Yes, it's Scotland's deepest loch. And yes, it has its own brooding Highland charm. But without the fable-or-fiction mystique of the Loch Ness monster, this would be just another picturesque stop on the Scottish nature trail. As it is, Nessie ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 352 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Lisa B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We enjoyed this tour despite the awful rain that day! Our tour guide Richard tried his best to make up for the fact that our pics in Glencoe would be very foggy. We got a kick out of riding on a cruise on Loch Ness looking for Nessie and we stopped at a lot of beautiful places.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Aletha S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This tour was great. Our driver was hilarious and gave us great info! Loch Ness boat trip was a must, it and #39;s freezing up on top though so come prepared.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Shenae F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Excellent tour! Our guide- Kirsten- was friendly, fun and very knowledgable! It was a long trip on the bus but was very comfortable with the beautiful scenery, fabulous music and commentary! Kirsten gave us Scottish history in an easy to follow format, relevant to the things we were passing- all presented with that god-given Scottish talent for story telling! Good number of stops 2 on the way up and 2 on the way back and about 2 hours at Loch Ness! Kirsten had excellent recommendations for things to see and eat at each stop, and also excellent recommendations for things to do in Edinburgh. Fabulous trip- well worth the cost. For a solo traveller like me it was an excellent taste of the highlands- will definitely be considering coming back for an extended tour!

Doing what: Full-Day Trip to Loch Ness and the Scottish Highlands

Jared O

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

Hi there,

Our tour guide was Charlotte.

Some recommendations:

1. Each guide should be given a script of the narration of what should be said during the journey. That way, it will be consistent from tour to tour because the Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands tour is rather popular. We found that the narration was rather overwhelming and an information overload. We would have preferred less speaking.

2. It would be helpful if a screen could be installed at the front of the bus. The screen would indicate a live map of the journey so one can see at any point in time where one is travelling to.

Thanks!

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Millan Maria V

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2016

The trip is NOT WORTH IT. We were in the bus for so long only to just go to one real stop - LOCH NESS.The road was obstructed so it and #39;s the only major stop we took.. all the rest were either bathroom breaks or the lunch stop.I had only three days in Edinburgh and this One-Day Tour was totally a waste

Doing what: Scottish Highlands, Loch Ness and Glen Coe Day Trip from Edinburgh

Roxanne C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Had a great time on this tour. It is a long day but well worth it. Our guide Liam was fantastic, giving us a history lesson on all things Scottish. There were plenty of photo stops along the way and the boat ride on Loch Ness was fun. Highly recommend taking this tour.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Cyntia D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Even with the long way to get to the loch Ness, time fly by so quick! Very nice day! Our guide was fantastic!

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small Group Day Trip from Glasgow

Anette S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We had a wonderful experience on our day trip to Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands. Our guide, Fergui, was sharing willingly of his rich knowledge and we got good advices at every stop. He played pleasant music throughout the tour with a comfortable sound level. Our driver drove nice and safe, considering riding for 12 hours. One downside with this trip was that we did not stop at Sterling castle, which we thought we would. We understand that stops must be prioritized due to the scarce time, but if this had been better shown on their website, this wouldn't had been questioned. On the other hand, a positive experience was when we drove by Doune castle, since we thought we wouldn't see this castle on this trip. An improvement in the future, would be to stop here for some minutes to take a picture or two. There were a lot of stops, even on places we didn't know we were going to stop Loch Lubnaig in Loch Lomond and the Trossachs national park, the three sisters of Glencoe and the forth road bridge among other places, which made the day go really fast, including our guide always explaning along the ride what we saw. This was just great! Since we were on this trip on a sunday almost everything were closed, but this was not an obstacle since we wouldn't had time for shopping anyway. Several and shorter stops were better, than less and longer stops after a long day in a minivan. Improvements of this trip could be to have better information on their website, which include where there will be stops and where there will be opportunities to buy food and beverages. In addition, the guides' microphone didn't work properly several times of this trip, which made it hard to hear everything in the back of the bus. This should really be looked into. After all this was a nice trip where we saw a lot of the scottish highlands, which we really loved! We would recommend this trip!

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

wjbillmorrison

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Great trip if you want to cram a lot of Scotland into one day. Our 2 boys are 9 and 11 years old and Loch Ness was a must during our trip to Scotland. The trip allowed us to get up to Loch ness, have lunch and take a one hour boat tour. Plenty of nice stops along the way. We all enjoyed our trip and would recommend it if you only have one day to see the highlands.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

gabor.babucsik

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

This is a very long tour over 500km-s and 12 hours but it worth the time. The driver is very informative and the trip is well organized. Prepare for additional costs at Loch Ness, cause both options you can choose from are excluded from the tour's price. Beautiful Scottish scenery, I especially loved the Glencoe and Loch Ness area. Recommended tour!

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small Group Day Trip from Glasgow

Ma Maya Mayette G

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Best way to explore the Scottish Highlands in a day! Our driver/guide Ian was excellent and very informative. We made several stops throughout the journey and were able to take in most of the scenery. The Loch Ness cruise was also fantastic :

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small Group Day Trip from Glasgow

Bridget W

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

I booked this tour as I wanted to see the Highlands and did not want to drive myself. Rich was great, provided loads of information. Within the day time frame this is an ok tour. It is a long way on the bus and the stop at Loch Ness is brief, the boat tour really not all that exciting. A longer stop at Fort Augustus would allow for the boat tour to see the castle. If instead the trip went to a different part of Loch Ness it may be more exciting. Overall this met my desire to see the Highlands but I will be booking a longer trip in the future.

Doing what: Full-Day Trip to Loch Ness and the Scottish Highlands

Renee K

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2016

We wouldn't do this trip again, for us was not worth the time or money. Did not enjoy the Scottish music that was played all but the last hour of the 12 hr trip. At times it was very loud, had to keep asking to turn it down. Music a short time would be ok but not all Day. Juliet was very knowledgeable in history and took us to some beautiful views. Expected to see the Loch Ness castle but the only way to see it was to pay another 13 for the boat ride. Should have been included, sounds like a racket.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small Group Day Trip from Glasgow

csrithai

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2016

The Highlands in Scotland are not to be missed! I would not, however, ever recommend the Rabbies tour to a friend or foe. In all fairness, this tour is exactly as it describes. It is a 12 hour tour that mostly takes place on a very uncomfortable bus. We had approx. 2-2.5 hours off the bus to see the Highlands. We spent that time off in various locations. 1. A 30 minute break in...I really can't remember the name of the town. We got a soda at a deli and used their restroom. 2. We stopped for 1.25 hours in Loch Ness. We had a very quick lunch at the Loch Ness in and walked down either side of the canal to look at the Loch. There was a boat tour offered. I chose not to take it based on reviews. Perhaps it would have been a better visit if I had tried it. It was pretty unimpressive. Since childhood I've built this place up in my mind. Here's to you Nessie! - Fort William seemed like it would have been cool? 3. We stopped at a rest stop for the second required 30 minute break for the driver. I'm serious, this was a rest stop with a gift shop and a cafe. 4. We stopped at the top and the bottom of Glencoe for some AMAZING pictures! 5 minutes eachThe scenery was breathtaking! I don't know how we'd have seen it without this tour, but it was a pretty miserable trip. I'll finish off by pointing out this is a bus that has small tour groups. This sunny description can be translated as: the bus carries 16 people. The sixteenth seat is a fold out seat at the front by the driver that is awful! AND you may spend the entire trip 12 hours not even seated next to your family/friend/travel partner because if there is only a seat left in the very front next to the driver and a seat left in the very back- Dave will say You can ask someone if they'll move. Come on Rabbies...a little planning please!

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Paula P

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2016

There was practically no commentary about the history of the place- which is a shame because the are is rich in historical stories. We just seemed to leapfrog from toilet stop/ordinary cafe/souvenir shop. I had not realised that the Loch Ness trip was extra but went on it because there was absolutely nothing else to do in fort Augustus. It was a wet day and there was nowhere to stay dry. I ended up standing in the corner of a crowded cafe while waiting for the boat tour just so I could be somewhere with some shelter.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Elizabeth R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

A great tour. Wonderful views of scenery and different areas loch ness is always a bit fun entertaining guide!

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small Group Day Trip from Glasgow

Alejandra Mexico

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Wonderful tour! Highly recommend it! Although Edinburgh is amazing, this tour was the highlight of my trip. I still can't get over the beauty of the scenery we saw. It's well planned, very organized and with enough time and stops to take pictures. Our guide Robin, was wonferful and gave a lot of insights on the clan history. I also recommend taking the boat trip at Loch Ness, it's a great experience.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Rose E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I loved the small group aspect of the tour. Our guide was great and played just the right music at just the right time. For instance, when we pulled up to Loch Ness, he played the theme from 2001: Space Odyssey and announced that we were at Loch Ness. Loch Ness was great and enjoyable, but the real star of this trip was Glencoe. Glencoe was so beautiful- pictures really do not do it justice.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

M Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

It was fantastic! You get to see a really big piece os Scotland in just one day. There is enough time to enjoy the beautiful views and take pictures outside the bus. Loch Ness is a great experience, Glencoe is beautiful and we also get to see Doune Castle Game of Thrones, Outlander, Monty Python. Our great busdriver Richard told us a lot about the history of Scotland and knew a lot about everything! It was a truly fantastic experience

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Eileen M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Eric, our tour guide, was fabulous--great stories, Scottish music, good suggestions for lunch, and of course the wonderful scenery. My niece and I enjoyed the entire trip. I would highly recommend it to any visitor who wants a one day trip for the Highlands and Loch Ness!

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Jennifer S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We had a amazing time sailing down the Loch Ness looking for Nessie. Would recommend this for anybody who wants to see the views of Loch Ness on the water. Was also able to see Urghart Castle too.

Doing what: Loch Ness Sightseeing Cruise

Kay K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great trip. The scenery was breathtaking, and Paul was an extraordinary guide. He has an incredible knowledge of Scottish history and a wonderful way of relating the Scottish past to the present. He also played an interesting selection of Scottish music during the breaks between his explanation of certain sites or historical events. I would have liked more time for lunch at Loch Ness--there was no place to sit and it was raining. All seemed rather rushed. Other than that, the trip was well plotted in terms of stops.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

jody_bro

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our guide Mahri was a joyful lady! Despite the long drive from Edinburgh to Loch Ness, Mahri had made the journey interesting with her stories and mad DJ skill. She was also the most knowledgeable and passionate tour guide I have ever meet! The scenery along the journey was beautiful even though it was raining that day. Would highly recommend this tour to anyone that wants to visit the mystical Loch Ness.

Doing what: Full-Day Trip to Loch Ness and the Scottish Highlands

John H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our guide Ally was very informational! He used music, maps and facts to inform us throughout the trip. If Ally is your guide, pick up food at the first stop because you are limited with your time at Loch Ness and you don't want to spend time finding a place to eat. All of the places we saw were sit down, expensive meals. The only thing I would ask Ally to change is to not point at the map with his middle finger which he did all day. Can be slightly offensive and make you uncomfortable.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

SOON POH K

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Fantastic tour! It was very well arranged and covered the major iconic sites of Scotland and #39;s Highlands and the Loch Ness Lake in a very lively manner. A tour that we wouls not forget!

Doing what: Full-Day Trip to Loch Ness and the Scottish Highlands

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message