San Juan ATTRACTIONS See all

El Yunque Rainforest

El Yunque Rainforest is the only tropical rainforest under the protection of the US Forest Service and also the largest nature reserve in densely-populated Puerto Rico. It is situated in the mist-wreathed Luquillo Mountains where year-round ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1265 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

RENE B

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2016

This was worthless. We didn't see much. You are better off going there on your own.

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Half-Day Trip from San Juan

Anthony W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

The guide we had was well informed and took the time to explain things so that everyone understood

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Half-Day Trip from San Juan

queta

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

The zipline tour was amazing and the guys were very helpfull explaining the instructions and safety!! The view is awesome and I highly recommend it if you visit Puerto Rico. Oh! and our driver Jaime was great, he gave us really good tips! The hike part of my tour to El Yunke was breathtaking! A lot of walking which i enjoy, and specially in such a beautiful place.

Doing what: Zipline Canopy and El Yunque Rainforest Hiking Combo Tour

Diane D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Our tour guide, Ricky, was fantastic! He shared so much knowledge with us about El Yunque and Puerto Rico in general. The rainforest was stunning and Ricky made sure to point out all kinds of wildlife and various trees and flowers that we otherwise would not have noticed or appreciated. The benefits of having a tour guide who focused on our safety while walking over the slippery, wet rocks in El Yunque can't be underestimated--we spotted a few tourists who hadn't been as careful during their walk and had injuries ranging from sprained ankles to broken limbs!

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Hiking from San Juan

Hollis B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Fantastic tour with beautiful views, lush greenery, fragrant flowers, and free-flowing waterfalls. Great guide who was passionate about sharing his deep knowledge of the rainforest and its preservation efforts. While it's possible to rent a car and hike some trails on your own, I highly recommend a guide to traverse the winding, narrow park roads and maximize your time. For example, our guide dropped us off at the parking lot trail-head for the main waterfall and picked us up at another parking lot to allow us more time to take a dip in the falls and see more of the forest on a different trail on the way out. On your own, you'd need to hike down to the falls and then back-track the trail the way you came uphill - on a rainy or hot day to return to your car. The local restaurant, friendly service, and fresh fish dinner at the end of the tour was a highlight of our Puerto Rico stay and one of our favorite meals -- the mojitos at your own expense were also an excellent finishing touch! Just an fyi, the tour may seem to start slow at the Visitor Center, but there is plenty of time to soak in the beauty and wonder of this majestic site once you get out and about. Highly recommend, don't miss it!

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Guided Hiking with Waterfall Tour

lcleary United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

We had a great time exploring the rainforest. My daughters especially enjoyed swimming in the pool below Mina falls.
Alex, our tour guide was very patient and helpful. He had a lot of knowledge about the flora and fauna so we learned a lot.
The early access made all of the difference because we had the falls all to ourselves for most of the time we were there.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to El Yunque National Forest Park with a Certified Tour Guide

Elizabeth

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

This was a fun educational trip but I think I was a bit disappointed in it. I was expecting this amazing trip with great views and some fun. I wish we would have gone with the water slide or the lake swing tour. The tour guide was fun and knowledgeable. The problem was we were walking so fast that we didn't see much and we only had 20 minutes at the waterfall. But it was a fun memorable tour.

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Guided Hiking with Waterfall Tour

Helen H

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

Overall good tour and the only way I was going to be able to enjoy El Yunque with only a partial day's time leftover after a business trip. Beautiful sites and a relief not to have to try and deal with renting a car and driving or getting lost. The downside was that we really wasted a LOT of time picking up many passengers at different locations which would have been much better spent allowing for free time to walk the trails in the forest.

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Half-Day Trip from San Juan

Jason W

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

It was a very enjoyable trip that is a bit different from the description. The initial hike was a bit longer than described and we went to two different waterfalls and pools for swimming. This part is very muddy, but really great otherwise and was the highlight for us. The restaurant was great, as described by others. The cliff slide was lots of fun, but certainly different from the description. We did not hike to it, but instead parked at an adjacent house. There was no cliff jump, and the slide ends directly in water, without any fall. Everything was lots of fun, but there was much less hiking than we expected for a hiking adventure.

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Hiking Adventure

Sabrina E

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2016

The tour did not include everything advertised.

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Half-Day Trip from San Juan

Dorothea M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Awesome guide very knowledgable

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Half-Day Trip from San Juan

Staci C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Terrific tour and our guide was amazing. Full of good info and interesting facts about the rainforest. Trip culminated in a couple of relaxing hours on Luquillo beach. Thanks Carlos!!

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest and Luquillo Beach from San Juan

Michelle B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This is a great tour for people wanting to see the highlights of the rain forest, try some local food and spend some time at one of the most beautiful Puerto Rican beaches. They pick you up at your hotel if your hotel is on the list, and from there, you just get to sit back and enjoy the view mostly. Carlos was amazing! He was our driver/tour guide and was very knowledgeable. The forest is beautiful and the local food for lunch is definitely something everyone should try. Luquillo beach is gorgeous! The water was calm and the view of the mountains was breathtaking. As someone who wasn't too interesting in renting a car, this was the perfect solution to get to these places with someone who not only knows the area, but also knows the history.

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest and Luquillo Beach from San Juan

Luis R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This tour was the highlight of my trip! My tour guides Alex and Eloy were very knowledgable about the island. They will teach you tons about the island and definitely lead you in the right direction regarding any interest you may have. I was expecting a simple tour that was maybe through a path but nope! It was a very exhilarating hike through various waterfalls in El Yunque. We also visited a natural waterslide. This touring company also does various other tours throughout the island. I will definitely book with them for my next trip in a couple months.

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Guided Hiking with Waterfall Tour

Sandra J M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Awesome trip! The guide was great - very personable and entertaining. Good pace to the whole day....the night kayaking to bio bay was amazing. Would do it all again!!!

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Nature Walk and Bioluminescent Bay Kayaking Combo Tour

Izabela J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The tour was fantastic! Our tour guide, Narayan, was knowledgeable and friendly. The views were spectacular and overall fun.

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Half-Day Trip from San Juan

Freddy A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

WOW, what a tour!!!...The hike was fun and our guide Alejandro made it very educational as well. The waterfall tour was beyond beautiful and the rock slide was tons of fun. Our tour guide finished it off perfectly with some great food at a local mom and pop restaurant...highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Guided Hiking with Waterfall Tour

BARBARA D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We highly recommend the guided rainforest trip. Carlos was very nice and very knowledgable. We learned so much about the history of the rain forest, the species of the rain forest, and a lot of the history of Puerto Rico. The views at the top of the tower are spectacular. By far, one of our best guided trips.

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Half-Day Trip from San Juan

mb

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We had a great time in the El Yungue Rainforest. The tour guide was awesome, very knowledgeable about the animals and fauna of the rainforest. A must see if you travel to San Juan.

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Half-Day Trip from San Juan

Alexander S

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2016

Kinda meh, the guide was fantastic, but the tour really isn't worth the price other than the amazing lunch at the end, which is out of pocket.

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Half-Day Trip from San Juan

Camille R

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2016

The tour was a disappointment. Our guide Frances was nice enough, but there was more awkward silence than genuine interaction. I was also disappointed that you don't get to go in any of the natural springs, so swimsuits and towels are not needed. The actual tour through the rain forest was only about 2 hours and 30 minutes, much of it spent waiting out the rain in huts along the trail. We didn't see much wild life, which was to be expected.
When we started the tour, Frances pointed out a potential lunch spot where she said we could stop if everyone was in. By the time we took the vote we were completely over this tour, so my friend and I told Frances privately we would prefer not to. Almost all the other groups said they would just go with the flow. Only one couple said they wouldn't mind lunch and surprise! We all HAD to go to lunch and wait for a few people to eat so the rest of us could get back to actually enjoying the island.
I gave this 2 stars instead of 1 because at least we still got to enjoy the rain forest with other friendly tour goers. However, I definitely wish we had booked with a different company!!

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Half-Day Trip from San Juan

Melissa G

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2016

This tour was very boring and a waste of money. They did not take us to any of the waterfalls, and the tour included way too much explaining and not enough views. I and #39;m all for being informative but this tour was all work and no fun.

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Half-Day Trip from San Juan

kevinsweer

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The hike was great! Our guide knew the answers to all of our questions and made it fun and educational. The lunch we had after the hike was delicious! The kayaking was nice. I wish the large group was split into smaller groups. We had to wait too much for everyone to get to the same point.

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Nature Walk and Bioluminescent Bay Kayaking Combo Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message