Bustling big city or nature’s haven? Whichever way you see it, San Jose offers plenty of excitement for the first time and returning visitor alike. In fact, its obvious architecture of tall skyscrapers and expansive malls often overshadow its ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 619 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Derek S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Excellent. Trip.guide.and.driver.very.helpfull

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Morgan R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The day of our trip, was extremely clear! It was absolutely beautiful getting to see the volcano. Our tour guide was very educated about Costa Rica and all of the things we saw. I didn't just learn about the volcano I also learned about Costa Rican culture, animals, history, economy, and much more. The majority of the trip is spend in the car due to the long drive. But we made many different stops as well. We also spent 3 hours at the hot springs, which were beautiful.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Adolphus L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

In San Jose traffic it takes about an hour to get there. Our tour guide on the bus was excellent. Show beautifully done. Food was not outstanding, but very good for a buffet. The view was fantastic. Enjoyed every minute of it. At 70.00/person, it was a bargain. Food, drinks, a show,, fantastic view and round trip transportation with a very knowledgeable guide.

Doing what: San Jose Dinner, Live Music, and Traditional Dance

Patty

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

All I can say is wow, what a wonderful day, the weather for us was perfect, the ride to the island was very nice, small band on boat that kept you entertained. I do highly recommend this. they do have chairs and umbrella for rent if you need to get out of the sun. Water was wonderful and lunch provided was very good. I do highly recommend this trip to Tortuga Island.

Doing what: Tortuga Island Cruise from San Jose

John O C

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Good trip although very long day. A 2 day trip with an overnight stay may have been a better option but was not feasible with my timetable. Costa Rica certainly does the eco tourism scene very well.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

John O C

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Good trip although very long day. 2 day with overnight stop may have been better option but not possible with my timetable. Costa Rica certainly does the eco tourism bit very well.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Vipil

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Good and refreshing. The travel guide was very helpful and took care of the entire group.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Tabacón Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Patty

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

This was an awesome zip line. You will have to walk up a steep incline to get to the beginning.
The tram over the rainforest was ok, nice slow ride to top and back.
Lunch provided was very good. Butterfly and frog area are small, just enough there to see the different types. Nothing special. Our guide Jimmy was wonderful and knowledgeable about the area. Spoke pretty good English.

Doing what: 6 in 1 Tour: Rainforest Adventures Costa Rica

Alma V

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

Didn't see the volcano. frustrating, but it was a great tour.

Doing what: Combo Tour - Best of Costa Rica from San Jose

Ann B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great tour. We were only in San Jose for one full day so we thought we should maximize our time with a tour. I'm really glad we did. We were picked up at our hotel and had a great Tico style breakfast at the coffee plantation, followed by a tour. We were able to see the crater at the volcano and hike around for a bit, then off to the Peace Lodge to see the wildlife sanctuary. Beautiful! Had a nice buffet meal at the sanctuary and then back to our hotel. I recommend this tour for anyone who wants to see some of the natural wonders of Costa Rica when time is short.

Doing what: Combo Tour - Best of Costa Rica from San Jose

sharod d

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Tortuga Island Cruise from San Jose

Mireille S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I love it, especially the chocolate making and lunch. The rainforest was an amazing experience.

Doing what: San Jose Tropical Rainforest Adventure including Chocolate Tasting

Anna C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The long distance created some time crunches. On the other hand, I appreciated the fact that there was a tour from the San Jose area to Arenal. Food at both lunch and dinner was delicious it was some of the best I've had in Costa Rica so far. Tour guide told funny jokes, which I enjoyed. The Baldi Hot Springs resort was one of the most posh places I've ever seen. Pretty fabulous.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

ROBERT S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

A long day but very worthwhile.. You do spend a long time on the coach and the way home is rather longer than is truly comfortable however it and #39;s a price worth paying for a great day out.

The views of the volcano were spectacular, both meals were more than passable and the hotsprings were amazing.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Kim G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Combo Tour - Best of Costa Rica from San Jose

RahuR

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Really amazing trip.. Very informative n fun.. Both guide n driver were awsumm

Doing what: Combo Tour - Best of Costa Rica from San Jose

Haiyan L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Loved this tour ! Friendly small group very efficient and feels like a local strolling in town ! The lunch was perfect and the mask maker home visit is the highlight ! We got much more values that expected ! Thanks Urban adventures !

Doing what: San Jose Walking Tour including Central Market and Lunch

Helen H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This is a must if you're only in San Jose for a day or two. Jurgen lead us around town, explaining the historical and cultural context. We went around food markets where we got to try some local fruit. Then we were taken a little further out for a very nice dinner. Not your typical tourist experience, but a great way to get a feel for San Jose if time is short.

Doing what: San Jose Evening Tour with Dinner in Escazú

srul59 Israel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Very nice trip good guide .at volcano we did not see because of the fog

Doing what: Combo Tour - Best of Costa Rica from San Jose

Charles C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Tons of fun. The drive is pretty long, but very worth it. But there are lots of twists and turns towards the end of the drive, so for those who get carsick, be warned.

There were a total of around 12 lines. Many of them provided great views of the river that ran below as well as the canopy. The guides were all very nice and enthusiastic. They helped make it as fun as it was. There are a few surprises along the way that I won't spoil that added to the thrill factor. The lunch that is served afterwards for the early tour was delicious. Highly recommend the early tour because of this.

Doing what: San Jose Zipline Canopy Tour

Charles C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

What a fantastic tour. The bus picked us up and it fits around 20-30 people, so I was slightly worried at the size of the tour. But not for long. Mauricio was our guide and he was incredible. Very funny, charismatic guide. He made the bus ride, which is about an hour to the first stop, seem like nothing. He would often have our driver pull over for us to take pictures with the view.

Our first stop was the coffee plantation. As a coffee lover, it was very neat to see the plants, the facility, and hear the process the beans go through. The coffee was good, not great. We bought a few bags and brought them home - pretty reasonable prices. They served us breakfast here which I don't think was mentioned in the description of the tour - pleasant surprise.

Next was the volcano. It's neat, but can often be obscured by clouds rolling in. We were lucky enough to get to the volcano right before the clouds completely covered it. The clouds move quickly though, so be patient if you cannot see it right away.

After this, we headed to the waterfall/nature reserve. We first started by touring the nature reserve. Got to hold a bird, look at some monkeys, and walk through a snake exhibit. From there, we had lunch which was buffet style. Not the best food, but we were hungry. From there, we went to see the jungle cats. Finally, we toured the waterfalls. This was my favorite part. Gorgeous, gorgeous views. Be sure to take a camera along because you'll want to snap a ton of pictures. Be warned though, the hike up and down is a bit of a strenuous one!

Overall, this tour was amazing - can't recommend this one enough. It will take up most of your day, but is well worth it. We had an absolute blast and feel like we got to see a good amount of Costa Rica within just a day.

Doing what: Combo Tour - Best of Costa Rica from San Jose

Brad C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Awesome Rainforest. Awesome Guide. Learnt a lot about Costa Rica.

Doing what: San Jose Tropical Rainforest Adventure including Chocolate Tasting

Nick K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Very well done tour! Great variety in events for the day and the Lapaz Waterfall gardens were AMAZING!

Doing what: Combo Tour - Best of Costa Rica from San Jose

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message