Chile is one of South America’s most diverse, stable and prosperous countries, and Valparaiso exemplifies all of these. From its rich, European-influenced cultural heritage to its bustling seaport, Valparaiso is perhaps Chile’s most cosmopolitan ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 151 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Verne C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Loved this trip. Very good way to get away from Santiago and see the coast and the many sights. We had a great tour guide.

Doing what: Private Tour: Vina Del Mar and Valparaiso Day Trip from Santiago

Douglas C

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

Our guide was very enthusiastic and knowledgeable. We were picked up at our hotel on time and the tour was always on schedule. This is a great way to experience Valparaiso with a local flavor. We would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Valparaiso Like a Local: Private Walking Tour with Harbor Cruise Including Transport from Santiago

Haley P

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

A beautiful view, and atmosphere
Wish there was more time to enjoy some of the fine restaurants

Doing what: Vina Del Mar and Valparaiso Day Trip from Santiago

jwakb

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2016

Almost a nice tour but or local operator was only ok. The local operator's office lost our hotel pick up information causing us to loose the first part of the day. Our guide was good. Our driver was very diligent in facilitating each local site drop off. In Valparaiso we had walked by numerous cute and interesting local restaurants that would have been great for lunch for our very small group. Instead the operator took us to a total tourist trap off the highway that was terrible.

Doing what: Private Tour: Vina Del Mar and Valparaiso Day Trip from Santiago

Maria J

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2016

The driver/guide was discussing. Smell of cigarettes, depressing. The wine tasting is a big fiasco, looks like a gas station stop. There are better tours.

Doing what: Small Group Tour: Viña del Mar, Valparaiso and Wine Tasting in Casablanca Valley

Stan G

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2016

While the two cities are well worth seeing, there was too much driving and not enough walking. The stop on the way at a winery in the Casablanca Valley was excellent, one of the highlights. It would have been nice to have some time to visit shops in Valpo. Instead, our guide indicated we had 20 minutes to see th Pablo Neruda house. THe guide was well prepared, very nice and capable. However, the trip was a high level overview of the two cities - I personally would have preferred more time to explore Valpo on foot.

Doing what: Private Tour: Vina Del Mar and Valparaiso Day Trip from Santiago

Adam B

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2016

Our guide Cliff was DISGUSTING, vulgar, disrespectful. This trip is a sham. The wine tasting is in a store, not a winery, and is open/free to ANYONE. Cliff skipped Valparaíso bc there were was a festival causing road closures. Lunch spot was good. Only thing you and #39;re paying for is transport. Total waste

Doing what: Small Group Tour: Viña del Mar, Valparaiso and Wine Tasting in Casablanca Valley

David R

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2016

Not what we were expecting. The highlights of Valparaiso only came at the end after we insisted on what we wanted to see - the art, culture, etc. A walking tour of the markets and the trolley bus ride can be taken anywhere. The lunch was not much - in fact we would happily take 10 minutes to grab a snack to eat as we walked to give more time to see some of the artwork and special sights that make Valparaiso the city that it is. The harbour cruise was a waste of an hour.

Doing what: Valparaiso Like a Local: Private Walking Tour with Harbor Cruise Including Transport from Santiago

Robert S

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

We had a private tour, as there weren't any other guests signed up, and although that can be awkward all around in having to keep up conversation, guide Claudio and driver Angelica were friendly and patient and interested. 1st stop out of Santiago was Verramonte winery, which was a nice break on the drive before heading to Valparaiso. You get a good sense of Valparaiso, famous for street art and hills before Vina del Mar. I'd prefer to spend more time in Vina, but not sure how to cut it logistically. Lunch stop is at a good quality sit-down with a view of the sea.

Doing what: Vina Del Mar and Valparaiso Day Trip from Santiago

Katrina E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Guillermo was an amazing tour guide! The tour was a one on one experience in English. We ended up getting a private tour which was very fortunate. The day was wonderful and we were able to experience some areas outside of Chile. The lunch spot they took us to was delicious right on the beach. I would definitely recommend this tour! We are very grateful again to the tour guide as he did not only give us information on the cities but went out of his way to chat with us and get to know us. It made for an amazing day- thank you again!

Doing what: Small Group Tour: Viña del Mar, Valparaiso and Wine Tasting in Casablanca Valley

Leah B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The tour was wonderful, we had a great time walking through the city and our guide was fantastic. She was very helpful and informative. We would highly recommend this trip!!!

Doing what: Valparaiso Like a Local: Private Walking Tour with Harbor Cruise Including Transport from Santiago

Melinda B

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2016

I would not really recommend this tour. Our tour guide and driver were fantastic and did a great job looking after us but I just didn't like the township of Valparaiso. It is fully of graffiti, it's not a particularly attractive place to visit and there are better places to enjoy in Santiago.

Doing what: Valparaiso Like a Local: Private Walking Tour with Harbor Cruise Including Transport from Santiago

Andrew B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

An excellent tour and enjoyable day out. Carol was so enthusiastic and shared so many interesting snippets of information. Valparaiso is a busy, gritty place on the surface but with such a skilful guide, we saw the art, culture and history, as well as experiencing some of the life of the city. It was a long drive but Rodrigo cruised us there smoothly.

Doing what: Valparaiso Like a Local: Private Walking Tour with Harbor Cruise Including Transport from Santiago

John G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Valparaiso is a must see from Santiago. Our guide and tour were excellent. This was my second day trip to Valparaiso and was far better than previous. We spent the whole day walking the streets and cruising the harbour. The harbour cruise was an entertainment in itself.

Doing what: Valparaiso Like a Local: Private Walking Tour with Harbor Cruise Including Transport from Santiago

John C

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

This was a very pleasant outing. The weather was good, the guide and driver were great and sited were very interesting. We would be happy to recommend this tour to friends and family.

Doing what: Vina Del Mar and Valparaiso Day Trip from Santiago

Michael P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We had wonderful day. Our Tour Guide was very professional. His knowledge of the area was first class. Lots of relevant information and stories. Our driver was also excellent and made us feel very safe.
Thanks for a good time.

Doing what: Vina Del Mar and Valparaiso Day Trip from Santiago

kenneth r K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was an excellent tour. Our English speaking guide Paula was absolutely wonderful and gave interesting explanations of everything we saw. Max our driver was very capable and safe. Ken kurtz

Doing what: Private Tour: Vina Del Mar and Valparaiso Day Trip from Santiago

Mary H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Our guide was Carol and she did an amazing tour with us. She was on time, friendly, and her English was perfect. She answered all of our questions and provided helpful information. We enjoyed all of the sights and the lunch location was spectacular. The winery stop was better than I had imagined and was glad that we had booked it. Our trip to the market was fun and with Carol's assistance we were able to buy souvenirs. Our travel group all agreed that this was fabulous. Everything about this day was special and our tour guide was extra special.

Doing what: Private Tour: Vina Del Mar and Valparaiso Day Trip from Santiago

KMLocke

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

Great tour excellent guide. We were the only 2 on the tour . We would have preferred more time in Valparaiso instead of Vina Del Mar

Doing what: Vina Del Mar and Valparaiso Day Trip from Santiago

E G F

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

Great tour - spend more time in Valparaiso then in Vina del Mar as it's far more interesting.

Doing what: Vina Del Mar and Valparaiso Day Trip from Santiago

Annette O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

We had a wonderful day in Valparaiso with our guide Roberto and driver Miguel and would recommend this tour to anyone who wants to explore Valparaiso like a local, walking the tiny alleys, riding the elevators and trolley buses, boating in an open boat and eating the local dishes.

Doing what: Valparaiso Like a Local: Private Walking Tour with Harbor Cruise Including Transport from Santiago

Chris USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Our guide Tanya made this private tour outstanding. She had our driver take every road in Valparaiso up and down hills, have him stop wherever and have us get out and walk and wind up meeting the driver somewhere else. Got us into the museum and knew to do it before a long queuing line appeared as my wife and I finished our tour of it. Stopped for a very nice lunch that did not break the bank. Helped my wife buy a ring from a trusted store in Vina Del Mar. Only letdown was Vina Del Mar that was nice to drive through but had not much to offer. I would recommend this tour over a group tour for a better experience.

Doing what: Private Tour: Vina Del Mar and Valparaiso Day Trip from Santiago

Sanjiv M

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

Sergio was a very good guide - very knowledgeable and helpful.

Doing what: Private Tour: Vina Del Mar and Valparaiso Day Trip from Santiago

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message