San Sebastian is a destination of indulgences—with its world-class food, divine beaches perfect for lazing and stunning architecture, this seaside town will leave you feeling relaxed and taken care of after just three days. Day 1: At the Beach ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 14 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Angela H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This to her was the highlight of our trip to Donostia San Sebastian, for two reasons. First, the scenery along the coast is absolutely spectacular. Second, our guide, Maria, was outstanding: she was warm, knowledgeable, and enthusiastic, and we learned a lot from her about local culture and history.

Doing what: Half-Day Way of St James Hiking Tour from San Sebastián

Maura J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was the highlight of our trip to Paris and northern Spain. Our guide Thomas seemed to know not only lots of local lore but most of the folks we met along the trail. The local wine and Tapas were a well deserved treat after our hike.

Doing what: Half-Day Way of St James Hiking Tour from San Sebastián

Brenda F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Oihand our tour guide was amazing, we experienced a little bit of rain but she made our trip a fun day out

Doing what: Half-Day Way of St James Hiking Tour from San Sebastián

Mark M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Ella was an amazing guide full of knowledge about San Sebastián history and food. I ate some of the best tapas of my trip on this tour. They have the local knowledge and will order what is best at each bar giving you a wide range of foods and flavors. i highly recommend this tapa tour!

Doing what: Small-Group Pintxos and Wine Tour in San Sebastián

R g c C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This was the best thing we did in San Sebastian, a great trip with beautiful scenery and a very knowledgable guide.

Doing what: Half-Day Way of St James Hiking Tour from San Sebastián

Joseph R Switzerland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

The hiking tour with Tomasz is a must do! The trails, cliffs and ocean views are unique and breathtaking. Tomasz is beaming with enthusiasm, knowledge and made the trip even more enjoyable. The trip also includes visits to a couple of small, picture-perfect fishing villages that are really something to witness. If you are in San Sebastian, this hiking trip along the Santiago de Compostela pilgrimage trail is a must do to really feel part of the community and surroundings!

Doing what: Half-Day Way of St James Hiking Tour from San Sebastián

Ashley M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We had the most amazing tour with Tomasz on our recent trip to San Sebastian. 3+ hours full of history, delicious pintxos in a variety of styles from several different bars, local wines and cider, and lively conversation about San Sebastian's culture. We enjoyed everything we tried and were very impressed with the structure and content of the tour -- Tomasz was able to include SO much and still keep things exciting rather than overwhelming. We got several suggestions for other activities for the rest of our trip and just had the best time. This tour was the highlight of our time in San Sebastian and I can highly recommend it! Start your trip with this tour!!! Big thanks to Tomasz!

Doing what: San Sebastián Food Tour: Pintxos and Wine

Mary Kay S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Cannot say enough about this trip! Tomas was an unbelievable guide - great history lesson as well as great overall lesson of the region. Tomas exceeded our expectations on all aspects of the tour - including the lunch. Tomas was even able to give tips on other areas that we will be traveling and has been right on so far. It was all topped off by a great game of pelota. When you choose this trip, make sure you go with Tomas!

Doing what: Half-Day Way of St James Hiking Tour from San Sebastián

oneillc5

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Tomas has an enthusiasm for San Sebastian's that is infectious. This is not only an introduction to pintxos hopping, but to San Sebastian's history and culture. I attended on the first night of my stay, which I highly recommend, as it helped set the stage for the rest of the trip. Our 3+ hour journey lead us through the Old Town and Gros. A unique, exciting and fun gastronomic adventure. I might add that everything we ate and drank was adventurous and delicious. Book with Tomas! Highly, highly recommend.

Doing what: San Sebastián Food Tour: Pintxos and Wine

Jessica V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This may have been the highlight of our honeymoon. We picked Spain for our honeymoon because we LOVE food. It's probably our biggest expense when we're at home, and we were so excited to go to San Sebastian after hearing so much about the food culture there. Our tour guide was Tomas. He was AMAZING. He took us to 3 different Pinxchos spots in Gros and in the Old Town. Not only did he show us 3 amazing locations, but we got to try different wines and ciders, and Tomas gave us background information about the history of Pinxchos as well as the history of the Basque region. It really gave us a full perspective of the area. He also gave us recommendations for dinners for the rest of our trip and encouarged us to hike Mount Urgell and Monte Igueldo which were fantastic. I highly recommend this tour. Ask for Tomas though!

Doing what: San Sebastián Food Tour: Pintxos and Wine

Diseree D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Bottom Line: AWESOME. The other 2 people booked for our tour canceled so we really got a private tour! Our tour guide, Tomasz, was amazing. His enthusiasm was contagious. I could really feel the passion he had for SS - not only in the food, but the entire culture. I thought that this tour was just about the food, but Tomasz added so much more to it. The tour advertises 3 places, but we actually got to go to 4 – each with a pintxo and a drink. Apparently on Tue/Thu there is a special where for 2 Euros you can get a drink and a pintxo at a certain place. Our tour was on a Thu so we got to go, and was it packed! Anyway, in the beginning of the tour, Tomasz asked how adventurous we are w/food; this is basically how he gauges what to order. We said “Go for it!” and Tomasz did not disappoint. We got to taste mackerel, pig cheeks, tortillas, and this “TO DIE FOR” crab pintxo - each paired w/a drink: cava, red wine, beer, white wine. We got a taste of it all: traditional and modern pintxo bars - a good range for our experience. In addition he pointed out another pintxo bar that, unfortunately, closed early and could not be part of his tour. We ended up going there ourselves the next day and were beyond pleased. Actually, we enjoyed the places Tomasz took us to so much that we took our family to two of them on multiple occasions during our trip! Bonuses: Tomasz started the tour w/general historical info about SS. He continued to point out and share info specific to SS (such as the Sociedad Gastronomicas, traditions at Constitution Square, etc), other scenic places of interest, and quirky things that are not “normal” to America. My husband was completely overjoyed when Tomasz showed us this machine that is stocked with and dispenses fresh milk everyday! Lots of walking - but completely worth it! Do this tour @ the start of your vacation - you'll def visit the bars again!

Doing what: San Sebastián Food Tour: Pintxos and Wine

George United States of ... 

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

The trip was worth it and the English translation was well done.
An issue we had was the WEB site doesn't tell you in advance that they do not accept E-Invoice and you need a paper invoice,which is required . The company, which Viator WEB site refers you where to go for a printed copy, does not have an office at the address you are referred to. Thanks to the local tourist Office rep and the bus driver, who used common sense, allowed us to receive the pass after wasting over an hour.

Doing what: San Sebastián Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour

Margarita T

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2015

The tour guide was EXCELLENT, full of life and customizing her discussions to our questions. She had pre-arranged visits and menu, but changed some of the selections due to our dietary requirements. The group was fun and it was more at least three hours. HOWEVER, I was sick for two days after. I connected with two of the other members of our group, and also had gastro problems for two days later. It was obviously something that was served to us. I did not exchange emails with others on the trip, so I don't know whether or not they too had stomach issues.

Doing what: Small-Group Pintxos and Wine Tour in San Sebastián

andrew c

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2016

No good!! 130 euros for two of us for a very short tour..a little under two hours and some very average pinxtos, sometimes it was not even what our guide promised....no squid ink in the risotto, and we never had the ox cheeks we were told about! We were also given some insider knowledge to not order cold pinxtos as the hot stuff was made to order ...solid advice but then two out of five of the pinxtos were cold!!! Our guide was fun but admitted she was new to the job..and it showed. Having been to some pinxtos bars ourselves we estimate the cost of the combined food and drink to be around 35 euros for the two of us...making the price for the tour outrageous.... Plenty of better deals to be had either going it alone or with other tours that offer more bang for your buck, was expecting this tour to be a real highlight of my trip to Spain and instead I feel ripped off...avoid.

Doing what: San Sebastián Food Tour: Pintxos and Wine

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message