Yes, it's Scotland's deepest loch. And yes, it has its own brooding Highland charm. But without the fable-or-fiction mystique of the Loch Ness monster, this would be just another picturesque stop on the Scottish nature trail. As it is, Nessie ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 371 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Sok Hian T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The day trip to the highlands was amazing! We had a really wonderful tour guide, Francisca, who was engaging and bubbly. Scottish history was introduced in storytelling fashion cue different voices and sound effects, making it more interesting and engaging. There were songs by Scottish bands played on the van as well, making the Scotland experience much more alive. It wasn't all just talking and listening to music, there were also quiet moments for the participants to rest.

We had a smooth journey up to the Highlands with enough pit stops for us to rest, as well as lots of short stops at scenic spots for us to capture the beautiful scenery on our cameras.

This was quite a flexible tour as well there was a boat tour on Loch Ness that was optional. So we had quite some time to explore the area if we choose not to go on the boat tour.

The ride back home was nice too, with fun facts being included as we passed by several iconic structures such as the Fourth Bridge.

To end off, this the tour group size is just right. We had 13 members on the van out of the maximum 16, and it was a cosy number. The duration and tempo of the tour was also very well-managed.

Special shoutout and thanks to our tour guide Francisca who was so actively sharing with us what she knows and offering to take photos for us as well at the photo spots! :

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Juliette m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Great tour! If you don't have much time in Scotland but want to discover the beautiful Highlands, this tour is for you!
Great Tour leader/driver, who has great knowledge about history, he talking all along the journey so that the time spent in the minibus seems shorter, he was great all the way!
A lot of stops are made for picture purpose, the landscape is worth it! The highlight of this tour is Loch Ness. You have the possibility to go on a boat tour 13 supplement or/and visit of Urquhart castle. Boat trip is a must do, the lady on the boat gives you so much information about the Loch and Nessie!
We didn't have the best weather to visit the region but it was really worth it, especially with a tour leader like this one!

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small Group Day Trip from Glasgow

Daveen USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Awesome Tour, Awesome Scenery. Loved the cruise on Loch Ness. Was a little cold and rainy, but it was still enjoyable.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small Group Day Trip from Glasgow

mauricevanderweiden

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

Tour was oke, but more of drive. To less stops to enjoy the view of the first National park. Loch ness was oke, the second national park and the last stop where in the dark and the shops were closed. They didnt tell us what was disapointing.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small Group Day Trip from Glasgow

Diane B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Loch Ness was a great ride even in the rain! Though it did brighten up a bit once we got underway. The reason I booked this trip was for the boat ride alone so I cannot understand why some of the fellow passengers did not go. The bus ride up was comfortable and interesting for the commentary from the driver/guide who I am sorry I have forgotten his name as it was September when we did the trip. My first attempts at writing a review did not go well and I lost the words I had so carefully typed! But now with Viator's prompting, I am trying once again. It was memorable and I would go again and again! Plans for a return to the highlands of Scotland are underway! P.S. my lunch of 'a haggis and cheese toasty' as recommended by the guide was wonderful in a charming pub by the canal.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small Group Day Trip from Glasgow

Megan S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Our guide, Mac, was probably the best tour guide I've ever had! We left from the meeting point right on time, and on the drive over Mac told us all about the history of the highlands. He was an incredible story teller and his tales really brought the landscape to life and made all the difference. You could tell how much he really loved Scotland and the highlands. At each pit stop he'd pick up trash while we were taking pictures because he wanted preserve the beauty of the highlands. He was so kind and such a dedicated guide. We made quite a few stops to take pictures. These stops were beautiful, and Mac was really good about keeping everyone on schedule because daylight is precious in Scotland in December. There is A LOT of driving on this tour, but we got to see so much so it was worth it. Our longest stop was for lunch at Loch Ness. You have to decide between doing the boat tour and having a sit down lunch, because you really only have 20-30 minutes of time to eat if you choose the boat tour. I did the boat tour and thought it was worth it. My only regret for this tour was that I did it in December, because by the time we left Loch Ness the sun was already setting, so we didn't actually get to see any of Cairngorms National Park as we were driving through it. Still, I had a fantastic time. This tour is a great value for your money and I'd recommend it to anyone.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Tuija V

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

Great trip, beautiful scenery! Many thanks for our tour guy for the knowledge and stories, and to get us safely back to town.
Pity it get dark so early this time of year, but we managed to see all loch ness, highlands and Glencoe during the daytime and had enough breaks as well. I can absolutely recommend to take the small-group day trip.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

liausl8368

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

Nice scenery, nice tour guy. We enjoyed a lot with the trip. Recommend not to take the boat at Loch Ness. Not much to see. Should have spend the time for hot meal and a walk.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

raci88

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Met Highland Experience Tours at Cafè Nero, The Royal Mile. Enjoyed an espresso and pastry before we got going. Early morning and long day but SO worth it!! First stop was Kilmahog, Woollen Mill for bathroom stop, snacks, drinks and beautiful scarfs!! Then stopped by Loch Leven for some photos. Next stop at Glen Coe our wonderful guide explained more about The Three Sisters Hope, Faith and Charity in the valley of tears. Next was Fort William The Home of Ben Nevis for bathroom and snacks/drinks. Then on to Loch Ness for an optional cruise, so fun drinks/snacks for purchase on board. Warmed up with some whisky at Loch Ness Clansman Hotel. Along the Inverness drive we learned of the Battle of Culloden, Jacobite rising of 1745, highland clearances and evictions, breaking of clans and banning tartan and bagpipe playing. Final stop was at Pitlochry, Mckays for Fish and Chips. From the Lowlands to the Highlands thru glens to lochs and bens! 400 miles of an absolutely gorgeous countryside!! Loved our guide!!

Doing what: Scottish Highlands, Loch Ness and Glen Coe Day Trip from Edinburgh

Kayla

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

We loved our tour guide, Heather!!! This was the best trip - small bus with multiple stops for pictures. Heather was extremely knowledgeable. Note: Don't waste your time or money on the Loch Ness cruise. It's super touristy - save yourself some stress and grab a nice lunch in the small village instead.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Raul R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Amazing day! Our guide, Heather, was warm and welcoming, extremely knowledgeable and informative and kept us constantly entertained. My daughter and I still talk about all the things we learned and saw. We took the optional Loch Ness boat trip and it was well worth it. I would definitely suggest this tour to anyone.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Kelly W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Our tour guide Graham was great. Small group was really nice - the only annoying thing was the woman who was constantly on her phone the whole time talking to friends and family. The Highlands are stunning to see, and Loch Ness was incredible. Definitely a MUST

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small Group Day Trip from Glasgow

Heide

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

I was really sarisfied with this tour, the tour guide is professional and knowledgable with the place. Was able to see the Urquhart Castle, Loch ness, heard stories on all the place during the trip, The Faith, Hope, and Charity Mountains, and etc. I highly recommend Rabbies Tours!!

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small Group Day Trip from Glasgow

jdonnachie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This trip was by far one of the main highlights of our 3 week stay in Scotland. The views at the stops in the highland were amazing, really breathtaking. The cruise on Loch Ness was great and really gives you a nice view of the surrounding area and the history.

The best of the trip, however, was by far our tour guide Ian. Wow, if you have a chance to go on a tour with this guy, wherever it is in Scotland, you will not be disappointed. Ian is INCREDIBLY knowledgeable about historical and modern day Scotland. His knowledge was only surpassed by his story telling ability. This man has perfected storytelling, sharing stories of Scottish history in such an emotional and engaging manner. Ian is a hero and deserves all the praise he can ever possibly receive. Simply said, not all heros wear capes.


Well done, mate.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small Group Day Trip from Glasgow

Kenneth L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We loved our tour with Fergus! I thought the tour was well-paced but bear in mind, it is a very long day and that all the places we stopped were worth stopping for. They were even willing stop extra places if we let them know ahead of time and had the time to do so. Fergus was a fountain of historical knowledge. I'm not sure that everyone on the tour appreciated the depth of his knowledge, but my husband and I are huge history nerds, so we loved it! This tour is a great way to see a lot of Scotland in one day if you have limited time. We also did the Loch Ness boat tour, and while I didn't think it was anything too special, it was a great way to see the loch and pretty much the only thing to do with your hour at Loch Ness.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Grace C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

I was going to be in Edinburgh for a few days but I knew I wanted to go the Highlands so after some searching on Viator, I found this tour with mostly positive reviews.

The tour itself is run by Rabbies which is definitely one of the main tour operators going out of Edinburgh from what I saw. We must have had 5 or 6 tours leaving at the same time, not all doing the same tour, but there were about 3 that were doing ours.

Get to the meeting point early. I was in Edinburgh at the end of September during the middle of the week and they had about 6 tours leaving at the same time with everyone having to check in at the same time. I can only imagine it's crazier during the busy seasons. Protip: the cafe can be a bit slow. Your tour will leave without you if you are still in the cafe. I almost missed mine.

Jonathan was our tour guide/driver. Overall he was great. There is clearly a set route, but due to the rain he adjusted as needed and took us to alternate places for us to see things. We hardly saw the other tour groups that were on the same tour except at very specific long stops that we had like at Loch Ness.

It's a relatively small group since you are on a minibus. There are two seats on one side, one on the other, a few rows, aisle down the middle with the back row having 4 seats. Is every group going to sit side by side together? No. Get over it. There is no bathroom on the bus. If you have a small bladder or need to go to the bathroom every hour, you can't go on a tour like this. Go rent a car and go at your own pace. There are preset stops for a reason. You will spend a LOT of time on the minibus just because of the distance that is covered in one day. Remember you are basically going from the bottom of Scotland to essentially past the midpoint and a bit up from there. You are covering a lot of miles/KMs. Also - don't be that person no one can find. Make sure you keep an eye on the watch. Having a bus filled with 14 people waiting for you and then having the driver have to make up that time, it's not cool. We're all adults.

Overall the tour was great. I wish I was there during a time of year where it's not raining all the time. It was gorgeous with it all raining and grey I can only imagine how beautiful it is when it's clear.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Sandra C

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

My friend Carol Wallace and I enjoyed Gillian's tour of the Highlands very much. She was knowledgeable but not afraid to admit when she did not know an answer. I do wish that we had been able to at least get a bit closer to Stirling Castle the gateway to the Highlands, We drove by on the highway and it was impossible to even get photos of either the Castle or the Wallace monument. I think I would have preferred to be able to get closer to these than to see the Loch Ness, which is simply a lake surrounded by trees. The Castle is so filled with history, and so important to the Highland clans, that it should be a part of this tour. Also wish we could have stopped somewhere on the return for a photo of the beautiful bridge in Edinburgh.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Mallory K

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2016

We used viator to book this cruise during a recent trip to Scotland and all in all I'm happy that we did the Loch Ness Cruise because i feel it's one of those When in Rome experiences however the cruise itself is kind of hokey- the audio was all prerecorded and played over a loudspeaker. The castle itself was very pictueresque however not all that terribly informative. All-in-all I'm happy we did this however I wouldn't strongly recommend this to anyone else. Also if you're debating between Loch Ness or anothe destination in Scotland i'd probably pick the other option.

Doing what: Loch Ness Sightseeing Cruise and Visit to Urquhart Castle

Lisa B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We enjoyed this tour despite the awful rain that day! Our tour guide Richard tried his best to make up for the fact that our pics in Glencoe would be very foggy. We got a kick out of riding on a cruise on Loch Ness looking for Nessie and we stopped at a lot of beautiful places.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Aletha S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This tour was great. Our driver was hilarious and gave us great info! Loch Ness boat trip was a must, it and #39;s freezing up on top though so come prepared.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Shenae F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Excellent tour! Our guide- Kirsten- was friendly, fun and very knowledgable! It was a long trip on the bus but was very comfortable with the beautiful scenery, fabulous music and commentary! Kirsten gave us Scottish history in an easy to follow format, relevant to the things we were passing- all presented with that god-given Scottish talent for story telling! Good number of stops 2 on the way up and 2 on the way back and about 2 hours at Loch Ness! Kirsten had excellent recommendations for things to see and eat at each stop, and also excellent recommendations for things to do in Edinburgh. Fabulous trip- well worth the cost. For a solo traveller like me it was an excellent taste of the highlands- will definitely be considering coming back for an extended tour!

Doing what: Full-Day Trip to Loch Ness and the Scottish Highlands

Silvia C O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was a very nice day trip. Although it is long trip it is worthy. The landscape of the highlands was beautiful. The transportation was comfortable, the guide/conductor was very knowledgeable and we learned a lot about Scotland history. We took the cruise in Loch Ness that was very enjoyable.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small Group Day Trip from Glasgow

Jared O

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

Hi there,

Our tour guide was Charlotte.

Some recommendations:

1. Each guide should be given a script of the narration of what should be said during the journey. That way, it will be consistent from tour to tour because the Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands tour is rather popular. We found that the narration was rather overwhelming and an information overload. We would have preferred less speaking.

2. It would be helpful if a screen could be installed at the front of the bus. The screen would indicate a live map of the journey so one can see at any point in time where one is travelling to.

Thanks!

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Millan Maria V

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2016

The trip is NOT WORTH IT. We were in the bus for so long only to just go to one real stop - LOCH NESS.The road was obstructed so it and #39;s the only major stop we took.. all the rest were either bathroom breaks or the lunch stop.I had only three days in Edinburgh and this One-Day Tour was totally a waste

Doing what: Scottish Highlands, Loch Ness and Glen Coe Day Trip from Edinburgh

Roxanne C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Had a great time on this tour. It is a long day but well worth it. Our guide Liam was fantastic, giving us a history lesson on all things Scottish. There were plenty of photo stops along the way and the boat ride on Loch Ness was fun. Highly recommend taking this tour.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message