Bustling big city or nature’s haven? Whichever way you see it, San Jose offers plenty of excitement for the first time and returning visitor alike. In fact, its obvious architecture of tall skyscrapers and expansive malls often overshadow its ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 721 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

pbarton4680

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Our tour guides were very knowledgeable and helpful. They took very good care of us and helped us to make the most of our experience. I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Costa Rica Day Trip from San Jose

Mark O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Great tour! The guides were bilingual and very knowledgeable. The live music on the boat was great as well as the lunch served on the island. I did the snorkeling excursion and the marine life was plentiful.

Doing what: Tortuga Island Cruise from San Jose

Jennifer O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Breathtaking and life changing, and that is not hyperbole. We were blessed with a clear day with no cloud cover. I understand those can be few and far between, so bear that in mind when choosing this package. The volcano and the lagoon are marvels of nature and are worth the hike at multithousand meter altitude. Be warned that the air is thin. My lungs were burning, and I am relatively fit. The view, however, was worth the ever so slight pain.

The trip to Poas alone would have made this package worthwhile, but the Doka tour and La Paz waterfalls were the perfect bookends. The animals at La Paz were beautiful, and I made friends with a Toucan. The meals were superb - not dried out cafeteria food that you'd expect with a package.

Our guide, Marco, was also just the best. He was witty and knowledgeable. He talked enough to be informative but not invasive on the bus ride. He took my hand, told me to close my eyes, and walked me gently to edge of the crater so I could appreciate the stunning view with anticipation. He went over and above.

I would give this package 10 stars if I could. Thank you very much for the very fun day.

For those who have trouble walking, be warned that I logged 6 miles and 33 flights climbed on this day. My calves felt it afterward. This trip isn't for everyone, but it's the BEST for those to whom it applies.

Doing what: Costa Rica Day Trip from San Jose

David M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

A full day. The host was both a great driver and guide. In spite of the rainy weather, the sights were breathtaking, and the meals wonderful. Word of caution, this includes some hikes that, while short, are rather strenuous, including climbing up and down many steps in the gorge to view the waterfalls. I'm a senior, and may have been the oldest person on the bus. With a little huffing and puffing I kept up, and it was well worth it. Only 1 complaint, we were picked up about 45 minutes late. Given the inclement weather, had us wondering if the trip had been canceled.

Doing what: Costa Rica Day Trip from San Jose

Garth N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

A very good tour. Felipe and Sebastian took us through two of the main food markets in San Jose and included in the price are many tastings of the products on sale, from bananas to home made ice cream. The guides could not have been more informative. A fascinating insight in to local customs and history. Also included are two of the main churches in San Jose. A word of caution - if you are coming from an out of town hotel allow plenty of time to get to the meeting point. The San Jose traffic is horrific. If you are in a city centre hotel then- no problem.

Doing what: San Jose Walking Tour: Food, History and Architecture

cpagnucco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Full day tour that started with amazing coffee and ended with a spectacular waterfall. Our guide and driver were great. Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Costa Rica Day Trip from San Jose

Shanda R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

A great experience from our pick-up at hotel, ride to Braulio Carrillo National Park. Once there, our tour guide, Bryan, was AMAZING! Showed us many different species of orchids, took us through the butterfly garden and reptile exhibits, showed us a sleeping Tapir in the wild and pointed out a sloth. The aerial tram ride was really amazing and, again, Bryan did a wonderful job of educating us about the flora and fauna of the rainforest. He was highly entertaining, personable, and knowledgeable and we learned a lot about the ecosystem on the hour-long ride. But by far the high-point of the day was the ziplining! Incredible! The views from the platforms and while ziplining were breathtaking. Bryan and Fabian put everyone at ease and were very safety-conscious while still being fun and engaging. Our small group had an amazing day and I would recommend this trip to anyone. Fun, fun, fun!

Doing what: 6 in 1 Tour: Rainforest Adventures Costa Rica

pbarton4680

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

The two guys who took us ziplining were amazing. We both had a great time on this tour. The only problem was I booked the 12:30 pm tour. I received confirmation that I would be picked up at 8:30 am, which I felt was extremely early. We were picked up promptly at 8:30 am however, we were the only people on the tour. We were back at our hotel by 1pm. I wish I would have known that we really weren't scheduled for a 12:30 pm tour so I could have made plans for the afternoon.

Doing what: San Jose Zipline Canopy Tour

Mark O

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

Good tour, it and #39;s a long ride to the Volcano. We were lucky and the clouds lifted for a bit and we could see the summit. The hot springs were great with a wonderful buffet dinner. The windey mountain roads at night might not be a good experience for someone prone to motion sickness

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Baldi Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Jennifer O

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

Zip lining was so fun! Truly. The tram was not working when we were there, so we were bummed, but we received a refund for that portion, and we didn't have to haggle over it at all. Our guide was very sweet though young. The hikes were very nice, and the meal was great. Coming from the States, I usually expect dried out chicken fingers for lunch packages. This was substantial, fresh, and tasty. I recommend this trip - especially for the zip lining. The only unpleasant part was that the mandatory helmets and gloves smell like the several hundred people who have worn them sweating through the rain forest ahead of you.

Doing what: 6 in 1 Tour: Rainforest Adventures Costa Rica

Msmccourt

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2017

This is a fantastic trip! The tour guide Alen and Juan, driver were amazing - so detailed and great attitude! So bubbly and nice!
The Duko coffee part was good and educational! I was amazed at Alins ability to present so much information. The breakfast was ok, coffee fantastic. The Poa volcano part was a disappointment and is a total hit or miss so I would skip it. it was only a cloud and the lagoon part on 2nd crater is basically looking at a lake on top of a mountain if you did not know it was a volcano filled with rainwater. It really wasn't worth the time and the traffic to get there. The La Paz waterfalls park was great! Lunch was excellent and then tour of animal rescue center given again by Alin was very educational, with many tidbits of interesting information. the staff there was great as well and really care for these animals down to tiniest frog! the walks to view waterfalls were perfectly laid out. I enjoyed the exercise and witnessing the power of the falls. the downside was the traffic to get back to hotel. I would check to see if there is still construction on the one road in and out to San Jose as we then sat in traffic for 31/2 hours making this day a 15 hour day. The poor driver and tour guide.. that was a lot for them too! All in All I love Costa Rica so just check these things so you can love it too! Pura Vida!!!!

Doing what: Costa Rica Day Trip from San Jose

Neil H

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2017

This was an extremely uncomfortable trip. We were picked up from the hotel in some kind of Toyota van and told that this was to take us to meet the bus in San Jose, but all we did was drop off people for another tour. However this was the vehicle we stayed in for the whole trip. The headrest on the seat ahead was about a foot from my face. There was no lumbar support as the seats were so short. It was very claustrophobic. After an hour, Both me and my wife were in pain, mainly our behinds and back. After two hours my wife was car sick. This was the most uncomfortable ride of my life. Our guide was Spanish, and had learned a little English. He spoke over a terrible sound system in both languages. His accent was so strong, you couldn't tell when it was English. One just tried to 'tune out' after a short while as it was not understandable. The narrative just added to the discomfort. Lunch was welcome as we got to get out of the van. At our destination, we got a look at a volcano from a distance, during a break in the rain. Then we got left at man-made hot springs for four and a half hours. One hour would have been fine. The buffet supper was pretty poor, especially the meat dishes. Then the ride back, which was approx. three ours in the dark in the same van was excruciating. While the driver did open the window, the smell of exhaust gave me a headache to compliment the other pains. Overall I would recommend to people that if you really want to see a volcano from afar for a few minutes and spend most of the day at man made hot springs, take a tour with another company. It will take me long time to reconcile paying over 300 dollars for an unbelievably painful, wasted day in Costa Rica.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Baldi Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Ritu J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Awesome tour! Very enjoyable. The Doka Coffee farm was very interesting, so much fun to see the entire process of coffee making and to actually pluck and taste the beautiful red ripe coffee berries. Breakfast was delicious although basic. The drive to Poas volcano was scenic but unfortunately we couldn't see the crater. It was all covered in thick fog and despite waiting for 30 minutes as other mentioned it didn't clear up. We still enjoyed the short walk up to the viewing area. Lunch at La Paz lodge was also delicious. The grounds and all the observatories are fantastic. Waterfalls are spectacular, it is a bit of walk but everything is paved and didn't quite feel like a hike. We enjoyed all the beautiful views despite it being a rainy day, my only regret is that everything we saw at La Paz other than waterfalls had been set up. The animals were in cages it was like visiting a zoo, and the beautiful landscaping all along the private property had been designed to be there. It was all beautiful and native to the area but had been planted there.

Doing what: Costa Rica Day Trip from San Jose

Maria P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was a great experience! Everything about it was well run and fun. Recommend.

Doing what: Costa Rica Day Trip from San Jose

Heather B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This tour was the highlight of our trip! The guides were amazing, very knowledgeable and super fun. My 3 favorites on the ziplining were Mike, Fabien, and Bryan, but really they were all amazing. The gondola tour through the rainforest was exceptional.

Doing what: 6 in 1 Tour: Rainforest Adventures Costa Rica

Berto

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

It's a long drive from San Jose all the way to Arenal area, but the trip was in a very comfortable bus, so it was all good and so worth every single dime we paid for. The view of the volcano is amazing, but definitely the hot springs at the resort it was a must!!!
It's totally awesome!!!!

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Tabacón Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Iyvon E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

I had a blast on this tour. All tthe guides were great, fun and definitely had thee pura vida attitude that is warm and infectious. I had an awesome bilingual group of ladies and the hosts were great to accomodate both languages. Lunch was okay, but so needed before we went zip lining.

Highly recommended and worth the money! :

Doing what: 6 in 1 Tour: Rainforest Adventures Costa Rica

Ruth A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Wow what an incredible experience! The ride was 2 hours but with the live band and entertainment the two hours went fast. The tour provided breakfast, filling snacks and a very filling lunch with fresh fish and chicken. On the island we had had a wonderful time! We enjoyed stand up paddle boarding, snorkeling and also were able to lay out on the beach with fresh coconut water. What an amazing experience! I would recommend this tour to anyone interested in seeing the beauty of San Jose. Thank you for such a wonderful tour!

Doing what: Tortuga Island Cruise from San Jose

Jason B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This tour is an ALL DAY tour. We were picked up bright and early at 5:25 AM. After picking everyone else up, we headed out of town. About an hour into the trip we stopped for an excellent Costa Rican breakfast of Gallo Pinto, fruit, scrambled eggs, coffee and juice. Before we boarded the bus, our tour guide showed us all a pair of blue jeans tree frogs in the plants out in front of the restaurant. Everyone took pictures and we hit the road. Farther down the road our guide had the bus stop and we all got out to find that he had spotted an mother sloth and baby hanging out in a tree only about 5 feet up next to the road. Once again, we were able to get some really good pictures, and have a very close encounter with the pair We left them alone, just oooohed and aaaaaahed alot. Back on the bus and on to the boat ride to Tortuguero. We saw several different kinds of animals on the ride, the best being a small flock of green Macaws that flew overhead. Tortuguero was not what we expected, but it was a neat little town, definitely driven by tourism since the original industry, banana farming, is long gone. Back on the boat and up the canal a little farther to lunch at one of the resorts in the area. Lunch was buffet style with plenty of options, and all of them were tasty. After lunch we ran into a spider monkey in the trees outside the dining hall eating his lunch. Out came the cameras, and then it was time to load up on the boat and head back to the bus and the ride back to San Jose.

Our tour guide German pronounced Herman and bus driver were excellent. Providing lots of insight and history about the areas we drove through. We are planning on going back to stay for a few days some time in the future, but if you only have a day, I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Tortuguero National Park

Benjamin I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Excellent beer tasting tour with lots of great history along the way.

Doing what: San Jose Beer Tasting Tour

Susan F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

I booked this trip for my first day in Costa Rica before joining my weeklong tour. It was a great day and a wonderful introduction to the rich ecosystems of Costa Rica. Though it was too cloudy to see the crater of the volcano , the hike was nice. The coffee plantation tour and breakfast were very good. Coffee production is such an important part of the culture and economy. The La Paz butterfly gardens, nature preserve and waterfalls were the highlight of a very good day. Absolutely beautiful and very interesting. The food for both breakfast and lunch was good, the guide was good and fellow travelers were friendly. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Costa Rica Day Trip from San Jose

kedwards01 United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We really enjoyed this tour although it was a little difficult in meeting the guide. The food was very good and the guide was very informative with his commentary on the markets and the city of San Jose.

Doing what: San Jose Evening Tour with Dinner in Escazú

Michelle W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The tour was terrific! Our tour guide was so informative, and kept us entertained all day long!

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Baldi Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Carol D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Great day Highly recommended. Dinner was exceptionally good.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Tabacón Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message