Santiago ATTRACTIONS See all

San Cristobal Hill (Cerro San Cristobal)

The Santiago skyline is dominated by San Cristobal Hill - or Cerro San Cristobal, a forest-carpeted mountain rising from the city, protected as the Parque Metropolitano, or city park. It was once called Tapahue, after the indigenous ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 141 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Kevin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

We were met in the lobby of our Hotel by Eduardo. He was a little unsure of what the tour entailed as he was only called the night before to do it. As we walked to the nearest Metro Station We discussed this and got things organised. After riding a train to downtown we strolled through the district viewing the historic buildings and the Santiago Cathedral.
When we left Mercado Central we were picked up by a driver and proceeded to go to San Cristobal Hill. This was a unique experience because it was a Sunday. The Funicular to the summit had a wait of at least 45minutes so it was decided to drive up. The road was full of cyclists and runners/walkers and near the top the road to the summit was closed to cars. We didnt get to the top but stopped in a layby to get a view of the city.
Once we descended the hill we went around the Financial area of the city ending up back at Mercado Central where we left our driver and had a seafood lunch which included a Pisco Sour and a glass of wine.
After lunch, we caught the Metro and Eduardo escorted us back to our Hotel.
Eduardo gave a good commentary and his English was very easy to understand. Sometimes some of the questions we asked got lost in the translation but we got there in the end and were able to laugh about it.

Doing what: Santiago Like a Local: Private Walking Tour with Coffee, Markets, Street Food and San Cristobal Hill

kathy.nelson4

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

Really good except I don't like being taken to friends jewelry stores same as rug stores in other countries. Knowledgeable about his country's history.

Doing what: Private Santiago City Half Day Tour

Navnit B

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2017

It is a nice tour in the sense that it gives one a broad picture of the city and its various districts. Unfortunately not enough time to experience at least any one district. The time spent at the Fish Market was a total waste. It was closing down and what was seen - nothing spectacular about it. That time could have been taken to e.g see and take photos of a Pablo Naruda's house. It might be a good idea to hand out a colored map of the city to us so that we may better relate to the short tour. Our guide, Tanya and driver Cecelia were friendly and knowledgeable. For those who have little time - this is a good tour.

Doing what: Santiago City Sightseeing Tour

Jeffery R

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2017

Not a great tour....guide spoke quietly and most of the time we could not hear her....the car was uncomfortable but air conditioning worked....tour was certainly not worth the money spent for it....we would give it a pass.

Doing what: Santiago City Sightseeing Tour

Gordon W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The tour guide Patrizio was excellent, offering insightful perspectives which you would not find in any tourist guide.

Doing what: Santiago City Sightseeing Tour

Lynn L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Carlos picked us up at 3 pm, expecting to have 4 hours to show us the sights. We had had a change of schedule and needed to be back by 6 pm. We asked him to give us the highlights - whatever he had time to show us and thought we should see. Not sure I can remember everything, but it's definitely worth going up Santa Lucia Hill for a view of the city. There's a huge park Millennial? with whimsical curved bronzes over bridges, I think, a pond with black-necked geese, flamingos, and a lot more. In spite of the Friday afternoon traffic, we managed to get to all the sections of the city including London/Paris, see the new skyscrapers and what's left of the old downtown, a lot more parks Santiago believes in large green spaces. We had a wonderful experience, and thoroughly enjoyed having Carlos Carrasco as our guide. My traveling companion had been there before, and she said this was the best city tour she'd been on.

Doing what: Private Santiago City Half Day Tour

mcmrosla

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We rode around the different parts of the city and then had an excellent guided walking tour. This is the way to see this city.

Doing what: Santiago City Sightseeing Tour

roboser0

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

This tour gives an excellent impression of the lovely and interesting city of Santiago. But the highlight was the outstanding knowledge and enthusiasm of our guide, Paula. Without her the tour would have merited 3 stars.

Doing what: Santiago City Sightseeing Tour

Susan Rae J

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2017

It was nice to have option of airport pick up and hotel drop off. However, it was mostly a tour of just driving around with little chance for photography or a visit to the Cathedral. Our attitude towards this may have been improved by a better guide/driver who was not so rude and brusque.

Doing what: Private Santiago City Half Day Tour

Joe F

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

We enjoyed this tour. We wish it was a little longer so that we had more time to stop and look at things. That being said, it was worth the three hours and gave us ideas of where we wanted to go on our own on later days of our trip.

Doing what: Private Santiago City Half Day Tour

Natalee R

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2016

If you are a history or architecture buff, this might be the thing for you. We learnt a lot but didn and #39;t feel any of the personality of Santiago. The food in the Mercato Centrale for lunch was disappointing to say the least. Given we paid a premium price I expected a premium tour and was disappointed.

Doing what: Santiago Like a Local: Private Walking Tour with Coffee, Markets, Street Food and San Cristobal Hill

Christiane S

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2016

Worst viator tour I have taken anywhere. Issues: description said it was a bus tour of the city, reason we chose it as one in party has trouble walking. First stop was halfway up one of the historic hills, group got out and guide took those who could do stairs a couple stories' worth to the top- only 3 of the group could do it. We lost out on her info and waited for them to come back. Next stop was the fish market, ok, thn we were told the next hour plus would be all walking. Guide walked with ONE of the group having 1:1 chat rest couldnt hear then into cathedral. I was told I had to leave to get in the bus NOW so he wont get a ticket waiting and she didnt even let me take a photo the place I most wanted to visit, I told her I would like to take a photo and she INSISTED i leave without it. Then I sat in the bus while the group finished the walking tour another half hour. I also had a middle rear seat so couldnt see anything during the bus driving part. I respectfully request that this description be changed online for future passengers, and that this guide tell those in the van that everyone WILL take different seats at each stop.

Doing what: Santiago City Sightseeing Tour

Note from Viator: 

Thank you for your feedback. We’re sorry to hear your tour experience was unsatisfactory. We spend a lot of time ensuring that our tour descriptions are accurate reflections of the tours themselves, but occasionally, a local tour operator may change aspects of a tour without letting us know. We are grateful to have your feedback so we can provide the most up-to-date information on our tour page. You can be sure we’ll contact the local operator to obtain the most accurate tour information for our website. We have also escalated your claims to our Customer Support Team for further investigation so that we can resolve this matter in a timely manner. Thank you for bringing this to our attention and we wish you Happy Travels for your future tours.

asif m

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2016

The tour company never showed to pick us up nor did they call to say they will not come. I had to call after waiting 30 minutes and the excuse was there was some kind of misunderstanding and they didn't have any cars or tour guide for us.

Doing what: Santiago City Sightseeing Tour

Dave K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Great tour - my guide was very knowledgable and showed me a lot of Santiago's history and interesting locations

Doing what: Santiago Like a Local: Private Walking Tour with Coffee, Markets, Street Food and San Cristobal Hill

Sinclair M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The guides were friendly and went out of their way to assist us.

Doing what: Small-Group Night City Tour: San Cristobal Hill and Dinner Show

Dorothy M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

I really enjoyed this tour. Fran was especially helpful to my companion, who had some difficulty walking and maneuvering steps. She also added a stop at a jeweler's so I could buy some things.

Doing what: Santiago City Sightseeing Tour

Brian B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great excursion around Santiago. Smart, polite and funny guide Marcello made for a memorable experience.

Doing what: Private Santiago City Half Day Tour

Patboy

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

I personally enjoyed this tour. As there were not that many interesting sights to see in Santiago compared to other South American capitals like Lima or Buenos Aires, our guide Sergio made this tour very enjoyable for me. He is very knowledgeable about the history of his city and I learned a lot from just listening to him. Overall, a good city tour of Santiago.

Doing what: Santiago City Sightseeing Tour

G Keith F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our guide was friendly and knowledgable. It was just us and the guide and a driver. The tour was a nice change from the sort of tour where you are just a wallet to be sold to tourist traps. We saw attractions that had lots of local Chileans - we weren't taken to rip-offs. Our guide explained the history of Santiago in the context of the places we saw and when we asked he recommended a good empanada place and a great seafood restaurant. It was refreshing to hear a local view of the historical events that our guide lived through, without the spin that we typically get from the authorities. We got a really good overview of the city with an emphasis on things that we could see and do on our own in the following days.

We highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Santiago City Sightseeing Tour

Melinda B

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

We enjoyed this tour and would recommend it. It was a combination of a walking tour and bus tour. We visited all the landmarks as well as the downtown area and a local market. Our tour guide and bus driver went out of their way to drop us off at a particular area for which we were very grateful.

Doing what: Santiago City Sightseeing Tour

FABIO C

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Very good trip, nice guide and driver, unfortunately we had rain all afternoon.

Doing what: Santiago City Sightseeing Tour

Pauline R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Very good and informative tour. Our guide was excellent. Recommend this to anyone

Doing what: Santiago City Sightseeing Tour

simedrad

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

these bike tours are wonderful! Loved morning market tour so much we went on afternoon city tour.

Do both and you have covered a lot. Then go back to museums/ restaurants etc. which your guides will recommend.

Doing what: Santiago City Sightseeing Tour

Linda I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our tour was excellent. We started with a tour of the different districts by car and then went on to walk around the old part of the city. Our guide was amazingly informative and showed us places that we would never have found for ourselves. We would not hesitate to go on another Viator guided tour wherever we are in the world. We highly recommend the company.

Doing what: Santiago City Sightseeing Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message