Not a single drop of water has fallen onto the Moon Valley in hundreds of years, thus the wind-sculpted salt statues inhabiting its eerie bowl have continued their slow, centuries-old dance uninterrupted. Come moonrise, when valley's light dusting ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 31 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Tom M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

A very pleasant surprise. Expected much more low key sightseeing but enjoyed some great hiking too. Nice knowledgeable guide.

Doing what: Valley of the Moon Afternoon Tour

Anna F

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2016

I think it's a scam that this tour is described as a 4-day tour, cause it's 2.5 days long at best. I booked four days in san pedro on the basis of this tour and now have to make my own arrangements for 1.5 days of it.
I'm also unclear what about it cost 1300 usd - looking at prices in town, i could have easily organized a more active tour for myself within 1 hour of arrival, with 400-500 usd to spare.
That said, the place is beautiful, the guides extremely professional, nice and knowledgeable, and the hotel is lovely too. I just wish i wasn't bored on what i thought was a comprehensive tour...

Doing what: 4-Day Atacama Desert Tour: Moon Valley, Geysers del Tatio and the Chilean Salt Flats

Julia W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Amazing experience. The tour company was very professional from start to finish with great English speaking guide and really good driver. The destination is incredible. I booked online very easily and everything worked out as planned with tour really personalised.

Doing what: 4-Day Atacama Desert Tour: Moon Valley, Geysers del Tatio and the Chilean Salt Flats

Rishi S

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

There are other option in local market daily available at 3 pm or 10 am in the morning which are half the price of this tour. If you have time go in the main street and negotiate a tour. They all take you to the same place. may be a little bit less explanation but it doesn't matter. you can save money by going into the market. Our Tour was perfect, no problems with the operator. they explained everything in English and showed a lot to us. They were helpful.

Doing what: Small-Group Moon Valley Tour with Sunset from San Pedro de Atacama

Efrem M

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

The trip was terrific, perfectly suited to two 60-somethings who love different experiences and some creature comforts. Every activity, including airport transfers and all 3 excursions, were on time, as advertised, and well-run, with lovely surprises. The guides Leonardo and Michelangelo were well-versed, helpful, and understanding. The driver was careful and reassuring. Our hotel, Poblado Kimal, was charming. Each room is a little cabin with a sitting area, refrigerator, Jacuzzi and outside patio. Quite comfortable except they heat up during the day and there is no ventilation other than the front door and a small window in the bathroom. This hotel has a very good restaurant attached to it, open for breakfast from 7:30-10:30 and for dinner until 10pm. And a spa that we did not take advantage of, but seems lovely. The staff were always present and accommodating. Be advised that this is not an all-inclusive, organized tour. The package is the hotel and 3 excursions, which include two meals. The rest of the time you're on your own. This was perfect for us except we would have liked a more active contact person as a sort of Organizer as some questions remained unanswered until we were in the bus. E.g., do we really need hiking boots? Answer: No.

San Pedro itself is a bit of a surprise: a small, dusty, rustic town reminiscent of the US Old West with a hippie vibe: backpackers, tie-dye, tattoos, dreadlocks and sand-boards. And many dogs in the streets but not much poop. It has quite good restaurants, much better than typical. The 3 excursions hit the high points of the area, but there are others to consider. There are SO MANY tour operators in town that I dont know how youd decide on which to use once youre there. Also be advised that they are at altitudes up to 14K feet, so you need to be aware of your own limitations and needs for which there is no preparation. My wife had a hard time but felt it was worth it. It was all unique and memorable.

Doing what: 4-Day Atacama Desert Tour: Moon Valley, Geysers del Tatio and the Chilean Salt Flats

Leonid S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

The tour was fantastic, highly recommended.

Doing what: Valley of the Moon Afternoon Tour

josey w

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

It was a very smooth and lovely trip. But if the tour operator can provide the details of the hotel and would give us a choice of the hotel will be better. We have chosen to upgrade to 4 stars hotel of this trip, actually this hotel should equal to 2 stars in the US. With understanding the environment of the city, we fully understand the facilities should not be same as the North America.
Before the trip, we have received the reminder of the trip, but if you can provide more details about the trip...clothing we should prepare for the sunrise would be great. It was very nice that the bus has prepared some blanket for us, but at the time when we received the itinerary, we were panicked that we did not bring enough clothes for -15 degree of Celsius for the sunrise trip.
A friendly reminder to all travelers that this dessert is one of the driest place on the earth, and make sure you have bring enough sun screen and moisturizer for the face, hands and body.

Doing what: 4-Day Atacama Desert Tour: Moon Valley, Geysers del Tatio and the Chilean Salt Flats

Dhishan K

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2015

Tour was okay, got good pictures, but felt the tour was a little too rushed and there were just too many people in the bus to have a unique experience. The sunset was so late that we just waited for 2 hours at the end doing nothing. Also many times, a lot of time was consumed waiting for people to get on to the bus. I wish they had a smaller group. Some of the hikes were reasonably uphill, so I would not say it is a cake walk with children.

Doing what: Moon Valley Tour from San Pedro de Atacama

Fernando S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

I had a blast! Atacama is a wonderful place and chilean people are very friendly. I do recommend strongly this tour!

Doing what: 4-Day Atacama Desert Tour: Moon Valley, Geysers del Tatio and the Chilean Salt Flats

Saroj S

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

The tours were all fantastic. We were picked up and dropped off on time. The two tour guides, Leah and Rose, were excellent and enthusiastic. Hotel Kimal was also good.

My one question is why were we asked to take a 7am flight if the tour on Day 1 began at 4pm. We had to leave our hotel in Santiago at an ungodly hour of 5am, and after arrival at the hotel at 11am, we were not given the room until 3pm. We were exhausted even before we took the tour. I had requested a later flight at 9 or 10am, but I was told that it was not convenient.

Doing what: 4-Day Atacama Desert Tour: Moon Valley, Geysers del Tatio and the Chilean Salt Flats

Julie B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

The tour was fantastic - the hotel was constructed out of local materials and tastefully decorated, the three tours were all magnificent. The scenery was overwhelmingly beautiful and Rose,our guide, and Walter, our driver were thoroughly professional and knowledgable. The Atacama desert is one of the most scenic places in the world!

Doing what: 4-Day Atacama Desert Tour: Moon Valley, Geysers del Tatio and the Chilean Salt Flats

Richard J P

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

This was a fine tour, and the people contractor were great. But there was little value added beyond the transit to get to these places, and that's what you're paying for with one exception, which I'll note on that tour's review. If you have time and resources to rent a 4WD instead, you would be well advised to do so.

Doing what: Moon Valley Tour from San Pedro de Atacama

Vania K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Very beatiful!

Doing what: Moon Valley Tour from San Pedro de Atacama

maggie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Everywhere we went in this tour was beautiful!!! don't miss it
Our tour guide, Rosa, is nice, professional, and knows a lot about the area. Ricardo, our driver, drives very well. They are both very kind.
We stayed at Altiplanico Hotel, highly recommended, nice staff, very clean and comfortable.
We are super happy with this tour in general.

Doing what: 4-Day Atacama Desert Tour: Moon Valley, Geysers del Tatio and the Chilean Salt Flats

Jens W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Fantastic, very satisfied and highly recommend to travel with Viator to Atacama desert. We felt very well taken-cared of during the whole trip. First of all, Ivan the coordinator and chauffeur, went out of his way to accommodate our schedule to change the program of the tour!! Thank you, Ivan! Our guide Leo is amazing, speaks fluent English and knows everything and explains it well he even had books to show us the different types of wildlife. The details that he knows is impressive! It is such a delight to be guided by a professional who loves his job! Thank you Leo! Our other chauffeur José is fantastic as well! We would like to thank Viator for the attention in detail in organizing this tour and making our stay in the hotel very comfortable. We are currently searching a tour to Machu Pichu with Viator.

Doing what: 4-Day Atacama Desert Tour: Moon Valley, Geysers del Tatio and the Chilean Salt Flats

Zbigniew S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great experience, it felt like a private tour, we had the guide and a driver to ourselves. They were very professional and well organised. We were picked up always on time, the driver was very helpful, he also had great knowledge of the local history and geography and knew where to stop to show us some interesting points. We were provided all the required information on arrival and everything was organised for us. I'd fully recommend this tour to others.

Doing what: 4-Day Atacama Desert Tour: Moon Valley, Geysers del Tatio and the Chilean Salt Flats

Helead

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2015

A 2 star rating for the spectaculat scenery, but zero for the guide.
He had to be reminded to explain ings in English as well as Spanish, and delayed our viewing of Death Valley with a long drawn out story concerning his grandfather, while the othe spanish speaking visitos were able to look around. We then had 5 minutes to see features of the valley before getting back on the bus.On arrival in Moon Valley carpark, we were route marched to the top of the ridge, with no explaination of the geology along the way. He appeared disintersted, and mentioned he had been guiding for 10 years - perhaps it is time for new career.

Doing what: Moon Valley Tour from San Pedro de Atacama

Duncan W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

fantastic and more. very good :

Doing what: Moon Valley Tour from San Pedro de Atacama

Zhenmin P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Our airplane delayed one day due the mechanical problem. The travel agency helped us postponed one day at no charge . The guide and driver were very nice and we had an amazing tour.

Doing what: 4-Day Atacama Desert Tour: Moon Valley, Geysers del Tatio and the Chilean Salt Flats

Yimin C United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

We arrived one day later than the starting date due to LAN fight problem but the program run as normal without cutting any activities. Both driver and tour guider are very professional.

Doing what: 4-Day Atacama Desert Tour: Moon Valley, Geysers del Tatio and the Chilean Salt Flats

Edward W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The tour was very good and the guides were also very good. The hotel was rather basic, and the staff of the hotel was not very helpful.

Doing what: 4-Day Atacama Desert Tour: Moon Valley, Geysers del Tatio and the Chilean Salt Flats

beafox03

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Atacama is magical. We have traveled to many places but the combination of natural wonders there is unique. The hotel was lovely and fit right in to the surroundings. The tour guides were very knowledgeable and helpful especially when it came to my mother and her friend who are elderly and needed some extra assistance.

Doing what: 4-Day Atacama Desert Tour: Moon Valley, Geysers del Tatio and the Chilean Salt Flats

Dana V

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

Moon Valley was great, Geysers are not worth the effort.

Doing what: 4-Day Atacama Desert Tour: Moon Valley, Geysers del Tatio and the Chilean Salt Flats

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message