Bustling big city or nature’s haven? Whichever way you see it, San Jose offers plenty of excitement for the first time and returning visitor alike. In fact, its obvious architecture of tall skyscrapers and expansive malls often overshadow its ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 691 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Ritu J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Awesome tour! Very enjoyable. The Doka Coffee farm was very interesting, so much fun to see the entire process of coffee making and to actually pluck and taste the beautiful red ripe coffee berries. Breakfast was delicious although basic. The drive to Poas volcano was scenic but unfortunately we couldn't see the crater. It was all covered in thick fog and despite waiting for 30 minutes as other mentioned it didn't clear up. We still enjoyed the short walk up to the viewing area. Lunch at La Paz lodge was also delicious. The grounds and all the observatories are fantastic. Waterfalls are spectacular, it is a bit of walk but everything is paved and didn't quite feel like a hike. We enjoyed all the beautiful views despite it being a rainy day, my only regret is that everything we saw at La Paz other than waterfalls had been set up. The animals were in cages it was like visiting a zoo, and the beautiful landscaping all along the private property had been designed to be there. It was all beautiful and native to the area but had been planted there.

Doing what: Costa Rica Day Trip from San Jose

Maria P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was a great experience! Everything about it was well run and fun. Recommend.

Doing what: Costa Rica Day Trip from San Jose

Heather B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This tour was the highlight of our trip! The guides were amazing, very knowledgeable and super fun. My 3 favorites on the ziplining were Mike, Fabien, and Bryan, but really they were all amazing. The gondola tour through the rainforest was exceptional.

Doing what: 6 in 1 Tour: Rainforest Adventures Costa Rica

Berto

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

It's a long drive from San Jose all the way to Arenal area, but the trip was in a very comfortable bus, so it was all good and so worth every single dime we paid for. The view of the volcano is amazing, but definitely the hot springs at the resort it was a must!!!
It's totally awesome!!!!

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Tabacón Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Iyvon E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

I had a blast on this tour. All tthe guides were great, fun and definitely had thee pura vida attitude that is warm and infectious. I had an awesome bilingual group of ladies and the hosts were great to accomodate both languages. Lunch was okay, but so needed before we went zip lining.

Highly recommended and worth the money! :

Doing what: 6 in 1 Tour: Rainforest Adventures Costa Rica

Ruth A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Wow what an incredible experience! The ride was 2 hours but with the live band and entertainment the two hours went fast. The tour provided breakfast, filling snacks and a very filling lunch with fresh fish and chicken. On the island we had had a wonderful time! We enjoyed stand up paddle boarding, snorkeling and also were able to lay out on the beach with fresh coconut water. What an amazing experience! I would recommend this tour to anyone interested in seeing the beauty of San Jose. Thank you for such a wonderful tour!

Doing what: Tortuga Island Cruise from San Jose

Jason B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This tour is an ALL DAY tour. We were picked up bright and early at 5:25 AM. After picking everyone else up, we headed out of town. About an hour into the trip we stopped for an excellent Costa Rican breakfast of Gallo Pinto, fruit, scrambled eggs, coffee and juice. Before we boarded the bus, our tour guide showed us all a pair of blue jeans tree frogs in the plants out in front of the restaurant. Everyone took pictures and we hit the road. Farther down the road our guide had the bus stop and we all got out to find that he had spotted an mother sloth and baby hanging out in a tree only about 5 feet up next to the road. Once again, we were able to get some really good pictures, and have a very close encounter with the pair We left them alone, just oooohed and aaaaaahed alot. Back on the bus and on to the boat ride to Tortuguero. We saw several different kinds of animals on the ride, the best being a small flock of green Macaws that flew overhead. Tortuguero was not what we expected, but it was a neat little town, definitely driven by tourism since the original industry, banana farming, is long gone. Back on the boat and up the canal a little farther to lunch at one of the resorts in the area. Lunch was buffet style with plenty of options, and all of them were tasty. After lunch we ran into a spider monkey in the trees outside the dining hall eating his lunch. Out came the cameras, and then it was time to load up on the boat and head back to the bus and the ride back to San Jose.

Our tour guide German pronounced Herman and bus driver were excellent. Providing lots of insight and history about the areas we drove through. We are planning on going back to stay for a few days some time in the future, but if you only have a day, I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Tortuguero National Park

Benjamin I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Excellent beer tasting tour with lots of great history along the way.

Doing what: San Jose Beer Tasting Tour

Susan F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

I booked this trip for my first day in Costa Rica before joining my weeklong tour. It was a great day and a wonderful introduction to the rich ecosystems of Costa Rica. Though it was too cloudy to see the crater of the volcano , the hike was nice. The coffee plantation tour and breakfast were very good. Coffee production is such an important part of the culture and economy. The La Paz butterfly gardens, nature preserve and waterfalls were the highlight of a very good day. Absolutely beautiful and very interesting. The food for both breakfast and lunch was good, the guide was good and fellow travelers were friendly. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Costa Rica Day Trip from San Jose

kedwards01 United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We really enjoyed this tour although it was a little difficult in meeting the guide. The food was very good and the guide was very informative with his commentary on the markets and the city of San Jose.

Doing what: San Jose Evening Tour with Dinner in Escazú

Michelle W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The tour was terrific! Our tour guide was so informative, and kept us entertained all day long!

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Baldi Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Heather B

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Had a great time on this trip. The food was wonderful, the guides entertaining and knowledgeable, and hot springs gloriously relaxing. I might have enjoyed a bit more of a hike or something at the volcano, because it was just an overlook, which was pretty, but I'd expected to see into the crater or something like that. However, it IS an active volcano, so I can understand why that wasn't possible.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Baldi Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Trichi

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Todo suuuper bonitooo!!...La pasamos mega bien :

Doing what: Tortuga Island Cruise from San Jose

Trichi

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Me gusto un montóonn! Y conocimos bastantes lugares. :

Doing what: Costa Rica Day Trip from San Jose

Eliane Q

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

The boat ride was great with live music and entertainment, the boat staff was great, very attentive, they served free fruit snacks, water and we got 3 tickets per person for free soda, everything else you paid, and off course it was overcharged.Once at Island, we were left to our own leisure unless you want to spend more money doing snorkel, banana boat and other activities. there was a volleyball court with net and ball, but no one coordinated games or encouraged the people to participate, then they served the typical lunch with fish, chicken, rice and beans, rice pudding for desert and free coffee, drinks, soda and water was included. So, is pretty much a boat ride with lunch included to a secluded Island, the beach area is very small, too many boats parked by and crossing too close to the swimmers and independent snorkels,the peace and quiet wasn't there for a secluded place.The sea area is very beautiful with many picture spots.I was hoping to see more animals at Island,but we didn't see anything.The picture above is misleading, it didn't look nothing like that.

Doing what: Tortuga Island Cruise from San Jose

Eliane Q

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

The trip started at a stop on a large souvenir place where we bought coffee and other souvenirs,the prices were in the high end, what to expect is made for tourist, then we went to see Arenal,beautiful volcano, we went to an area what the called the Mirador, where you see the volcano from a distance , we can't get any closer, close enough for pictures and we can have a sense how big and magnificent it is. Love driving through the varies plantations, waterfalls and rivers, we end at Tabacon springs, very beautiful, nice hot water, and we had enough time to enjoy ourselves. They served a very nice dinner,buffet style,lots of choices. The bathrooms are large, showers with lockers and bathing suit drying machines.then it was a long drive back to hotel.The guide was knowledgable,organized and attentive to our needs.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Tabacón Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Nigel Denney Switzerland

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

A good day trip out of San Jose, which took us to the Doka coffee estate, Volcan Poas and the La Paz Waterfall gardens with the loquacious guide Mario. The Doka coffee estate and the highland area were a pleasant contrast to the warmer humid environment of San José. Nice to eat some local strawberries! The estate itself was interesting as it is largely organic. Volcan Poas is worth seeing, particularly the crater lake, although minor volcanic activity meant it was grey rather than blue. The waterfall gardens have an extensive collection of animals, and while I am not so much a fan of animals in captivity, it was the only time I saw jaguars in Costa Rica. Unfortunately as it was raining it was hard to get good pictures of the waterfalls, although they were impressive nonetheless.
I would have liked a few more photo stops to take some pictures of the coffee plantations along the way.

Doing what: Costa Rica Day Trip from San Jose

Ritu J

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

This was the tour I looked forward to the most but it didn't quite turn out to be what I expected. Our guide Max was phenomenal, kept everybody entertained throughout the long ride and was very good at keeping us on time. From San Jose it is a 3.5 hr drive to Arenal where you stop for 20 minutes at the viewing area to take some pictures of the majestic volcano. The views are great no doubt but basically this tour is just one long drive to the Baldi resort where you are left on your own. If you are not that into a water park and hot tubs then this is not for you. Me and my daughter got sick the day before this tour and didn't want to go into the hot tubs because basically that's what Baldi hot springs is all about. Its a beautifully landscaped resort with about 20 hot tubs and some water slides. Its beautiful but all man made and although we were told that the water is naturally heated from the volcano it just felt like any other water park. I wanted to either cancel it or cut it short so we can return after visiting the Arenal volcano but was told I will get zero refund. If I wanted to come back early then it was extra 70 per person. If you have little kids who enjoy water slides or if you just want to soak into hot water and have some drinks from the super expensive bar then you will enjoy it. But be careful the water can be super hot. Dinner was a huge spread but tasted just OK, it was big on quantity but not on quality

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Baldi Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

hvbendre

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

I would rate my experience of the trip as 3.5 stars
Sarchi stop was just a visit to a gift shop nothing else.
The Arenal volcano view was over rated. I did not feel there is much to see but a distant volcano mountain covered in clouds
We enjoyed the Baldi hot springs. That Hot spring experience was amazing with a buffet dinner at the hilltop restaurant to end the day.
The tour guide Max was very good with humorous narrations throughout the trip.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Baldi Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Betsy B

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

The bus ride took almost 3 hours, and then we spent about 10 minutes at the volcano before they us to get back on the bus. We weren't able to walk around any of the lake area. Apparently, it's normally very cloudy, so a very rare occasion to actually see the top of the volcano. With the clouds it looked more like a regular mountain that you can't get close to. The hot springs were fine, felt like a resort, but was nice to sit and relax for a bit. Guides were all very nice.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Baldi Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Kundan S

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2017

We couldn't see the volcano as it was cloudy and raining. Tour companies should not organize such trips at this time of the year when the dry season has not fully started. Baldi Hot springs was good but I was not in Costa Rica to enjoy man-made hot springs.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Baldi Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Karen H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

WAterfalls were the highlight of. A very enjoyable day.

Doing what: Costa Rica Day Trip from San Jose

kedwards01 United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This was an amazing tour. I am very glad that we chose to do it. It gave us the opportunity to see more of Costa Rica and the national park. The guide was great and the lunch was amazing.

Doing what: Tortuguero National Park

Ashley L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

My family and I had a great time during this tour. The guides were incredibly knowledgable and the environment was breathtaking. This is definitely a great way to explore Costa Rica's wildlife and ecosystems. The zip lining course was the highlight of the tour, with beautiful views and a little bit of adrenaline. It doesn't hurt that the tour guides were so friendly and cute, lol.

Doing what: 6 in 1 Tour: Rainforest Adventures Costa Rica

nishijgd

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

It was a really good tour. The drive is long or it ends up being the afternoon before you actually get to the Volcano since they try to fill the tour with other random stuff. Our tour guide was great and very proud of his country. The view of the volcano is a hit or a miss, if you don't see it like we didn't then it could be a waste. The lunch and hotsprings were great. We had originally paid for the baldi springs but after the tour guide's recommendation and other people on our tour, we paid the extra 10 to switch to the Tabocon hot springs. They are so worth it. Overall, it was a nice experience but the drive is long and try to enjoy the rest of the activities because the volcano part could be a disappointment.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Baldi Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message