Despite its location in South America, Santiago has a distinctly European feel, from its neoclassical architecture to its efficient metro system, Santiago is one of South America’s most sophisticated cities and a must-see if you are visiting ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 367 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

gabo m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was a really nice experience, the people were gentle and fun, I could know lots of places and history about Santiago, I totally recommend it!

Doing what: Private Tour: Santiago City Sightseeing

cbart

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

The driver Sebastien and guide Alejandro were great! We drove up one side of the canyon, enjoyed the view and short hike at the end of the trail and enjoyed a picnic lunch with wine fruit nuts and crudites. On the return trip we went down the other side of the canyon and stopped for an empanada lunch and beverage. Friendships were made. It was an amazing experience and Alejandro told history and geography lessons along the way.

Doing what: Cajon del Maipo Day Trip from Santiago

Christiane S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Best viator tour ever. Guide outstanding, its the best way to get well into the Andes small van, see the bluest lake imaginable lagoon providing all water to Santiago, have a wilderness experience, and stop at 2 local small cafes one for morning coffee and cake, one for afternoon drink and empanada. Dont miss this one.

Doing what: Cajon del Maipo Day Trip from Santiago

Andrew L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

excellent...of course more wine samples would have been nice!

Doing what: Concha y Toro Winery Tour from Santiago

john i

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Brilliant. Martin was an amazing host who shared his passion for his country, its culture and its environment

Doing what: Cajon del Maipo Day Trip from Santiago

Verne C

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

Nice little tour. This was my second time in Santiago and I learned and saw so much more due to this tour than my first visit.

Doing what: Private Tour: Santiago City Sightseeing

Christiane S

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2016

Worst viator tour I have taken anywhere. Issues: description said it was a bus tour of the city, reason we chose it as one in party has trouble walking. First stop was halfway up one of the historic hills, group got out and guide took those who could do stairs a couple stories' worth to the top- only 3 of the group could do it. We lost out on her info and waited for them to come back. Next stop was the fish market, ok, thn we were told the next hour plus would be all walking. Guide walked with ONE of the group having 1:1 chat rest couldnt hear then into cathedral. I was told I had to leave to get in the bus NOW so he wont get a ticket waiting and she didnt even let me take a photo the place I most wanted to visit, I told her I would like to take a photo and she INSISTED i leave without it. Then I sat in the bus while the group finished the walking tour another half hour. I also had a middle rear seat so couldnt see anything during the bus driving part. I respectfully request that this description be changed online for future passengers, and that this guide tell those in the van that everyone WILL take different seats at each stop.

Doing what: Santiago City Sightseeing Tour

Note from Viator: 

Thank you for your feedback. We’re sorry to hear your tour experience was unsatisfactory. We spend a lot of time ensuring that our tour descriptions are accurate reflections of the tours themselves, but occasionally, a local tour operator may change aspects of a tour without letting us know. We are grateful to have your feedback so we can provide the most up-to-date information on our tour page. You can be sure we’ll contact the local operator to obtain the most accurate tour information for our website. We have also escalated your claims to our Customer Support Team for further investigation so that we can resolve this matter in a timely manner. Thank you for bringing this to our attention and we wish you Happy Travels for your future tours.

asif m

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2016

The tour company never showed to pick us up nor did they call to say they will not come. I had to call after waiting 30 minutes and the excuse was there was some kind of misunderstanding and they didn't have any cars or tour guide for us.

Doing what: Santiago City Sightseeing Tour

Dave K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Great tour - my guide was very knowledgable and showed me a lot of Santiago's history and interesting locations

Doing what: Santiago Like a Local: Private Walking Tour with Coffee, Markets, Street Food and San Cristobal Hill

Dorothy M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

I really enjoyed this tour. Fran was especially helpful to my companion, who had some difficulty walking and maneuvering steps. She also added a stop at a jeweler's so I could buy some things.

Doing what: Santiago City Sightseeing Tour

Jaime D

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2016

We were toured by Ricardo, who had a separate car and driver. He arrived early and ahead of the car which arrived about 10 minute past the appointed time. I had forgotten to click on the language preference while signing up and Ricardo had presumed we were Spanish speaking since we had Spanish last names. Good thing he also spoke English decently well. Ricardo was well-mannered and would take pictures whenever we requested.

We started with Santa Lucia hill, then walked along Moneda Palace towards Plaza de Armas. Then finished with the Mercado Central.

We did feel short-changed though- the itinerary included Los Granderos de Alba, the handicrafts village, Parque Forestal, Bellavista neighborhood, and San Cristobal hill. It was ok for us not to visit Bellavista and San Cristobal since we had done that on our own the day before but we werent even asked. And we did Santa Lucia which we thought was an ok alternative to Cristobal.

I hope the tour operator can make sure their guides, usually independents, will stick to the itinerary put up in the web sites.

Doing what: Private Tour: Santiago City Sightseeing

Anne M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

A really interesting tour into some beautiful country. Just loved the mountains, snow and awesome scenery. The picnic lunch in the sunshine was an added bonus.

Doing what: Cajon del Maipo Day Trip from Santiago

Joanna C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Absolutely magical place.
The glaciers forming a back drop to El Yaso was truthly breathtaking.
The food was simple and for the price it felt very expensive for the entire package, but the views will remain in my memory forever.

Doing what: Cajon del Maipo Day Trip from Santiago

Angie United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Excellent way to see the mountain's and only a short drive from the city

Doing what: Mountain Horseback Riding Tour from Santiago

Bev B

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

This was along day trip but it was excellent. After a few hassles trying to find other travellers we set off through the valley. Our guide was young and exuded a love for the area and all of Chile. She was very informative and added some extras like Chilean music and kites to fly at cocktail time.
My husband is coeliac and she went to a lot of trouble for his food.
The sites were good and made even better by a fantastic guide.

Doing what: Cajon del Maipo Day Trip from Santiago

Patboy

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

I personally enjoyed this tour. As there were not that many interesting sights to see in Santiago compared to other South American capitals like Lima or Buenos Aires, our guide Sergio made this tour very enjoyable for me. He is very knowledgeable about the history of his city and I learned a lot from just listening to him. Overall, a good city tour of Santiago.

Doing what: Santiago City Sightseeing Tour

Dagmara J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The best tour ever!!! Very relaxing, beautiful views, nice picnic. 100 recommended.

Doing what: Cajon del Maipo Day Trip from Santiago

Lyndall P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

A wonderful excursion with a fabulous guide. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Mountain Horseback Riding Tour from Santiago

Angela L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Everything I hoped for in a tour of a brand new city and country for me. Learned about the history, politics, culture, people - and got to see so many great sites! My guides did a great job of providing so much in 3 hours, which is all of the time I had, so this was perfect.

Doing what: Private Tour: Santiago City Sightseeing

Duane S

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Everything was great with the actual tour itself.
Coordinating the pick-up from the hotel the only glitch. We did not know till 20 minutes before the pickup from the hotel if the tour was actually on or not.

Doing what: Cajon del Maipo Day Trip from Santiago

Simone W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Wonderful tour! Breathtaking scenario and locations. Our guide and drive were so friendly and easy to speak too. Very knowledgable of the region. The little stops we had at local shops and markets were wonderful.

Doing what: Cajon del Maipo Day Trip from Santiago

Kerri M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was great! Amazing views of the Andes and reservoir. Our driver and guide were quite competent and enthusiastic about the area. If you want an authentic experience with knowledgeable guides, then this is the tour for you! It was a day well spent learning about this area of the Andes.

Doing what: Cajon del Maipo Day Trip from Santiago

Alicia C B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We love Alejandro and Christian!

Doing what: Cajon del Maipo Day Trip from Santiago

Matt F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Marco was a great driver and guide. With time to spare before the tour, we got fresh empanadas from a roadside hut. Concho y Toro was great and the taste testing was amazing.

Doing what: Concha y Toro Winery Tour from Santiago

Michael G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Rod was excellent and very funny. Small group was great. Winery staff was knowledgeable and helpful, and everyone was very patient. Suggestion: Give directions to the hotel from the metro. Google Earth is not accurate.

Doing what: Concha y Toro Winery Tour from Santiago

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message