San Jose in Costa Rica is many things to many people. Looming skyscrapers, glitzy malls, busy businessmen and a fast-paced lifestyle is perhaps the more obvious appearance to those visiting on work or for short durations. But San Jose can also be ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 327 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Anna C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The long distance created some time crunches. On the other hand, I appreciated the fact that there was a tour from the San Jose area to Arenal. Food at both lunch and dinner was delicious it was some of the best I've had in Costa Rica so far. Tour guide told funny jokes, which I enjoyed. The Baldi Hot Springs resort was one of the most posh places I've ever seen. Pretty fabulous.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

ROBERT S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

A long day but very worthwhile.. You do spend a long time on the coach and the way home is rather longer than is truly comfortable however it and #39;s a price worth paying for a great day out.

The views of the volcano were spectacular, both meals were more than passable and the hotsprings were amazing.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

srul59 Israel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Very nice trip from morning to night, including breakfast and lunch at a nice reserve barely seen except for some animals monkeys and the guide was fine

Doing what: Manuel Antonio National Park Day Trip from San Jose

Brad C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Long drive, but awesome park.

Doing what: Manuel Antonio National Park Day Trip from San Jose

Quinn B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great guide. The monkeys, sloths, parrots, etc. It was incredible!

Doing what: Tortuguero National Park

Marc H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The tour was excellent. Maria, our guide was very knowledgeable, friendly and helpful throughout the tour. The breakfast and lunch also were excellent. We saw many beautiful things in the national park including lots of monkeys!

Doing what: Manuel Antonio National Park Day Trip from San Jose

Marc H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We did the day trip to Tortuguero. We went during the rainy season so be prepared for rain and muddy terrain! Our tour guide Luis was excellent with many years of experience. The breakfast and lunch were both excellent too!

Doing what: Tortuguero National Park

Ours

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We were lucky that we were able to see it, the hot springs were the best part!

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Tabacón Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Lindsay D

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

This was great day trip. We loved getting to see this area of Costa Rica. The majority of our fellow tourists were all Spanish speakers so the majority of the tour was conducted in Spanish even though we didn't speak much Spanish. Just be aware that you will be going with people from all over the world and they may be some language barriers. We went to Baldi hot springs resort which was fantastic with about 25 different pools and a great spa. We even had time to get a massage!

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Quinn B

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

The volcano is incredible but the Hot Springs is very touristy.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Nick K

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

Very long day with the traffic. Views were good, but the morning portion of the tour was rather dry.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Vincent R

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2016

Bus ride took forever. Tour included lunch and dinner buffet. But to be out from 7am to 11pm for 7 minutes at a elevated view of the volcano isn and #39;t worth it.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Tabacón Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Boyd

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We were unable to take this tour, due to illness, so cannot rate it

Doing what: Tortuguero National Park

Haynes M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour is All about the Hot Springs and the Dinner Buffet at Tabacón ☆ the mini bus while well air-conditioned the seats could use a little more padding - Our tour guide Eugene and driver Roy were wonderful, informative and safe. This is a Must Do tour every time I am in Costa Rica

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Tabacón Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

zas07

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

The sites visited were fantastic on their own but any added fun depends on tour guides and tourist group. If you research individual prices and tranport for these places you will quickly realize this is the better deal. The schedule runs as described and yes it is a really long day! But so much fun!

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Tabacón Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

gerald

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Long drive out, but worth it. We were give breakfast, box lunch, and very early dinner. Went on weekday and wasn and #39;t too crowded. Lots of monkeys up close. It and #39;s a bit of a hike to the beach, because no vehicles are allowed in park. Once there, with additional hiking you can find very secluded areas

Doing what: Manuel Antonio National Park Day Trip from San Jose

Elsa Y

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

We had a great time on this tour! The guide, Chewy, had a lot of knowledge and his English was very good! we went to a lovely place for a wonderful view of the volcano. And the spa after was fantastic! The best and most relaxing part!

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Lei United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was an awesome day trip. The tour guide was very nice. The hot spring felt amazing. I would definitely do it again. Great stop to buy souvenirs. Please note: if you are scared to drive on winding roads at night take a sleeping pill on the way back. But do not miss out on this. Totally worth every penny. The drive is long but I really didn't mind.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Tabacón Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Pavel V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Nice tour, the botanical gardens were a little disappointing, especially because it started raining.

Doing what: Irazu Volcano, Orosi Valley and Lankester

Jay J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

It was very fun and a beautiful experience.

Doing what: Tortuguero National Park

Ana C

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

The tour began with an early pick up at the hotel and then a pretty lengthy ride to the Arenal park area. We stopped at Sarchi at a coop and took some fun photos and purchased souveniers. Then we had lunch at La Fortuna. The guides shared information along the way. Lunch was pretty tasty! Then we went to the Arenal area. We lucked out that it was very visible. After that, we made our way to Tabacon, which was absolutely gorgeous. It was surreal to be in the hot springs when it started raining as it created this very cool steam. Dinner at Tabacon was above average. Then we headed back for into San Jose on a three hour ride. You spend a lot of time on the van. We enjoyed getting to know our fellow travelers on the way there and all napped on the way back. You should definitely pack a swimsuit. Towels and small lockers are included at Tabacon.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Tabacón Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

clfoley

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

The boat ride was great, but I thought this would be more than just a boat ride. We did not see any turtles which we were disappointed about. We did see banana plantations and stopped to see how they are cleaned and packed. We saw one howler monkey up in the tree's and lots of birds but not much else. Kind of disappointed in that......The guides were good but hard to understand at times.

Doing what: Tortuguero National Park

Τάσο Ψ

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

This tour is a really long way to finally reach the park with countless hours of driving through city's traffic, villages, cloud forest, rivers and so on but reaching the park there wasnt really much of wild life to see let alone turtles due the the season.. Guide was informative and food was nice too. One has to visit the national park of Tortuguero in September to get a chance to see the turtles...

Doing what: Tortuguero National Park

Elisabeth K

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2016

This tour gets to nice place when you want to go swimming and lying on the beach. But if you want to see nature and wildlife than better go another nationalpark. This one is more like a pettingzoo and very touristic! You really have to watch your beggage. Monkeys seem to be a little bit agressive...

Doing what: Manuel Antonio National Park Day Trip from San Jose

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message