Yes, it's Scotland's deepest loch. And yes, it has its own brooding Highland charm. But without the fable-or-fiction mystique of the Loch Ness monster, this would be just another picturesque stop on the Scottish nature trail. As it is, Nessie ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 364 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Diane B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Loch Ness was a great ride even in the rain! Though it did brighten up a bit once we got underway. The reason I booked this trip was for the boat ride alone so I cannot understand why some of the fellow passengers did not go. The bus ride up was comfortable and interesting for the commentary from the driver/guide who I am sorry I have forgotten his name as it was September when we did the trip. My first attempts at writing a review did not go well and I lost the words I had so carefully typed! But now with Viator's prompting, I am trying once again. It was memorable and I would go again and again! Plans for a return to the highlands of Scotland are underway! P.S. my lunch of 'a haggis and cheese toasty' as recommended by the guide was wonderful in a charming pub by the canal.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small Group Day Trip from Glasgow

raci88

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Met Highland Experience Tours at Cafè Nero, The Royal Mile. Enjoyed an espresso and pastry before we got going. Early morning and long day but SO worth it!! First stop was Kilmahog, Woollen Mill for bathroom stop, snacks, drinks and beautiful scarfs!! Then stopped by Loch Leven for some photos. Next stop at Glen Coe our wonderful guide explained more about The Three Sisters Hope, Faith and Charity in the valley of tears. Next was Fort William The Home of Ben Nevis for bathroom and snacks/drinks. Then on to Loch Ness for an optional cruise, so fun drinks/snacks for purchase on board. Warmed up with some whisky at Loch Ness Clansman Hotel. Along the Inverness drive we learned of the Battle of Culloden, Jacobite rising of 1745, highland clearances and evictions, breaking of clans and banning tartan and bagpipe playing. Final stop was at Pitlochry, Mckays for Fish and Chips. From the Lowlands to the Highlands thru glens to lochs and bens! 400 miles of an absolutely gorgeous countryside!! Loved our guide!!

Doing what: Scottish Highlands, Loch Ness and Glen Coe Day Trip from Edinburgh

Kayla

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

We loved our tour guide, Heather!!! This was the best trip - small bus with multiple stops for pictures. Heather was extremely knowledgeable. Note: Don't waste your time or money on the Loch Ness cruise. It's super touristy - save yourself some stress and grab a nice lunch in the small village instead.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Raul R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Amazing day! Our guide, Heather, was warm and welcoming, extremely knowledgeable and informative and kept us constantly entertained. My daughter and I still talk about all the things we learned and saw. We took the optional Loch Ness boat trip and it was well worth it. I would definitely suggest this tour to anyone.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Kelly W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Our tour guide Graham was great. Small group was really nice - the only annoying thing was the woman who was constantly on her phone the whole time talking to friends and family. The Highlands are stunning to see, and Loch Ness was incredible. Definitely a MUST

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small Group Day Trip from Glasgow

Heide

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

I was really sarisfied with this tour, the tour guide is professional and knowledgable with the place. Was able to see the Urquhart Castle, Loch ness, heard stories on all the place during the trip, The Faith, Hope, and Charity Mountains, and etc. I highly recommend Rabbies Tours!!

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small Group Day Trip from Glasgow

jdonnachie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This trip was by far one of the main highlights of our 3 week stay in Scotland. The views at the stops in the highland were amazing, really breathtaking. The cruise on Loch Ness was great and really gives you a nice view of the surrounding area and the history.

The best of the trip, however, was by far our tour guide Ian. Wow, if you have a chance to go on a tour with this guy, wherever it is in Scotland, you will not be disappointed. Ian is INCREDIBLY knowledgeable about historical and modern day Scotland. His knowledge was only surpassed by his story telling ability. This man has perfected storytelling, sharing stories of Scottish history in such an emotional and engaging manner. Ian is a hero and deserves all the praise he can ever possibly receive. Simply said, not all heros wear capes.


Well done, mate.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small Group Day Trip from Glasgow

Kenneth L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We loved our tour with Fergus! I thought the tour was well-paced but bear in mind, it is a very long day and that all the places we stopped were worth stopping for. They were even willing stop extra places if we let them know ahead of time and had the time to do so. Fergus was a fountain of historical knowledge. I'm not sure that everyone on the tour appreciated the depth of his knowledge, but my husband and I are huge history nerds, so we loved it! This tour is a great way to see a lot of Scotland in one day if you have limited time. We also did the Loch Ness boat tour, and while I didn't think it was anything too special, it was a great way to see the loch and pretty much the only thing to do with your hour at Loch Ness.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Grace C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

I was going to be in Edinburgh for a few days but I knew I wanted to go the Highlands so after some searching on Viator, I found this tour with mostly positive reviews.

The tour itself is run by Rabbies which is definitely one of the main tour operators going out of Edinburgh from what I saw. We must have had 5 or 6 tours leaving at the same time, not all doing the same tour, but there were about 3 that were doing ours.

Get to the meeting point early. I was in Edinburgh at the end of September during the middle of the week and they had about 6 tours leaving at the same time with everyone having to check in at the same time. I can only imagine it's crazier during the busy seasons. Protip: the cafe can be a bit slow. Your tour will leave without you if you are still in the cafe. I almost missed mine.

Jonathan was our tour guide/driver. Overall he was great. There is clearly a set route, but due to the rain he adjusted as needed and took us to alternate places for us to see things. We hardly saw the other tour groups that were on the same tour except at very specific long stops that we had like at Loch Ness.

It's a relatively small group since you are on a minibus. There are two seats on one side, one on the other, a few rows, aisle down the middle with the back row having 4 seats. Is every group going to sit side by side together? No. Get over it. There is no bathroom on the bus. If you have a small bladder or need to go to the bathroom every hour, you can't go on a tour like this. Go rent a car and go at your own pace. There are preset stops for a reason. You will spend a LOT of time on the minibus just because of the distance that is covered in one day. Remember you are basically going from the bottom of Scotland to essentially past the midpoint and a bit up from there. You are covering a lot of miles/KMs. Also - don't be that person no one can find. Make sure you keep an eye on the watch. Having a bus filled with 14 people waiting for you and then having the driver have to make up that time, it's not cool. We're all adults.

Overall the tour was great. I wish I was there during a time of year where it's not raining all the time. It was gorgeous with it all raining and grey I can only imagine how beautiful it is when it's clear.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Sandra C

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

My friend Carol Wallace and I enjoyed Gillian's tour of the Highlands very much. She was knowledgeable but not afraid to admit when she did not know an answer. I do wish that we had been able to at least get a bit closer to Stirling Castle the gateway to the Highlands, We drove by on the highway and it was impossible to even get photos of either the Castle or the Wallace monument. I think I would have preferred to be able to get closer to these than to see the Loch Ness, which is simply a lake surrounded by trees. The Castle is so filled with history, and so important to the Highland clans, that it should be a part of this tour. Also wish we could have stopped somewhere on the return for a photo of the beautiful bridge in Edinburgh.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Mallory K

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2016

We used viator to book this cruise during a recent trip to Scotland and all in all I'm happy that we did the Loch Ness Cruise because i feel it's one of those When in Rome experiences however the cruise itself is kind of hokey- the audio was all prerecorded and played over a loudspeaker. The castle itself was very pictueresque however not all that terribly informative. All-in-all I'm happy we did this however I wouldn't strongly recommend this to anyone else. Also if you're debating between Loch Ness or anothe destination in Scotland i'd probably pick the other option.

Doing what: Loch Ness Sightseeing Cruise and Visit to Urquhart Castle

Lisa B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We enjoyed this tour despite the awful rain that day! Our tour guide Richard tried his best to make up for the fact that our pics in Glencoe would be very foggy. We got a kick out of riding on a cruise on Loch Ness looking for Nessie and we stopped at a lot of beautiful places.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Aletha S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This tour was great. Our driver was hilarious and gave us great info! Loch Ness boat trip was a must, it and #39;s freezing up on top though so come prepared.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Shenae F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Excellent tour! Our guide- Kirsten- was friendly, fun and very knowledgable! It was a long trip on the bus but was very comfortable with the beautiful scenery, fabulous music and commentary! Kirsten gave us Scottish history in an easy to follow format, relevant to the things we were passing- all presented with that god-given Scottish talent for story telling! Good number of stops 2 on the way up and 2 on the way back and about 2 hours at Loch Ness! Kirsten had excellent recommendations for things to see and eat at each stop, and also excellent recommendations for things to do in Edinburgh. Fabulous trip- well worth the cost. For a solo traveller like me it was an excellent taste of the highlands- will definitely be considering coming back for an extended tour!

Doing what: Full-Day Trip to Loch Ness and the Scottish Highlands

Silvia C O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was a very nice day trip. Although it is long trip it is worthy. The landscape of the highlands was beautiful. The transportation was comfortable, the guide/conductor was very knowledgeable and we learned a lot about Scotland history. We took the cruise in Loch Ness that was very enjoyable.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small Group Day Trip from Glasgow

Jared O

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

Hi there,

Our tour guide was Charlotte.

Some recommendations:

1. Each guide should be given a script of the narration of what should be said during the journey. That way, it will be consistent from tour to tour because the Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands tour is rather popular. We found that the narration was rather overwhelming and an information overload. We would have preferred less speaking.

2. It would be helpful if a screen could be installed at the front of the bus. The screen would indicate a live map of the journey so one can see at any point in time where one is travelling to.

Thanks!

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Millan Maria V

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2016

The trip is NOT WORTH IT. We were in the bus for so long only to just go to one real stop - LOCH NESS.The road was obstructed so it and #39;s the only major stop we took.. all the rest were either bathroom breaks or the lunch stop.I had only three days in Edinburgh and this One-Day Tour was totally a waste

Doing what: Scottish Highlands, Loch Ness and Glen Coe Day Trip from Edinburgh

Roxanne C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Had a great time on this tour. It is a long day but well worth it. Our guide Liam was fantastic, giving us a history lesson on all things Scottish. There were plenty of photo stops along the way and the boat ride on Loch Ness was fun. Highly recommend taking this tour.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Cyntia D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Even with the long way to get to the loch Ness, time fly by so quick! Very nice day! Our guide was fantastic!

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small Group Day Trip from Glasgow

Anette S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We had a wonderful experience on our day trip to Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands. Our guide, Fergui, was sharing willingly of his rich knowledge and we got good advices at every stop. He played pleasant music throughout the tour with a comfortable sound level. Our driver drove nice and safe, considering riding for 12 hours. One downside with this trip was that we did not stop at Sterling castle, which we thought we would. We understand that stops must be prioritized due to the scarce time, but if this had been better shown on their website, this wouldn't had been questioned. On the other hand, a positive experience was when we drove by Doune castle, since we thought we wouldn't see this castle on this trip. An improvement in the future, would be to stop here for some minutes to take a picture or two. There were a lot of stops, even on places we didn't know we were going to stop Loch Lubnaig in Loch Lomond and the Trossachs national park, the three sisters of Glencoe and the forth road bridge among other places, which made the day go really fast, including our guide always explaning along the ride what we saw. This was just great! Since we were on this trip on a sunday almost everything were closed, but this was not an obstacle since we wouldn't had time for shopping anyway. Several and shorter stops were better, than less and longer stops after a long day in a minivan. Improvements of this trip could be to have better information on their website, which include where there will be stops and where there will be opportunities to buy food and beverages. In addition, the guides' microphone didn't work properly several times of this trip, which made it hard to hear everything in the back of the bus. This should really be looked into. After all this was a nice trip where we saw a lot of the scottish highlands, which we really loved! We would recommend this trip!

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

wjbillmorrison

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Great trip if you want to cram a lot of Scotland into one day. Our 2 boys are 9 and 11 years old and Loch Ness was a must during our trip to Scotland. The trip allowed us to get up to Loch ness, have lunch and take a one hour boat tour. Plenty of nice stops along the way. We all enjoyed our trip and would recommend it if you only have one day to see the highlands.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

gabor.babucsik

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

This is a very long tour over 500km-s and 12 hours but it worth the time. The driver is very informative and the trip is well organized. Prepare for additional costs at Loch Ness, cause both options you can choose from are excluded from the tour's price. Beautiful Scottish scenery, I especially loved the Glencoe and Loch Ness area. Recommended tour!

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small Group Day Trip from Glasgow

Ma Maya Mayette G

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Best way to explore the Scottish Highlands in a day! Our driver/guide Ian was excellent and very informative. We made several stops throughout the journey and were able to take in most of the scenery. The Loch Ness cruise was also fantastic :

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small Group Day Trip from Glasgow

Bridget W

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

I booked this tour as I wanted to see the Highlands and did not want to drive myself. Rich was great, provided loads of information. Within the day time frame this is an ok tour. It is a long way on the bus and the stop at Loch Ness is brief, the boat tour really not all that exciting. A longer stop at Fort Augustus would allow for the boat tour to see the castle. If instead the trip went to a different part of Loch Ness it may be more exciting. Overall this met my desire to see the Highlands but I will be booking a longer trip in the future.

Doing what: Full-Day Trip to Loch Ness and the Scottish Highlands

Renee K

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2016

We wouldn't do this trip again, for us was not worth the time or money. Did not enjoy the Scottish music that was played all but the last hour of the 12 hr trip. At times it was very loud, had to keep asking to turn it down. Music a short time would be ok but not all Day. Juliet was very knowledgeable in history and took us to some beautiful views. Expected to see the Loch Ness castle but the only way to see it was to pay another 13 for the boat ride. Should have been included, sounds like a racket.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small Group Day Trip from Glasgow

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message