Santiago ATTRACTIONS See all

San Cristobal Hill (Cerro San Cristobal)

The Santiago skyline is dominated by San Cristobal Hill - or Cerro San Cristobal, a forest-carpeted mountain rising from the city, protected as the Parque Metropolitano, or city park. It was once called Tapahue, after the indigenous ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 129 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Christiane S

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2016

Worst viator tour I have taken anywhere. Issues: description said it was a bus tour of the city, reason we chose it as one in party has trouble walking. First stop was halfway up one of the historic hills, group got out and guide took those who could do stairs a couple stories' worth to the top- only 3 of the group could do it. We lost out on her info and waited for them to come back. Next stop was the fish market, ok, thn we were told the next hour plus would be all walking. Guide walked with ONE of the group having 1:1 chat rest couldnt hear then into cathedral. I was told I had to leave to get in the bus NOW so he wont get a ticket waiting and she didnt even let me take a photo the place I most wanted to visit, I told her I would like to take a photo and she INSISTED i leave without it. Then I sat in the bus while the group finished the walking tour another half hour. I also had a middle rear seat so couldnt see anything during the bus driving part. I respectfully request that this description be changed online for future passengers, and that this guide tell those in the van that everyone WILL take different seats at each stop.

Doing what: Santiago City Sightseeing Tour

Note from Viator: 

Thank you for your feedback. We’re sorry to hear your tour experience was unsatisfactory. We spend a lot of time ensuring that our tour descriptions are accurate reflections of the tours themselves, but occasionally, a local tour operator may change aspects of a tour without letting us know. We are grateful to have your feedback so we can provide the most up-to-date information on our tour page. You can be sure we’ll contact the local operator to obtain the most accurate tour information for our website. We have also escalated your claims to our Customer Support Team for further investigation so that we can resolve this matter in a timely manner. Thank you for bringing this to our attention and we wish you Happy Travels for your future tours.

asif m

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2016

The tour company never showed to pick us up nor did they call to say they will not come. I had to call after waiting 30 minutes and the excuse was there was some kind of misunderstanding and they didn't have any cars or tour guide for us.

Doing what: Santiago City Sightseeing Tour

Dave K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Great tour - my guide was very knowledgable and showed me a lot of Santiago's history and interesting locations

Doing what: Santiago Like a Local: Private Walking Tour with Coffee, Markets, Street Food and San Cristobal Hill

Sinclair M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The guides were friendly and went out of their way to assist us.

Doing what: Small-Group Night City Tour: San Cristobal Hill and Dinner Show

Dorothy M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

I really enjoyed this tour. Fran was especially helpful to my companion, who had some difficulty walking and maneuvering steps. She also added a stop at a jeweler's so I could buy some things.

Doing what: Santiago City Sightseeing Tour

Brian B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great excursion around Santiago. Smart, polite and funny guide Marcello made for a memorable experience.

Doing what: Private Santiago City Half Day Tour

Patboy

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

I personally enjoyed this tour. As there were not that many interesting sights to see in Santiago compared to other South American capitals like Lima or Buenos Aires, our guide Sergio made this tour very enjoyable for me. He is very knowledgeable about the history of his city and I learned a lot from just listening to him. Overall, a good city tour of Santiago.

Doing what: Santiago City Sightseeing Tour

G Keith F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our guide was friendly and knowledgable. It was just us and the guide and a driver. The tour was a nice change from the sort of tour where you are just a wallet to be sold to tourist traps. We saw attractions that had lots of local Chileans - we weren't taken to rip-offs. Our guide explained the history of Santiago in the context of the places we saw and when we asked he recommended a good empanada place and a great seafood restaurant. It was refreshing to hear a local view of the historical events that our guide lived through, without the spin that we typically get from the authorities. We got a really good overview of the city with an emphasis on things that we could see and do on our own in the following days.

We highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Santiago City Sightseeing Tour

Melinda B

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

We enjoyed this tour and would recommend it. It was a combination of a walking tour and bus tour. We visited all the landmarks as well as the downtown area and a local market. Our tour guide and bus driver went out of their way to drop us off at a particular area for which we were very grateful.

Doing what: Santiago City Sightseeing Tour

FABIO C

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Very good trip, nice guide and driver, unfortunately we had rain all afternoon.

Doing what: Santiago City Sightseeing Tour

Pauline R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Very good and informative tour. Our guide was excellent. Recommend this to anyone

Doing what: Santiago City Sightseeing Tour

simedrad

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

these bike tours are wonderful! Loved morning market tour so much we went on afternoon city tour.

Do both and you have covered a lot. Then go back to museums/ restaurants etc. which your guides will recommend.

Doing what: Santiago City Sightseeing Tour

Linda I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our tour was excellent. We started with a tour of the different districts by car and then went on to walk around the old part of the city. Our guide was amazingly informative and showed us places that we would never have found for ourselves. We would not hesitate to go on another Viator guided tour wherever we are in the world. We highly recommend the company.

Doing what: Santiago City Sightseeing Tour

Cynthia H United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Only problem was guide had us on his list but kept insisting we weren't. We made him look again and there we were. He did apologies.

Doing what: Santiago City Sightseeing Tour

fcranfield

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Interesting and thorough

Doing what: Santiago City Sightseeing Tour

William M. T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

It was the perfect tour for us. We had an overnight flight to Santiago with a one day stay and this afternoon tour gave us the opportunity to see the city. Not stressful, convenient, just 4 of us in a van and a terrific guide.

Doing what: Santiago City Sightseeing Tour

Dale A M United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Christian was very knowledgeable and was engaging in his descriptions of the city. Would definitely recommend this small bus tour.

Doing what: Santiago City Sightseeing Tour

susan g United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

Exactly what we wanted as we only had a short time in Santiago. Pleasant guide who gave us lots of information about the history of Chile and what life is like there.

Doing what: Santiago City Sightseeing Tour

Sanjiv M

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
March 2016

Terrible. Could not understand the guides English. We wandered around somewhat aimlessly in the heat. And then while we were away from the bus we found the driver smoking in the bus thus leaving us with a unpleasant aroma for the ride back. We chose to take a cab home and left halfway.

Doing what: Santiago City Sightseeing Tour

Mark H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Amazing city tour! Very friendly and informative guide who spoke excellent english.

Doing what: Santiago City Sightseeing Tour

William N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

This tour accomplished what it described as an overview of central Santiago very nicely without rushing any of the four of us. Our guide took time to answer questions and gave a fine overview of Santiago's history and neighborhoods.

Doing what: Santiago City Sightseeing Tour

Ronald M

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2016

The transportation was 1 hr. 10 minutes late, never a call from Turavion. We had to call them and they made up all kinds of stories. A real travel agency would have called to tell us they were running late.
Then our transportation ended at 1pm. He had to go for another tour. They had promised us a full tour. The only reason they get a 2 is that our guide walked us through the rest of the tour and gave us instructions on how to take the subway home. I will be very leery of using your services again and certainly will not recommend you to anyone.

Doing what: Santiago City Sightseeing Tour

Marylu S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Absolutely the best tour. My guide was very knowledgeable and gave a wonderful commentary. I would more than recommend this tour. Mary S

Doing what: Santiago City Sightseeing Tour

Sheena C

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Celia was a great guide with lots of knowledge which she provided to us. An interesting city and good way to start off getting some basics.

Doing what: Santiago City Sightseeing Tour

dehart1

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

A very good overview of the City

Doing what: Santiago City Sightseeing Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message