Old San Juan sits on a small island guarding the entrance to the Bahía de San Juan, the “rich port” which gave Puerto Rico its name. Its strategic position was backed up by fortifications include the forbidding San Felipe del Morro fort at ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 191 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Richard M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Tour was awesome. Learned a lot n saw a lot more than if we were exploring on out own. David was very informative n nice! Highly recommend it to everyone if ur in Old San Juan. Take walking shoes though, no flip flops. Lots of walking.....

Doing what: Old San Juan Walking Tour

Kathy N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

David was great. He was articulate, interesting, and educational. I felt like we saw a lot of Old San Juan and the stories made history come alive. I would definitely recommend this trip. Just be aware there is a lot of walking and kids may find it more difficult that they would like.

Doing what: Old San Juan Walking Tour

Barb K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Wonderful tour of Old San Juan. Jose was an excellent instructor and guide.

Doing what: Old San Juan Segway Tour

Susan B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The best way to really appreciate Old San Juan-- so many interesting stories you would not know just walking on your own

Doing what: Old San Juan Walking Tour

Charles F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Great tour. Tour guide David knows everything about the history and culture of Old San Juan. His love of the city and enthusiasm were very apparent. He is very considerate and does all he can to make this tour the best it can be. If you are looking to tour Old San Juan, this tour will not disappoint!

Doing what: Old San Juan Walking Tour

Nicole M

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

The only thing I would change about this tour is the enthusiasm of the tour guide. At first he didn't smile very much or seem excited to be doing the tour. I did however appreciate all the information he gave us about the history of Old San Juana and Puerto Rico in general. So his low enthusiasm wasn't too too bad because I learned so much and we literally walked all over the city. When we came back on our own, we knew exactly what to do and what to check out. We also met some great people on the tour who gave great ideas and suggestions about the area. Overall, great informative tour, I would recommend it to anyone I know who is going to Puerto Rico.

Doing what: Old San Juan Walking Tour

Kim S

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

It was wonderful to have a guided tour of Old San Juan. Our tour guide had a great command of the city, history and sites. My only criticism of it was that he focused too much on small things like the oldest restaurant in Old San Juan and less on the cool forts and historical buildings. But, overall, it was worth doing and we saw things we wouldn't have know about by looking at a map or guidebook.

Doing what: Old San Juan Walking Tour

englertfun

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

Took about 2 hours and walked several miles. It is an abbreviated tour of Old San Juan. Did not include the forts, cemetery or other points of interest you will need and want to explore. Was a little disappointed with what was included and not included. Our guide was knowledgeable about the history of the sites.

Doing what: Old San Juan Walking Tour

Timothy Puerto Rico

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

We met David, our tour guide, and the rest of the group on a beautiful evening--clear skies and cool breezes made the temps just right. David was very friendly, although a little shy.
The walking tour went at a leisurely pace perhaps too leisurely, which gave the 15 people in the group plenty of time to wander off and take photos of the city and selfies. We spent most of the time on Calle Fortaleza and the southern edge of the old city, with lots of beautiful views of the harbor.
David had a tendency to announce our next destination, then take us on several detours. Sometimes we eventually arrived La Mallorquina restaurant, for example and sometimes we didn't Plaza Las Armas.
As I mentioned, David was very friendly, but was not the ideal guide. For instance, he tended to repeat himself multiple times. The people in our group noticed that he said four or five times, The U.S. government granted citizenship to Puerto Ricans, because they needed soldiers for World War II. Besides the fact that this seemed like a gross over-generalization, it got to be annoying. Another example, The nuns would wave the Spanish flag from the balcony as the ships from Spain entered the harbor. He said this at least four times.
Another tendency was for him to mix folklore with history. For instance, he stated that each blue cobblestone represented a gold bar that was taken to Spain. The cobblestones are a striking feature of the streets of Old San Juan and were indeed used as ballast on the ships from Spain. However, there are many thousands of them throughout the city and it is ridiculous to think Spain ever had so much gold and that each cobblestone weighed as much as a brick of gold. Furthermore, sometimes David contradicted the plaques or inscriptions provided by the historical society. When we read the plaques and pointed out these discrepancies to him, he would reply with a casual, Oh yes, that's true too.
I don't have a problem with paying 40 for a two-hour guided tour, but I do expect a knowledgeable leader. Together, the 15 of us in our group brought in about 600 in revenue for the company for two hours of work. They need to pay attention to quality control and training.

Doing what: Old San Juan Walking Tour

lveenstra United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This was a great tour. Our guide did an excellent job training riders to use the segway and then did an outstanding job leading the tour thru old San Juan and El Morro fort explaining the history at each stop. This tour is well worth it if you are not afraid to try the Segway.

Doing what: Old San Juan Segway Tour

Stephen B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

A must do! What a great way to see Old San Juan! David really knows the city and made the tour very enjoyable.
2 1/2 hrs of highlights of the city.

Doing what: Old San Juan Walking Tour

Charles G

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

Old San Juan had many interesting sites and the tour was extremely educational.

Doing what: Old San Juan Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Lucy C

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

I can recommend this tour for everyone! We had our Hotel Hilton Caribe confirm our tour. Our Hotel personnel confirmed and everything was on time and per their description of what would happen with this tour. Our driver was very fluent and knew his history. He was also very friendly and answered all questions without delay. We had numerous elderly personnel in which he asserted extra effort to ensure their safety, comfort and satisfaction. The tour encompasses many historical places in Old San Juan. I recommend this tour.

Doing what: Old San Juan Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

cglanzer

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Don't hesitate to book this walking tour of Old San Juan! We learned so much about the history, culture and people of Puerto Rico. David is knowledgeable, funny and really provides a fun experience in Old San Juan. This tour was a highlight on our trip and I would do it again next time! Thanks David - you rocked it!

Doing what: Old San Juan Walking Tour

Debora S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

We were so grateful for the time and knowledge David shared with us .The trip was personalized and caring.
What a wonderful tour of Old San Juan. THANK YOU xoxo

Doing what: Old San Juan Walking Tour

Rodney United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We really enjoyed our walking tour of Old San Juan with David Rodriguez. David was very courteous and kind and we learned many things about San Juan. The pace was easy and David gave each of us a bottle of water. We took the tour on a Sunday morning in September, and would highly recommend the morning because the town is very quiet and not much congestion, making it easy to get around. We learned many things, like the history of the cobblestoned streets, San Juan Gate, San Juan Cathedral and the Fort, to name a few. Also, Thank you David for the recommendation of the art store where we met Rosa - a wonderful lady.
We would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Old San Juan Walking Tour

Angela F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Wonderful tour! My daughter and I scheduled the tour our first day in Old San Juan and that was the best thing we could have done. David was a wonderful tour guide! He showed us so many places to go back and visit on our own. He also was able to share a lot of history that we would not have been aware of if we were exploring on our own. I really felt like I had a better understanding of the city after the tour.

Doing what: Old San Juan Walking Tour

Stephen D

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2016

It was ok - drink that came with the package was weak and the tour at the Bacardi factory was not to fascinating. I did this tour on my last day and had already been to Old San Juan.

Doing what: Casa Bacardi and Old San Juan Tour

Ana S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our tour guide David Rodriguez, was a one-of-a-kind, warm, insightful, and friendly guide, one could ever ask for! I was taken aback @ t/level of info he was armed w/about Old San Juan. I highly recommend his tours, but prepare to wear comfy shoes and #39;cause you and #39;ll be walking a whole lot and all and #39;s worth it!

Doing what: Old San Juan Walking Tour

Joann C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

David was so knowledgeable about Old San Juan, Very, very nice and extremely patient. We had a great time. I would recommend this tour to everyone.

Doing what: Old San Juan Walking Tour

Georgiana B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was one of the most informative tours we've ever taken. Our tour guide David did an excellent job. I recommend this tour to anyone wanting to know the history of Old San Juan.

Doing what: Old San Juan Walking Tour

hobbes801

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The tour was outstanding. Our tour guide Frances from Castillo Tours was very knowledgeable, polite and very funny. My husband and 7 year old son enjoyed the both tours. Thank you Castillo Tours for the wonderful day spent at Casa Bacardi and Old San Juan Tour.

Doing what: Casa Bacardi and Old San Juan Tour

Marisa R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

David is extremely knowledgeable of Old San Juan and super interactive with his attendees. My family and I enjoyed our tour tremendously!

Doing what: Old San Juan Walking Tour

Sean O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

David did a fantastic job relaying the history of old San Juan. He braved the high heat and humidity and was so kind as to bring us water and a souvenir mug and shot glass! He told us about all the great restaurants and explained how the trolley routes worked. David answered all our questions, and when in doubt, referred to his iphone to ensure the info he was giving us was accurate. We thoroughly enjoyed our time together and highly recommend this tour as a great introduction to a wonderful city.

Doing what: Old San Juan Walking Tour

Traveller

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

There were only two of us on the tour, so it was very personable, and we enjoyed walking around old San Juan with David. Souvenir mugs are a nice touch, too!

Doing what: Old San Juan Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message