San Jose in Costa Rica is many things to many people. Looming skyscrapers, glitzy malls, busy businessmen and a fast-paced lifestyle is perhaps the more obvious appearance to those visiting on work or for short durations. But San Jose can also be ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 335 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Derek S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Excellent. Trip.guide.and.driver.very.helpfull

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Karina B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The tour was punctual, educational, and accommodating. The main guide spoke excellent English. The food served was delicious and in good portions breakfast at a quaint restaurant and a three course meal for lunch. The weather was optimal when we visited the park, and we saw the river from several different points. A park guide who accompanied us on our hike was very knowledgeable about local wildlife. We also went on a shorter hike with access to the river. The rides were scenic and we were allowed to play our own music in the van. At the end of the day, we were treated to a sunset on the Central Pacific Coast before heading back to San Jose. For those who have a free day and would like to conveniently see Rio Celeste, I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Rio Celeste Day Tour from San Jose

Morgan R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The day of our trip, was extremely clear! It was absolutely beautiful getting to see the volcano. Our tour guide was very educated about Costa Rica and all of the things we saw. I didn't just learn about the volcano I also learned about Costa Rican culture, animals, history, economy, and much more. The majority of the trip is spend in the car due to the long drive. But we made many different stops as well. We also spent 3 hours at the hot springs, which were beautiful.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

John O C

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Good trip although very long day. A 2 day trip with an overnight stay may have been a better option but was not feasible with my timetable. Costa Rica certainly does the eco tourism scene very well.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

John O C

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Good trip although very long day. 2 day with overnight stop may have been better option but not possible with my timetable. Costa Rica certainly does the eco tourism bit very well.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Vipil

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Good and refreshing. The travel guide was very helpful and took care of the entire group.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Tabacón Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Karen M

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

What was advertised as an 8 hour tour became an 11 hour odyssey for us and even 12 for others in the group in a very uncomfortable van. Our guide Kenny was jovial, well-informed, and obviously fluent in several languages. He tried to keep everything moving as smoothly as possible but driving time throughout exceeded the expected by large increments, mostly because of traffic congestion. At the request of two historians on our tour, an additional stop at a ruined 17th century church was added. That church was quite interesting, however, we could certainly done without a final stop at the nondescript church that was actually part of the normal tour, not to mention the unadvertised 3/4 or so mile hike to get there. Irazu volcano and Lancaster Gardens were both stunning but the time at both seemed overly long and could probably have been cut by 1/3 to help keep us from getting so far behind.

Doing what: Irazu Volcano, Orosi Valley and Lankester

Anna C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The long distance created some time crunches. On the other hand, I appreciated the fact that there was a tour from the San Jose area to Arenal. Food at both lunch and dinner was delicious it was some of the best I've had in Costa Rica so far. Tour guide told funny jokes, which I enjoyed. The Baldi Hot Springs resort was one of the most posh places I've ever seen. Pretty fabulous.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

ROBERT S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

A long day but very worthwhile.. You do spend a long time on the coach and the way home is rather longer than is truly comfortable however it and #39;s a price worth paying for a great day out.

The views of the volcano were spectacular, both meals were more than passable and the hotsprings were amazing.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

srul59 Israel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Very nice trip from morning to night, including breakfast and lunch at a nice reserve barely seen except for some animals monkeys and the guide was fine

Doing what: Manuel Antonio National Park Day Trip from San Jose

Brad C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Long drive, but awesome park.

Doing what: Manuel Antonio National Park Day Trip from San Jose

Quinn B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great guide. The monkeys, sloths, parrots, etc. It was incredible!

Doing what: Tortuguero National Park

Marc H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The tour was excellent. Maria, our guide was very knowledgeable, friendly and helpful throughout the tour. The breakfast and lunch also were excellent. We saw many beautiful things in the national park including lots of monkeys!

Doing what: Manuel Antonio National Park Day Trip from San Jose

Marc H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We did the day trip to Tortuguero. We went during the rainy season so be prepared for rain and muddy terrain! Our tour guide Luis was excellent with many years of experience. The breakfast and lunch were both excellent too!

Doing what: Tortuguero National Park

Ours

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We were lucky that we were able to see it, the hot springs were the best part!

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Tabacón Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Lindsay D

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

This was great day trip. We loved getting to see this area of Costa Rica. The majority of our fellow tourists were all Spanish speakers so the majority of the tour was conducted in Spanish even though we didn't speak much Spanish. Just be aware that you will be going with people from all over the world and they may be some language barriers. We went to Baldi hot springs resort which was fantastic with about 25 different pools and a great spa. We even had time to get a massage!

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Quinn B

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

The volcano is incredible but the Hot Springs is very touristy.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Nick K

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

Very long day with the traffic. Views were good, but the morning portion of the tour was rather dry.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Vincent R

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2016

Bus ride took forever. Tour included lunch and dinner buffet. But to be out from 7am to 11pm for 7 minutes at a elevated view of the volcano isn and #39;t worth it.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Tabacón Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Boyd

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We were unable to take this tour, due to illness, so cannot rate it

Doing what: Tortuguero National Park

Haynes M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour is All about the Hot Springs and the Dinner Buffet at Tabacón ☆ the mini bus while well air-conditioned the seats could use a little more padding - Our tour guide Eugene and driver Roy were wonderful, informative and safe. This is a Must Do tour every time I am in Costa Rica

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Tabacón Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

zas07

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

The sites visited were fantastic on their own but any added fun depends on tour guides and tourist group. If you research individual prices and tranport for these places you will quickly realize this is the better deal. The schedule runs as described and yes it is a really long day! But so much fun!

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Tabacón Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

gerald

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Long drive out, but worth it. We were give breakfast, box lunch, and very early dinner. Went on weekday and wasn and #39;t too crowded. Lots of monkeys up close. It and #39;s a bit of a hike to the beach, because no vehicles are allowed in park. Once there, with additional hiking you can find very secluded areas

Doing what: Manuel Antonio National Park Day Trip from San Jose

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message