San Juan ATTRACTIONS See all

La Fortaleza (Palacio de Santa Catalina)

The Wedgwood blue and white Santa Catalina Palace was built in 1533 and makes an impressive sight as you approach through a narrow Old San Juan street. While the building exudes an air of calm authority, it occupies a site that was long one of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 485 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Patricia M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We would have missed a lot of sights and history if we had walked around on our own. David was a wealth of knowledge.

Doing what: Old San Juan Walking Tour

Richard M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Tour was awesome. Learned a lot n saw a lot more than if we were exploring on out own. David was very informative n nice! Highly recommend it to everyone if ur in Old San Juan. Take walking shoes though, no flip flops. Lots of walking.....

Doing what: Old San Juan Walking Tour

Mark A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

I love the tour. Very informative. David also brought a welcome present and a bottle of water.

Good way to learn about Puerto Rico. Thanks!

Doing what: Old San Juan Walking Tour

Mark A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

I love the tour. Very informative. David also brought a welcome present and a bottle of water.

Good way to learn about Puerto Rico. Thanks!

Doing what: Old San Juan Walking Tour

Kathy N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

David was great. He was articulate, interesting, and educational. I felt like we saw a lot of Old San Juan and the stories made history come alive. I would definitely recommend this trip. Just be aware there is a lot of walking and kids may find it more difficult that they would like.

Doing what: Old San Juan Walking Tour

Margaret S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Very good tour, David was our guide very knowledgeable, provided us with a bottle of water each and a gift from San Juan.

Doing what: Old San Juan Walking Tour

Barb K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Wonderful tour of Old San Juan. Jose was an excellent instructor and guide.

Doing what: Old San Juan Segway Tour

Susan B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The best way to really appreciate Old San Juan-- so many interesting stories you would not know just walking on your own

Doing what: Old San Juan Walking Tour

Charles F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Great tour. Tour guide David knows everything about the history and culture of Old San Juan. His love of the city and enthusiasm were very apparent. He is very considerate and does all he can to make this tour the best it can be. If you are looking to tour Old San Juan, this tour will not disappoint!

Doing what: Old San Juan Walking Tour

ELLEN A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

David our tour guide was great. Easy walking experience, full of good information. I would recommend this tour to any first timer to San Juan!

Doing what: Old San Juan Walking Tour

Lynda H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We enjoyed an amazing tour with David Rodriguez-Otero, Tripolin. We were very impressed with his knowledge, his friendliness, and patience for those taking pictures, etc. I would give him 10 stars!

Doing what: Old San Juan Walking Tour

Troy A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This is an amazing tour. Our guide David was very knowledgeable. He provided plenty of time to see everything and also for pictures. There is. good deal of walking involved so you should take that into account.

Doing what: Old San Juan Walking Tour

Nicole M

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

The only thing I would change about this tour is the enthusiasm of the tour guide. At first he didn't smile very much or seem excited to be doing the tour. I did however appreciate all the information he gave us about the history of Old San Juana and Puerto Rico in general. So his low enthusiasm wasn't too too bad because I learned so much and we literally walked all over the city. When we came back on our own, we knew exactly what to do and what to check out. We also met some great people on the tour who gave great ideas and suggestions about the area. Overall, great informative tour, I would recommend it to anyone I know who is going to Puerto Rico.

Doing what: Old San Juan Walking Tour

Kim S

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

It was wonderful to have a guided tour of Old San Juan. Our tour guide had a great command of the city, history and sites. My only criticism of it was that he focused too much on small things like the oldest restaurant in Old San Juan and less on the cool forts and historical buildings. But, overall, it was worth doing and we saw things we wouldn't have know about by looking at a map or guidebook.

Doing what: Old San Juan Walking Tour

Mel

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Our guide David was very good and was knowledgeable. Not anything real exciting on a short walk around the old city, but something to do if short on time. He gave us some ideas on what else to do which we took and worked out well.

Doing what: Old San Juan Walking Tour

englertfun

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

Took about 2 hours and walked several miles. It is an abbreviated tour of Old San Juan. Did not include the forts, cemetery or other points of interest you will need and want to explore. Was a little disappointed with what was included and not included. Our guide was knowledgeable about the history of the sites.

Doing what: Old San Juan Walking Tour

Timothy Puerto Rico

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

We met David, our tour guide, and the rest of the group on a beautiful evening--clear skies and cool breezes made the temps just right. David was very friendly, although a little shy.
The walking tour went at a leisurely pace perhaps too leisurely, which gave the 15 people in the group plenty of time to wander off and take photos of the city and selfies. We spent most of the time on Calle Fortaleza and the southern edge of the old city, with lots of beautiful views of the harbor.
David had a tendency to announce our next destination, then take us on several detours. Sometimes we eventually arrived La Mallorquina restaurant, for example and sometimes we didn't Plaza Las Armas.
As I mentioned, David was very friendly, but was not the ideal guide. For instance, he tended to repeat himself multiple times. The people in our group noticed that he said four or five times, The U.S. government granted citizenship to Puerto Ricans, because they needed soldiers for World War II. Besides the fact that this seemed like a gross over-generalization, it got to be annoying. Another example, The nuns would wave the Spanish flag from the balcony as the ships from Spain entered the harbor. He said this at least four times.
Another tendency was for him to mix folklore with history. For instance, he stated that each blue cobblestone represented a gold bar that was taken to Spain. The cobblestones are a striking feature of the streets of Old San Juan and were indeed used as ballast on the ships from Spain. However, there are many thousands of them throughout the city and it is ridiculous to think Spain ever had so much gold and that each cobblestone weighed as much as a brick of gold. Furthermore, sometimes David contradicted the plaques or inscriptions provided by the historical society. When we read the plaques and pointed out these discrepancies to him, he would reply with a casual, Oh yes, that's true too.
I don't have a problem with paying 40 for a two-hour guided tour, but I do expect a knowledgeable leader. Together, the 15 of us in our group brought in about 600 in revenue for the company for two hours of work. They need to pay attention to quality control and training.

Doing what: Old San Juan Walking Tour

Tracy B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

David is WONDERFUL! We travel a lot and he defiantly one of the best tour guides that I have ever had. He was so knowledgable about everything and took the time to answer our questions. Very patient when we wanted to stop and take pictures and honest when giving recommendations. If you're looking for an insightful and funny introduction to San Juan he is it!

Doing what: Old San Juan Walking Tour

lveenstra United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This was a great tour. Our guide did an excellent job training riders to use the segway and then did an outstanding job leading the tour thru old San Juan and El Morro fort explaining the history at each stop. This tour is well worth it if you are not afraid to try the Segway.

Doing what: Old San Juan Segway Tour

Ajay A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

David was a great tour guide. Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Old San Juan Walking Tour

Christopher J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

The tour was excellent and the guide, David, was extremely knowledgeable. With David's help we were also able to get into the convent which had some amazing views of San Juan. I would highly recommend this tour for everyone visiting San Juan.

Doing what: Old San Juan Walking Tour

Stephen B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

A must do! What a great way to see Old San Juan! David really knows the city and made the tour very enjoyable.
2 1/2 hrs of highlights of the city.

Doing what: Old San Juan Walking Tour

Felix T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

10 stars out of ten! Excellent!! David is the best tour guide I ever met: knowlageble, nice person, extremely accommodating.
Bravo!

Doing what: Old San Juan Walking Tour

Bryan R

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

Really good tour with small numbers Only 4 people. David was on time, very professional and showed us many sites. Would use him again if I return to San Juan. Thanks David, Bryan and Angela

Doing what: Old San Juan Walking Tour

Charles G

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

Old San Juan had many interesting sites and the tour was extremely educational.

Doing what: Old San Juan Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message