Nowhere is the tension between North and South Korea more palpable than in the no-man’s-land known as the Korean Demilitarized Zone, or DMZ. As a divided nation, only 2.5 miles (4 kilometers) separate the North from the South in what is the most ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 457 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Ben S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Excellent, thoughtful tour with Alex through the DMZ. A highlight of our time in South Korea!

Doing what: Cheorwon DMZ Tour

kmisener

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Our DMZ Tour Guide, Shrek Lee was extraordinary. He tailored the tour to our teen and preteen sons' interests and delivered a day long adventure that they will never forget. As happens often, the JSA cancelled at the last minute, so we switched to the Private DMZ Spy Invasion Route 2nd Tunnel. Prior to the tour, Mr. Lee communicated the status of the JSA and was very responsive to our requests. Shrek can get access to just about anywhere you want to go within and outside of the DMZ. Submitting your passport information to Mr. Lee is necessary for him to secure the booking and you must have your passport with you on the tour.
You simply can't go to South Korea without taking this tour. Shrek Lee is fluent in English, Korean, Chinese and Japanese and the best tour guide we've ever had.

Doing what: Ultimate DMZ and JSA: Private Tour including North Korea Spy Commando Invasion Route

Michal M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

It was great expirience. BJ, our guide, has plenty of knowledge about DMZ and korean national and millitary history. We have visited many places including korean war memorial and dmz. We have seen north korea territory, and fence where north korea infiltration commando came to south korea. We've also had great lunch, where we first time ate barbecue duck way koreans do. Thank you BJ.

Doing what: Private DMZ Tour: North Korean Spy Commando Invasion Route

Kathleen V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

The tour guide Ms Rebecca Kim was good and organized. She was even very patient with the annoying members of the group. Don and #39;t miss this tour when in Seoul.

Doing what: DMZ Past and Present: Korean Demilitarized Zone Tour from Seoul

Karin B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

We had a terrific guide named Hans who is a Captain in the army and had so much knowledge of the DMZ. It was incredible to hear his stories and then see in person the different areas of the DMZ. Well worth the visit.

Doing what: DMZ Past and Present: Korean Demilitarized Zone Tour from Seoul

Suzette Puerto Rico

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Must do! The history of these two countries is so incredible. Came out of these tour feeling like a big part of history. Amazing feeling to be in the border of these two countries and get a glimpse of how it looks like from the other side.

Doing what: DMZ Past and Present: Korean Demilitarized Zone Tour from Seoul

spacepod7

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The real value of this private tour vs the group tour for the 2 of us was spending a full day with an ex-senior officer in the ROK military police who drove us to the various DMZ and JSA highlights. It was a great opportunity to ask him many questions not just about the DMZ and its history, but also South Korea itself. Though we weren't able to visit all the promised attractions such as Imjingak Peace Park and the War Memorial of Korea the latter we ended up doing on our own another day, this was still an amazing tour. The first major half consisted of joining a group bus tour that led us into the JSA/Panmunjon with all its various restrictions on everything, i.e. what to photograph, wear, how to behave, line up, etc. Note: although Viator didn't indicate it, shorts that expose the knee are prohibited and continual accompaniment by an armed soldier. Tense is the best adjective to describe the atmosphere at Panmunjom, the former truce village. The JSA portion ends with a visit to the gift shop but you should skip this and go upstairs to the 2nd floor museum, which was vastly more informative and interesting. When we rejoined our tour guide/driver for the second half, we went to the DMZ where we surrendered our passports temporarily and visited a military observation outpost. There we were given a briefing about the 4 km-wide buffer zone. At the outpost, one could see views of the North Korean countryside of which we weren't allowed to take pictures and manned observation posts. We also walked part of the foot patrol path taken by ROK soldiers alongside the southern barbed wire fence. All in all, a day well spent!

Doing what: Ultimate DMZ and JSA: Private Tour including North Korea Spy Commando Invasion Route

Hoa Julia Vo T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was such an awesome experience. Shrek was amazing, extremely knowledgable, and really went above and beyond as a tour guide! It felt like we were on an adventure with an old friend--such was the degree of comfort, relaxation and enjoyment. We got to see a lot of exclusive things and learn so much about Korea and its culture on a personal level. Shrek even made sure that we got to our flight on time and was simply incredible the whole way through. When visiting any country, it's so rewarding to learn about their history as well, so every penny was worth the experience we got from this tour. We even took home a business card to recommend this to our friends in Australia!

Doing what: Private DMZ Tour: North Korean Spy Commando Invasion Route

Solveig K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

What an interesting day it was!! Our guide gave a facinating picture of Korea's history and what it has meant for today's situation. I was awestruck being so close to the border and even heard the propagand loudspeakers! Recomend this trip to anyone !!

Doing what: DMZ Past and Present: Korean Demilitarized Zone Tour from Seoul

Robert T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Very interesting tour. Our tour guide was great, very knowledgeable and friendly, always explaining what we were seeing, the history, where we could and could not take pictures

Doing what: DMZ Past and Present: Korean Demilitarized Zone Tour from Seoul

Fodder

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Wow. This tour was one of the most interesting things I have ever done. Unfortunately, the JSA component of the tour was cancelled at the last minute due to a situation, but the company refunded that part of the price. I decided I would pay a bit more to book this tour as it seemed a bit more in depth and it is worth every penny. Shrek is friendly and very well informed. The day was misty, which impeded views into North Korea, but again - still fascinating. And the BBQ duck lunch was to die for. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Ultimate DMZ and JSA: Private Tour including North Korea Spy Commando Invasion Route

Ed D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

A LOT OF HYPE ABOUT THIS AND NOT AS NERVE AWAKENING AS ONE MAY BELIEVE.

Doing what: Korean Demilitarized Zone (DMZ) and JSA Panmunjom Tour from Seoul

Joe J Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Great tour, guide had a lot knowledge, really enjoyed it.

Doing what: DMZ Past and Present: Korean Demilitarized Zone Tour from Seoul

Vanessa R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

David Kang was an excellent tour guide for the DMZ and provided a lot of interesting personal insights. The JSA Panmunjom guide was not quite as good but the experience itself of being there was memorable.

Doing what: Korean Demilitarized Zone (DMZ) and JSA Panmunjom Tour from Seoul

Mark M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Excellent. All day trip was great fun. Very nice tour director. Tunnel almost better than the the JSA.

Thank you!

Doing what: Korean Demilitarized Zone (DMZ) and JSA Panmunjom Tour from Seoul

Robert D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The car was comfortable and the driver was professional.

Doing what: Private DMZ Tour: North Korean Spy Commando Invasion Route

Marie-Louise S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

An amazing experience. The tour guide for the DMZ portion was more fluent in English but you have to do the JSA section to get the full experience. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Korean Demilitarized Zone (DMZ) and JSA Panmunjom Tour from Seoul

Michael H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Had a really enjoyable time on this day tour - our guide, David, was really knowledgeable and approachable and his English was excellent. There's much to learn about the conflict and it can feel quite surreal being in the DMZ. Only thing is, as with every other tour company I'm sure, is that you've got limited time on each stop, whereas it would have been better to allow for a bit more time to read the information on display and explore each area more. The lunch at the end was very delicious also.

Doing what: DMZ Past and Present: Korean Demilitarized Zone Tour from Seoul

Pamela F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Excellent tour guide Rebekah who made it all come alive. Very efficiently run, and she did her best to help us 1 know what to expect and 2 be certain of getting all the good pix we could.

Doing what: DMZ Past and Present: Korean Demilitarized Zone Tour from Seoul

Natalio Isidoro P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Very interesting tour and experience. The tension felt in DMZ border was incredible. I recommend this trip to everyone visiting South Korea.

Doing what: Korean Demilitarized Zone (DMZ) and JSA Panmunjom Tour from Seoul

Kenneth M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Seeing both the JSA and DMZ is a must. Don't just do one of the tours that does not do both. This was wonderful.

Doing what: Ultimate DMZ and JSA: Private Tour including North Korea Spy Commando Invasion Route

Alexandra A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Shrek was fun and informative. My father really wanted to go on this tour and he absolutely loved it. The trip to an actual Korean millitary observation post on the border was not only amazing but a once in a lifetime experience. Unfortunately the JSA was canceled due to UN things but still awesome!

Doing what: Ultimate DMZ and JSA: Private Tour including North Korea Spy Commando Invasion Route

Gordon M United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

A fascinating trip to the border. I thoroughly enjoyed it.

Doing what: DMZ Past and Present: Korean Demilitarized Zone Tour from Seoul

lflorea

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This experience was great! BJ was the best guide ever. He know so many things and he knew how to make our trip wonderfull!

Doing what: Private DMZ Tour: North Korean Spy Commando Invasion Route

Melanie S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

It was clearly the best part of our trip. Im SO glad that we did it with the JSA part too and not just the DMZ. The DMZ and the JSA tour are led by two different companies and so also have different guides for the parts. The lunch is served at a diner in the middle of nowhere and it was not that great. You dont get to decide what you are going to eat and the place was a bit boring. The guide for the DMZ was great! She was very knowledgeable and spoke good english and made the whole tour a great experience. The guide for the JSA part of the tour was not good at all. His english was poor and barely understandable even when he repeted the same instructions several times because no one understood. The organisation on the JSA part of the tour was overall messy and confusing but the destination was worth it!

Doing what: Korean Demilitarized Zone (DMZ) and JSA Panmunjom Tour from Seoul

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message