Nowhere is the tension between North and South Korea more palpable than in the no-man’s-land known as the Korean Demilitarized Zone, or DMZ. As a divided nation, only 2.5 miles (4 kilometers) separate the North from the South in what is the most ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 385 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Stefan Sweden

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The highlight of our Seoul trip. Both parts of the tour were great DMZ and JSA. We had an early tour pickup at hotel at 07:30 which seems like a negative, but the result was arriving at every spot along the tour before the crowds so we would leave when all the other buses arrived.

Doing what: Korean Demilitarized Zone (DMZ) and JSA Panmunjom Tour from Seoul

Justine A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Very good tour!! Tour guide was engaging and personable. If you suffer from claustrophobia, have difficulty walking or are generally unfit you may struggle going into the tunnel as there is a steep incline and the tunnel itself is confined. Otherwise I recommend as a must do!!

Doing what: DMZ Past and Present: Korean Demilitarized Zone Tour from Seoul

Antonio N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Very interesting and a perfect timing.

Doing what: DMZ Past and Present: Korean Demilitarized Zone Tour from Seoul

Neil S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This is a must do when in South Korea. One of the best tours I have been on in my travels around the world. Very interesting and professionally done.

Doing what: Korean Demilitarized Zone (DMZ) and JSA Panmunjom Tour from Seoul

Rachel I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The tour was very informative and well-paced. The places we visited were very interesting and relevant to the history of Seoul. In just half a day, we learned so much about the country. Sunny was simply amazing--knowledgeable and entertaining at the same time (she and #39;s exactly what her name means!).

Doing what: DMZ Past and Present: Korean Demilitarized Zone Tour from Seoul

Allen B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Very interesting for anyone who enjoys the study of history and current events. Professionally done.

Doing what: Korean Demilitarized Zone (DMZ) and JSA Panmunjom Tour from Seoul

Roslyn R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was a very interesting tour. We had 2 different guides for the DMZ and the JSA and neither spoke great English so it was difficult to understand the stories they were telling. The locations we were taken to were interesting and seeing the soldiers from North Korea close up made it very real.

Doing what: Korean Demilitarized Zone (DMZ) and JSA Panmunjom Tour from Seoul

Susan H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was informative and interesting. Our guide gave us very good history and facts. We didn and #39;t realize it until we arrived to view the introduction video that we visited on the 66th anniversary of the start of the Korean War which increased the significance of the tour for us.

Doing what: Full-Day Paju DMZ and 3rd Infiltration Tunnel Tour with Lunch from Seoul

Emily T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Well organized and a great experience.

Doing what: Korean Demilitarized Zone (DMZ) and JSA Panmunjom Tour from Seoul

Nhon T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This trip was so amazing, but most memorial part of it is our tour guide, BJ. If you need a knowledgeable safe drive, considerate, then you should request to have him as your tour guide. Beside, the lunch was so good too.

Doing what: Private DMZ Tour: North Korean Spy Commando Invasion Route

Emilie M Philippines

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

and #34;In front of them all and #34; in DMZ, escorted by JSA soldier- under the watchful eye of lone NoKor soldier, Bridge of No Return, 3rd Tunnel with a depth of 73 meters below ground, Dora Observatory allowed us to get a view of the DMZ and Gaesung Village in North Korea- amazing and surereal!

Doing what: Korean Demilitarized Zone (DMZ) and JSA Panmunjom Tour from Seoul

Ronald B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The pick up was on time. The driver had my name on an iPad screen so we found each other easily. We picked up a group from another hotel. They had left the same conference as I did so we made friends easily. The guide, Brian was friendly and so everyone was comfortable early on. The War Memorial was amazing. Wish I had more time there. We had to leave Seoul early to get to the several stops along the DMZ. We visited a look out to see a North Korean village, had a duck lunch at a South Korean village diner. It may have been odd if I didn't feel comfortable with the rest of the group as it was a self serve family style meal. We went to a military outpost and had an insightful interaction with a young training officer who explained the day to day operations guarding a section of border. We finally visited an area where the North Korean commandos entered to try to assassinate the South Korean leader. The last bit was a bit staged. This tour does not actually enter tunnels, but that should be obvious from the preview when you book. Great day and good value for money.

Doing what: Private DMZ Tour: North Korean Spy Commando Invasion Route

jeff

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was a very exciting experience for me

Doing what: Korean Demilitarized Zone (DMZ) and JSA Panmunjom Tour from Seoul

Trond B Norway

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

A Great experience! Well worth doing while visiting Korea.

Doing what: Korean Demilitarized Zone (DMZ) and JSA Panmunjom Tour from Seoul

COBY

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was my second time to visit DMZ.
Last time, I picked up a brochure at my hotel and joined the tour with around 10 people.
But, it seemed like a theme park Very crowded and noisy. I couldn't feel any serious mood between two Koreas.

By chance, I found this tour upon my inquiry What DMZ tour is.
I realized that there are more places other than Paju DMZ my last DMZ tour place, which consists of 3rd tunnel and Dora observatory.

As I expected, the distance is longer than Paju and we could access Cheorwon passing by several rural area in 1h50m.

Two things make this tour special comparing to my previous DMZ tour.

- We didn't need to get on the bus to go inside DMZ area.
Last time, I had bad experience in the bus because the majority group people were very noisy and they didn't care other passengers. But, we traveled around by our car and 6 of us could talked each other while our guide was explaining something.

- I could feel the real tension from the atmosphere. For example, I was startled at salute at attention when we pass by security check-point. Maybe, not many people were coming here.
At the entrance of 2nd infiltrated tunnel, I saw the memorial pagoda for the soldiers who were died because they stepped on a mine while they were approaching the tunnel for the first time.
Also, I could hear the some broadcasting in the distance. Our guide said it was came from North Korea in response to South Korea's broadcasting as a part of psychological warfare.

It was very interesting experience.
But, I hope this hostile environment will be defused soon.

Doing what: Cheorwon DMZ Tour

Susan M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Sonya went out of her way to be helpful
Very interesting trip

Doing what: DMZ Past and Present: Korean Demilitarized Zone Tour from Seoul

Ladson M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

absolutely amazing. The guides were great and what a time thru history.
Highly recommend this as a bucket list item.

Doing what: Korean Demilitarized Zone (DMZ) and JSA Panmunjom Tour from Seoul

sdinakar

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

If you're visiting Seoul, this tour is a must. I will highly recommend doing the JSA along with the DMZ. Going to the JSA is on a totally different level of it's own. Amazing experience!

Doing what: Korean Demilitarized Zone (DMZ) and JSA Panmunjom Tour from Seoul

Wendell S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We loved t. Shrek was great and we learned so much about the Korean war and post war events.

Doing what: Private DMZ Tour: North Korean Spy Commando Invasion Route

Robert H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I had a very good tour. My tour guide was knowledgeable and spoke English well.

Doing what: Private DMZ Tour: North Korean Spy Commando Invasion Route

Joe B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Sunny was great, she was funny and passionate about the history of Korea and the DMZ. She expressed optimism for a future reunification of North and South Korea. Highly recommend Sunny for leading the tour.
It would have been nice for a bit more time at some of the stops. The JSA stop was rushed at the photo opportunity at the conference building and at the gift shop. Unfortunately, getting everyone back to the back on time in a timely manner was a problem at almost evey stop. I was one of the first to miss getting back on time and time is lost that way. If you take this tour, it is important to return to the bus at the appointed time, otherwise everyone loses valuable time at other stops. There is a constant flow if tours to the DMZ and JSA with lots of people so a smooth flow is critical.
Thank you Sunny and Justin for a good day.

Doing what: Korean Demilitarized Zone (DMZ) and JSA Panmunjom Tour from Seoul

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message