San Jose in Costa Rica is many things to many people. Looming skyscrapers, glitzy malls, busy businessmen and a fast-paced lifestyle is perhaps the more obvious appearance to those visiting on work or for short durations. But San Jose can also be ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 380 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Mark O

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

Good tour, it and #39;s a long ride to the Volcano. We were lucky and the clouds lifted for a bit and we could see the summit. The hot springs were great with a wonderful buffet dinner. The windey mountain roads at night might not be a good experience for someone prone to motion sickness

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Baldi Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Neil H

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2017

This was an extremely uncomfortable trip. We were picked up from the hotel in some kind of Toyota van and told that this was to take us to meet the bus in San Jose, but all we did was drop off people for another tour. However this was the vehicle we stayed in for the whole trip. The headrest on the seat ahead was about a foot from my face. There was no lumbar support as the seats were so short. It was very claustrophobic. After an hour, Both me and my wife were in pain, mainly our behinds and back. After two hours my wife was car sick. This was the most uncomfortable ride of my life. Our guide was Spanish, and had learned a little English. He spoke over a terrible sound system in both languages. His accent was so strong, you couldn't tell when it was English. One just tried to 'tune out' after a short while as it was not understandable. The narrative just added to the discomfort. Lunch was welcome as we got to get out of the van. At our destination, we got a look at a volcano from a distance, during a break in the rain. Then we got left at man-made hot springs for four and a half hours. One hour would have been fine. The buffet supper was pretty poor, especially the meat dishes. Then the ride back, which was approx. three ours in the dark in the same van was excruciating. While the driver did open the window, the smell of exhaust gave me a headache to compliment the other pains. Overall I would recommend to people that if you really want to see a volcano from afar for a few minutes and spend most of the day at man made hot springs, take a tour with another company. It will take me long time to reconcile paying over 300 dollars for an unbelievably painful, wasted day in Costa Rica.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Baldi Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Berto

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

It's a long drive from San Jose all the way to Arenal area, but the trip was in a very comfortable bus, so it was all good and so worth every single dime we paid for. The view of the volcano is amazing, but definitely the hot springs at the resort it was a must!!!
It's totally awesome!!!!

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Tabacón Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Jason B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This tour is an ALL DAY tour. We were picked up bright and early at 5:25 AM. After picking everyone else up, we headed out of town. About an hour into the trip we stopped for an excellent Costa Rican breakfast of Gallo Pinto, fruit, scrambled eggs, coffee and juice. Before we boarded the bus, our tour guide showed us all a pair of blue jeans tree frogs in the plants out in front of the restaurant. Everyone took pictures and we hit the road. Farther down the road our guide had the bus stop and we all got out to find that he had spotted an mother sloth and baby hanging out in a tree only about 5 feet up next to the road. Once again, we were able to get some really good pictures, and have a very close encounter with the pair We left them alone, just oooohed and aaaaaahed alot. Back on the bus and on to the boat ride to Tortuguero. We saw several different kinds of animals on the ride, the best being a small flock of green Macaws that flew overhead. Tortuguero was not what we expected, but it was a neat little town, definitely driven by tourism since the original industry, banana farming, is long gone. Back on the boat and up the canal a little farther to lunch at one of the resorts in the area. Lunch was buffet style with plenty of options, and all of them were tasty. After lunch we ran into a spider monkey in the trees outside the dining hall eating his lunch. Out came the cameras, and then it was time to load up on the boat and head back to the bus and the ride back to San Jose.

Our tour guide German pronounced Herman and bus driver were excellent. Providing lots of insight and history about the areas we drove through. We are planning on going back to stay for a few days some time in the future, but if you only have a day, I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Tortuguero National Park

Michelle W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The tour was terrific! Our tour guide was so informative, and kept us entertained all day long!

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Baldi Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Carol D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Great day Highly recommended. Dinner was exceptionally good.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Tabacón Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Mortoza A United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Excellent trip, I really enjoyed the tour. The guide Hugo was great. Lunch and dinner were outstanding.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Baldi Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Louise L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

What an amazing experience!! We traveled for about an hour and then had a breakfast of eggs, beans and rice, fruit, coffee, and toast! Our tour guide was wonderful to show us as many animals as he could find. We saw a momma and baby sloth and several monkeys as well as many different species of birds. Our trip down the river was peaceful and the rain forest was amazing. After a buffet lunch at the Evergreen Lodge and a walking tour of the village, we traveled back to our hotel in San Jose by boat and bus! The tour was worth everything we paid for it!

Doing what: Tortuguero National Park

Jerome B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

absolutely highly recommend this tour

Doing what: Irazu Volcano, Orosi Valley and Lankester

Heather B

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Had a great time on this trip. The food was wonderful, the guides entertaining and knowledgeable, and hot springs gloriously relaxing. I might have enjoyed a bit more of a hike or something at the volcano, because it was just an overlook, which was pretty, but I'd expected to see into the crater or something like that. However, it IS an active volcano, so I can understand why that wasn't possible.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Baldi Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Maria R

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

This tour is completely worth the money. You will have a pretty long day, but its well worth it. The tour began by driving to breakfast and having a typical Costa Rican meal rice, eggs, cheese, tortilla, fresh juice, coffee, and fruit. The tour then made a brief stop at souvenir wood work shop where you can change into your bathing suit and pick up a few things. You depart and drive for about one hour and arrive at Manuel Antonio. There is usually a line to enter the park, but nothing longer than 30 minutes. While in line, you can pick up souvenirs and fresh coconut water. Once inside the park, you can choose to do a guided tour towards the beach or completely skip it and headed straight to the beach. I would skip it tour guide tells you about plants and tries to show you animals, but the animals monkeys or sloths, if visible, are very high up and not visible to the bare eye. The beach is great! Water is clear and sand is amazing. If you choose to do the Cathedral Point trail, you won't regret it it takes about 45 minutes to go and come, but be prepared for some steep hills and steps. They also feed you a sandwich for lunch prior to entering the park and provide you a departure dinner which is delicious. Ride back to San Jose is about 3.5 hours, with one stop at a Costa Rican candy shop.

Doing what: Manuel Antonio National Park Day Trip from San Jose

Eliane Q

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

We really enjoyed this tour ,beautiful volcano, it is very cold and windy, I recommend extra clothing, the valley is beautiful with lots of different plantations, not only coffee, house plants, chayote,bananas ,corn and many others, rivers and waterfalls.The Lankester garden is really beautiful, many exotic plants.We stopped in a small town and saw a very old church and went to Cartago and saw The Cathedral The lady of Los Angeles, beautiful german made glass stained on windows and many paints through the church columns dated way back early 1800.Our guide was very knowledgeable on history and culture of the country. We had lunch at coffee plantation, and it was very good and the location was very beautiful overseeing the plantation fields.

Doing what: Irazu Volcano, Orosi Valley and Lankester

Eliane Q

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

The trip started at a stop on a large souvenir place where we bought coffee and other souvenirs,the prices were in the high end, what to expect is made for tourist, then we went to see Arenal,beautiful volcano, we went to an area what the called the Mirador, where you see the volcano from a distance , we can't get any closer, close enough for pictures and we can have a sense how big and magnificent it is. Love driving through the varies plantations, waterfalls and rivers, we end at Tabacon springs, very beautiful, nice hot water, and we had enough time to enjoy ourselves. They served a very nice dinner,buffet style,lots of choices. The bathrooms are large, showers with lockers and bathing suit drying machines.then it was a long drive back to hotel.The guide was knowledgable,organized and attentive to our needs.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Tabacón Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Lalani J

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Hot springs and active volcano is great! Tour guide's communication was not clear for me since his English has a strong Spanish accent and spoke very fast.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Baldi Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Archana N

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

A little disappointing as it was very cloudy that day but that's Mother Nature nobody's fault. We would have like to have done a short hike closer to the volcano. The hot springs were great they are built within a hotel resort which was somewhat disappointing we thought they might be in the open jungle. However a must do we felt so refreshed after and the facilities were very comfortable. The Buffett dinner was awesome at the resort. Well worth doing this trip.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Baldi Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Linda W

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

It was a wonder trip. We were a little tired when we got back to our hotel about 10:00 p.m. but it was well worth it. The transportation was a little rough. It almost felt like riding on a school bus, but the staff was great! Over all a nice trip.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Tabacón Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Ritu J

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

This was the tour I looked forward to the most but it didn't quite turn out to be what I expected. Our guide Max was phenomenal, kept everybody entertained throughout the long ride and was very good at keeping us on time. From San Jose it is a 3.5 hr drive to Arenal where you stop for 20 minutes at the viewing area to take some pictures of the majestic volcano. The views are great no doubt but basically this tour is just one long drive to the Baldi resort where you are left on your own. If you are not that into a water park and hot tubs then this is not for you. Me and my daughter got sick the day before this tour and didn't want to go into the hot tubs because basically that's what Baldi hot springs is all about. Its a beautifully landscaped resort with about 20 hot tubs and some water slides. Its beautiful but all man made and although we were told that the water is naturally heated from the volcano it just felt like any other water park. I wanted to either cancel it or cut it short so we can return after visiting the Arenal volcano but was told I will get zero refund. If I wanted to come back early then it was extra 70 per person. If you have little kids who enjoy water slides or if you just want to soak into hot water and have some drinks from the super expensive bar then you will enjoy it. But be careful the water can be super hot. Dinner was a huge spread but tasted just OK, it was big on quantity but not on quality

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Baldi Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

hvbendre

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

I would rate my experience of the trip as 3.5 stars
Sarchi stop was just a visit to a gift shop nothing else.
The Arenal volcano view was over rated. I did not feel there is much to see but a distant volcano mountain covered in clouds
We enjoyed the Baldi hot springs. That Hot spring experience was amazing with a buffet dinner at the hilltop restaurant to end the day.
The tour guide Max was very good with humorous narrations throughout the trip.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Baldi Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Betsy B

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

The bus ride took almost 3 hours, and then we spent about 10 minutes at the volcano before they us to get back on the bus. We weren't able to walk around any of the lake area. Apparently, it's normally very cloudy, so a very rare occasion to actually see the top of the volcano. With the clouds it looked more like a regular mountain that you can't get close to. The hot springs were fine, felt like a resort, but was nice to sit and relax for a bit. Guides were all very nice.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Baldi Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Lulu

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

A very tiring tour with nothing exciting. The tour is supposed to be 12 hours long but it was actually 14 hours long, way too long. The pick up was 15 mins late. We spent about 4 hours in the transportation on each way. The shuttle bus was not comfortable at all. And the tour was very cheap, for a 14 hours tour they only offered 1 bottle of water. All in all the time spent in the transportation was a nightmare. Breakfast was just ok, so called buffet but they put the food to your plate behind a counter and so afraid of giving you one spoon more. The guide was ok, helpful and nice but not informative. He didn't really talk much. Other guides from other tours carried huge binoculars and showed their tour members the wild animals they found. Our tour guide had nothing and didn't show us anything. We only see animals when other people stopped and looked, we then followed. The only animals we saw were monkeys and racoons. It was quite boring and the weather was really hot, it killed our desire to look for animals with our naked eyes. The beach was ok, beautiful but nothing much to do over there if you don't swim. Beach was quite dirty and with lots of racoons coming to search/steal your food from your bags. Just be cautious its very very hot in the park, and the sand on the beach was burning. Bring a pair of water shoes would be convenient and a good protection. The only sparkling thing is the lunch, very nice and delicious. But the time we had it was about 5pm, almost like a dinner.

Doing what: Manuel Antonio National Park Day Trip from San Jose

Donald C

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

Tour was good but delays on road construction and repairs added a couple of hours to the long day. Tour guide spent more time talking in Spanish than English and conversing with driver

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Baldi Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Kundan S

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2017

We couldn't see the volcano as it was cloudy and raining. Tour companies should not organize such trips at this time of the year when the dry season has not fully started. Baldi Hot springs was good but I was not in Costa Rica to enjoy man-made hot springs.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Baldi Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Kundan S

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2017

I do not recommend this trip to anyone. I was staying at Costa Rica Marriott and my pick up time was 6:10 am. No one turned up till 6:40 am after which my hotel front desk called the agent and they picked us up at 6:50 am from the hotel. Then, for next one hour, they picked up tourists from four other hotels and transferred us to another bus. In this new bus, they picked up from another four hotels and started the trip at 8:15 am. It was a sheer wastage of two whole hours in the morning sitting in the bus , picking up tourists from different hotels. In evening, we faced the same ordeal. The trip was ended at 4 pm and we were dropped at our hotel at 6 pm. An 8 hour trip took us 12 hours with 4 hours sitting in the bus, which in my opinion, was absolutely ridiculous. At Irazu, it was very cold but there was no instruction in the website to carry winter gears. Also, the guide didn't accompany us to the volcano. Instead he was sitting in the bus with the driver and let us explore the place in that extreme cold weather and we weren't even sure what's the right vantage point to have a good view of the volcano. There was nothing much in Cartago city. The tour drove through Orosi valley and Lankester was less than ordinary. The lunch was ordinary too and the guide miscounted the number of seats . So we had to seat separately from the group during the lunch. This trip isn't worth 105 per person.

Doing what: Irazu Volcano, Orosi Valley and Lankester

kedwards01 United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This was an amazing tour. I am very glad that we chose to do it. It gave us the opportunity to see more of Costa Rica and the national park. The guide was great and the lunch was amazing.

Doing what: Tortuguero National Park

nishijgd

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

It was a really good tour. The drive is long or it ends up being the afternoon before you actually get to the Volcano since they try to fill the tour with other random stuff. Our tour guide was great and very proud of his country. The view of the volcano is a hit or a miss, if you don't see it like we didn't then it could be a waste. The lunch and hotsprings were great. We had originally paid for the baldi springs but after the tour guide's recommendation and other people on our tour, we paid the extra 10 to switch to the Tabocon hot springs. They are so worth it. Overall, it was a nice experience but the drive is long and try to enjoy the rest of the activities because the volcano part could be a disappointment.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Baldi Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message