If you came to Santorini for the sunsets, the town of Oia is where you want to be when the sun sinks towards the horizon to such glorious effect. Perched on the steep edge of the caldera, with open views of the sea, the village is quieter than the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 83 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Casey A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great guide. Very knowledgeable. Tour hits all the top spots and provides a great feel for the island.

Doing what: Oia Sunset and Traditional Villages Tour in Santorini

Sandi A R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

My daughter and I had a fantastic tour of Santorini. Our driver was very well-informed on the island, made stops where he thought we would most enjoy ourselves and helped design the perfect tour for our needs/wants.

Doing what: Private Tour: Santorini Sightseeing with Photo Stops on the Fira to Oia Hiking Trail

Tracy T USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great tour. Katarina, the tour guide was EXCELLENT. Probably one of the best Ive had. The Driver was also really nice and helpful. It didn't feel like a guided tour like so many of them can. Very easy breezy and fun.

Doing what: Oia Sunset and Traditional Villages Tour in Santorini

Gez1964

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

We loved this tour as it gave you a great insight of Santorini from history old villages present and sunsetting in Oia . Thou we were in Thira and you can see it there also. Long day but a good one

Doing what: Oia Sunset and Traditional Villages Tour in Santorini

Gez1964

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Excellent tour very enjoyable ...weat good ahoes as volcano walk is a long walk on loose stones ..rake water. The hot springs don and #39;t take good bathers as the water is brown orange colour they will be stained

Doing what: Santorini Volcano Cruise Including Hot Springs, Thirasia and Optional Oia Sunset

Gisela P

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

It was a good trip in regards to volcano trip and overall great experience, only downfall was overfilled boat which made it uncomfortable on the boat
and it was overcrowded when trying to see the sunset
i wont complain and it was a good experience

Doing what: Santorini Volcano Cruise Including Hot Springs, Thirasia and Optional Oia Sunset

Rachel C

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2016

Unfortunately I should have paid more attention to the reviews for this trip before booking it.

There was an air of disorganization from the start when I went to the local bus stop to be collected and the guide seemed reluctant to honour my voucher. After a call to the centre, I was allowed onto the bus and we set off. There was a vehicle change in the captial but this was not explained very clearly and we were just herded off one bus and made to stand on the sidewalk for about 10minutes before the other bus arrived.
Upon arriving at the port, we were split by language onto the boats- again there was a very herd-like feel to this- and then we set sail for the volcano. There were perhaps 100 people on the boat some even had to stand all day and it didn't have the relaxed atmosphere that I've come to know from viator trips. The size of the group also made it difficult to hear the guide and pick up interesting facts about the stops.
All of the stops were worth it- the volcano is very hot but interesting, the thermal springs are beautiful and Thirassia is stunning!
I had paid for the trip to Oia but changed my mind because it was an extremely hot day, I was quite dusty and tired, and knew that there would not be enough to fill the almost 5hours between the drop-off and the sunset. It is really a shame that the Oia part of the tour isn't guided because if you haven't been there before, the instructions from the guides on where to see the sunset/meet the bus mean absolutely nothing and are likely to be forgotten at the required hour.
Our guide was very accommodating of me opting out of the Oia part and ensured that I had transportation back to my starting point once we were on land again.
Overall I'm glad that I did the tour, but was let down by the 'mass' and somewhat rushed feel of it. I don't recommend buying the Oia option as it's self-guided and you can have more control of the experience and the cost by taking the local bus.

Doing what: Santorini Volcano Cruise Including Hot Springs, Thirasia and Optional Oia Sunset

gbell

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Awesome time, beautiful places and very helpful staff ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Doing what: Santorini Volcano Cruise Including Hot Springs, Thirasia and Optional Oia Sunset

marina s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Constantina was an amazing tour guide. She made us feel like family. Santorini was the highlight of our vacation thanks to her. I would highly recommend Viator and ask for Constantina. You will not be disappointed.

Doing what: Santorini Shore Excursion: Private Scenic Tour of Santorini, including Oia and Mt Profitis Ilias Monastery

Teresa D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our tour guide for the Oia Sunset and Traditional villages tour was Katy and she was the best guide I think I've ever experienced. She could answer questions from wine making to plants, agriculture, Greek history, religion and on and on and on and had such interesting stories about everything. We saw SO much in one day. Archaeological site, vineyard, lunch at the black beach, traditional village, and of course sunset at Oia. I would recommend this trip to anyone who wants to see the island of Santorini.

Doing what: Oia Sunset and Traditional Villages Tour in Santorini

ankurfitzgibbons

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

On this tour, we went to Akrotiri, Perissa beach, Profiti Ilia, Megalochori, Santos Winery and Oia. The actual tour is different than what the description says and honestly, what you get is even better! We started with a pick up from our hotel and going straight to Akrotiri. The ancient town is a wonderful way to learn about the history of Santorini. We then had lunch at Perissa beach at a great restaurant and had time to walk around. We then went through some villages and specifically stopped at Megalochori. The tour then took you up to the highest point in Santorini and we were able to take pictures. Before taking us to Oia for the sunset, we headed to Santos Winery and were able to sample some wines and enjoy a great view. Overall, a wonderful tour and great way to see the island.

Doing what: Oia Sunset and Traditional Villages Tour in Santorini

sundeepsaksena Poland

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

The guide was really good and the car was out of the world

Doing what: Private Tour: Santorini Sightseeing with Photo Stops on the Fira to Oia Hiking Trail

Sandra M

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Great tour .. Really gave you a good perspective of the islands . A very long day though.... They really Oshawa the excursions once in the Åland but they were not worth the extra money ... Something extra to do but not vert good and more money

Doing what: Oia Sunset and Traditional Villages Tour in Santorini

sbclark@ameritech.ne ... 

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

Santorini is a beautiful island but with 4 cruise ships in port on the same day, it was overwhelmingly crowded. We started our tour in Fira and took the cable car to the top of the cliff to reach the town. Our tour guide met us at the bottom and we rode up to meet the driver. It was early in the morning and our first stop was Mt. Profitis Ilias, the highest point and the location of a monastery. As we are driving for about 30 minutes, there was a lot of fog and once we reached the top, we could see nothing! The tour guide also told us that she had never been to the monastery when it was open so she wasn't sure we could get in. She should have told us this and offered another alternative than going to some spot with fog and nowhere to go! That was very disappointing. We would have preferred to spend the time in beautiful Oia. Oia was the highlight of the tour but it was very crowded due to the number of ships in port. The trip was also scheduled to last 4.5 hours but she took us back to Fira after 3 hours. She seemed to be in a hurry to leave us! Once in Fira, we had a wonderful lunch on our own overlooking the water and left to catch the cable car around 2 pm. The line was probably at least 2 hours so we walked down the donkey trail to catch the tender boat at the bottom. That was horrible! The smell and the number of donkeys was unbearable. The trail is also uneven and difficult to navigate, trying to avoid donkeys and their deposits along the route! Santorini is beautiful but these annoyances will probably be what we remember the most!

Doing what: Santorini Shore Excursion: Private Scenic Tour of Santorini, including Oia and Mt Profitis Ilias Monastery

Amanda P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was just a brilliant way to see a lot on the island! The tour took us to brilliant places and there was a wine tasting and great view. The sunset at Oia was just terrific, though the guide a different one from the rest of the day kind of just ran us there and dropped us. But we adjusted and enjoyed the sites! It was a really fabulous day--highly recommended!

Doing what: Oia Sunset and Traditional Villages Tour in Santorini

Doreen E D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The tour was great because it provided a history of the island and had a good sampling of traditional villages, viewpoints of the island, and provided hotel pickup and dropoff. However I paid double to Viatar for booking the tour than what local offices charged!

Doing what: Oia Sunset and Traditional Villages Tour in Santorini

Renee R

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2016

The tour it self was good. Spent a little to much time for lunch. Two hours in a village with nothing to do is to long. The sunset in Oia was beautiful! When we were on the bus coming back to our hotels we were told that we would get dropped off at the same places we got picked up. WRONG the bus driver went past ours. He dropped us off some place that we didn't recognize and said he would send a van to pick us up and take us to our hotel, we were told by two different men that. After waiting 45 minutes we walked the 2 miles at night back to our hotel. Do not us the tour company you use in Santorini.

Doing what: Oia Sunset and Traditional Villages Tour in Santorini

Youngwook P

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

I like the prehistory museum tour by this tour guide. She was excellent to make interested tour with broaden knowledge. And old town tour was great. Well. i think other place was ok for me.

Doing what: Oia Sunset and Traditional Villages Tour in Santorini

Simon W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Good value tour with lots of things to see - the guide was very patient and knowledgeable.

Doing what: Oia Sunset and Traditional Villages Tour in Santorini

Susan G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Zina was excellent and new everything about this beautiful
island. I wish we could of had her longer though.
She even called ahead and got us a amazing table for lunch

Doing what: Santorini Shore Excursion: Private Scenic Tour of Santorini, including Oia and Mt Profitis Ilias Monastery

Priscilla F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Amazing tour with varieties of seeing traditional villages, prehistorical museums, wine and sunset. The tour guide Katy is professional as she's humorous, knowledgeable and able to control the schedule.

Doing what: Oia Sunset and Traditional Villages Tour in Santorini

joni j

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

I have a perfect driver that took me to what I want to see. Great recommended restaurant.

Doing what: Private Tour: Santorini Sightseeing with Photo Stops on the Fira to Oia Hiking Trail

Nikhil N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Santorini, a beautiful island with colourful houses and gorgeous sunsets. A dream destination.

Doing what: Oia Sunset and Traditional Villages Tour in Santorini

Cindy C

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

I must say the tour was definitely informative and you are able to take in a lot of what Santorini has to offer, several things to point out, you can purchase this tour for over half the cost at your hotel, disappointing to see the markup on the site. In addition the you have several stops where you are given 15-20 minutes for pictures and the lunch stop in Perissa for about 1.5 hours. Perissa is home of the black beach, extraordinary! Then you are off to Oia to see the sunset but for me this part of the tour was not guided, our guide was dropped off in Fira and we were on our own for about an hour and 25 minutes to find our path to the Kastro of Oia and back to the bus, just don't miss your bus, they claim to leave you.

Doing what: Oia Sunset and Traditional Villages Tour in Santorini

Heide C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This was our favorite tour out of our 2 week vacation in Italy/Greece/Turkey. Kristina and George were so friendly and knowledgeable. They made it clear it was our day and we could do whatever we wanted if we wanted to change the original itinerary. They took us all over Santorini, suggested the most wonderful and fabulous restaurant for lunch on the beach, answered all of my millions of questions, and were wonderful with our 11 year old son. We have traveled many places and Santorini is now one of our favoite places. We will definitely go back. I couldnt recommend this tour more!

Doing what: Private Tour: Santorini Sightseeing with Photo Stops on the Fira to Oia Hiking Trail

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message