Despite its location in South America, Santiago has a distinctly European feel, from its neoclassical architecture to its efficient metro system, Santiago is one of South America’s most sophisticated cities and a must-see if you are visiting ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 393 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Kevin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

We were met in the lobby of our Hotel by Eduardo. He was a little unsure of what the tour entailed as he was only called the night before to do it. As we walked to the nearest Metro Station We discussed this and got things organised. After riding a train to downtown we strolled through the district viewing the historic buildings and the Santiago Cathedral.
When we left Mercado Central we were picked up by a driver and proceeded to go to San Cristobal Hill. This was a unique experience because it was a Sunday. The Funicular to the summit had a wait of at least 45minutes so it was decided to drive up. The road was full of cyclists and runners/walkers and near the top the road to the summit was closed to cars. We didnt get to the top but stopped in a layby to get a view of the city.
Once we descended the hill we went around the Financial area of the city ending up back at Mercado Central where we left our driver and had a seafood lunch which included a Pisco Sour and a glass of wine.
After lunch, we caught the Metro and Eduardo escorted us back to our Hotel.
Eduardo gave a good commentary and his English was very easy to understand. Sometimes some of the questions we asked got lost in the translation but we got there in the end and were able to laugh about it.

Doing what: Santiago Like a Local: Private Walking Tour with Coffee, Markets, Street Food and San Cristobal Hill

Alicia Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Great tour! Beautiful scenery, very informative tour guide and driver. Highly recommended tour.
Alicia Z.

Doing what: Cajon del Maipo Day Trip from Santiago

Pamela L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

This day trip was super! The hotel pick-up was right on time, and we were greeted with hugs by our friendly, knowledgeable, and energetic guide, Valentina. Our driver, Sebastian, was excellent as well. We would never have gotten into the mountains at all if not for this tour. The scenery is beautiful, and the natural reservoir a stunning turquoise. We had a short stop before we got there for light breakfast, then a picnic snack that we all thought was lunch at the reservoir . We had a short stop at the entrance to an old train tunnel where if you say your dreams, they're supposed to come true. Then we continued along, stopping for real lunch, giant and delicious homemade empanadas. We were back at the hotel about 4:15, ready for a siesta before going out again. A wonderful day! Especially excellent for people like us who cannot do a big hike but still love to get out in nature.

Doing what: Cajon del Maipo Day Trip from Santiago

susan h

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

This was a fantastic tour of the highlights of Santiago. A must for anyone who has limited time there,as we did.
We had a great guide,Tania,who spoke perfect english. Our driver was Alex and he was also fab.
We were picked up from the hotel and had the guide and transport to ourselves.
We were taken to Santa Lucia park and we walked up the hill for pics,the Andes in the background.
We covered all of the highlights and Tania waited very patiently as we took photos, She even walked into St Francis church with us. We were dropped off at our hotel and she walked us the short way to find food.,this was so would know our way back.
All in all a great tour that we would highly recommend.
Thank you x
.
.

Doing what: Private Tour: Santiago City Sightseeing

Navnit B

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2017

It is a nice tour in the sense that it gives one a broad picture of the city and its various districts. Unfortunately not enough time to experience at least any one district. The time spent at the Fish Market was a total waste. It was closing down and what was seen - nothing spectacular about it. That time could have been taken to e.g see and take photos of a Pablo Naruda's house. It might be a good idea to hand out a colored map of the city to us so that we may better relate to the short tour. Our guide, Tanya and driver Cecelia were friendly and knowledgeable. For those who have little time - this is a good tour.

Doing what: Santiago City Sightseeing Tour

Jeffery R

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2017

Not a great tour....guide spoke quietly and most of the time we could not hear her....the car was uncomfortable but air conditioning worked....tour was certainly not worth the money spent for it....we would give it a pass.

Doing what: Santiago City Sightseeing Tour

David W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Excellent tour - on-time pick-up in good-quality vehicle and friendly, knowledgeable guide. Schedule and personal attention suited us so all in all, a good choice.

Doing what: Private Tour: Santiago City Sightseeing

Christopher T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We enjoyed it very much.

Doing what: Cajon del Maipo Day Trip from Santiago

Brenna C D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This day trip was excellent and well worth the money. The hike to the lagoon at the base of the glaciers is moderately challenging and incredibly rewarding. The hot springs are a super plus after a nice hike, and the setting could not be more beautiful. We received breakfast and lunch and a cheese spread with wine at the end - which were perfect. Plus, our guide, Benjamin Bertie could not have been better, nor our driver. Benjamin was knowledgeable, kind, and excited to be on the trip - I can't rave about this day trip more. It was perfect.

Doing what: Small-Group El Morado Trek and Hot Springs Day Trip from Santiago

Gordon W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The tour guide Patrizio was excellent, offering insightful perspectives which you would not find in any tourist guide.

Doing what: Santiago City Sightseeing Tour

Lynn L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Absolutely fantastic! There were 10 tourists, the driver Sebastian, I think - superb driver! and the guide in a minivan. Alejandro, the guide, was a delight! Very personable and knowledgeable. Early pickup 7:30 for us, then off to the mountains. Coffee and tea break and rest stop at a charming little place that reminded me of the English tea rooms in the Los Angeles area. Then up into the mountains to Embalse el Yeso, a long turquoise lake fed by 3 rivers and held by a dam. Gotta warn you - it's all natural up there, which means a lot of unpaved therefore bumpy roads and no restroom facilities. They served us a picnic put together by the place where we had our break - yummy watermelon, ceviche I think it's the national dish of Chile, cheese chunks, a cheese spread with pine nuts, bread, carrot and celery sticks, a raisin and nut mix similar to trail mix, some fantastic non-oily non-salty black olives, strawberry juice, and a Chilean wine made from the French grapes that the French no longer have. What a feast! Note: the feast may vary from trip to trip. We gorged on it, then discovered we were headed for a lunch stop with restrooms where we ate the local empanadas huge! with local craft beer.
It sounds like all we did was eat. The food was all included in the price of the tour, although notes on Viator indicate the lunch might not always be.
The minivan can theoretically hold 13 passengers. Glad we had a little space. The far back corner behind the driver where I was sitting didn't get much of the air conditioning, but I consider that a minor discomfort far outweighed by the rest of the experience.
The scenery was magnificent. We went up to about 9800 feet in the Andes. It was a hot sunny day in Santiago about 100 degrees, but there was a cold wind blowing when we got up to the lake, and we were glad to have windbreakers. The turquoise waters of the lake are such an unbelievable color! Occasionally mixed with brown where one of the rivers fed into it. Surrounded by mountains that still had some snow on the peaks. A condor sailing overhead - unusual for the time of year, we were told. Rushing rivers and waterfalls. The old camp where the workers lived while they built the dam. Plenty of photo opportunities.
We are so glad we went on this trip! It was a fabulous day out!

Doing what: Cajon del Maipo Day Trip from Santiago

mcmrosla

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We rode around the different parts of the city and then had an excellent guided walking tour. This is the way to see this city.

Doing what: Santiago City Sightseeing Tour

Zhava K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We really enjoyed this tour! The guides were great and the hot springs and picnic were a really great way to end the day!

Doing what: Small-Group El Morado Trek and Hot Springs Day Trip from Santiago

Jeffrey T

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

The tour was an interesting visit to a lagoon that was created by damming the flow from the Andes. The result is a vast lake surrounded by mountains high (8000ft ) in the mountains. A crazy ride on winding roads through small interesting towns with some small stops along the way. Worth the trip

Doing what: Cajon del Maipo Day Trip from Santiago

roboser0

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

This tour gives an excellent impression of the lovely and interesting city of Santiago. But the highlight was the outstanding knowledge and enthusiasm of our guide, Paula. Without her the tour would have merited 3 stars.

Doing what: Santiago City Sightseeing Tour

Bill S

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Dinner and the show were at the same location. Our guide did a great job getting us settled and the restaurant staff was very attentive. The other people attending were predominately Chilean so most of the presentation was in Spanish. But we enjoyed our experience immensely.

Doing what: Chilean Folklore Show and Dinner with Transport

Judith A

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Really enjoyed the wine and cheese stop! The view all around us was fabulous!

Doing what: Cajon del Maipo Day Trip from Santiago

Grace M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Really interesting tour through sites that the regular traveller wouldn't see by themselves. Andrea was terrific, she really has an empathy with the people in the markets and clearly has a real love of the places and people. The food tasting stops are really good and tasty as well. Thanks!

Doing what: Small-Group Santiago Food and Market Tour Including Mercado Central

Joe F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

We really enjoyed this excursion, and our guide Bernadita was awesome! Getting to get out of the smog of Santiago and see the Andes up close made the trip worthwhile.

Doing what: Cajon del Maipo Day Trip from Santiago

Priya B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Stunning. Worth every penny. Our guide Alejandro was super friendly, knowledgeable and understood we each had our own paces. The beginning of the hike is a bit steep, but then flattens a bit and becomes easier. Wouldn't recommend for those very out of shape. SUCH an amazing experience.

Doing what: Small-Group El Morado Trek and Hot Springs Day Trip from Santiago

Jacob F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This is a great tour. The views were beautiful, and the picnic by the lagoon was very nice.

Doing what: Cajon del Maipo Day Trip from Santiago

Lolee

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

It was quite a tour. The views were excellent. The driver and guide were top notch. I would recommend this tour.

Doing what: Cajon del Maipo Day Trip from Santiago

Pulahinge R

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

Great tour and a very lively guide.Enjoyed the scenery, very beautiful

Doing what: Cajon del Maipo Day Trip from Santiago

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message