Bustling big city or nature’s haven? Whichever way you see it, San Jose offers plenty of excitement for the first time and returning visitor alike. In fact, its obvious architecture of tall skyscrapers and expansive malls often overshadow its ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 659 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

nishijgd

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

It was a really good tour. The drive is long or it ends up being the afternoon before you actually get to the Volcano since they try to fill the tour with other random stuff. Our tour guide was great and very proud of his country. The view of the volcano is a hit or a miss, if you don't see it like we didn't then it could be a waste. The lunch and hotsprings were great. We had originally paid for the baldi springs but after the tour guide's recommendation and other people on our tour, we paid the extra 10 to switch to the Tabocon hot springs. They are so worth it. Overall, it was a nice experience but the drive is long and try to enjoy the rest of the activities because the volcano part could be a disappointment.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Estelle V

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

We enjoyed the trip overall. The bus trip was quite long and the bus was completely full, so we had to sit in the first row with no leg space at all, which was quite uncomfortable for the long trip. The boat trip was very nice. I would have preferred to have more time at the beach or in the little village, rather than spending 45 minutes at breakfast and another hour or so at lunch. However, overall we had a very nice experience!

Doing what: Tortuguero National Park

Kara H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

My guide was amazing. Don't miss this fantastic opportunity to taste delicious chocolate!

Doing what: San Jose Tropical Rainforest Adventure including Chocolate Tasting

Jeannette G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Amazing tour, highly recommended!

Doing what: Costa Rica Day Trip from San Jose

Shauna B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This tour was so great! Between the food, the sights and the hot springs, you cannot go wrong. Please be prepared that weather is not necessarily cooperative and this is the rain forest, there may be rain and clouds. The clouds covered the volcano, but that has be a possibility to expect the guides have no control over this. The food was fantastic at both locations and I felt authentic to Costa Rica. I chose Tabacon over Baldi and other hot springs for the resort's reputation and I was not disappointed. Four hours at that paradise was more than amazing. Everything on the tour ran like a well-oiled machine. We got back later than I expected, but I didn't really care after relaxing in the hot springs, I just went right to bed at my hotel.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Tabacón Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

agasman6948

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Great tour. Great food. Gorgeous scenery

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Sindre R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

A very pleasant and interesting tour that I enjoyed a lot. The weather was good so even if it was some clouds hiding the volcano as we arrived they split after only a few minutes so that we could see and take pictures of the landscape. A nice lunch was also included and the tour was topped by a knowledgeable and humorous guide.

Doing what: Costa Rica Day Trip from San Jose

WEKI C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Just excellent

Doing what: Costa Rica Day Trip from San Jose

Pamela G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

WORTH IT!
Hot springs are unique. Excellent for couples in love. You need to spend the night in tabacon.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Pamela G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Personnel was so friendly, extremely knowledgeable and honest.
All the time i felt safe, not scary at all but fun.

Doing what: Sarapiqui River Sightseeing Cruise and Zipline Canopy Tour from San Jose

frances.marin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The tour to the Arenal Volcano was great. Our tour guide was Filander. He started our tour with a great amount of information of Costa Rica. He was very knowledgeable about different topics, and he spoke in Spanish and English all the time. We went to Sarchí, to Arenal and then to the hot springs.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

frances.marin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Our tour guide was German, he was pretty funny and always tried to please the tourists. He had a lot of knowledge about his country and he spoke English and Spanish during the tour. We enjoyed a really good breakfast and lunch; it was delicious. At Tortuguero, we saw cocodriles, alligators and sloth

Doing what: Tortuguero National Park

Axiel C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Had a really great time. Tour guide and driver were extremely amazing and had really great time with my group. It was very cloudy when we got to the crater but after waiting around 30 mins it cleared up for a moment. Amazing!

Doing what: Costa Rica Day Trip from San Jose

Paul C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Fantastic trip. I thought this was great value for money as we took in the Doka coffee farm, Poas volcanoes and wonderful La Paz wildlife retreat and waterfalls. With Marco providing the information/ advice/ jokes/ enthusiasm and Ricardo keeping us safe on the road, the whole day was great fun as well as being educational! - many thanks. We had a great group of people from many parts of the world who all got on so well - great team building event!. By the way, the breakfast and lunch were super

Doing what: Costa Rica Day Trip from San Jose

Christina B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was my first zip line experience, and I was very nervous. The experience was absolutely amazing, and the team of guides took great care of us! They made the experience safe and enjoyable. We laughed a lot, and we and #39;re awed by the scenery and the excitement. Pura vida!

Doing what: San Jose Zipline Canopy Tour

Christina B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Jesus and Juan Carlos took great care of us on this day! We learn much about the country and had a great time enjoying the beautiful Hot Springs! The meals were also delicious. Another amazing day in Costa Rica!

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Tabacón Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Christina B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Jurgen and Cristopher were great guides and shared many insights into the Costa Rican lifestyle and history. The meal was probably the best of my five-day trip! This was a great overview of San Jose. As noted by another visitor, the name does need to change since the meal is no longer in Escazu.

Doing what: San Jose Evening Tour with Dinner in Escazú

Ken K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The zip lining was incredible. If your afraid of heights it might bother you but part of traveling is overcoming your fears. Zip line alone was worth the price. The lunch was really good. Much better then expected. The tram was a nice, peaceful tour at the top of the canopy and we even saw some monkeys. The rest of the tour was nice, information, but following the zip line it was anticlimactic. Good for those that want to learn about the animals and plants. I recommend this tour. Got picked up at 9am and back to condo at 5pm. About one hour drive to the park. Take a rain coat, it is a rain forest although our weather was perfect. You cannot take a large camera on the zip line, only ones that fit in your pocket, for good reason. They do have lockers for 3.00 USD to rent to put your stuff in and can pick it up immediately after the zip line so you can use it rest of the tour.

Doing what: 6 in 1 Tour: Rainforest Adventures Costa Rica

Edwin P

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

This was a great tour and great tour guides, could not have been better.

Doing what: Tortuguero National Park

Ira G

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Great tour guide and driver.

Doing what: Costa Rica Day Trip from San Jose

Ulrikke F

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Excellent introduction to downtown San Jose. Vinicio and Marion were great guides. To recommend !

Doing what: San Jose Walking Tour including Central Market and Lunch

Margaret C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This tour was really fantastic. The lunch after a few hour bus ride was very good they gave you a choice of several options. The town of Sarchi was interesting, as well as the world's largest ox cart. The Arenal volcano was cloudy at the top the day we were there, but you could still see the volcanic black lava on one side very clearly. The hot springs was absolutely terrific, they provide you with dry towels and a medium size locker. You can turn your towel in for a dry one as many times as you want. I left my towel in my locker. The shower area was very nice and clean, but they only provided body soap so I was glad that I brought some shampoo and conditioner from my hotel. The buffet dinner afterward was equally delightful. There was a large salad bar, a hot soup, several kinds of breads, a pasta station, grilled steak, chicken, vegetables, and a dessert buffet. If I went back to Costa Rica again, I would do this tour again. Definitely worth the money, but be advised, it is a long day.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Tabacón Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Dawn R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This tour was amazing! The guide was awesome!! He made sure that the whole tour was fully detailed in English and Spanish. The weather didn and #39;t want to cooperate, but despite that, totally worth it! They even stopped during our bus ride to show us a roadside sloth. So cool! Highly recommended!!

Doing what: Costa Rica Day Trip from San Jose

Gavin J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great trip, the waterfalls were great even though it was raining throughout the visit. Lots to see to keep it interesting

Doing what: Costa Rica Day Trip from San Jose

GREGORY F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The sights and sounds of the rain forest were fantastic and the vegetation and animals were well worth the trip. The Zip lining was a real treat for everyone brave enough to try it. Definitely recommended.

Doing what: 6 in 1 Tour: Rainforest Adventures Costa Rica

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message