San Juan ATTRACTIONS See all

Luquillo Beach

Also known as Balnearnio Montserrat, Luquillo Beach is beautiful tranquil crescent of powdery sand famed for its palm trees and long stretch of fine yellow sand. A fringe reef protects the beach from raging surf and calms the water to tranquility, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 39 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Michelle B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This is a great tour for people wanting to see the highlights of the rain forest, try some local food and spend some time at one of the most beautiful Puerto Rican beaches. They pick you up at your hotel if your hotel is on the list, and from there, you just get to sit back and enjoy the view mostly. Carlos was amazing! He was our driver/tour guide and was very knowledgeable. The forest is beautiful and the local food for lunch is definitely something everyone should try. Luquillo beach is gorgeous! The water was calm and the view of the mountains was breathtaking. As someone who wasn't too interesting in renting a car, this was the perfect solution to get to these places with someone who not only knows the area, but also knows the history.

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest and Luquillo Beach from San Juan

Staci C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Terrific tour and our guide was amazing. Full of good info and interesting facts about the rainforest. Trip culminated in a couple of relaxing hours on Luquillo beach. Thanks Carlos!!

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest and Luquillo Beach from San Juan

Cindy T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I am sitting in my home where it is a gloomy, rainy 55 degrees and wishing I could be right back in beautiful Puerto Rico at this moment!

My husband and I enjoyed the wonderful El Yunque tour with Manuel as our guide. First and foremost, Manuel is an absolute gem. He was so very warm, friendly and engaging that we felt as though we'd known him our entire lives. In fact, I wish we had! Throughout the day, he gave us the perfect mix of information and conversation. We also did not expect such a tour!!! We so very much enjoyed seeing the countryside after a quick stop for a smoothie, then a pause at lovely Piñones beach. Once the enjoyable ride was complete, we arrived at El Yunque through what we felt was the back door! Oh my goodness--what a beautiful, refreshing and invigorating place it is!

The hike is moderate plan to stretch yourself a bit if youre not an experienced hiker like me not experiencedand Manuel was a patient and caring guide, never rushing always making sure I had solid footing. Wear good river shoes and bring along some dry clothes as youll be partaking in a cool dip in the river pool. And bring a good camerayoull want to capture the beauty around you. Manuel took some photos for us so we could both be in the shot, and he even caught images and video of my husband taking a plunge into the river from an outcropping of rock a little too high for me. After swimming for a bit, we enjoyed the freshest local fruits while standing on the rocks knee-deep in the water. We did not want to leave paradise, but it was time to go and make one last stop.

Our trip wound down at the kisocos on beautiful Luquillo, where we indulged in the local cuisine. It was the perfect ending to a charmed and surreal kind of day. This is no touristy kind of tour. It was truly a personalized and intimate experience. If you can handle a little vigorous hiking, you must not miss this opportunity!

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Adventure - FULL DAY - From San Juan

Antoinette M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Ricky was our guide and a great one! He told us all kinds of history and knowledge of San Juan on our drive to the rainforest. Then he guided us all around the hiking paths and found frogs and other small animals and told us all about them and the forest plants. Then we stopped for lunch at a small stand with Puertorican food, Then off to the beautiful!! beach of Luquillo. Lovely. Again Ricky is a very good guide and does his job well. He made our day!

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest and Luquillo Beach from San Juan

Dennis L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Frankie was fantastic! His sense of humor combined with knowledge of El Yunque made this breathtaking trip a must. Our 10 and 13 year old boys enjoyed the tour. We were not able to visit Luquillo Beach simply because there were not enough people signed up for that part of the tour. Still worth it. Be cautious of bringing young children. There are narrow pathways with steep drop offs.

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest and Luquillo Beach from San Juan

Surpreet F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Manuel was a fantastic and knowledgable guide. The tour minivan was brand new and comfy. He took our party of 7 from the pristine beaches east of San Juan to the elevations of El Yunque Forest to lunch @Luquillo beach. Hike was moderate but waterfall and views were an experience of a lifetime!!!

Doing what: Small-Group El Yunque Rainforest Day Trip from San Juan

Nikole D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This tour was the highlight of my trip to San Juan, PR! Our guide was Victor Martinez. He was wonderful! He has such a wealth of knowledge of Puerto Rico and the rain forest. The tour was very laid back and relaxing with a nice easy hike in the forest and some stops to take photos of the beautiful scenery and views from the observation tower. If you are looking for a challenging hike, I suggest you take another tour, but it was perfect for what we were looking for. Luquillo Beach was also nice, but I think if I were to do this tour again, I would stick with just the rain forest, but it was nice to see another beach aside from the resort beach. I would definitely recommend this tour with Victor!

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest and Luquillo Beach from San Juan

Susan M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Jorge, our tour guide, was AMAZING! What a great person...wonderful humor, very knowledgeable. El Yunque was gorgeous and then two amazing hours in Luquillo. Honestly, the most beautiful beach I've been in to. Its a bit selfish but I'd love another hour in Luquillo. Thank you Jorge!!

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest and Luquillo Beach from San Juan

Christina R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This tour was the absolute highlight of our trip to Puerto Rico. My friend and I had Sahid Perez as our guide, and could not have asked for someone more warm, genuine and fun! The day was like experiencing Puerto Rico with a cool local friend. Sahid does the tours himself if there are 2-4 people it was only me and my friend, so it was incredibly personal. When we went swimming in the waterfalls in the rainforest, Sahid not only let us hang out as long as wanted, but joined in too, swimming around, making rock sculptures, and even making face paint out of pigmented rocks. He took us to a great local spot for lunch on Luquillo beach afterwards and then we just chilled in the water. He was kind enough to let the tour run almost 2 hours longer than slated, just because we were having so much fun in the waterfalls and at the beach! I honestly cannot recommend this tour highly enough, at least given our personalized experience. If you want to experience the El Yunque rainforest and Luquillo beach away from tourists, and spend time with a knowledgeable, fun and friendly person, this is the tour for you!

Doing what: Small-Group El Yunque Rainforest Day Trip from San Juan

Angelique G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our tour was Amazing!!
from el Yunque to Luquillo beach
the views, the trails, an overall Awesome trip

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest and Luquillo Beach from San Juan

Courtney Chandler USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Our guide was Robert Garcia. He was FANTASTIC!!! I highly recomend any tour that Robert is leading. He provided us with a ton of information about Puerto Rico and the Rainforest. The drive to the rainforest wasn't long at all. And once we got there the sights and sounds were magnificent. Luquillo Beach was nice also. It was great to relax by the water after exploring the rainforest.

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest and Luquillo Beach from San Juan

jlz_penguin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Tony was fantastic!! He is very knowledgeable about his island and the rainforest. He took us to a great little deli restaurant before we headed off to Luquillo Beach. The food was great and very reasonably priced. If you get the opportunity to spend the day with Tony, you will not be disappointed.

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest and Luquillo Beach from San Juan

Racfae

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

This tour was great..very informative and the rain forest is amazing with its diversion in plants and trees!and luquillo beach was nice too..worth it to take this combined tour!

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest and Luquillo Beach from San Juan

Ana B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Family had a great time! Our guide was very knowledgeable and friendly. There are free bathrooms despite what other reviewers are posting. Luquillo beach is beautiful. El Yunque is breathtaking.

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest and Luquillo Beach from San Juan

Claire G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2013

guide, manuel, was fantastic. el yunque was beautiful and the guide got us in and out ahead of the crowds. great pictures too. the lunch place was excellent, authentic, and cheap! luquillo beach is beautiful and also has lots of cheap food!

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest and Luquillo Beach from San Juan

czubaja

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

the trip was very interesting and informative . our guide robert was very knowlegable about all aspects of the rainforest. the trip to luquillo beach afterward was very refreshing. totally professional and enjoyable!

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest and Luquillo Beach from San Juan

Ricardo S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2012

We went on a tour of the rain forest (El Yunque) and Luquillo beach. The whole tour we were entertained by our tour guide, Robert. Robert gave me the impression of being someone who likes what he does. He was very gregarious as well as knowledgeable about all the spots we were visiting as well as the island in general. We were glad that we took this tour, it was a positive experience.

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest and Luquillo Beach from San Juan

Mark N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2011

Tour guide was knowledge about way more than just the tour content. He was able to provide us with contemporary and historical information about Puerto Rico and its culture. The rainforest was nice, and there enough walking to explore the rainforest but not so much to leave us exhausted. Luquillo Beach was very pretty, with calm water and fish that swim right up to you. There is not a large selection of food for lunch, especially for vegetarians, but the food available was good. The only issue with the beach is that you have to pay to use the restrooms. Overall, I was very satisfied with this trip. I learned a lot, experienced a lot, and even got to relax a lot. Totally worth the money, and I would even consider booking the same trip again.

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest and Luquillo Beach from San Juan

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2010

The rain forrest part of the trip was great. Our guide was awesome. Luquillo beach was just ok, not as good as I thought it would be.

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest and Luquillo Beach from San Juan

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

This tour was incredible! The driver we had made the tour special. His knowledge about Puerto Rico was a tremendous asset! He accommodated all our needs and really went above and beyond his duties making the entire trip even more enjoyable. The driver picked our family up at our hotel. We made our rounds picking up an additional seven passengers. At the rain forest, we went on a quick hike where the driver pointed out various vegetation, insects, snails, etc. He took us to the visitor area where we saw a movie then back to the van driving up to another area of the rain forest where we went on a longer hike and quite fittingly it rained several times. We stopped at Yokahu Tower on the way back down and made a special stop where the driver bought us a bunch of bananas from a local who lived along the road. We stopped for lunch adjacent to Luquillo Beach. You could chose from many stalls, however we all took the suggestion of the driver and chose the restaurant La Parrilla. Lunch took about an hour. What a great place for lunch, plenty of food and the driver made sure that restaurant staff took good care of us. Then off to the beach where we spent about an hour and a half. A nice beach area with calm water and life guards. Showers and changing facilities are available for 1.00. On our way home we passed eatery stalls and people were talking about food so we made a special stop for coconut water. What a wonderful trip and opportunity to really experience Puerto Rico!

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest and Luquillo Beach from San Juan

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2009

It was very informative and fun. I really enjoyed the tour of the Yunque and loved Luquillo beach.

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest and Luquillo Beach from San Juan

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2009

We had a great guide! Only problem was that we had a flat while in El Yunque and didn't get to go on to Luquillo Beach.

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest and Luquillo Beach from San Juan

Lauren W USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2009

The experience was fantastic! I would have paid much more money than I did for the experience. The hour long walk on the trail in the rain forest was great, as was the time spent at the beautiful Luquillo beach. I honestly think that one of the best parts was the ride to and from on the trip with our tour guide. He was wonderful! He had a very positive attitude, was people friendly, and had so much wisdom of Puerto Rican culture and history. I learned more from him on the trip than from my experiences combined in the country.

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest and Luquillo Beach from San Juan

Douglas G USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

Simply put, it was great! El Yunque Rainforest and Luquillo Beach are just amazing and beautiful. My family and I had a lot of fun. What really made the difference was the tour guide. He was friendly and very knowledgeable. He accommodated all our needs and wants and really went above and beyond his duties making the entire trip even more enjoyable.

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest and Luquillo Beach from San Juan

Mireille M

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Great tour. We saw the main highlights of El Yunque and the Luquillo beach was great. It was a nice day!

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest and Luquillo Beach from San Juan

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message