San Juan ATTRACTIONS See all

El Yunque Rainforest

El Yunque Rainforest is the only tropical rainforest under the protection of the US Forest Service and also the largest nature reserve in densely-populated Puerto Rico. It is situated in the mist-wreathed Luquillo Mountains where year-round ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1328 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

LARRY W C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

This was an educational, laid back, totally pleasurable experience. My husband and I are in our 70's and we were very pleased by the scale of this tour. Our guide was really informative, pleasant, and compassionate. We had an 8 year old that wasn't feeling well and the guide could not have been kinder. His expertise was amazing and his sense of humor just perfect. Ahaving never seen a rainforest this was a magnificent experience. Many thanks. Highly recommended.

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Half-Day Trip from San Juan

Oghenemudiame A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

This was a long day but worth it. Our guide was excellent - she was funny, entertaining and very knowledgeable. We got picked up from out hotel in Old San Juan, and after picking up the other guests we set off. She gives you a great history as you head to the rainforest and once there you get more detail about the trees and vegetation all very interesting!. There is a driving tour portion to this but you do get out and climb up a few trails some pretty steep but nothing to worry about. Lots of opportunities for great photos.
The kayaking tour was also good. The tour operators have a great sense of humour and were interesting and reassuring for those of us that have never kayaked before. Be prepared to get wet, so I would advise packing a change of clothes for after the kayak trip!
Overall, excellent trip.

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Nature Walk and Bioluminescent Bay Kayaking Combo Tour

trumpetms

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Great Day with lots of walking and getting an amazing tour from our knowledgeable guide. This is a beautiful place and the walk to the waterfall was wonderful. Our guide stopped along the way to tell us facts and information that you would not know unless you were doing a tour. I was nervous that the walk would be too strenuous, but I made it through.

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Guided Hiking with Waterfall Tour

Cathy F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

We really enjoyed this tour.

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Guided Hiking with Waterfall Tour

LARRY P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

This was our 1 thing to do after ElMorro. Picked up at Marriott with a 10 minute window. Be sure to confirm time 2 days before. Ricky our guide was super, well informed and attentive. We had a small group of about 10 people. Less than 1 hour to rainforest. Nicely spaced stops, 1. Visitors center- restrooms and giftstore. 2. Tower- great views 3.Hike- somewhat rough terrain- if you cannot walk, you could just stay with van. Hike was great, small waterfall, Ricky explained about snails, stick bugs and local vegetation. 4. Nice Waterfall. !/2 day was a nice amount of good paced activity. Highly recommended.

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Half-Day Trip from San Juan

Demica D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

EXCELLENT adventure and time on the tour! I would book with them again
From the moment we were picked til when we were dropped off the staff were ON point.
You can really tell they respect their jobs and the zipline guides LOVE what they do.
They're knowledgeable and despite the sheer amount of times you know they do this, it comes across warm and genuine.
The zips themselves are pretty good too.
Thank you for helping to make our 1st trip to PR and my bf's birthday weekend a success!

Doing what: Zipline Canopy Adventure Tour from San Juan

Colleen F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

This was an awesome day! It was long, but worth it. We were picked up by our first tour guide, Alex. He was extremely informative and passionate about Puerto Rico. We went to El Yunque where he guided us on a hike through the rain forest and to waterfalls. The views were phenomenal and he always ensured we had photo opportunities. We never felt rushed and had plenty of time to swim in the fresh water. There were a few kids in our group and he was so great stopping to give them little teaching points paid them very close attention. He then took us to a natural rock water slide outside of El Yenque to enjoy for another hour. When that part of our tour was over we were dropped off to meet Jesus who was equally as awesome. We met with another group of people and rode out to Fajardo. The view from the top of the hill before descending to the beach is breathtaking. We then kayaked at sunset out into the bioluminescent bay. Our kayak tour guides were hysterical and full of information. When out on the water we waited for the sun to completely set and then got to play with the water. At first it was hard to see but as it got darker the lights under the water seemed very bright. It's like a bunch of tiny fireflies under the surface, and we got to see some jellyfish light up to. We then rode in the dark back to the beach which was really fun. All in all it was about a 13 hour day and we were exhausted but it was worth it and every guide we met was phenomenal.

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Nature Walk and Bioluminescent Bay Kayaking Combo Tour

brigitte15

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Beautiful tour! Tony was an awesome tour guide--very knowledgeable about the rainforest and proud to tell us about his hometown on the edge of the rainforest. The view from the tower was amazing. Great tour if you only want to do a little bit of hiking provided that you can walk up some steps.

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Half-Day Trip from San Juan

Elizabeth L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Carlos was great. Very knowledgeable about the history of the area and all the foliage in the rain forest. I am not a big hiker but was able to handle the short hike into the forest. I also went up the tower we went to and the view was incredible. We stopped at a small roadside cafe for lunch and enjoyed chicken on a stick and a beer for under 10. It was fun and I'm glad I did it. Thanks Carlos. Lisa

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Half-Day Trip from San Juan

gtbevo United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

This trip was fantastic! Very organized but flexible - Alex kept us all on track throughout the day. He was also very knowledgeable about everything - history, culture, local flora and fauna - basically anything anyone asked a question about. Doing both tours back to back made for a long day but it was very enjoyable. So glad we chose this tour!

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Nature Walk and Bioluminescent Bay Kayaking Combo Tour

Mary A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

It was a rainy day however it was a great hike through the rainforest. The wild life is subtle so you have to keep your eyes peeled. Most of it is very small. I had a great time. My tour guide was very knowledgeable and the pace was perfect. I would definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Half-Day Trip from San Juan

Mary S

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

This tour was amazing. Alex our tour guide for the rain forest was knowledgeable and friendly. The bio bay was also great but would have been nicer if the bay showed more luminescence. No fault of the tour guides. Michael from glass bottom pr was wonderful.

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Nature Walk and Bioluminescent Bay Kayaking Combo Tour

Eva S United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

Such a beautiful place! I loved every bit of that rainforest, but the tour was just too short. It felt like it took longer to get there than the actual time we spent inside. Still, it was a lot of fun and absolutely beautiful. Our guide was awesome!

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Half-Day Trip from San Juan

englertfun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Beautiful place! Go early, wear sneakers. Easy climb. About 45 minute bus ride. The guide was informative and personable. Would recommend.

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Half-Day Trip from San Juan

Frank H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Fantastic excursion. My wife and I both enjoyed this immensely. I believe a great deal of our experience came from our guide Aicia. She was incredibly knowledgable and so much to the experience. The rain forest was awesome. Some things you can do on your own when you go places. These two experiences are not things to be done without the experience and information from guides like Alicia. Highly recommend this excursion. Bug spray and cash for the gift store or for snacks throughout the day is all you will need :

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Nature Walk and Bioluminescent Bay Kayaking Combo Tour

TERRAL A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Very good hiking trip, but much harder than we had expected. The description should list this as a difficult hike and not suitable for some people. There were very slippery steep sections that could be dangerous if you are not careful. That being said, the guide Alex was awesome. He took care of the entire group with professionalism and expertise.

The hike itself was a 1000' assent where we saw 3 waterfalls, lots of vegetation, and a few geckos. You take the same route back down the trail, but this can also be a challenge if it is wet. You were defiantly tired and dirty when this trip was complete. They also provided water bottles which you will defiantly want to carry with you.

Overall it was a great trip, but exercise caution if you are not in good shape and have good balance. Make sure you wear hiking shoes/boots, even though a good walking shoe will probably help. No open toe shoes.

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Hiking Adventure

Nicole M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We absolutely loved our tour of the Rainforest. Our tour guide, Alicia was amazing! She was very kind, patient and generous with her information. Alicia was highly accommodating, very knowledgeable and overall wonderful to be around. Alicia was funny, informative and I felt like we were fast friends, Alicia was the best representative of Puerto Rico. I am so happy to have met her and I have a great respect for her job and I love Puerto Rico even more because of her and her efforts. The lunch should be included in the tour price. Its really ridiculous to not have the 12 lunch included in the tour price. To have to pay for the tour and then go to lunch and have to pay for that separately is very silly to me. Also, make sure to bring lots of snacks because we got picked up for the tour at 8 am and didn't eat lunch until around 2-3 pm. There are a few places to grab snacks at the rain forest, but they're really expensive. On to the kayaking tour in the bioluminescent bay. Please keep in mind that this tour takes place at night, it is very very dark. The tour is about a mile 1 and 1/2 long, going and coming back so 3 miles total. This is not a very strenuous activity but it lasts a while, and takes some effort to get through it. I do not recommend this tour for young children. We had one younger child on our tour that was very scared of the dark and the tour guide had take him back to the shore. There are a bunch of tour guides available during the tour, who will help you if you get stuck or anything, which is very reassuring. The tour guides are also, funny, entertaining and overall great representatives of Puerto Rico. I'm very glad we took this tour also. It is a must see/must do experience. I highly recommend it!

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Nature Walk and Bioluminescent Bay Kayaking Combo Tour

Jana L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This half-day trip was exactly what we needed. There was not as much walking as one would expect. We drove to different locations throughout the rainforest and got out to take pictures and hear about the plant origins. The scenery is beautiful and it feels so serene. Our tour guide was wonderful and very personable. I would go on this tour again.

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Half-Day Trip from San Juan

Katherine P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

My boyfriend and I booked this trip while staying in Isla Verde. We cannot say enough positive things about the experience, all of which are due to our guide Alicia. She went out of her way to pick up and drop off everyone on the trip where it was most convenient for them, regardless of traffic or other nuisances. Throughout the day, she made a point of stopping whenever she could to highlight details specific to Puerto Rico in El Yunque and the sights we were seeing. She made sure we had the best experience by timing our trails where we wouldn't be stuck in foot traffic. Alicia was extremely personable and accommodating. She wanted to get to know everyone as best as she could in order to cater to individual interests. We forgot a towel and while we were on our bay tour she went out to get us one. Alicia goes above and beyond her job requirements in order to ensure everyone has a once in a lifetime experience in the nature of Puerto Rico. You will not find a more passionate and knowledgeable tour guide and travel expert. The bio bay tour was absolutely unforgettable. The glass-bottom kayaks were a cool touch but do not stress if you end up in a normal kayak because the guides make sure everyone has the best view of the phenomenon as possible. There was always clear communication between us and all of our guides on the itinerary and safety regulations for each part of this tour. We will be recommending this experience to any of our friends looking for an adventure-filled day in Puerto Rico.

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Nature Walk and Bioluminescent Bay Kayaking Combo Tour

bjkkstutt

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The pickup was at a hotel a block from our hotel. Not a problem! The guide was informative and loved his job. I would recommend this half-day trip to everyone!

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Half-Day Trip from San Juan

AK

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Amazing tour! Thank you for great experience!

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Nature Walk and Bioluminescent Bay Kayaking Combo Tour

Daveen USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Great tour for being half day. Beautiful scenery.

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Half-Day Trip from San Juan

Julie T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We were the only 2 people on the tour! Went to a local farmers market, through a mangrove path to amazing ocean view, and had a wonderful lunch. Due to heavy rains, we could not do as much off the beaten path, but experienced going into a couple of amazing waterfalls. Guide was the beat!

Doing what: Small-Group El Yunque Rainforest Day Trip from San Juan

Penny Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The trip to and my hike through El Yunque rainforest was most enjoyable. Very personable guide - well-informed with wide-ranging knowledge of the area - flora and fauna and culture. I was born in a tropical country with rainforests this excursion added to my knowledge base. Beyond anyone's control but still lamentable - the lack of birds and their song no animals sighted. But the air and water were pure. A person can imagine birds flitting amidst the canopy and animals hiding in the vegetation.

Be sure to wear the recommended footwear as the steps and the ground, often soggy/slick/uneven, could be precarious especially for older hikers like myself. Enjoy the coolness and power of the waterfall standing on the bridge or perhaps dip a finger or two in its waters but leave the swimming to the younger folk! Fitness is a plus since the walk ascends and descends throughout its course

I add this hike as a highlight in my whole visit to Puerto Rico - a beautiful/wild contrast to the urbanization of the island.

Thank you!

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Guided Hiking with Waterfall Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message