Savannah is proud to call itself the oldest city in Georgia, and partly because of this (and partly because of the swift action by the Savannah Historic Preservation) Savannah is awash in history and points of interest.  A walk through the Savannah ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 25 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Bill D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Very interesting lectured walking tour of the historic area with frequent stops at out-of-the way and/or little known eateries for a progressive lunch of local delicacies. We had a wonderful guide and enjoyable time.

Doing what: Savannah Historic and Secret East Side Food Tour

Dana R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This was the best tour we went on. Country was wonderful. She was entertaining, very friendly and knowledgeable of the area. I learned more from her than any of the other tours we took that weekend. I would highly recommend this tour and Country and your tour guide. She was very helpful in suggestions as well. The food was awesome and it was great to walk through the historic district and learn about the houses and buildings.

Doing what: Savannah Historic and Secret East Side Food Tour

paul c

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

First, our tour guide was very nice, polite, entertaining and knowledgeable about the tour sites that we visited. I learned many things that I didn't know. He inspired me to go back to Boston and continue learning about the many historical facts of this special city..

Doing what: Civil War Walking Tour of Savannah

Barbara E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Loved the tour stops, great selections and food. Tour guide Brandon had many details about Historicsl Savannah. We would highly recommend this food tour!

Doing what: Savannah Historic and Secret East Side Food Tour

Jenna Claire B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our tour guide was great. He led us through the city and offered multiple views and theories, gave the historical characters depth, and was both engaging and informative. We loved it.

Doing what: Civil War Walking Tour of Savannah

Rhonda D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Gary Evans was the best tour guide! He made the information fun without being over the top. The food stops were great. We received such excellent service at each stop and such good food. We had never been to Savannah before and this gave us not only a taste of the foods of Savannah but a great little historical tour along the way as well. We highly recommend this tour be the first that you select.

Doing what: Savannah Food Tour of the Historic District by Bus

mcath United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I would recommend this tour for anyone interested in learning about some of the local eateries not frequented by tourists in the historic district. The walking is not strenuous, and there is time to sit and cool down in each establishment. All of the spots had excellent food, too!

Doing what: Savannah Historic and Secret East Side Food Tour

Christi C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Fabulous!!! Awesome experience with yummy food, delightful conversation, historic information, cultural understanding and lots of laughter!! Lisa was wonderful as our guide and we totally enjoyed all the restaurant selections and offerings as well as the beauty of Savannah. Highly recommend also had the best margarita ever at the 17Hundred90 and it is fun to be able to walk down the street with your drink!!

Doing what: Savannah Historic and Secret East Side Food Tour

Donna B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The Civil War walking tour was great. Our tour guide mid-20's woman college student - forgot her name was fun, very knowledgeable, and simply a joy to be around.

She took up to the major squares and historical buildings - had a great time. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Civil War Walking Tour of Savannah

Lou R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Guide was very knowledgeable. Interesting way to see historic Savannah and get to try restaurants you may never otherwise have the chance to.

Doing what: Savannah Historic and Secret East Side Food Tour

Laurie M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Our tour guide Irene was truly engaging, she was friendly, humorous, and knowledgeable about the city which made me feel like I was exploring Savannah with a friend. Great food and interesting historical facts and details which gave my friends and I a list of further places to explore. Wonderful!!

Doing what: Savannah Historic and Secret East Side Food Tour

Cristina L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Phillip was an excellent guide. He was extremely well-informed, interesting, and incented me to learn even more about the beautiful and historic town of Savannah.

Doing what: Savannah Walking Tour

Richard S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

We met up with Philip at Reynolds square to begin our tour. The weather that that day was challenging but Philip made it fun with his knowledge and humor. With lots of history and insights from our guide, we had a wonderful time in Savanna's historic district! Highly recommend!

Doing what: Savannah Walking Tour

Fredna G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We were disappointed when our Civil War Walking Tour was combined with the Historic Walking Tour because they were short a guide. The tour and information was redundant because we had taken the Historic Walking Tour the day before.
Thankfully, the wonderful tour guide Mike we had on the Historic Walking tour told us if we weren't happy with the combined tour he would meet us later and give us a personal Civil War Walking Tour.
He was most gracious in offering to do this for us. Especially, after he had just finished a very long Garden Tour. Mike went above and beyond the call of duty to accommodate us, his tour was fantastic.
Accolades to Mike for making this situation right!!
I would strongly suggest in the future that different tours not be combined; we spent 90 minutes taking the same tour twice when we could have spent our time more wisely.

Doing what: Civil War Walking Tour of Savannah

Judith P. L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

On our second 'round trip' we were waiting to re-board after touring a historic house museum and it started to sprinkle rain. The driver of one of the Ghost Tour Old Town Trolley buses, invited us to come on board since it was starting to rain. Shortly thereafter, it poured down rain. We appreciated the invitation so very much. We were glad we were able to finish the tour out of the rain.

Doing what: Savannah Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

Chuck R

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

It was a beautiful day for a walk around historic Savannah, so my wife and I headed down from Beaufort and broke the historic walking tour. Our tour guide Lance even though a LA transplant was full of local knowledge and gave us a good grounding in the history of this beautiful city. Lots of tips on where and where not to eat! Well worth the price.

Doing what: Savannah Walking Tour

Scott F

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

Amazing food from some out of the way restaurants my favorite was Wall BBQ is was basically in an alley off the historic district. Smith Bros butcher shop was very cool as well. Zunzi had a great sandwich and we went back. It's definitely more than enough for for lunch. The guide was knowledgable but she had some kind of skin infection on her hand and I didn't feel real comfortable with her handling our food but that was only negative..

Doing what: Savannah Historic and Secret East Side Food Tour

Ann R

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Sam, our guide, was delightful. Very knowledgable, pleasant and funny. The size of the group was good, 11-12. Three of the 6 restaurants offered very tasty food and made you want to return to those locations. The other three were okay. The walk through the historical district was great. You got to see and learn a lot.

Doing what: Savannah Historic and Secret East Side Food Tour

Anamaria Y

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

Our guide was very well informed...tour lasted 2 hours and he combined historical architecture and civil war.

Doing what: Savannah Walking Tour

Daniel V

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Good guide and a comprehensive overview of Savannah's historic district.

Doing what: Savannah Walking Tour

Alvin B

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2008

A very fine view of the Historic District with good guides.

Doing what: Savannah Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

Greg G

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

Guide a bit too stereotypically confederate for our tastes. Mostly good information, but as a docent myself in a historical site, less editorial would have been appreciated. Would have liked to hear more about the women, people of color, etc., and their history in Savannah also.

Doing what: Savannah Walking Tour

Michael A

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2016

very informative, however, it really wasn't about battles and or historical sites about the war.

Doing what: Civil War Walking Tour of Savannah

Janet P

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2015

This was not what we expected because we only tour one black museum and only passed the places we thought we would get an inside tour and I don't think the Carribean herb shop was related to the Black historical events for Savannah. We paid for a three hour tour, but only got two hours.

Doing what: Savannah Black History Tour

Sharon W

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2014

Our confirmation did not include the meeting place for our tour. When I called the local contact number I got a message that the mailbox had not been setup. After several attempts, the tour operator did call me and we arranged our rendezvous point. When we arrived, our tour guide was waiting for us and we set out. He gave us some historical anecdotes but wasn't the great storyteller we had hoped for. By the half way point he was pretty tipsy and the stories were peppered with colorful language. We were glad when the two hours were over and we set out on our own. Great concept for a Savannah tour but I would suggest a different tour operator.

Doing what: Historic Savannah Tavern Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message