San Jose in Costa Rica is many things to many people. Looming skyscrapers, glitzy malls, busy businessmen and a fast-paced lifestyle is perhaps the more obvious appearance to those visiting on work or for short durations. But San Jose can also be ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 341 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Margaret C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This tour was really fantastic. The lunch after a few hour bus ride was very good they gave you a choice of several options. The town of Sarchi was interesting, as well as the world's largest ox cart. The Arenal volcano was cloudy at the top the day we were there, but you could still see the volcanic black lava on one side very clearly. The hot springs was absolutely terrific, they provide you with dry towels and a medium size locker. You can turn your towel in for a dry one as many times as you want. I left my towel in my locker. The shower area was very nice and clean, but they only provided body soap so I was glad that I brought some shampoo and conditioner from my hotel. The buffet dinner afterward was equally delightful. There was a large salad bar, a hot soup, several kinds of breads, a pasta station, grilled steak, chicken, vegetables, and a dessert buffet. If I went back to Costa Rica again, I would do this tour again. Definitely worth the money, but be advised, it is a long day.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Tabacón Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

turner

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The tour is well described by the tour information and the comments from those who have taken it. It was a great tour, but if you visit during the nesting season for the turtles September-October you should stay for at least one night if possible. You don't get to see any turtles on the day trip. It was a fairly long trip form San Jose to the park, and of course the same going back. But it was worth it.

Doing what: Tortuguero National Park

Patty

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

The hot springs was the highlight of the tour and the meal at the springs was wonderful. You could see some of the Volcano, but we did not spend much time viewing. It was partly cloudy also.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Derek S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Excellent. Trip.guide.and.driver.very.helpfull

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Karina B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The tour was punctual, educational, and accommodating. The main guide spoke excellent English. The food served was delicious and in good portions breakfast at a quaint restaurant and a three course meal for lunch. The weather was optimal when we visited the park, and we saw the river from several different points. A park guide who accompanied us on our hike was very knowledgeable about local wildlife. We also went on a shorter hike with access to the river. The rides were scenic and we were allowed to play our own music in the van. At the end of the day, we were treated to a sunset on the Central Pacific Coast before heading back to San Jose. For those who have a free day and would like to conveniently see Rio Celeste, I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Rio Celeste Day Tour from San Jose

Morgan R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The day of our trip, was extremely clear! It was absolutely beautiful getting to see the volcano. Our tour guide was very educated about Costa Rica and all of the things we saw. I didn't just learn about the volcano I also learned about Costa Rican culture, animals, history, economy, and much more. The majority of the trip is spend in the car due to the long drive. But we made many different stops as well. We also spent 3 hours at the hot springs, which were beautiful.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Barry F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

A great day trip and orientation to Costa Rica. Meals were great, the park was beautiful, fantastic scenery and warm water for my swim! Our guide George and driver Paulo were excellent. I particularly enjoyed learning more about Costa Rica through George's narrative. Its a lot of driving but well worth it.

Doing what: Manuel Antonio National Park Day Trip from San Jose

John O C

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Good trip although very long day. A 2 day trip with an overnight stay may have been a better option but was not feasible with my timetable. Costa Rica certainly does the eco tourism scene very well.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

John O C

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Good trip although very long day. 2 day with overnight stop may have been better option but not possible with my timetable. Costa Rica certainly does the eco tourism bit very well.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Vipil

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Good and refreshing. The travel guide was very helpful and took care of the entire group.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Tabacón Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Bart C

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Unfortunately, it was too cloudy/rainy to see the Arenal. Baldi Springs were excellent!
Very timely pick up, safe driving, nice guiding, delicious meals, no wildlife

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Karen M

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

What was advertised as an 8 hour tour became an 11 hour odyssey for us and even 12 for others in the group in a very uncomfortable van. Our guide Kenny was jovial, well-informed, and obviously fluent in several languages. He tried to keep everything moving as smoothly as possible but driving time throughout exceeded the expected by large increments, mostly because of traffic congestion. At the request of two historians on our tour, an additional stop at a ruined 17th century church was added. That church was quite interesting, however, we could certainly done without a final stop at the nondescript church that was actually part of the normal tour, not to mention the unadvertised 3/4 or so mile hike to get there. Irazu volcano and Lancaster Gardens were both stunning but the time at both seemed overly long and could probably have been cut by 1/3 to help keep us from getting so far behind.

Doing what: Irazu Volcano, Orosi Valley and Lankester

Bipin K

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2016

Save your time, money and do not take this trip especially with these folks. This is run by a tour operator and that will make it even worse. First of all, this is a day trip and turtle will never come out during the day. You must enter the park in the early morning to get the best out of it but because of these tour handlers greed you will reach there around noon and then all animals are gone. They always start late, and then will keep on loading their bus until it gets full by picking passengers from all over the town. Passengers will enter from front and their suitcases will enter from side windows to make it even more uncomfortable. Their whole purpose of conducting this tour is to sell you their night tour. In our case, they kept on selling us their night tour from the minute we boarded the bus. By the time the whole bus was full few of us wanted to go for it but did not have enough cash. But instead of focusing on their main goal of what we paid for in advance the park, they kept on taking us from ATM to ATM in the search of a machine that can accept these couple of passengers cards to take cash out. Over all journey is not so comfortable because half of the road is horrible but they will still drive very fast. You will see plenty of flora, banana plantation at 60 mile speed and almost none of fauna. I tried to tell the organizers how they can improve via email, but their response was, this is not a private tour and there is nothing guaranteed in the jungle. The only good thing in this whole trip was the smooth sailing close to water river cruise very much like being in the amazon and the meals. But no surprise, both of them were outsourced to local folks. So the question is, why should we take this tour when there are plenty of other options? My recommendation, go with someone else, stay overnight if possible to see the animals at their peak, and take a night tour with night goggles if you happen to be visiting the park during the turtle season.

Doing what: Tortuguero National Park

Anna C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The long distance created some time crunches. On the other hand, I appreciated the fact that there was a tour from the San Jose area to Arenal. Food at both lunch and dinner was delicious it was some of the best I've had in Costa Rica so far. Tour guide told funny jokes, which I enjoyed. The Baldi Hot Springs resort was one of the most posh places I've ever seen. Pretty fabulous.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

ROBERT S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

A long day but very worthwhile.. You do spend a long time on the coach and the way home is rather longer than is truly comfortable however it and #39;s a price worth paying for a great day out.

The views of the volcano were spectacular, both meals were more than passable and the hotsprings were amazing.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

srul59 Israel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Very nice trip from morning to night, including breakfast and lunch at a nice reserve barely seen except for some animals monkeys and the guide was fine

Doing what: Manuel Antonio National Park Day Trip from San Jose

Brad C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Long drive, but awesome park.

Doing what: Manuel Antonio National Park Day Trip from San Jose

Quinn B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great guide. The monkeys, sloths, parrots, etc. It was incredible!

Doing what: Tortuguero National Park

Marc H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The tour was excellent. Maria, our guide was very knowledgeable, friendly and helpful throughout the tour. The breakfast and lunch also were excellent. We saw many beautiful things in the national park including lots of monkeys!

Doing what: Manuel Antonio National Park Day Trip from San Jose

Marc H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We did the day trip to Tortuguero. We went during the rainy season so be prepared for rain and muddy terrain! Our tour guide Luis was excellent with many years of experience. The breakfast and lunch were both excellent too!

Doing what: Tortuguero National Park

Ours

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We were lucky that we were able to see it, the hot springs were the best part!

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Tabacón Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Lindsay D

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

This was great day trip. We loved getting to see this area of Costa Rica. The majority of our fellow tourists were all Spanish speakers so the majority of the tour was conducted in Spanish even though we didn't speak much Spanish. Just be aware that you will be going with people from all over the world and they may be some language barriers. We went to Baldi hot springs resort which was fantastic with about 25 different pools and a great spa. We even had time to get a massage!

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Quinn B

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

The volcano is incredible but the Hot Springs is very touristy.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message