Bustling big city or nature’s haven? Whichever way you see it, San Jose offers plenty of excitement for the first time and returning visitor alike. In fact, its obvious architecture of tall skyscrapers and expansive malls often overshadow its ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 631 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Margaret C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This tour was really fantastic. The lunch after a few hour bus ride was very good they gave you a choice of several options. The town of Sarchi was interesting, as well as the world's largest ox cart. The Arenal volcano was cloudy at the top the day we were there, but you could still see the volcanic black lava on one side very clearly. The hot springs was absolutely terrific, they provide you with dry towels and a medium size locker. You can turn your towel in for a dry one as many times as you want. I left my towel in my locker. The shower area was very nice and clean, but they only provided body soap so I was glad that I brought some shampoo and conditioner from my hotel. The buffet dinner afterward was equally delightful. There was a large salad bar, a hot soup, several kinds of breads, a pasta station, grilled steak, chicken, vegetables, and a dessert buffet. If I went back to Costa Rica again, I would do this tour again. Definitely worth the money, but be advised, it is a long day.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Tabacón Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Dawn R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This tour was amazing! The guide was awesome!! He made sure that the whole tour was fully detailed in English and Spanish. The weather didn and #39;t want to cooperate, but despite that, totally worth it! They even stopped during our bus ride to show us a roadside sloth. So cool! Highly recommended!!

Doing what: Combo Tour - Best of Costa Rica from San Jose

Gavin J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great trip, the waterfalls were great even though it was raining throughout the visit. Lots to see to keep it interesting

Doing what: Combo Tour - Best of Costa Rica from San Jose

GREGORY F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The sights and sounds of the rain forest were fantastic and the vegetation and animals were well worth the trip. The Zip lining was a real treat for everyone brave enough to try it. Definitely recommended.

Doing what: 6 in 1 Tour: Rainforest Adventures Costa Rica

turner

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The tour is well described by the tour information and the comments from those who have taken it. It was a great tour, but if you visit during the nesting season for the turtles September-October you should stay for at least one night if possible. You don't get to see any turtles on the day trip. It was a fairly long trip form San Jose to the park, and of course the same going back. But it was worth it.

Doing what: Tortuguero National Park

Othman C

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Great value for the buck!

Doing what: Combo Tour - Best of Costa Rica from San Jose

Patty

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

The hot springs was the highlight of the tour and the meal at the springs was wonderful. You could see some of the Volcano, but we did not spend much time viewing. It was partly cloudy also.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Darlene S

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

The name of the tour needs to change since it no longer includes a trip to Escazu. :- The tour however was a succinct way to get the feel and your bearings in San Jose. We did a lot of walking thru the town and to the restaurant... definitely a few miles. It was a beautiful evening and the group of 6 and the tour guide, Jurgen, had a delicious dinner and an enjoyable evening in the outdoor area of the restaurant. Since we didn't have to go all the way out to Escazu, the short Uber drive back to our hotels was much easier. Jurgen was knowledgeable and provided good background and history on the sites of San Jose.

Doing what: San Jose Evening Tour with Dinner in Escazú

Derek S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Excellent. Trip.guide.and.driver.very.helpfull

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Morgan R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The day of our trip, was extremely clear! It was absolutely beautiful getting to see the volcano. Our tour guide was very educated about Costa Rica and all of the things we saw. I didn't just learn about the volcano I also learned about Costa Rican culture, animals, history, economy, and much more. The majority of the trip is spend in the car due to the long drive. But we made many different stops as well. We also spent 3 hours at the hot springs, which were beautiful.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Johnny W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

It was awesome. Had a great time. The guides were fantastic and really added to my experience.

Doing what: 6 in 1 Tour: Rainforest Adventures Costa Rica

Adolphus L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

In San Jose traffic it takes about an hour to get there. Our tour guide on the bus was excellent. Show beautifully done. Food was not outstanding, but very good for a buffet. The view was fantastic. Enjoyed every minute of it. At 70.00/person, it was a bargain. Food, drinks, a show,, fantastic view and round trip transportation with a very knowledgeable guide.

Doing what: San Jose Dinner, Live Music, and Traditional Dance

Patty

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

All I can say is wow, what a wonderful day, the weather for us was perfect, the ride to the island was very nice, small band on boat that kept you entertained. I do highly recommend this. they do have chairs and umbrella for rent if you need to get out of the sun. Water was wonderful and lunch provided was very good. I do highly recommend this trip to Tortuga Island.

Doing what: Tortuga Island Cruise from San Jose

John O C

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Good trip although very long day. A 2 day trip with an overnight stay may have been a better option but was not feasible with my timetable. Costa Rica certainly does the eco tourism scene very well.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

John O C

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Good trip although very long day. 2 day with overnight stop may have been better option but not possible with my timetable. Costa Rica certainly does the eco tourism bit very well.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Vipil

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Good and refreshing. The travel guide was very helpful and took care of the entire group.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Tabacón Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Patty

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

This was an awesome zip line. You will have to walk up a steep incline to get to the beginning.
The tram over the rainforest was ok, nice slow ride to top and back.
Lunch provided was very good. Butterfly and frog area are small, just enough there to see the different types. Nothing special. Our guide Jimmy was wonderful and knowledgeable about the area. Spoke pretty good English.

Doing what: 6 in 1 Tour: Rainforest Adventures Costa Rica

Tiffany A. B

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Well worth the money. Very Fun. Jorge, Carlos the van driver, and Chino tyne river boat captain were very professional and knowledgeable.

Doing what: San Jose Combo Tour: Horseback Riding and Sarapiquí River Boat Ride

Bart C

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Unfortunately, it was too cloudy/rainy to see the Arenal. Baldi Springs were excellent!
Very timely pick up, safe driving, nice guiding, delicious meals, no wildlife

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Alma V

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

Didn't see the volcano. frustrating, but it was a great tour.

Doing what: Combo Tour - Best of Costa Rica from San Jose

Bipin K

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2016

Save your time, money and do not take this trip especially with these folks. This is run by a tour operator and that will make it even worse. First of all, this is a day trip and turtle will never come out during the day. You must enter the park in the early morning to get the best out of it but because of these tour handlers greed you will reach there around noon and then all animals are gone. They always start late, and then will keep on loading their bus until it gets full by picking passengers from all over the town. Passengers will enter from front and their suitcases will enter from side windows to make it even more uncomfortable. Their whole purpose of conducting this tour is to sell you their night tour. In our case, they kept on selling us their night tour from the minute we boarded the bus. By the time the whole bus was full few of us wanted to go for it but did not have enough cash. But instead of focusing on their main goal of what we paid for in advance the park, they kept on taking us from ATM to ATM in the search of a machine that can accept these couple of passengers cards to take cash out. Over all journey is not so comfortable because half of the road is horrible but they will still drive very fast. You will see plenty of flora, banana plantation at 60 mile speed and almost none of fauna. I tried to tell the organizers how they can improve via email, but their response was, this is not a private tour and there is nothing guaranteed in the jungle. The only good thing in this whole trip was the smooth sailing close to water river cruise very much like being in the amazon and the meals. But no surprise, both of them were outsourced to local folks. So the question is, why should we take this tour when there are plenty of other options? My recommendation, go with someone else, stay overnight if possible to see the animals at their peak, and take a night tour with night goggles if you happen to be visiting the park during the turtle season.

Doing what: Tortuguero National Park

Ann B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great tour. We were only in San Jose for one full day so we thought we should maximize our time with a tour. I'm really glad we did. We were picked up at our hotel and had a great Tico style breakfast at the coffee plantation, followed by a tour. We were able to see the crater at the volcano and hike around for a bit, then off to the Peace Lodge to see the wildlife sanctuary. Beautiful! Had a nice buffet meal at the sanctuary and then back to our hotel. I recommend this tour for anyone who wants to see some of the natural wonders of Costa Rica when time is short.

Doing what: Combo Tour - Best of Costa Rica from San Jose

sharod d

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Tortuga Island Cruise from San Jose

Mireille S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I love it, especially the chocolate making and lunch. The rainforest was an amazing experience.

Doing what: San Jose Tropical Rainforest Adventure including Chocolate Tasting

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message