Nowhere is the tension between North and South Korea more palpable than in the no-man’s-land known as the Korean Demilitarized Zone, or DMZ. As a divided nation, only 2.5 miles (4 kilometers) separate the North from the South in what is the most ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 483 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

mullyashfox2

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

One of the main reasons for my trip to S. Korea was to visit the DMZ. Now that I have fulfilled my ambition, I strongly recommend that anyone visiting South Korea makes this trip a priority. Standing, looking through binoculars into N Korea, a land that is out of bounds for the citizens of the South of the country to enter, or the tourist for that matter, will baffle you as to how countries become divided in the name of PEACE, as a settlement for murders inflicted on each other in the name of WAR. One of the most moving parts of the trip for me was the train station, which is built for the Future, is ready for the journey to PYONGYANG, the capital of N Korea. I sincerely hope that sooner rather than later the train will make that journey, and the people of KOREA are united and FREE. THIS TRIP IS A MUST DO FOR ANY TRAVELLER.

Doing what: DMZ Past and Present: Korean Demilitarized Zone Tour from Seoul

Vasanthi R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

This was a 1 day tour which comprised of DMZ and the JSA Panmunjom. The tour was an eye opener as it tells you the conflict between North and South Korea. We may have read about it but it is different seeing it in real life. For the DMZ, we went to the 3rd tunnel. It is a long walk steep walk. If you are tall, think again as the ceiling is low. If you have back problem like me, you can still do it but with great difficulty, but it was worth it! We like the JSA part of the tour the most. It was amusing looking at the North Korea side. It was interesting being inside the building where technically you are actually on the North Korea side. This will be the closest to North Korea! If you had to choose between DMZ and JSA, I would recommend JSA.

Doing what: Korean Demilitarized Zone (DMZ) and JSA Panmunjom Tour from Seoul

Angel Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

David Kan the guide is very knowledgeable and experienced. His sense of humor and passion about his job differentiate him from just a typical guide. Anyone interested in the DMZ tour, try get this guide to make your Seoul trip more memorable.

Doing what: DMZ Past and Present: Korean Demilitarized Zone Tour from Seoul

roy.beveridge

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was our best activity in Seoul
Highly recommend
DMZ is great but spend the afternoon doing the JSA portion. Very interesting and meaningful.

Doing what: Korean Demilitarized Zone (DMZ) and JSA Panmunjom Tour from Seoul

Melvin P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Tour guide Hana was great. Spoke English well and with great timing and information.

Doing what: DMZ Past and Present: Korean Demilitarized Zone Tour from Seoul

Quang L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Sonya was a great tour guide and provided us with lots of much needed background information about each of the places we went to. It felt abit rushed at times but overall a great experience that I would highly recommend.

Doing what: DMZ Past and Present: Korean Demilitarized Zone Tour from Seoul

Owenita E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This tour was the highlight of our trip to ROK. We highly recommend this tour as it provided us with more insight and understanding of the history and relationship between South Korea and North Korea. The trip to JSA was the most interesting as you are literally standing in the North Korean side of the Demilitarized Zone. We can even hear the music propaganda of North Korea which they play 24/7. The UN soldier who gave us a briefing was very thorough. Both our guides for the DMZ and JSA tours were very good.

Doing what: Korean Demilitarized Zone (DMZ) and JSA Panmunjom Tour from Seoul

Bruce P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Fantastic experience, especially the eerie JSA part of the tour. Food at lunch was terrible though.

Doing what: Korean Demilitarized Zone (DMZ) and JSA Panmunjom Tour from Seoul

Steve

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

It was very interesting tour with a highly competent guide. Great way to see JSA and the DMZ. Lunch was also fantastic. Thank you BJ

Doing what: Ultimate DMZ and JSA: Private Tour including North Korea Spy Commando Invasion Route

Ben S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Excellent, thoughtful tour with Alex through the DMZ. A highlight of our time in South Korea!

Doing what: Cheorwon DMZ Tour

kmisener

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Our DMZ Tour Guide, Shrek Lee was extraordinary. He tailored the tour to our teen and preteen sons' interests and delivered a day long adventure that they will never forget. As happens often, the JSA cancelled at the last minute, so we switched to the Private DMZ Spy Invasion Route 2nd Tunnel. Prior to the tour, Mr. Lee communicated the status of the JSA and was very responsive to our requests. Shrek can get access to just about anywhere you want to go within and outside of the DMZ. Submitting your passport information to Mr. Lee is necessary for him to secure the booking and you must have your passport with you on the tour.
You simply can't go to South Korea without taking this tour. Shrek Lee is fluent in English, Korean, Chinese and Japanese and the best tour guide we've ever had.

Doing what: Ultimate DMZ and JSA: Private Tour including North Korea Spy Commando Invasion Route

Michal M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

It was great expirience. BJ, our guide, has plenty of knowledge about DMZ and korean national and millitary history. We have visited many places including korean war memorial and dmz. We have seen north korea territory, and fence where north korea infiltration commando came to south korea. We've also had great lunch, where we first time ate barbecue duck way koreans do. Thank you BJ.

Doing what: Private DMZ Tour: North Korean Spy Commando Invasion Route

Kathleen V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

The tour guide Ms Rebecca Kim was good and organized. She was even very patient with the annoying members of the group. Don and #39;t miss this tour when in Seoul.

Doing what: DMZ Past and Present: Korean Demilitarized Zone Tour from Seoul

Karin B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

We had a terrific guide named Hans who is a Captain in the army and had so much knowledge of the DMZ. It was incredible to hear his stories and then see in person the different areas of the DMZ. Well worth the visit.

Doing what: DMZ Past and Present: Korean Demilitarized Zone Tour from Seoul

Suzette Puerto Rico

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Must do! The history of these two countries is so incredible. Came out of these tour feeling like a big part of history. Amazing feeling to be in the border of these two countries and get a glimpse of how it looks like from the other side.

Doing what: DMZ Past and Present: Korean Demilitarized Zone Tour from Seoul

spacepod7

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The real value of this private tour vs the group tour for the 2 of us was spending a full day with an ex-senior officer in the ROK military police who drove us to the various DMZ and JSA highlights. It was a great opportunity to ask him many questions not just about the DMZ and its history, but also South Korea itself. Though we weren't able to visit all the promised attractions such as Imjingak Peace Park and the War Memorial of Korea the latter we ended up doing on our own another day, this was still an amazing tour. The first major half consisted of joining a group bus tour that led us into the JSA/Panmunjon with all its various restrictions on everything, i.e. what to photograph, wear, how to behave, line up, etc. Note: although Viator didn't indicate it, shorts that expose the knee are prohibited and continual accompaniment by an armed soldier. Tense is the best adjective to describe the atmosphere at Panmunjom, the former truce village. The JSA portion ends with a visit to the gift shop but you should skip this and go upstairs to the 2nd floor museum, which was vastly more informative and interesting. When we rejoined our tour guide/driver for the second half, we went to the DMZ where we surrendered our passports temporarily and visited a military observation outpost. There we were given a briefing about the 4 km-wide buffer zone. At the outpost, one could see views of the North Korean countryside of which we weren't allowed to take pictures and manned observation posts. We also walked part of the foot patrol path taken by ROK soldiers alongside the southern barbed wire fence. All in all, a day well spent!

Doing what: Ultimate DMZ and JSA: Private Tour including North Korea Spy Commando Invasion Route

Hoa Julia Vo T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was such an awesome experience. Shrek was amazing, extremely knowledgable, and really went above and beyond as a tour guide! It felt like we were on an adventure with an old friend--such was the degree of comfort, relaxation and enjoyment. We got to see a lot of exclusive things and learn so much about Korea and its culture on a personal level. Shrek even made sure that we got to our flight on time and was simply incredible the whole way through. When visiting any country, it's so rewarding to learn about their history as well, so every penny was worth the experience we got from this tour. We even took home a business card to recommend this to our friends in Australia!

Doing what: Private DMZ Tour: North Korean Spy Commando Invasion Route

Solveig K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

What an interesting day it was!! Our guide gave a facinating picture of Korea's history and what it has meant for today's situation. I was awestruck being so close to the border and even heard the propagand loudspeakers! Recomend this trip to anyone !!

Doing what: DMZ Past and Present: Korean Demilitarized Zone Tour from Seoul

Robert T Norway

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Very interesting tour. Our tour guide was great, very knowledgeable and friendly, always explaining what we were seeing, the history, where we could and could not take pictures

Doing what: DMZ Past and Present: Korean Demilitarized Zone Tour from Seoul

Fodder

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Wow. This tour was one of the most interesting things I have ever done. Unfortunately, the JSA component of the tour was cancelled at the last minute due to a situation, but the company refunded that part of the price. I decided I would pay a bit more to book this tour as it seemed a bit more in depth and it is worth every penny. Shrek is friendly and very well informed. The day was misty, which impeded views into North Korea, but again - still fascinating. And the BBQ duck lunch was to die for. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Ultimate DMZ and JSA: Private Tour including North Korea Spy Commando Invasion Route

Ed D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

A LOT OF HYPE ABOUT THIS AND NOT AS NERVE AWAKENING AS ONE MAY BELIEVE.

Doing what: Korean Demilitarized Zone (DMZ) and JSA Panmunjom Tour from Seoul

Joe J Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Great tour, guide had a lot knowledge, really enjoyed it.

Doing what: DMZ Past and Present: Korean Demilitarized Zone Tour from Seoul

Vanessa R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

David Kang was an excellent tour guide for the DMZ and provided a lot of interesting personal insights. The JSA Panmunjom guide was not quite as good but the experience itself of being there was memorable.

Doing what: Korean Demilitarized Zone (DMZ) and JSA Panmunjom Tour from Seoul

Mark M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Excellent. All day trip was great fun. Very nice tour director. Tunnel almost better than the the JSA.

Thank you!

Doing what: Korean Demilitarized Zone (DMZ) and JSA Panmunjom Tour from Seoul

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message