San Juan ATTRACTIONS See all

La Fortaleza (Palacio de Santa Catalina)

The Wedgwood blue and white Santa Catalina Palace was built in 1533 and makes an impressive sight as you approach through a narrow Old San Juan street. While the building exudes an air of calm authority, it occupies a site that was long one of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 504 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Cathy F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

David is a wonderful tour guide. We did the walking tour for 1 3/4 hours. We covered almost all of Old San Juan. David is very knowledgeable about all things San Juan. He also gave great recommendations for restaurants and things to do. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Old San Juan Walking Tour

bobbyschmidtjr

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

My niece and I went on a trip to San Juan for her birthday. I booked this tour to visit Old San Juan as it was our first time there. David texted to confirm the day before with great instructions on where to meet. The day of we were greeted with a gift and bottled water. He then took us on a very comprehensive and insightful tour of Old San Juan. He was incredibly knowledgeable and courteous, providing countless facts and stories, and answering any questions. There is a good amount of walking involved, but the tour felt structured and efficient which made it comfortable. This is definitely not a long, extensive tour of the whole city, but a great overview of all the attractions you probably want to see in Old San Juan. My niece and I both had our cameras and were able to capture some great pictures along the way. When the tour ended, David provided restaurant recommendations, instructions on how to get to El Morro, and handed out a business card with his number to call if we had any other questions. I highly recommend this tour and was very pleased with what was provided. Thanks David!

Doing what: Old San Juan Walking Tour

Brian P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Very informational and the pace was perfect. Not too fast or too slow. Friendly guide. A high point of our trip. Glad we did it the first full day of our trip as it gave a good overview of the culture and the history.

Doing what: Old San Juan Walking Tour

mariaedna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Our guide, David, did an awesome job in telling us the history of San Juan and Puerto Rico. It really made us appreciate the beauty of the buildings and the city.

Doing what: Old San Juan Walking Tour

Linda M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

A great tour. We were a small group of 6 people. The instructional/safety training was excellent. We were each given an earpiece and a receiver that would be used to receive instructions and tour information. After Jose had fitted us with helmets and was satisfied that all of us were comfortable with the Segways, we set out. We left the office at the pier and went through the streets of Old San Juan toward the El Morro Fort. We stopped at various places where Jose gave us historical information about each site. The stops also enabled us to get off the Segway for a few minutes and take pictures if we chose. We toured the inside and outside of the fort, again with more information and picture taking opportunities. Before we left, Jose took pictures of anyone who wanted against a beautiful backdrop. Jose has a tremendous depth of knowledge about San Juan and Puerto Rico, but it is not just facts that he was reciting to us. He was telling us a story about things that happened and how they fit with other events in history. He also brought up how climate or geography had a part in the outcome. I have taken many tours in many places, but he made it all make sense in a way that I have never seen before. He is to be commended. I would do this again!

Doing what: Old San Juan Segway Tour

Jorge G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

It was a very insp-iring trip. I learned more than I thought I was going to learn. I would highly recommend this trip Our guide Javier was excellent and very knowledgeable. Again, highly recommended.

Doing what: Old San Juan Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

mabarry4

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Great tour of San Juan. Guide is an author and very knowledgable of city and culture. A lot of walking but commentary spaced for frequent stops in the shade.

Doing what: Old San Juan Walking Tour

MAUREEN C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

This tour was excellent. Just five in our group including the guide, David, who was very knowledgable and entertaining. The tour went at a leisurely pace and included many out of the way places that would've been missed if not on foot. David brought Old San Juan to life for us in a relaxed and much appreciated manner.

Doing what: Old San Juan Walking Tour

Jessica H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

This was a wonderful tour - David was a great tour guide! I learned a lot about Old San Juan and could appreciate so much more about the city afterwards.
On a side note, I want to say how wonderful the people in Puerto Rico have been. I have met some of the nicest people on this trip, and so many are willing to help me as a clueless tourist!
Bottom line - I would highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Old San Juan Walking Tour

charlene.lowes

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

We took this tour with David and thoroughly enjoyed it. It was so interesting to learn the history of Old San Juan. David made it come alive with interesting details. The walking was not on even ground as the write up warns. I was happy that I had worn running shoes and not sandals.

Doing what: Old San Juan Walking Tour

Christopher W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

This tour met all expectations and then some. The guide was very knowledgeable, friendly, and genuinely interested in people having an enjoyable session. We saw so much, which helped us explore on our own later.Well done!

Doing what: Old San Juan Walking Tour

Oghenemudiame A

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

Great tour. You get a lot of history and learn so much about Old San Juan and Puerto Rico in general. Our guide was friendly and knowledgeable. He also ends by showing you a whole line of restaurants, giving lots of options to eat afterwards.

Doing what: Old San Juan Walking Tour

Dusanka A

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

I took this tour with my 81 year mom as an alternative to a cruise excursion as it was our first time there. We enjoyed it very much. David texted a day before, met us on time with bottles of water and a nice gift. He took us around for over two hours. It was insightful and David was pleasant and knowledgable. Though we walked quite a bit, it felt very nicely paced and we stopped once for a brief break by the city walls. David took us inside a few buildings and pointed out the details. The nice part was that we got away from the cruise crowds and when we compared the notes with those who booked the tour through the cruise line, we felt we had made the right decision as our tour felt very exclusive. This tour is ideal for people who are in San Juan for the first time, and have only a few hours.

Doing what: Old San Juan Walking Tour

Carol D

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2017

The tour part was good. The guide was very passionate about the history of San Juan. Riding the Segway was not easy for a first timer. The path is hilly and cobbled. The learning curve was to steep for me. Would not recommend for older inexperienced riders.

Doing what: Old San Juan Segway Tour

Patricia M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We would have missed a lot of sights and history if we had walked around on our own. David was a wealth of knowledge.

Doing what: Old San Juan Walking Tour

Richard M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Tour was awesome. Learned a lot n saw a lot more than if we were exploring on out own. David was very informative n nice! Highly recommend it to everyone if ur in Old San Juan. Take walking shoes though, no flip flops. Lots of walking.....

Doing what: Old San Juan Walking Tour

Mark A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

I love the tour. Very informative. David also brought a welcome present and a bottle of water.

Good way to learn about Puerto Rico. Thanks!

Doing what: Old San Juan Walking Tour

Mark A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

I love the tour. Very informative. David also brought a welcome present and a bottle of water.

Good way to learn about Puerto Rico. Thanks!

Doing what: Old San Juan Walking Tour

Kathy N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

David was great. He was articulate, interesting, and educational. I felt like we saw a lot of Old San Juan and the stories made history come alive. I would definitely recommend this trip. Just be aware there is a lot of walking and kids may find it more difficult that they would like.

Doing what: Old San Juan Walking Tour

Margaret S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Very good tour, David was our guide very knowledgeable, provided us with a bottle of water each and a gift from San Juan.

Doing what: Old San Juan Walking Tour

Barb K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Wonderful tour of Old San Juan. Jose was an excellent instructor and guide.

Doing what: Old San Juan Segway Tour

Susan B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The best way to really appreciate Old San Juan-- so many interesting stories you would not know just walking on your own

Doing what: Old San Juan Walking Tour

Charles F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Great tour. Tour guide David knows everything about the history and culture of Old San Juan. His love of the city and enthusiasm were very apparent. He is very considerate and does all he can to make this tour the best it can be. If you are looking to tour Old San Juan, this tour will not disappoint!

Doing what: Old San Juan Walking Tour

ELLEN A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

David our tour guide was great. Easy walking experience, full of good information. I would recommend this tour to any first timer to San Juan!

Doing what: Old San Juan Walking Tour

Lynda H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We enjoyed an amazing tour with David Rodriguez-Otero, Tripolin. We were very impressed with his knowledge, his friendliness, and patience for those taking pictures, etc. I would give him 10 stars!

Doing what: Old San Juan Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message