Savannah is proud to call itself the oldest city in Georgia, and partly because of this (and partly because of the swift action by the Savannah Historic Preservation) Savannah is awash in history and points of interest.  A walk through the Savannah ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 27 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Barbara E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Loved the tour stops, great selections and food. Tour guide Brandon had many details about Historicsl Savannah. We would highly recommend this food tour!

Doing what: Savannah Historic and Secret East Side Food Tour

Jenna Claire B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our tour guide was great. He led us through the city and offered multiple views and theories, gave the historical characters depth, and was both engaging and informative. We loved it.

Doing what: Civil War Walking Tour of Savannah

Rhonda D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Gary Evans was the best tour guide! He made the information fun without being over the top. The food stops were great. We received such excellent service at each stop and such good food. We had never been to Savannah before and this gave us not only a taste of the foods of Savannah but a great little historical tour along the way as well. We highly recommend this tour be the first that you select.

Doing what: Savannah Food Tour of the Historic District by Bus

Jennifer B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Very informative and convenient to local sites. Your transportation needs are just a phone call away. The rivercruise gave great insight to the waterway and the historical impact it had/has on the city.

Doing what: Savannah River Cruise and Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

mcath United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I would recommend this tour for anyone interested in learning about some of the local eateries not frequented by tourists in the historic district. The walking is not strenuous, and there is time to sit and cool down in each establishment. All of the spots had excellent food, too!

Doing what: Savannah Historic and Secret East Side Food Tour

Christi C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Fabulous!!! Awesome experience with yummy food, delightful conversation, historic information, cultural understanding and lots of laughter!! Lisa was wonderful as our guide and we totally enjoyed all the restaurant selections and offerings as well as the beauty of Savannah. Highly recommend also had the best margarita ever at the 17Hundred90 and it is fun to be able to walk down the street with your drink!!

Doing what: Savannah Historic and Secret East Side Food Tour

Donna B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The Civil War walking tour was great. Our tour guide mid-20's woman college student - forgot her name was fun, very knowledgeable, and simply a joy to be around.

She took up to the major squares and historical buildings - had a great time. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Civil War Walking Tour of Savannah

Lou R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Guide was very knowledgeable. Interesting way to see historic Savannah and get to try restaurants you may never otherwise have the chance to.

Doing what: Savannah Historic and Secret East Side Food Tour

Kathleen R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

What a perfect day we had. Toured the Historic area by bus, then took the river cruise. Weather was perfect, 74 deg. Everyone on the boat was very nice. Trip was interesting and longer than I thought it would be. We would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Savannah River Cruise and Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

Tracy S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Just what I expected from a hop-on hop-off tour. Good overview of historic district with some fun stories.

Doing what: Savannah River Cruise and Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

Laurie M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Our tour guide Irene was truly engaging, she was friendly, humorous, and knowledgeable about the city which made me feel like I was exploring Savannah with a friend. Great food and interesting historical facts and details which gave my friends and I a list of further places to explore. Wonderful!!

Doing what: Savannah Historic and Secret East Side Food Tour

Cristina L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Phillip was an excellent guide. He was extremely well-informed, interesting, and incented me to learn even more about the beautiful and historic town of Savannah.

Doing what: Savannah Walking Tour

Richard S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

We met up with Philip at Reynolds square to begin our tour. The weather that that day was challenging but Philip made it fun with his knowledge and humor. With lots of history and insights from our guide, we had a wonderful time in Savanna's historic district! Highly recommend!

Doing what: Savannah Walking Tour

lg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

An excellent and informative way to learn about this historic city.

Doing what: Savannah River Cruise and Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

Sheila R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

We really enjoyed both the Trolley and River Cruise and found it very informative and loaded with local and historic information. We will use the Hop on and Off Trolleys in other cities that we visit in the future.

Doing what: Savannah River Cruise and Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

Fredna G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We were disappointed when our Civil War Walking Tour was combined with the Historic Walking Tour because they were short a guide. The tour and information was redundant because we had taken the Historic Walking Tour the day before.
Thankfully, the wonderful tour guide Mike we had on the Historic Walking tour told us if we weren't happy with the combined tour he would meet us later and give us a personal Civil War Walking Tour.
He was most gracious in offering to do this for us. Especially, after he had just finished a very long Garden Tour. Mike went above and beyond the call of duty to accommodate us, his tour was fantastic.
Accolades to Mike for making this situation right!!
I would strongly suggest in the future that different tours not be combined; we spent 90 minutes taking the same tour twice when we could have spent our time more wisely.

Doing what: Civil War Walking Tour of Savannah

Judith P. L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

On our second 'round trip' we were waiting to re-board after touring a historic house museum and it started to sprinkle rain. The driver of one of the Ghost Tour Old Town Trolley buses, invited us to come on board since it was starting to rain. Shortly thereafter, it poured down rain. We appreciated the invitation so very much. We were glad we were able to finish the tour out of the rain.

Doing what: Savannah Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

Mark J

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

It was wonderful to hear about Savannah and its history. After taking the trolley tour we could decide what we wanted to see and hear more about. It was also nice not having to drive in the historic district because there is not much parking available.

Doing what: Savannah River Cruise and Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

Ann R

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Sam, our guide, was delightful. Very knowledgable, pleasant and funny. The size of the group was good, 11-12. Three of the 6 restaurants offered very tasty food and made you want to return to those locations. The other three were okay. The walk through the historical district was great. You got to see and learn a lot.

Doing what: Savannah Historic and Secret East Side Food Tour

Anamaria Y

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

Our guide was very well informed...tour lasted 2 hours and he combined historical architecture and civil war.

Doing what: Savannah Walking Tour

Daniel V

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Good guide and a comprehensive overview of Savannah's historic district.

Doing what: Savannah Walking Tour

Alvin B

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2008

A very fine view of the Historic District with good guides.

Doing what: Savannah Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

Michael A

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2016

very informative, however, it really wasn't about battles and or historical sites about the war.

Doing what: Civil War Walking Tour of Savannah

Cheryl C

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2016

First of all, the 1.5-hour trolley ride was AWESOME! Our guide Bob was really thorough, knew the city well, and made the whole trip informative and fun. Despite that, I would not suggest purchasing the hop-on-hop-off tour part of it. We didn't use it. Historic Downtown Savannah is no more than 1 square mile, so we never got on the bus again. We found out when we got there that we'd have to call to get a bus to come pick us up from one stop to the next, and that it could take as long as 45 minutes each time we wanted a pick up or drop off. We just walked everywhere instead. As to the harbor tour, I would not go again. Unless you can tour as part of a lunch or dinner, it isn't worth it. The tour guide's information was pretty much all industrial, and except for the pier right at downtown and the old fort at one end of the river, there wasn't anything to see. If you are an engineer, entrepreneur, business person, etc. you might like the tour guide's info. I and my kids were mostly bored. I would DEFINITELY take the bus tour again, but not do the other elements of this.

Doing what: Savannah River Cruise and Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

Janet P

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2015

This was not what we expected because we only tour one black museum and only passed the places we thought we would get an inside tour and I don't think the Carribean herb shop was related to the Black historical events for Savannah. We paid for a three hour tour, but only got two hours.

Doing what: Savannah Black History Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message