Letzte Suchanfragen
Löschen

Beach Institute African American Cultural Center

Beach Institute African American Cultural Center
Das im historischen Viertel von Savannah gelegene Beach Institute wurde 1867 als erste Schule der Stadt gegründet, die speziell für afroamerikanische Studenten gebaut wurde, um sich in die weiße Gesellschaft einzugliedern. Heute ist das Beach Institute ein Museum und beherbergt mehr als 230 Holzschnitzereien des bekannten Volkskünstlers Ulysses Davis.

Die Schule wurde ursprünglich nach Alfred E. Beach, dem Herausgeber von Scientific American, benannt, der die Mittel für den Kauf der Website spendete. Bei seiner Eröffnung war das Beach Institute ursprünglich von weißen Lehrerinnen aus dem Norden besetzt und hatte zunächst 600 Schüler. 1874 wechselte es den Besitzer in die Bildungsbehörde von Savannah und 1875 wurde es eine kostenlose öffentliche Schule für schwarze Kinder. Die Einschreibung begann zu sinken, als andere Schulen in der Region eröffneten und das Beach Institute 1919 gezwungen wurde, seine Türen zu schließen.

Heute dient das alte Gebäude als afroamerikanisches Kulturzentrum und bietet Programme und Ausstellungen mit afroamerikanisch beeinflusstem Kunsthandwerk, wie die von Davis bekannten Holzschnitzereien. Davis war ein Savannah-Friseur mit einem unglaublichen Talent zum Holzschnitzen. Seine Werke spiegeln seinen tiefen Glauben wider und gelten als wichtige Beispiele afroamerikanischer Volkskunst.

Practical Info

The Beach Institute is located at 502 E. Harris Street in Savannah. It’s open Tuesday through Sunday from noon to 5pm.
Adresse: 502 E Harris St, Savannah, Georgia 31401, USA
Stunden: Tue-Sun 12pm-5pm
Einlass: $5
Mehr lesen

0 Touren und Aktivitäten zum Erkunden von Beach Institute African American Cultural Center

Kategorie
Daten auswählen
Heute
Morgen
Filter




Sortieren: Präsentiert

Keine Ergebnisse!

Kostenlose Stornierung:Bei den meisten Erlebnissen erhalten Sie bis zu 24 Stunden im Voraus eine vollständige Rückerstattung.Details anzeigen
Sortieren nach:Präsentiert

Buchen Sie online oder telefonisch.
0800 184 4973
0800 184 4973

No reviews, be the first!

  • Address: 502 E Harris St, Savannah, Georgia 31401, USA
  • Hours: Tue-Sun 12pm-5pm
  • Admission: $5

Savannah ATTRACTIONS See all

Beach Institute Museum Tours

Located in the Savannah Historic District, the Beach Institute was established in 1867 as the city’s first school built specifically for African-American students to assimilate into white society. Today, the Beach Institute is a museum and houses more than 230 woodcarvings by renowned folk artist Ulysses Davis. 

The school was originally named for Alfred E. Beach, editor of Scientific American, who donated the funds to purchase the site. When it opened, Beach Institute was originally staffed by white female teachers from the north and had an initial enrollment of 600 students. By 1874, it underwent a change of hands to the Savannah Board of Education, and in 1875, it became a free public school for black children. Enrollment began declining as other area schools opened, forcing the Beach Institute to close its doors in 1919. 

Today, the old building serves as an African-American Cultural Center and offers programs and exhibits that feature African-American influenced arts and crafts, like Davis’ noted woodcarvings. Davis was a Savannah barber with an incredible talent for carving wood. His works reflected his deep faith and have been recognized as important examples of African-American vernacular art.

Practical Info

The Beach Institute Museum is located at 502 E. Harris Street in Savannah. It’s open Tuesday through Sunday from noon to 5pm.

Tours & Tickets

See all

Savannah Black History Tour, Savannah, null
TVRM_SORTED : false ESSENTIAL : ADMISSION :

Savannah Black History Tour

3.5 star rating: Worth doing 4 Reviews

Learn all about Savannah's fascinating black history on a 3-hour tour of the city by bus! While watching an onboard DVD slideshow about the city’s black ...  Read more

Location: Savannah, Georgia
Duration: 2 hours 30 minutes (approx.)

From USD $40.59

See all

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message