Yes, it's Scotland's deepest loch. And yes, it has its own brooding Highland charm. But without the fable-or-fiction mystique of the Loch Ness monster, this would be just another picturesque stop on the Scottish nature trail. As it is, Nessie ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 344 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Roxanne C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Had a great time on this tour. It is a long day but well worth it. Our guide Liam was fantastic, giving us a history lesson on all things Scottish. There were plenty of photo stops along the way and the boat ride on Loch Ness was fun. Highly recommend taking this tour.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

wjbillmorrison

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Great trip if you want to cram a lot of Scotland into one day. Our 2 boys are 9 and 11 years old and Loch Ness was a must during our trip to Scotland. The trip allowed us to get up to Loch ness, have lunch and take a one hour boat tour. Plenty of nice stops along the way. We all enjoyed our trip and would recommend it if you only have one day to see the highlands.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

gabor.babucsik

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

This is a very long tour over 500km-s and 12 hours but it worth the time. The driver is very informative and the trip is well organized. Prepare for additional costs at Loch Ness, cause both options you can choose from are excluded from the tour's price. Beautiful Scottish scenery, I especially loved the Glencoe and Loch Ness area. Recommended tour!

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small Group Day Trip from Glasgow

Bridget W

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

I booked this tour as I wanted to see the Highlands and did not want to drive myself. Rich was great, provided loads of information. Within the day time frame this is an ok tour. It is a long way on the bus and the stop at Loch Ness is brief, the boat tour really not all that exciting. A longer stop at Fort Augustus would allow for the boat tour to see the castle. If instead the trip went to a different part of Loch Ness it may be more exciting. Overall this met my desire to see the Highlands but I will be booking a longer trip in the future.

Doing what: Full-Day Trip to Loch Ness and the Scottish Highlands

Renee K

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2016

We wouldn't do this trip again, for us was not worth the time or money. Did not enjoy the Scottish music that was played all but the last hour of the 12 hr trip. At times it was very loud, had to keep asking to turn it down. Music a short time would be ok but not all Day. Juliet was very knowledgeable in history and took us to some beautiful views. Expected to see the Loch Ness castle but the only way to see it was to pay another 13 for the boat ride. Should have been included, sounds like a racket.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small Group Day Trip from Glasgow

csrithai

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2016

The Highlands in Scotland are not to be missed! I would not, however, ever recommend the Rabbies tour to a friend or foe. In all fairness, this tour is exactly as it describes. It is a 12 hour tour that mostly takes place on a very uncomfortable bus. We had approx. 2-2.5 hours off the bus to see the Highlands. We spent that time off in various locations. 1. A 30 minute break in...I really can't remember the name of the town. We got a soda at a deli and used their restroom. 2. We stopped for 1.25 hours in Loch Ness. We had a very quick lunch at the Loch Ness in and walked down either side of the canal to look at the Loch. There was a boat tour offered. I chose not to take it based on reviews. Perhaps it would have been a better visit if I had tried it. It was pretty unimpressive. Since childhood I've built this place up in my mind. Here's to you Nessie! - Fort William seemed like it would have been cool? 3. We stopped at a rest stop for the second required 30 minute break for the driver. I'm serious, this was a rest stop with a gift shop and a cafe. 4. We stopped at the top and the bottom of Glencoe for some AMAZING pictures! 5 minutes eachThe scenery was breathtaking! I don't know how we'd have seen it without this tour, but it was a pretty miserable trip. I'll finish off by pointing out this is a bus that has small tour groups. This sunny description can be translated as: the bus carries 16 people. The sixteenth seat is a fold out seat at the front by the driver that is awful! AND you may spend the entire trip 12 hours not even seated next to your family/friend/travel partner because if there is only a seat left in the very front next to the driver and a seat left in the very back- Dave will say You can ask someone if they'll move. Come on Rabbies...a little planning please!

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Paula P

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2016

There was practically no commentary about the history of the place- which is a shame because the are is rich in historical stories. We just seemed to leapfrog from toilet stop/ordinary cafe/souvenir shop. I had not realised that the Loch Ness trip was extra but went on it because there was absolutely nothing else to do in fort Augustus. It was a wet day and there was nowhere to stay dry. I ended up standing in the corner of a crowded cafe while waiting for the boat tour just so I could be somewhere with some shelter.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Elizabeth R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

A great tour. Wonderful views of scenery and different areas loch ness is always a bit fun entertaining guide!

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small Group Day Trip from Glasgow

Alejandra Mexico

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Wonderful tour! Highly recommend it! Although Edinburgh is amazing, this tour was the highlight of my trip. I still can't get over the beauty of the scenery we saw. It's well planned, very organized and with enough time and stops to take pictures. Our guide Robin, was wonferful and gave a lot of insights on the clan history. I also recommend taking the boat trip at Loch Ness, it's a great experience.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Rose E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I loved the small group aspect of the tour. Our guide was great and played just the right music at just the right time. For instance, when we pulled up to Loch Ness, he played the theme from 2001: Space Odyssey and announced that we were at Loch Ness. Loch Ness was great and enjoyable, but the real star of this trip was Glencoe. Glencoe was so beautiful- pictures really do not do it justice.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

M Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

It was fantastic! You get to see a really big piece os Scotland in just one day. There is enough time to enjoy the beautiful views and take pictures outside the bus. Loch Ness is a great experience, Glencoe is beautiful and we also get to see Doune Castle Game of Thrones, Outlander, Monty Python. Our great busdriver Richard told us a lot about the history of Scotland and knew a lot about everything! It was a truly fantastic experience

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Eileen M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Eric, our tour guide, was fabulous--great stories, Scottish music, good suggestions for lunch, and of course the wonderful scenery. My niece and I enjoyed the entire trip. I would highly recommend it to any visitor who wants a one day trip for the Highlands and Loch Ness!

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Jennifer S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We had a amazing time sailing down the Loch Ness looking for Nessie. Would recommend this for anybody who wants to see the views of Loch Ness on the water. Was also able to see Urghart Castle too.

Doing what: Loch Ness Sightseeing Cruise

Kay K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great trip. The scenery was breathtaking, and Paul was an extraordinary guide. He has an incredible knowledge of Scottish history and a wonderful way of relating the Scottish past to the present. He also played an interesting selection of Scottish music during the breaks between his explanation of certain sites or historical events. I would have liked more time for lunch at Loch Ness--there was no place to sit and it was raining. All seemed rather rushed. Other than that, the trip was well plotted in terms of stops.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

jody_bro

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our guide Mahri was a joyful lady! Despite the long drive from Edinburgh to Loch Ness, Mahri had made the journey interesting with her stories and mad DJ skill. She was also the most knowledgeable and passionate tour guide I have ever meet! The scenery along the journey was beautiful even though it was raining that day. Would highly recommend this tour to anyone that wants to visit the mystical Loch Ness.

Doing what: Full-Day Trip to Loch Ness and the Scottish Highlands

John H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our guide Ally was very informational! He used music, maps and facts to inform us throughout the trip. If Ally is your guide, pick up food at the first stop because you are limited with your time at Loch Ness and you don't want to spend time finding a place to eat. All of the places we saw were sit down, expensive meals. The only thing I would ask Ally to change is to not point at the map with his middle finger which he did all day. Can be slightly offensive and make you uncomfortable.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

SOON POH K

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Fantastic tour! It was very well arranged and covered the major iconic sites of Scotland and #39;s Highlands and the Loch Ness Lake in a very lively manner. A tour that we wouls not forget!

Doing what: Full-Day Trip to Loch Ness and the Scottish Highlands

Tony

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

The tour guide was very knowledgeable. He willingly took a picture of us. But his pronunciation and the speed of his speaking made it a little bit difficult to understand him. Loch Ness is most memorable.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Carol M

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Our tour guide Sandy was superb, excellent historical knowledge and as a real outdoors type he had lots of knowledge of walks, hikes etc. The actual tour was just okay. Lots of long drive stretches. Loch Ness village was real cute. We didn't think that the launch trip out onto the lake was value for money, totally underwhelming. Little commentary and very little to see except the lake of course.

Doing what: Full-Day Trip to Loch Ness and the Scottish Highlands

Kam Yam T

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

This is really a driving tour, make no illusion about it. You will cover lots of ground but have little time for anything else apart from a nice leisurely lunch/cruise at Loch Ness itself. We were lucky to have McEwan B who make a great difference to an otherwise.....driving trip.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

katandtemo

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2016

While the scenery was lovely and the guide friendly and knowledgable, the bus itself was awful. The air conditioning was not working and it was stifling hot inside the bus. I kept falling asleep as there was no oxygen. We finally convinced the driver to open the rooftop exit so we could get some air in the bus. Loch Ness could be bumped off this tour as well. There's nothing to see there and many other sites would have been more scenic.

Doing what: Scottish Highlands, Loch Ness and Glen Coe Day Trip from Edinburgh

Ellen L

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2016

My friend and I went to Edinburgh for 2 days and the highlight of the trip was supposed to be this tour - the only opportunity as both of us are from abroad. As requested, we called two days before the trip to reconfirm our booking. On the morning of the trip, we came to the meeting place as requested 15min before the departure and checked in with the Rabies local provider personnel. Worth noting here that it was a very strange meeting place - by a public cafe near a busy traffic light with tens and hundreds of people just passing by all the time, so it was quite messy and impossible to distinguish between those going on a trip versus those just hanging out by/at the cafe in the middle of town or those just passing by. Anyway, we were standing 3 feet away from where the two Rabies girls were. Although so were what seemed to be hundreds of other people - absolute mess! We waited and waited and no-one was calling us, nothing was happening. At 8:10am trip was supposed to start at 8:00am we asked the girls what was happening. And guess what she said - the bus has left and that they had been looking for us and calling our names!!!!! Total nonsense!!! We were there the whole time and no-one has called our names no-one was calling out the name of the trip either. And we were right there. They didn't even want to call the driver to ask him to come back even though according to them he had left at 8:05. The only thing they could do was to put us SEPARATELY!!! on two different completely unrelated trips that had nothing to do with Loch Ness or Highlands. I had a terrible experience on this trip to Hadrian's Wall - nothing to do with what I wanted to see and also terrible bus without oxygen and the guy next to me was occupying half of my seat. My friend also had a terrible experience on the Whisky trip they put him on. The Rabies personnel did not even apologise and were pretty much accusing us! Unacceptable and terrible service. They completely ruined our trip.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Erin P Australia

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2016

I was booked on the Scottish Highlands, Loch Ness and Glen Coe day trip from Edinburgh, due for departure at 8am.
I arrived at Cafe Nerro at 7:30 am and was told by the check in staff that my driver, Kenny, hadn't arrived yet, that I had time to grab a coffee, and that Kenny would call for the tour group out the front of the cafe at around 7:45am. I was out the front of the cafe, coffee in hand, by 7:40am. I hadn't heard my tour get called, so at 7:50 I went back in to the office and asked the same girl I checked in with if Kenny had arrived. Yes, she said, and showed me down to the bus.
Kenny started yelling at me as I approached the bus - 'Erin, I've been hear since 7:30, we are all waiting on you'. I was mortified. When I tried to explain that I had been waiting for him to call out, Kenny just started yelling over the top of me, while herding me on to the bus, 'I did call out', and then to the people in the front few rows Kenny says 'some people just don't listen'!
Kenny seemed to take great pleasure in humiliating me in front of a bus load of strangers. Which is very intimidating as a solo traveler.
I was so extremely angry and embarrassed at the same time. I was waiting where the company told me to wait, when they had told me to be there! I started off the tour feeling like a scolded 5 year old that had done something wrong!
Kenny then proceeded to set the many rules for the day. I should have gotten off the bus right then, the tour seemed so regimented, like I was in Kenny's army.
In the end I decided that I couldn't spend the day listening to someone who took so much pleasure in humiliating a customer, so I took the train back to Edinburgh at our first stop. I told Kenny what I was doing so that no one was held up by my absence and he had the smuggest smirk on his face.
I would spend your money on a different company, there are plenty to chose from in Edinburgh. I have since read other reviews about this company and it is not the first negative review.

Doing what: Scottish Highlands, Loch Ness and Glen Coe Day Trip from Edinburgh

A Y M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Fantastic!! It was worth it.. ! This day tour gave us the opportunity to see Loch Ness and Scotland highlands during my short trip to Edinburgh. Service was excellent too!!

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Colleen G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Wonderful day trip to Loch Ness and the Highlands. Franziska was an amazing tour guide and bus driver. She never let a dull moment happen. There were just enough stops to make the trip comfortable. The scenery was amazing along the way with Franziska giving us a history lesson along the way.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message