San Juan ATTRACTIONS See all

El Yunque Rainforest

El Yunque Rainforest is the only tropical rainforest under the protection of the US Forest Service and also the largest nature reserve in densely-populated Puerto Rico. It is situated in the mist-wreathed Luquillo Mountains where year-round ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1212 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Bivyanna G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Such a beautiful place. Our tour guide Frances was great. Didn't get to swim in La Mina Falls but got to see La Coco Falls.

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Half-Day Trip from San Juan

Daniel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Amazing, tour guides were simply fantastic.

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Nature Walk and Bioluminescent Bay Kayaking Combo Tour

Tammy J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Tony was our guide and he was great.He knew lots about the rainforest. Very friendly guy.

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest and Luquillo Beach from San Juan

Win Ei Ei T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

It's the best tour ever. The tour guide was super knowledgable. Time and money well spent.

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Guided Hiking with Waterfall Tour

Teresa J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The tour was excellent. The tour guide was very informative and interacted with everyone. I love the scenery and the waterfalls. I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Half-Day Trip from San Juan

Pamela D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our tour was AWESOME and very informational! Jerry who was our tour guide was AMAZING!!! and we had a great team! OVERALL GREAT EXPERIENCE!

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Guided Hiking with Waterfall Tour

Bo Bae J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Totally recommend this tour. The rainforest was gorgeous and the phytoplankton was incredible. I was amazed at both tours!

Rainforest walk
- Our guide Jerry was wonderful. He allowed us to buy snacks before we started the hike and provided us with water and towels.
- Jerry led us into a small cave that only couple people knew! and seeing the fall was great!
- You're going to get wet so wear waterproof or something comfortable. You can bring extra clothes, but you're going to get wet during the kayaking tour so we ended up not changing for the whole day. we wore bathing suits underneath
- Jerry accommodated us very well and brought us into a very authentic puerto rican restaurant cheap and yummy. they accept credit cards so no worries!

Bioluminescent Bay Kayaking
- you're going to get wet
- as someone who kayaked for the first time, kayaking was difficult. if you need help, tell the guides, they will help you throughout the whole tour
- phytoplankton is very cool! very interesting to see since puerto rico is the only place you can see it all year around in the U.S

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Nature Walk and Bioluminescent Bay Kayaking Combo Tour

WILLIAM P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great,experience ,professional

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Half-Day Trip from San Juan

hilldfamily02

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Too tired and frustrated from biolum kayaking tour the previous night to go on this tour.

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Half-Day Trip from San Juan

Robert M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Was two events in one. Started with guide Jerry at El Yunque and it was awesome! Jerry really knew his stuff and even arranged for a nearly private waterfall swimming experience. Could not have been better. Then it was off to a local restaurant for fantastic Puerto Rican food. Lastly, it was off with guide Jesus to the bioluminescent bay. Best part here was that it was the first group - meaning we kayaked in through the mangroves while it was still light out. This was on the one glass bottom kayak service and that is DEFINITELY the best way. You can see the little glowing sprites right through the bottom! Would highly recommend this entire package!

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Nature Walk and Bioluminescent Bay Kayaking Combo Tour

Gregory L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

A must do and to experience the waterfalls was breathtaking!!! Our guide Rachel made this a amazing trip!

Doing what: Full Day El Yunque Rainforest Hike from San Juan

Gregory L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

A must do and to experience the waterfalls was breathtaking!!! Our guide Rachel made this a amazing trip!

Doing what: Full Day El Yunque Rainforest Hike from San Juan

Mildred W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our guides are very profetional. very kind and comunicative. We felt save with them, and had a good time

Doing what: Zipline Canopy and El Yunque Rainforest Hiking Combo Tour

DONNETTE L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This combination is fantastic. Jerry was out tour guide and I don't have the words to express how pivital he was in our experience at the Rain forest. Jerry is extremely knowledgeable about the history of Puerto Rico and the navigation through the Rain forest and took us to our own little oasis to swim around privately before taking us to the main waterfall where everyone else goes. The hike is indeed a hike but is so scenic and peaceful that it doesn't even feel like exercise. You do work up quite an appetite and are more than ready for the delicious authentic Puerto Rican meal not included that follows the hike.
Then it was off to the Bio-Bay Kayaking tour!!! Another adventure, and you will get very wet on the tour so be prepared. Its dark because its the only way you will see the glow, and you kayak quite a bit. The guides watch over everyone with eagle eyes so there is never a moment when you don't feel safe. I was with my 13 year old daughter who was a worse kayaker that I was so we almost ended up in the Florida Keys just joking until Monolo rescued us!!! Hallelujah!! He did not leave our sides for the rest of the tour, probably because me and my daughter would have otherwise ended up in the hands of the US Coast guard, lol but he was awesome and we had an amazing adventure. The water is generally pretty shallow so there is no real risk of us ever really reach Florida by Kayak, : Thank you guys

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Nature Walk and Bioluminescent Bay Kayaking Combo Tour

RuBaby

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Juan was a fun tour guide. His humor, knowledge, and genuine interest made the tour. If you are lucky to visit the forest on a clear day, you will be rewarded with beautiful views. This is an easy tour for people who aren't into hiking through the rainforest but still want to see everything.

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Half-Day Trip from San Juan

Albert B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Awesome views, friendly, knowledgeable guide. Would book again. Only con was food location for lunch, food good, way overpriced and it was obvious the restaurant were taking advantage of the tourist.

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Hiking from San Juan

GARY S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Memorable day long trip with scenic vistas, dip in a waterfall pool and entertaining guide Jaime.

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Guided Hiking with Waterfall Tour

Angelia D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Amazing experience! Can't wait to go back!! Zip lining and hiking worth every dollar with knowledgeable tour guide. Make sure to have Alex as your tour guide he was great!

Doing what: Zipline Canopy and El Yunque Rainforest Hiking Combo Tour

Linda A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The Rainforest Tour was excellent. The tour guide was knowledgeable of the plants, trees, flowers and history and made sure all guests were taken care of. It rained quite a bit, as it is the rainy season, but it did not take away from the beautiful scenery and enjoyable sites and walks. I would highly recommend this tour, it is a good value for money.

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Half-Day Trip from San Juan

nana1987t

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This tour was amazing! Breathtaking water falls and views of the El Yunque Forest! Our tour guide Jerry was simply the best! So friendly, knowledgeable and helpful! Loved it!

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Guided Hiking with Waterfall Tour

Sara D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our tour guide in the Rainforest, Alex, was so thorough and knowledgeable about all things Puerto Rico, the forest, and other sites to see while visiting. Full of history and biology the tour was a perfect introductory way to visit El Yunque. The guides for the Biobay kayak tour were very fun and entertaining! They did their best to keep order with a group that seemed unable to control their kayaks at all....but their instruction was helpful and patient. A wonderful day and way to see two must see sites on the island!

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Nature Walk and Bioluminescent Bay Kayaking Combo Tour

Stephen M

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

It was a great tour. Our tour guide was the best!

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Half-Day Trip from San Juan

samata k

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Rainforest was good, and you cannget some good pictures! They have the shuttle service that picks us up from hotels but in the last minute we had to change our hotel and tried to communicate them but they didn't answer and poor customer service.

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Half-Day Trip from San Juan

Linda S

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

The beauty of the rain forest was not lost on me during our recent trip. It truly was gorgeous and uplifting to see the various types of flora. That said, both my husband and I seemed to feel that the tour lacked something. Maybe it was the commercialism of the whole trip -- riding in a tour bus on paved roads doesn't seem much like a rain forest. It could also have been the unscheduled stop to buy lunch from a local vendor and finding out that the owner was our tour guide's brother in law. Not sure I would do this again ... And if I did, I would be sure to visit in May when the flowers are in bloom. We didn't see many flowers on this trip at all.

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Half-Day Trip from San Juan

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message