Bustling big city or nature’s haven? Whichever way you see it, San Jose offers plenty of excitement for the first time and returning visitor alike. In fact, its obvious architecture of tall skyscrapers and expansive malls often overshadow its ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 595 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Ann B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great tour. We were only in San Jose for one full day so we thought we should maximize our time with a tour. I'm really glad we did. We were picked up at our hotel and had a great Tico style breakfast at the coffee plantation, followed by a tour. We were able to see the crater at the volcano and hike around for a bit, then off to the Peace Lodge to see the wildlife sanctuary. Beautiful! Had a nice buffet meal at the sanctuary and then back to our hotel. I recommend this tour for anyone who wants to see some of the natural wonders of Costa Rica when time is short.

Doing what: Combo Tour - Best of Costa Rica from San Jose

sharod d

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Tortuga Island Cruise from San Jose

Mireille S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I love it, especially the chocolate making and lunch. The rainforest was an amazing experience.

Doing what: San Jose Tropical Rainforest Adventure including Chocolate Tasting

Anna C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The long distance created some time crunches. On the other hand, I appreciated the fact that there was a tour from the San Jose area to Arenal. Food at both lunch and dinner was delicious it was some of the best I've had in Costa Rica so far. Tour guide told funny jokes, which I enjoyed. The Baldi Hot Springs resort was one of the most posh places I've ever seen. Pretty fabulous.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

ROBERT S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

A long day but very worthwhile.. You do spend a long time on the coach and the way home is rather longer than is truly comfortable however it and #39;s a price worth paying for a great day out.

The views of the volcano were spectacular, both meals were more than passable and the hotsprings were amazing.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Kim G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Combo Tour - Best of Costa Rica from San Jose

RahuR

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Really amazing trip.. Very informative n fun.. Both guide n driver were awsumm

Doing what: Combo Tour - Best of Costa Rica from San Jose

Haiyan L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Loved this tour ! Friendly small group very efficient and feels like a local strolling in town ! The lunch was perfect and the mask maker home visit is the highlight ! We got much more values that expected ! Thanks Urban adventures !

Doing what: San Jose Walking Tour including Central Market and Lunch

Charles C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Tons of fun. The drive is pretty long, but very worth it. But there are lots of twists and turns towards the end of the drive, so for those who get carsick, be warned.

There were a total of around 12 lines. Many of them provided great views of the river that ran below as well as the canopy. The guides were all very nice and enthusiastic. They helped make it as fun as it was. There are a few surprises along the way that I won't spoil that added to the thrill factor. The lunch that is served afterwards for the early tour was delicious. Highly recommend the early tour because of this.

Doing what: San Jose Zipline Canopy Tour

Charles C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

What a fantastic tour. The bus picked us up and it fits around 20-30 people, so I was slightly worried at the size of the tour. But not for long. Mauricio was our guide and he was incredible. Very funny, charismatic guide. He made the bus ride, which is about an hour to the first stop, seem like nothing. He would often have our driver pull over for us to take pictures with the view.

Our first stop was the coffee plantation. As a coffee lover, it was very neat to see the plants, the facility, and hear the process the beans go through. The coffee was good, not great. We bought a few bags and brought them home - pretty reasonable prices. They served us breakfast here which I don't think was mentioned in the description of the tour - pleasant surprise.

Next was the volcano. It's neat, but can often be obscured by clouds rolling in. We were lucky enough to get to the volcano right before the clouds completely covered it. The clouds move quickly though, so be patient if you cannot see it right away.

After this, we headed to the waterfall/nature reserve. We first started by touring the nature reserve. Got to hold a bird, look at some monkeys, and walk through a snake exhibit. From there, we had lunch which was buffet style. Not the best food, but we were hungry. From there, we went to see the jungle cats. Finally, we toured the waterfalls. This was my favorite part. Gorgeous, gorgeous views. Be sure to take a camera along because you'll want to snap a ton of pictures. Be warned though, the hike up and down is a bit of a strenuous one!

Overall, this tour was amazing - can't recommend this one enough. It will take up most of your day, but is well worth it. We had an absolute blast and feel like we got to see a good amount of Costa Rica within just a day.

Doing what: Combo Tour - Best of Costa Rica from San Jose

Brad C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Awesome Rainforest. Awesome Guide. Learnt a lot about Costa Rica.

Doing what: San Jose Tropical Rainforest Adventure including Chocolate Tasting

Jabari-Jason T

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Initially I booked this tour but was told the day before it would not be available. i was then told I could book the 6 in 1 tour for the same price after some back and forward over email and the phone the night before. There was some miscommunication because the tour operator was not on the same page as Viator apparently because I ended up having to pay more after we had taken a long bus ride to the rain forest. That was a bit of an annoyance but it worked out and I put that on Viator and not the tour. I would be more careful with that.

As for the tour it was a good time. Pick up at the hotel and drop off at the hotel full day out in the rain forest. Great way to meet people if you are a single traveler and bond over some adventures. The whole 6 in 1 is a lot more hype than it is worth. The best part was the ziplines i don't think any of us disagreed with that. The 6 are
Visit to Molinete River Hanging Bridge
Guided walking tour
Aerial Tram tour
Canopy zip line tour 10 zip lines with 14 platforms
Adrena-Line 700-meter Zip Line / Superman Zip Line Cable
Butterfly and Frogs Garden
Let me break that down. The Guided walking tour is a walk around a trail that we all were just laughing about. There was a quick stop at a Butterfly and Frogs Garden. The Aerial Tram tour we were all falling asleep but for this crazy situation with a dead sloth that albeit morbid because the highlight and story from that. All that I would skip. The Visit to Molinete River Hanging Bridge was the walk to the zip lines which again were the highlight of the tour and made it all worth while. Juan Carlos and Richie and i forgot the girls name were all awesome. They legit made the whole trip worth while. I can't give them more praise. They helped coach the people who were afraid and let those of us who were not let our freak flags fly. Great crew.

Even though the booking was a bit dicey i would definitely recommend the tour for the zip lining alone.

Doing what: Sarapiqui River Sightseeing Cruise and Zipline Canopy Tour from San Jose

Lindsay D

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

This was great day trip. We loved getting to see this area of Costa Rica. The majority of our fellow tourists were all Spanish speakers so the majority of the tour was conducted in Spanish even though we didn't speak much Spanish. Just be aware that you will be going with people from all over the world and they may be some language barriers. We went to Baldi hot springs resort which was fantastic with about 25 different pools and a great spa. We even had time to get a massage!

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Mireille S

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

I was hoping to taste more food , not just fruits. It was nice, but not worth doing again

Doing what: San Jose Walking Tour: Food, History and Architecture

nathalie b

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2016

I am a woman and I was traveling alone, I was being picked up by a man with a regular car. He said I would meet the rest of tourists 1 hr away from that location. Pls email me this ahead time, or let the person id himself, so it does not look shady. Jorge was rushing us through the tour.

Doing what: Sarapiqui River Sightseeing Cruise and Zipline Canopy Tour from San Jose

Vincent R

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2016

Bus ride took forever. Tour included lunch and dinner buffet. But to be out from 7am to 11pm for 7 minutes at a elevated view of the volcano isn and #39;t worth it.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Tabacón Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Samantha W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Good way to see a few highlights in one day.

Doing what: Combo Tour - Best of Costa Rica from San Jose

John S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

My wife and I went on this tour yesterday and highly recommend it. The only concerm prior to our trip is one shared by another member of our tour group. We both had read an earlier review that the tigers were kept in too small of an enclosure. We imagined that they were being kept in small cages reminiscent of the early 1900's and were relieved to see them housed in beautiful large areas complete with waterfalls. We both expressed our disgust that anyone would suggest anything negative about their housing conditions.

Eugene was our tour guide and we thoroughly enjoyed our tour. One note of encouragement. Step outside of your comfort zone if needed and take the initiative to get to know the members on the tour with you. We did on this and our Viator tour the day prior which made the tours much more enjoyable. We got to know a wonderfully eclectic group of people on both tours and reallt enjoyed our few hours of shared time and experiences together!

Doing what: Combo Tour - Best of Costa Rica from San Jose

Boyd

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We were unable to take this tour, due to illness, so cannot rate it

Doing what: Tortuguero National Park

zas07

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Worth every penny! The best tour I have been on. You get to see/do a little of everything. It helped that I had an awesome guide (Eugenio) and driver. Be prepared for a long day but it and #39;s all well timed and organized. Easy flow from one activity to the next. My favorite was La Paz Waterfall Gardens!

Doing what: Combo Tour - Best of Costa Rica from San Jose

Mackenzie R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We got to see so many more things on this tour than we would have just traveling on our own. Everything was so beautiful and our guide had so many interesting facts for us. The food was great as well.

Doing what: Combo Tour - Best of Costa Rica from San Jose

lmchatmon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was our favorite tour while in Costa Rica. We visited Doka Coffee Estate and were fed breakfast, which was great. We toured the estate, tasted coffee, and saw where all the magic happens. Then we went to the Poas Volcano and it was awesome! It was foggy when we arrived, but maybe two minutes later the fog moved and we were able to get some great pictures. After that, we went to the La Paz Waterfall Gardens and ate lunch a-MAZ-ing, by the way- lots of variety. The views of the waterfalls were breathtaking and the tour of the wildlife and plants was awesome as well. Our tour guide, Chewy can't think of his real name, was outstanding! We wanted to keep him for our whole vacation. You must do this tour!

Doing what: Combo Tour - Best of Costa Rica from San Jose

lmchatmon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great experience! The tour guides were very nice and knowledgeable and we felt safe the whole time. We had ziplined before, but the lines here are much longer than the ones at home. Lunch was great and the tour of the wildlife and plant life was nice as well. We really enjoyed this trip.

Doing what: Canopy Zipline Eco-Adventure Tour from San Jose

Ellen O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Loved it, loved it, loved it. Our zip line guides, Adrian and Jonathan were so kind, understanding, funny, and friendly. I don't know what could have made it any better. What a day! An experience I'll never forget.

Doing what: 6 in 1 Tour: Rainforest Adventures Costa Rica

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message