Nowhere is the tension between North and South Korea more palpable than in the no-man’s-land known as the Korean Demilitarized Zone, or DMZ. As a divided nation, only 2.5 miles (4 kilometers) separate the North from the South in what is the most ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 424 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Marie-Louise S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

An amazing experience. The tour guide for the DMZ portion was more fluent in English but you have to do the JSA section to get the full experience. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Korean Demilitarized Zone (DMZ) and JSA Panmunjom Tour from Seoul

Michael H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Had a really enjoyable time on this day tour - our guide, David, was really knowledgeable and approachable and his English was excellent. There's much to learn about the conflict and it can feel quite surreal being in the DMZ. Only thing is, as with every other tour company I'm sure, is that you've got limited time on each stop, whereas it would have been better to allow for a bit more time to read the information on display and explore each area more. The lunch at the end was very delicious also.

Doing what: DMZ Past and Present: Korean Demilitarized Zone Tour from Seoul

Pamela F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Excellent tour guide Rebekah who made it all come alive. Very efficiently run, and she did her best to help us 1 know what to expect and 2 be certain of getting all the good pix we could.

Doing what: DMZ Past and Present: Korean Demilitarized Zone Tour from Seoul

Natalio Isidoro P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Very interesting tour and experience. The tension felt in DMZ border was incredible. I recommend this trip to everyone visiting South Korea.

Doing what: Korean Demilitarized Zone (DMZ) and JSA Panmunjom Tour from Seoul

Kenneth M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Seeing both the JSA and DMZ is a must. Don't just do one of the tours that does not do both. This was wonderful.

Doing what: Ultimate DMZ and JSA: Private Tour including North Korea Spy Commando Invasion Route

Alexandra A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Shrek was fun and informative. My father really wanted to go on this tour and he absolutely loved it. The trip to an actual Korean millitary observation post on the border was not only amazing but a once in a lifetime experience. Unfortunately the JSA was canceled due to UN things but still awesome!

Doing what: Ultimate DMZ and JSA: Private Tour including North Korea Spy Commando Invasion Route

Gordon M United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

A fascinating trip to the border. I thoroughly enjoyed it.

Doing what: DMZ Past and Present: Korean Demilitarized Zone Tour from Seoul

lflorea

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This experience was great! BJ was the best guide ever. He know so many things and he knew how to make our trip wonderfull!

Doing what: Private DMZ Tour: North Korean Spy Commando Invasion Route

Melanie S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

It was clearly the best part of our trip. Im SO glad that we did it with the JSA part too and not just the DMZ. The DMZ and the JSA tour are led by two different companies and so also have different guides for the parts. The lunch is served at a diner in the middle of nowhere and it was not that great. You dont get to decide what you are going to eat and the place was a bit boring. The guide for the DMZ was great! She was very knowledgeable and spoke good english and made the whole tour a great experience. The guide for the JSA part of the tour was not good at all. His english was poor and barely understandable even when he repeted the same instructions several times because no one understood. The organisation on the JSA part of the tour was overall messy and confusing but the destination was worth it!

Doing what: Korean Demilitarized Zone (DMZ) and JSA Panmunjom Tour from Seoul

William B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Fascinating, intriguing and a glimpse into another world. This is the second time that I have done the tour from the southern side. You will learn much about the history of the Korean War and division of the Korean peninsula from the South Korean perspective. You will be taken right to the border with the North and hear stories of sadness but also hope. This tour should be on the 'to do' list for anyone visiting Seoul. Remember to book in advance. Do not miss out.

Doing what: Korean Demilitarized Zone (DMZ) and JSA Panmunjom Tour from Seoul

Clare Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

I found this tour to be very informative. The guide was very knowledgable and spoke extremely good English. I would not hesitate to recommend this tour

Doing what: DMZ Past and Present: Korean Demilitarized Zone Tour from Seoul

Leanne B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great tour. I loved our tour guide, Sunny Lee. She was very knowledgeable and extremely nice and accommodating. She helped us to find our way to a destination upon the end of our tour by pointing us in the right direction and writing directions in Korean for any taxi driver or train information person that we may need.

Doing what: DMZ Past and Present: Korean Demilitarized Zone Tour from Seoul

Andy Yu Chun L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Very well organized. It's a unique experience to look over North Korea from the south without entering the country.

Doing what: Korean Demilitarized Zone (DMZ) and JSA Panmunjom Tour from Seoul

jay k

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

I highly recommend JSA area. You can really feel the tension between South and North.

I don't really recommend 3rd tunnel. it's basically a tunnel. it's really a long walk.

Doing what: Korean Demilitarized Zone (DMZ) and JSA Panmunjom Tour from Seoul

Suzshi L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

My 11 year old son and I had such a great time learning about the DMZ and this invasion route. It was due to our amazing guide B.J. who was not only a gracious host, but also so well informed. He made the experience fun and meaningful, and we even learned about other aspects of Korean life and history. It was even better than I had expected, and would highly recommend this to everyone!

Doing what: Private DMZ Tour: North Korean Spy Commando Invasion Route

Daniel B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Rebecca was enthusiastic and spoke English very well. She was funny, knowledgeable and pleasant from start to end. The tour was very interesting. Be sure to buy REAL North Korean grape wine at the Train Station souvenir shop. That is the only place on the trip where you can buy anything from North Korea!

Doing what: DMZ Past and Present: Korean Demilitarized Zone Tour from Seoul

samanthas_postbox

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Alex was a WONDERFUL host for our day trip. He is very experienced, and he knows exactly where to take the tour group to get the 'real' experience - this is away from all the other tourists! We felt like it was a private chauffeured tour because we were given so much attention, and he went above and beyond to show us the countryside as well as answer all of my cultural questions even letting me practice my Korean phrases with him. Also, the lunch place was THE BEST! I'm not sure if everyone gets the amazing Donkatsu experience, but that was worth the money alone. But seriously, Alex was funny, knowledgeable, interested and interesting. Our time visiting the DMZ was enhanced by his presence and I would recommend this over any other tour. You would be very lucky to make it on to one of his tours. Thank you!

Doing what: Cheorwon DMZ Tour

Martin I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

One day before the tour started I got an email that it was cancelled because of military operations. I was disappointed and asked if there was any option to get another tour and what I got was awesome! Shrek the guide took me to several unique places and told me so much about Korean history. Because he served in the US army he knew many details about the todays defense tactics which was highly interesting. Shrek, thank you again for this tour! Anyone else: Go for it!

Doing what: Private DMZ Tour: North Korean Spy Commando Invasion Route

Nitika R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

It was very well planned. Our tour guide, Justin was well informed and conducted the tour in a very professional manner. It started on time and we were back also well on time with no delays. I am very glad I did this trip and had an amazing experience.

Doing what: Korean Demilitarized Zone (DMZ) and JSA Panmunjom Tour from Seoul

Sharon B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I've been to the Dora Observatory and 3rd infiltration tunnel before with the bus loads of other tourists. This tour was completely different! There were 4 of us in a minivan for the tour, and when we arrived in Cheorwon about 2 hours later, there were only about 5 other cars, all Koreans, joining the DMZ tour. There were no tour buses, no loud-speakers, no souvenir sellers, etc. We all drove into the secure area as a convoy, and our guide Alex gave us commentary in English while we were driving and also interpreted the Korean DMZ guide's commentary for us at each stop. We visited the 2nd infiltration tunnel, an observatory, former train station, and then had a huge lunch of Tonkatsu, which was delicious, before heading home. I would thoroughly recommend this tour for people who want an authentic experience and don't want to be herded around like cattle among thousands of other people at the other, more popular, DMZ area.

Doing what: Cheorwon DMZ Tour

Madeline G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was a very good day inspire of the poor weather. I can highly recommend this if with the D M Z the traveler can include Panmunjon. Our morning guide was not great but it did not detract greatly from the overall tour.

Doing what: Korean Demilitarized Zone (DMZ) and JSA Panmunjom Tour from Seoul

Stefan Sweden

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The highlight of our Seoul trip. Both parts of the tour were great DMZ and JSA. We had an early tour pickup at hotel at 07:30 which seems like a negative, but the result was arriving at every spot along the tour before the crowds so we would leave when all the other buses arrived.

Doing what: Korean Demilitarized Zone (DMZ) and JSA Panmunjom Tour from Seoul

Justine A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Very good tour!! Tour guide was engaging and personable. If you suffer from claustrophobia, have difficulty walking or are generally unfit you may struggle going into the tunnel as there is a steep incline and the tunnel itself is confined. Otherwise I recommend as a must do!!

Doing what: DMZ Past and Present: Korean Demilitarized Zone Tour from Seoul

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message