a souvenir shop that was not the best in town according to other travellers who had been here before but we were not given enough time to look around to find others. So we did not really have a chance to shop in Sarchi, only to visit the guide's favorite souvenir place. This was disappointing to us and we did not buy anything in Sarchi, though we had intended to. The MOST annoying part of the trip was Eugenio, our guide, who kept referring to us as chico during the trip. We are seniors, we have never met this man before and never will again, and it was offensive and disrespectful to be called chico over and over again. He was probably just trying to be friendly, but he should KNOW that chico is NOT something that you EVER call your elders or those who are not intimate friends of yours. I mentioned this to him once during the tour, but he still called everyone chico. We will not travel with this particular company again.

Doing what: Poas Volcano, Doka Coffee Estate and Sarchi Arts and Craft

Damir M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

I do recommend this to everyone who visits Costa Rica.

Doing what: Poas Volcano, Doka Coffee Estate and Sarchi Arts and Craft

Lisa A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

I give this a 5-star rating because our tour guide, Max was one of the best guides I've ever had. We learned so much from him and he was a delight to be around. In addition, we were lucky enough to catch the view of Poas which is not easy. Be aware that you may not get a view of Poas. It is the luck of the draw. The Doka estate was much more informative than I thought. It is literally the Robert Mondavi of coffee. And finally, the Sarchi Arts was fabulous! I like this part because this is where you really learned history and culture.

My only suggestion is if we could have made a couple more stops at the local stands after the Poas visited.

Doing what: Poas Volcano, Doka Coffee Estate and Sarchi Arts and Craft

Michael K USA

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Interesting tour and explanation of the coffee production. Grecia and Sarchi were short stops which was just right. A good tour for 1/2 day.

Doing what: Doka Coffee Tour, Grecia and Sarchi Day Trip from San Jose

peter s

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2016

There was about two hours wasted in a mini bus doing pick-ups and linking with the main tour bus
which was going the full day tour - Doka Coffee tour being only half day.
The Doka plantation was interesting to experience all the processes involved in coffee making.
Also the mountain scenery on way to Grecia was awesome. I thought Sarchi was a beautiful and
enjoyed the souvenir centre as many of the items on sale were good quality. Lunch was included
and the veranda setting overlooking the coffee plantation and the mountains beyond was a joy.

Doing what: Doka Coffee Tour, Grecia and Sarchi Day Trip from San Jose

Joan K

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2016

Very disappointing. First, our group was mixed native and English speakers which was quite annoying. The tour guide droned on and on and repeated himself non stop. We had to change tour buses, which was confusing. We were constantly late to our attractions, and got back to San Jose 2 1/2 hours late. Yes, there was some traffic, but mostly I blame the disorganized operation.

Doing what: Poas Volcano, Doka Coffee Estate and Sarchi Arts and Craft

Ella F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

This tour packs a lot of events into the allotted time. It was great to see so many different venues, and Alberto was a very entertaining tour guide! Our driver Guillermo was wonderful too. Lunch at Doka Coffee Estate was excellent. The number of people in the tour was kept to under a dozen, which made it a more personal experience.

Doing what: Poas Volcano, Doka Coffee Estate and Sarchi Arts and Craft

Colleen D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Our guide was so funny! And he knew so much!

Doing what: Poas Volcano, Doka Coffee Estate and Sarchi Arts and Craft

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message