Old San Juan sits on a small island guarding the entrance to the Bahía de San Juan, the “rich port” which gave Puerto Rico its name. Its strategic position was backed up by fortifications include the forbidding San Felipe del Morro fort at ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 202 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Cathy F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

David is a wonderful tour guide. We did the walking tour for 1 3/4 hours. We covered almost all of Old San Juan. David is very knowledgeable about all things San Juan. He also gave great recommendations for restaurants and things to do. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Old San Juan Walking Tour

bobbyschmidtjr

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

My niece and I went on a trip to San Juan for her birthday. I booked this tour to visit Old San Juan as it was our first time there. David texted to confirm the day before with great instructions on where to meet. The day of we were greeted with a gift and bottled water. He then took us on a very comprehensive and insightful tour of Old San Juan. He was incredibly knowledgeable and courteous, providing countless facts and stories, and answering any questions. There is a good amount of walking involved, but the tour felt structured and efficient which made it comfortable. This is definitely not a long, extensive tour of the whole city, but a great overview of all the attractions you probably want to see in Old San Juan. My niece and I both had our cameras and were able to capture some great pictures along the way. When the tour ended, David provided restaurant recommendations, instructions on how to get to El Morro, and handed out a business card with his number to call if we had any other questions. I highly recommend this tour and was very pleased with what was provided. Thanks David!

Doing what: Old San Juan Walking Tour

Linda M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

A great tour. We were a small group of 6 people. The instructional/safety training was excellent. We were each given an earpiece and a receiver that would be used to receive instructions and tour information. After Jose had fitted us with helmets and was satisfied that all of us were comfortable with the Segways, we set out. We left the office at the pier and went through the streets of Old San Juan toward the El Morro Fort. We stopped at various places where Jose gave us historical information about each site. The stops also enabled us to get off the Segway for a few minutes and take pictures if we chose. We toured the inside and outside of the fort, again with more information and picture taking opportunities. Before we left, Jose took pictures of anyone who wanted against a beautiful backdrop. Jose has a tremendous depth of knowledge about San Juan and Puerto Rico, but it is not just facts that he was reciting to us. He was telling us a story about things that happened and how they fit with other events in history. He also brought up how climate or geography had a part in the outcome. I have taken many tours in many places, but he made it all make sense in a way that I have never seen before. He is to be commended. I would do this again!

Doing what: Old San Juan Segway Tour

MAUREEN C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

This tour was excellent. Just five in our group including the guide, David, who was very knowledgable and entertaining. The tour went at a leisurely pace and included many out of the way places that would've been missed if not on foot. David brought Old San Juan to life for us in a relaxed and much appreciated manner.

Doing what: Old San Juan Walking Tour

Jessica H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

This was a wonderful tour - David was a great tour guide! I learned a lot about Old San Juan and could appreciate so much more about the city afterwards.
On a side note, I want to say how wonderful the people in Puerto Rico have been. I have met some of the nicest people on this trip, and so many are willing to help me as a clueless tourist!
Bottom line - I would highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Old San Juan Walking Tour

charlene.lowes

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

We took this tour with David and thoroughly enjoyed it. It was so interesting to learn the history of Old San Juan. David made it come alive with interesting details. The walking was not on even ground as the write up warns. I was happy that I had worn running shoes and not sandals.

Doing what: Old San Juan Walking Tour

Smith.leanne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

If you are looking for a nice easy afternoon/early evening excursion this is it. They pick you up and drop you off at your hotel. There are only maybe 10 guests total in the van. Each destination is not too long or too short and you get to see three Puerto Rico attractions - Bacardi, Old San Juan and San Cristobal Fort. Driver was friendly and helpful.

Doing what: Casa Bacardi and Old San Juan Tour

Oghenemudiame A

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

Great tour. You get a lot of history and learn so much about Old San Juan and Puerto Rico in general. Our guide was friendly and knowledgeable. He also ends by showing you a whole line of restaurants, giving lots of options to eat afterwards.

Doing what: Old San Juan Walking Tour

Gillian P

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2017

The day of our trip there was a late pick up because of traffic. The Bacardi distillery was interesting and Frances shared interesting facts about Puerto Rico along the route. We were disappointed that there was no guided tour of the fort ---we were just dropped off. Also there was no guided tour of old San Juan-again we were just dropped off. We did not feel there was value for the money spent.

Doing what: Casa Bacardi and Old San Juan Tour

Darleen C

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2017

Because we couldn't be picked up at the El Conquistador, we had to pay 33.00 at the Ritz to park. Tour guide had such a thick accent we could not understand him. He took us to Barcardi and dropped us off for the tour, took us to the old fort and dropped us off to explore on our own, took us to Old San Juan dropped us off to look around,
I could have done all of this on my own instead of paying for a guided tour. I am very disappointed in the lack of professionalism of this tour, lack of history of Puerto Rico, and help with getting around.

Doing what: Casa Bacardi and Old San Juan Tour

Richard M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Tour was awesome. Learned a lot n saw a lot more than if we were exploring on out own. David was very informative n nice! Highly recommend it to everyone if ur in Old San Juan. Take walking shoes though, no flip flops. Lots of walking.....

Doing what: Old San Juan Walking Tour

Kathy N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

David was great. He was articulate, interesting, and educational. I felt like we saw a lot of Old San Juan and the stories made history come alive. I would definitely recommend this trip. Just be aware there is a lot of walking and kids may find it more difficult that they would like.

Doing what: Old San Juan Walking Tour

Barb K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Wonderful tour of Old San Juan. Jose was an excellent instructor and guide.

Doing what: Old San Juan Segway Tour

Susan B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The best way to really appreciate Old San Juan-- so many interesting stories you would not know just walking on your own

Doing what: Old San Juan Walking Tour

Charles F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Great tour. Tour guide David knows everything about the history and culture of Old San Juan. His love of the city and enthusiasm were very apparent. He is very considerate and does all he can to make this tour the best it can be. If you are looking to tour Old San Juan, this tour will not disappoint!

Doing what: Old San Juan Walking Tour

Bridget S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Terrific tour! Our guide, David, was very knowledgable about all aspects of Old San Juan -- history, culture, city development and more! The tour lasted almost 2 1/2 hours and, though it involved a lot of walking, our guide wisely led us up 1 hill and then on level land for a while and then up another hill and so forth, so it was nicely paced and not at all strenuous! On my pacer, it was about 6000 steps. We saw churches, convents, government houses, restaurants, the famous wall and the harbor overview. One thought would be that a shot of espresso midway through might perk everyone up! I enjoyed it and would do it again! Thanks David for your very pleasant tour!

Doing what: Old San Juan Walking Tour

Nicole M

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

The only thing I would change about this tour is the enthusiasm of the tour guide. At first he didn't smile very much or seem excited to be doing the tour. I did however appreciate all the information he gave us about the history of Old San Juana and Puerto Rico in general. So his low enthusiasm wasn't too too bad because I learned so much and we literally walked all over the city. When we came back on our own, we knew exactly what to do and what to check out. We also met some great people on the tour who gave great ideas and suggestions about the area. Overall, great informative tour, I would recommend it to anyone I know who is going to Puerto Rico.

Doing what: Old San Juan Walking Tour

Kim S

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

It was wonderful to have a guided tour of Old San Juan. Our tour guide had a great command of the city, history and sites. My only criticism of it was that he focused too much on small things like the oldest restaurant in Old San Juan and less on the cool forts and historical buildings. But, overall, it was worth doing and we saw things we wouldn't have know about by looking at a map or guidebook.

Doing what: Old San Juan Walking Tour

englertfun

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

Took about 2 hours and walked several miles. It is an abbreviated tour of Old San Juan. Did not include the forts, cemetery or other points of interest you will need and want to explore. Was a little disappointed with what was included and not included. Our guide was knowledgeable about the history of the sites.

Doing what: Old San Juan Walking Tour

Timothy Puerto Rico

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

We met David, our tour guide, and the rest of the group on a beautiful evening--clear skies and cool breezes made the temps just right. David was very friendly, although a little shy.
The walking tour went at a leisurely pace perhaps too leisurely, which gave the 15 people in the group plenty of time to wander off and take photos of the city and selfies. We spent most of the time on Calle Fortaleza and the southern edge of the old city, with lots of beautiful views of the harbor.
David had a tendency to announce our next destination, then take us on several detours. Sometimes we eventually arrived La Mallorquina restaurant, for example and sometimes we didn't Plaza Las Armas.
As I mentioned, David was very friendly, but was not the ideal guide. For instance, he tended to repeat himself multiple times. The people in our group noticed that he said four or five times, The U.S. government granted citizenship to Puerto Ricans, because they needed soldiers for World War II. Besides the fact that this seemed like a gross over-generalization, it got to be annoying. Another example, The nuns would wave the Spanish flag from the balcony as the ships from Spain entered the harbor. He said this at least four times.
Another tendency was for him to mix folklore with history. For instance, he stated that each blue cobblestone represented a gold bar that was taken to Spain. The cobblestones are a striking feature of the streets of Old San Juan and were indeed used as ballast on the ships from Spain. However, there are many thousands of them throughout the city and it is ridiculous to think Spain ever had so much gold and that each cobblestone weighed as much as a brick of gold. Furthermore, sometimes David contradicted the plaques or inscriptions provided by the historical society. When we read the plaques and pointed out these discrepancies to him, he would reply with a casual, Oh yes, that's true too.
I don't have a problem with paying 40 for a two-hour guided tour, but I do expect a knowledgeable leader. Together, the 15 of us in our group brought in about 600 in revenue for the company for two hours of work. They need to pay attention to quality control and training.

Doing what: Old San Juan Walking Tour

lveenstra United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This was a great tour. Our guide did an excellent job training riders to use the segway and then did an outstanding job leading the tour thru old San Juan and El Morro fort explaining the history at each stop. This tour is well worth it if you are not afraid to try the Segway.

Doing what: Old San Juan Segway Tour

Stephen B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

A must do! What a great way to see Old San Juan! David really knows the city and made the tour very enjoyable.
2 1/2 hrs of highlights of the city.

Doing what: Old San Juan Walking Tour

Charles G

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

Old San Juan had many interesting sites and the tour was extremely educational.

Doing what: Old San Juan Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Lucy C

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

I can recommend this tour for everyone! We had our Hotel Hilton Caribe confirm our tour. Our Hotel personnel confirmed and everything was on time and per their description of what would happen with this tour. Our driver was very fluent and knew his history. He was also very friendly and answered all questions without delay. We had numerous elderly personnel in which he asserted extra effort to ensure their safety, comfort and satisfaction. The tour encompasses many historical places in Old San Juan. I recommend this tour.

Doing what: Old San Juan Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

cglanzer

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Don't hesitate to book this walking tour of Old San Juan! We learned so much about the history, culture and people of Puerto Rico. David is knowledgeable, funny and really provides a fun experience in Old San Juan. This tour was a highlight on our trip and I would do it again next time! Thanks David - you rocked it!

Doing what: Old San Juan Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message