San Juan ATTRACTIONS See all

El Yunque Rainforest

El Yunque Rainforest is the only tropical rainforest under the protection of the US Forest Service and also the largest nature reserve in densely-populated Puerto Rico. It is situated in the mist-wreathed Luquillo Mountains where year-round ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1306 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

englertfun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Beautiful place! Go early, wear sneakers. Easy climb. About 45 minute bus ride. The guide was informative and personable. Would recommend.

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Half-Day Trip from San Juan

Frank H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Fantastic excursion. My wife and I both enjoyed this immensely. I believe a great deal of our experience came from our guide Aicia. She was incredibly knowledgable and so much to the experience. The rain forest was awesome. Some things you can do on your own when you go places. These two experiences are not things to be done without the experience and information from guides like Alicia. Highly recommend this excursion. Bug spray and cash for the gift store or for snacks throughout the day is all you will need :

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Nature Walk and Bioluminescent Bay Kayaking Combo Tour

TERRAL A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Very good hiking trip, but much harder than we had expected. The description should list this as a difficult hike and not suitable for some people. There were very slippery steep sections that could be dangerous if you are not careful. That being said, the guide Alex was awesome. He took care of the entire group with professionalism and expertise.

The hike itself was a 1000' assent where we saw 3 waterfalls, lots of vegetation, and a few geckos. You take the same route back down the trail, but this can also be a challenge if it is wet. You were defiantly tired and dirty when this trip was complete. They also provided water bottles which you will defiantly want to carry with you.

Overall it was a great trip, but exercise caution if you are not in good shape and have good balance. Make sure you wear hiking shoes/boots, even though a good walking shoe will probably help. No open toe shoes.

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Hiking Adventure

Nicole M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We absolutely loved our tour of the Rainforest. Our tour guide, Alicia was amazing! She was very kind, patient and generous with her information. Alicia was highly accommodating, very knowledgeable and overall wonderful to be around. Alicia was funny, informative and I felt like we were fast friends, Alicia was the best representative of Puerto Rico. I am so happy to have met her and I have a great respect for her job and I love Puerto Rico even more because of her and her efforts. The lunch should be included in the tour price. Its really ridiculous to not have the 12 lunch included in the tour price. To have to pay for the tour and then go to lunch and have to pay for that separately is very silly to me. Also, make sure to bring lots of snacks because we got picked up for the tour at 8 am and didn't eat lunch until around 2-3 pm. There are a few places to grab snacks at the rain forest, but they're really expensive. On to the kayaking tour in the bioluminescent bay. Please keep in mind that this tour takes place at night, it is very very dark. The tour is about a mile 1 and 1/2 long, going and coming back so 3 miles total. This is not a very strenuous activity but it lasts a while, and takes some effort to get through it. I do not recommend this tour for young children. We had one younger child on our tour that was very scared of the dark and the tour guide had take him back to the shore. There are a bunch of tour guides available during the tour, who will help you if you get stuck or anything, which is very reassuring. The tour guides are also, funny, entertaining and overall great representatives of Puerto Rico. I'm very glad we took this tour also. It is a must see/must do experience. I highly recommend it!

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Nature Walk and Bioluminescent Bay Kayaking Combo Tour

Jana L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This half-day trip was exactly what we needed. There was not as much walking as one would expect. We drove to different locations throughout the rainforest and got out to take pictures and hear about the plant origins. The scenery is beautiful and it feels so serene. Our tour guide was wonderful and very personable. I would go on this tour again.

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Half-Day Trip from San Juan

Katherine P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

My boyfriend and I booked this trip while staying in Isla Verde. We cannot say enough positive things about the experience, all of which are due to our guide Alicia. She went out of her way to pick up and drop off everyone on the trip where it was most convenient for them, regardless of traffic or other nuisances. Throughout the day, she made a point of stopping whenever she could to highlight details specific to Puerto Rico in El Yunque and the sights we were seeing. She made sure we had the best experience by timing our trails where we wouldn't be stuck in foot traffic. Alicia was extremely personable and accommodating. She wanted to get to know everyone as best as she could in order to cater to individual interests. We forgot a towel and while we were on our bay tour she went out to get us one. Alicia goes above and beyond her job requirements in order to ensure everyone has a once in a lifetime experience in the nature of Puerto Rico. You will not find a more passionate and knowledgeable tour guide and travel expert. The bio bay tour was absolutely unforgettable. The glass-bottom kayaks were a cool touch but do not stress if you end up in a normal kayak because the guides make sure everyone has the best view of the phenomenon as possible. There was always clear communication between us and all of our guides on the itinerary and safety regulations for each part of this tour. We will be recommending this experience to any of our friends looking for an adventure-filled day in Puerto Rico.

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Nature Walk and Bioluminescent Bay Kayaking Combo Tour

bjkkstutt

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The pickup was at a hotel a block from our hotel. Not a problem! The guide was informative and loved his job. I would recommend this half-day trip to everyone!

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Half-Day Trip from San Juan

AK

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Amazing tour! Thank you for great experience!

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Nature Walk and Bioluminescent Bay Kayaking Combo Tour

Daveen USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Great tour for being half day. Beautiful scenery.

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Half-Day Trip from San Juan

Julie T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We were the only 2 people on the tour! Went to a local farmers market, through a mangrove path to amazing ocean view, and had a wonderful lunch. Due to heavy rains, we could not do as much off the beaten path, but experienced going into a couple of amazing waterfalls. Guide was the beat!

Doing what: Small-Group El Yunque Rainforest Day Trip from San Juan

princesssheba73

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

This was an interesting tour. I had signed up for the tour that included more hiking in the forest, and seeing a few waterfalls. This was a good taste of the some areas that I will return to, and hopefully have enough interest to see.

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest and Luquillo Beach from San Juan

Jeff B

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

This was an excellent excursion. Our tour guide Alex was outstanding. If you are thinking about doing this you need to know it really is an all day thing AND it is NOT an easy hike. I'm in pretty decent shape and I found the hike to the top of the waterfall fairly difficult. I wore running sneakers and slipped a few times. If you have actual hiking shoes you will fair better. You will get wet, sweaty and dirty. As long as you are expecting those things going in, you will have an awesome time.

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Hiking Adventure

RYAN C

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Great guide, fun experience

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Guided Hiking with Waterfall Tour

Keisha M

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Great tour!! super nice guide.

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Guided Hiking with Waterfall Tour

Dennis C

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Overall it was a very nice time. Everyone was knowledgeable about their respective areas. Our group loved the rain forest, but it was a quickly paced hike with little time to enjoy the area. I do understand the need to keep moving. The Bio Bay was a bit of a challenge with 30 kayaks mostly with inexperienced people and add to the the challenge of doing it at night. Near a full moon and the luminescence was not great. The long day made the hot tub feel so m,ch better that night. Finally, our transportation was an adventure. I am not sure if the driving is generally different but it was a bit of a wild ride at times.

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Nature Walk and Bioluminescent Bay Kayaking Combo Tour

Ruth M United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Our tour guide, Carlos, did an amazing job and really knew his stuff. We all learned a lot from him. The Rainforest was beautiful and the hike was fairly easy even for two of us who were seniors. We did, however feel that the little play we were forced to participate in was too long, although it was educational. I felt that the little gift shops along the way were severely lacking in items that I would have liked to see. I was chilly, but there were no sweatshirts to be had. I saw only one raincoat for sale so take your own just in case! This tour did not include a lunch stop and the shops had very little available to fill any hunger pains, so if you are going either eat a big breakfast or take your own snacks along. All in all we were happy with the trip.

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Half-Day Trip from San Juan

Katherine D

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

The half-day rainforest tour was a great experience. Just enough to see and learn to really appreciate the beauty of the area. Our guide/driver, Javier, was informative and friendly. His driving leaves a bit to be desired, however, as I ended up severely motion sick.

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Half-Day Trip from San Juan

Peter A USA

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

Good but not great!

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Half-Day Trip from San Juan

Jaycee R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

We did this tour and it was great! We had never been to a rainforest prior to this and we truly enjoyed it. I do have to say that Alex, the tour guide, was great! He was very knowledgable and willing to answer any question that we asked. There was lots of laughing and exploring on our El Yunque adventure!
We ended up not doing the bioluminescent bay kayaking tour due to the company calling us that morning and explaining it to us that with the cold fresh water coming in with all the rain we received during our week in Puerto Rico the organisms would not be very well lit up. They were more than willing to take us out to them if we wanted but were honest about what we would see. We decided to wait until next time when they were extremely bright. The company did refund us that part of the price which was awesome because they could have just taken us out there and let us be bummed about the decreased bioluminescent but they did not.
I would highly recommend them to anyone in Puerto Rico. Well worth the money and a great time!

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Nature Walk and Bioluminescent Bay Kayaking Combo Tour

Mark W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

The scenery was beautiful. We hope to go back another time on our own and explore the area further. The guide was very knowledgeable about PR history and about the rainforest.

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Half-Day Trip from San Juan

Georges G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Alex is very knowledgeable and an excellent tour guide

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Guided Hiking with Waterfall Tour

Dawn p

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

The adventure to the rainforest was more than I expected. I was a little concerned that the hiking would be difficult since we are senior citizens. Our guide was the best. He picked us up promptly at the designated time then proceeded to gather up other guest. We drove out of town and stopped at a roadside stand. Had I been on my own, I would have never stopped here but the food and smoothies were amazing. It made a great stop for those that had not had a chance to get breakfast or those wanting a snack before we got to the park. My son ordered half of a chicken and snacked on it throughout the day. We drove to the visitors center and the guide gave us a great introduction to the plants and animals of the rainforest. We also had a bathroom break at this point. We then left the visitors center and drove to a trail to begin our hike. We were blessed with perfect weather for our hike. We hiked about an hour on a paved trail that got a little uneven at times but the hike was easy and beautiful. The guide stopped about every ten minutes to teach us interesting facts about the plants and ecosystem of the rainforest. There were quite a few steps down to the first waterfall but again it was paved and had arm rails. The waterfall was beautiful and several in our group got into the water. We stayed there about 30 minutes while our guide went back and got the van and moved it to another parking lot. We followed a shorter, easier, paved path out of the waterfall to where the guide had moved the van. The hike in and out was very nice. We then proceeded to a tower with a great view over the island. There were about 60 steps to the top of the tower but well worth the climb. After this we drove to two other waterfalls. The second waterfall involved a short less than 5 minutes steep climb over rocks and roots. Just take your time, climb carefully and it's not a problem. This waterfall is also beautiful and you are allowed to swim in the pool at the base if you like. We then drove to the third and most impressive waterfall. This waterfall involves not walking as it is along the side of the road. After some great photos opportunities our trip to the rainforest was over and the guide drove us down the mountains to a great local restaurant on the beach. We all ate a late lunch or early dinner and had some drinks. After this great meal the driver drove each of us right to the door of our houses since it was such a small groups and we lived along the return routes. Thanks for a great day and a great adventure.

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Guided Hiking with Waterfall Tour

Sterling C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

The guide was very knowledgeable about the various plants and trees in the Forest. He was very knowledgeable on the history of the Puerto Rico. The waterfall area for swimming was a much needed rest stop as this hike is steep and winding. There are shops along the road for souveniors

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Hiking from San Juan

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message