San Juan ATTRACTIONS See all

Rio Camuy Cave Park

You don’t have to be a seasoned spelunker to enjoy Río Camuy Cave Park, one of the largest such sites in the world. The caves, sculpted by the underground river from which it derives its name, were only discovered in 1958 and haven’t yet ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 115 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Buddy H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Wow! What an amazing day. Thank you Angel for an experience of Puerto Rico that we will never forget. The Arecibo Observatory was on my bucket list but you gave us so much more. Yes there were other tours available that included the Camuy Caverns and the Arecibo Observatory but with the addition of Cueva del Indio and the black magnetic sand beach, I could not refuse to take this tour. I made the right choice. Once again thank you Angel.

Doing what: North Coast of Puerto Rico from San Juan: Camuy River Cave Park, Arecibo Observatory and Cueva del Indio

Matt S United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

The tour was very good. The guide tourismfamily was helpful and easy to get along with. If you do not want to rent a car then this tour is a great way to see the sites. I would recommend it to friends.

Doing what: North Coast of Puerto Rico from San Juan: Camuy River Cave Park, Arecibo Observatory and Cueva del Indio

Vickiguppy Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Really enjoyed this trip. The guide was wonderful. She was enthusiastic and knowledgeable. It was nice to get out of the city and see some of the countryside. I was really interested to see the telescope and it is amazing. I am a scientist and found this site was informative and entertaining. The caves were impressive, lots of bat pooh. Joking aside, plenty of time to see the caves , the guide was excellent. Not strenuous at all. We would recommend this tour

Doing what: San Juan Day Trip to Rio Camuy Caves and Arecibo Observatory

Jorge B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

GREAT guide, he knows the area so well and is very nice and knowledgeable about Puerto Rico. He will take you through local roads so you can experience the true beauty of Puerto Rico. We did so much that day and everywhere we visited was amazing. I would 10/10 would come through this tour again. In fact, I already recommended it to friends going to Puerto Rico later this year.

Doing what: North Coast of Puerto Rico from San Juan: Camuy River Cave Park, Arecibo Observatory and Cueva del Indio

Alane D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Angel is an excellent guide, genial and generous with his knowledge.

Doing what: North Coast of Puerto Rico from San Juan: Camuy River Cave Park, Arecibo Observatory and Cueva del Indio

Robert M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The caves were spectacular and the weather held out for us on the visit up to the Arecibo Observatory. Both were well worth it and I highly recommend this combo tour!

Doing what: Rio Camuy Cave Park and Arecibo Observatory from San Juan

Linda N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The whole family had a great time. Thanks!!

Doing what: Rio Camuy Cave Park and Arecibo Observatory from San Juan

apojudy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This tour was well worth the money spent for our family of three. We were picked up at the hotel on time though it would be nice if the vans/busses themselves also has the company logo... even if a magnet... on the outside because the number of tour busses that passed through our hotel made it difficult to tell which bus was what and we had to rely on the guide's shirt logo. As we drove to the cave, Ricky our tour guide provided us with a running commentary about San Juan and the different areas of Puerto Rico we were passing through.

At the caves, park officials take over. You're given a number for the tram and told where to purchase your admission ticket. You will likely have to wait 20-60 minutes for the tram down to the caves. It's OK because there are some vendors in the waiting area and you can get food and drink while looking at small souvenirs. However, be ready to go when they call you. The caves are very open, so claustrophobia isn't an issue. Once we were done with our tour, we were given the chance to use the restroom again before boarding our bus.

Our bus driver took us to a nearby restaurant where we were able to dine cafeteria-style cost is 8 for a main dish, two sides and a soda... not included in your ticket price. Though the food was decent, it wasn't great. Still, it was a quick stop and we were on our way.

Arecibo Observatory is located in the mountains and you have to pass through some pretty narrow and twisty roads to get there. For this reason alone, we were glad we booked a tour versus renting a car and navigating there ourselves. Once at Arecibo, the bus parks and you have to walk 5-10 minutes up a hill to get to the observatory. You will pay for admission at the top of the hill. There's a small museum with lots of activities suited for elementary aged kids, but the unquestionable highlight is the radiotelescope. Take time to listen to the movie and then enjoy the views. Don't miss Taylor's Nobel Prize which is on display on the second floor of the museum.

Once you are done, you will board the bus and be returned to your pick-up point.

Doing what: Rio Camuy Cave Park and Arecibo Observatory from San Juan

Arlene A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Great places to see outside San Juan. It was my first time to go in a cave . It was scary at first but I enjoyed it anyway. The Observatory is one of a kind and a must see since it's one of its kind in the world. Our driver/ guide was amazing!

Doing what: Rio Camuy Cave Park and Arecibo Observatory from San Juan

mjesse986

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

This tour was amazing! Our tour guide was great he answered every question and was very enthusiastic about his job and culure. He directed us to some amazing shops and restaurants in old San Juan.

Doing what: Rio Camuy Cave Park and Arecibo Observatory from San Juan

Carmen J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Joshua, the tour guide, was knowledgable, engaging, and resourceful. I highly recommend the tour as an overview of Old San Juan.

Doing what: Rio Camuy Cave Park and Arecibo Observatory from San Juan

Arthur F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

We had a wonderful time! Your driver was very friendly and informative, even finding a wonderful "local" place for lunch.

Doing what: Rio Camuy Cave Park and Arecibo Observatory from San Juan

joseph l

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

the tour was great, and the guides were very informitive

Doing what: Rio Camuy Cave Park and Arecibo Observatory from San Juan

linda ashby a

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

had great time !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Doing what: Rio Camuy Cave Park and Arecibo Observatory from San Juan

Krishna M C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The guide/driver (Ricky) is very good, fun and friendly. He introduced us (all the tourists in his vehicle) to a word "¡Ay, caramba!" and we still think of him. And his partner (who is an employee, but taking the tour along with us) is also very helpful explaining things, guiding and friendly. We would love to go with these two gentlemen again when we revisit.

Doing what: Rio Camuy Cave Park and Arecibo Observatory from San Juan

Izabela P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Good organization, great driver and good timing. Caves were awesome! So was the observatory.

Doing what: Rio Camuy Cave Park and Arecibo Observatory from San Juan

Melissa C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Caves were awesome! Tour guide for the caves was not awesome. Observatory in my opinion was boring but if you like that stuff u will love it. Best part about our viator tours was our tour guide Robert! He was the best!

Doing what: Rio Camuy Cave Park and Arecibo Observatory from San Juan

Penny B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

My husband and I really enjoyed this tour. Our tour guide, Robert, was the BEST, and he was friendly, personable and professional. He told us stories about growing up in Puerto Rico, as well as informing us of interesting sights along the way to the Caverns and the Arecibo Observatory. I highly recommend this tour! We hope to come back to Puerto Rico again!

Doing what: Rio Camuy Cave Park and Arecibo Observatory from San Juan

kiwi trish

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

The cavern experience was amazing. Mother Earth offers us some amazing wonders.
Arecibo is incredible, I had no idea we were still waiting to hear from ET again. A must see.

Doing what: Rio Camuy Cave Park and Arecibo Observatory from San Juan

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message