Nowhere is the tension between North and South Korea more palpable than in the no-man’s-land known as the Korean Demilitarized Zone, or DMZ. As a divided nation, only 2.5 miles (4 kilometers) separate the North from the South in what is the most ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 406 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Leanne B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great tour. I loved our tour guide, Sunny Lee. She was very knowledgeable and extremely nice and accommodating. She helped us to find our way to a destination upon the end of our tour by pointing us in the right direction and writing directions in Korean for any taxi driver or train information person that we may need.

Doing what: DMZ Past and Present: Korean Demilitarized Zone Tour from Seoul

Andy Yu Chun L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Very well organized. It's a unique experience to look over North Korea from the south without entering the country.

Doing what: Korean Demilitarized Zone (DMZ) and JSA Panmunjom Tour from Seoul

jay k

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

I highly recommend JSA area. You can really feel the tension between South and North.

I don't really recommend 3rd tunnel. it's basically a tunnel. it's really a long walk.

Doing what: Korean Demilitarized Zone (DMZ) and JSA Panmunjom Tour from Seoul

Suzshi L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

My 11 year old son and I had such a great time learning about the DMZ and this invasion route. It was due to our amazing guide B.J. who was not only a gracious host, but also so well informed. He made the experience fun and meaningful, and we even learned about other aspects of Korean life and history. It was even better than I had expected, and would highly recommend this to everyone!

Doing what: Private DMZ Tour: North Korean Spy Commando Invasion Route

Daniel B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Rebecca was enthusiastic and spoke English very well. She was funny, knowledgeable and pleasant from start to end. The tour was very interesting. Be sure to buy REAL North Korean grape wine at the Train Station souvenir shop. That is the only place on the trip where you can buy anything from North Korea!

Doing what: DMZ Past and Present: Korean Demilitarized Zone Tour from Seoul

samanthas_postbox

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Alex was a WONDERFUL host for our day trip. He is very experienced, and he knows exactly where to take the tour group to get the 'real' experience - this is away from all the other tourists! We felt like it was a private chauffeured tour because we were given so much attention, and he went above and beyond to show us the countryside as well as answer all of my cultural questions even letting me practice my Korean phrases with him. Also, the lunch place was THE BEST! I'm not sure if everyone gets the amazing Donkatsu experience, but that was worth the money alone. But seriously, Alex was funny, knowledgeable, interested and interesting. Our time visiting the DMZ was enhanced by his presence and I would recommend this over any other tour. You would be very lucky to make it on to one of his tours. Thank you!

Doing what: Cheorwon DMZ Tour

Martin I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

One day before the tour started I got an email that it was cancelled because of military operations. I was disappointed and asked if there was any option to get another tour and what I got was awesome! Shrek the guide took me to several unique places and told me so much about Korean history. Because he served in the US army he knew many details about the todays defense tactics which was highly interesting. Shrek, thank you again for this tour! Anyone else: Go for it!

Doing what: Private DMZ Tour: North Korean Spy Commando Invasion Route

Nitika R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

It was very well planned. Our tour guide, Justin was well informed and conducted the tour in a very professional manner. It started on time and we were back also well on time with no delays. I am very glad I did this trip and had an amazing experience.

Doing what: Korean Demilitarized Zone (DMZ) and JSA Panmunjom Tour from Seoul

Sharon B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I've been to the Dora Observatory and 3rd infiltration tunnel before with the bus loads of other tourists. This tour was completely different! There were 4 of us in a minivan for the tour, and when we arrived in Cheorwon about 2 hours later, there were only about 5 other cars, all Koreans, joining the DMZ tour. There were no tour buses, no loud-speakers, no souvenir sellers, etc. We all drove into the secure area as a convoy, and our guide Alex gave us commentary in English while we were driving and also interpreted the Korean DMZ guide's commentary for us at each stop. We visited the 2nd infiltration tunnel, an observatory, former train station, and then had a huge lunch of Tonkatsu, which was delicious, before heading home. I would thoroughly recommend this tour for people who want an authentic experience and don't want to be herded around like cattle among thousands of other people at the other, more popular, DMZ area.

Doing what: Cheorwon DMZ Tour

Madeline G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was a very good day inspire of the poor weather. I can highly recommend this if with the D M Z the traveler can include Panmunjon. Our morning guide was not great but it did not detract greatly from the overall tour.

Doing what: Korean Demilitarized Zone (DMZ) and JSA Panmunjom Tour from Seoul

Stefan Sweden

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The highlight of our Seoul trip. Both parts of the tour were great DMZ and JSA. We had an early tour pickup at hotel at 07:30 which seems like a negative, but the result was arriving at every spot along the tour before the crowds so we would leave when all the other buses arrived.

Doing what: Korean Demilitarized Zone (DMZ) and JSA Panmunjom Tour from Seoul

Justine A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Very good tour!! Tour guide was engaging and personable. If you suffer from claustrophobia, have difficulty walking or are generally unfit you may struggle going into the tunnel as there is a steep incline and the tunnel itself is confined. Otherwise I recommend as a must do!!

Doing what: DMZ Past and Present: Korean Demilitarized Zone Tour from Seoul

Antonio N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Very interesting and a perfect timing.

Doing what: DMZ Past and Present: Korean Demilitarized Zone Tour from Seoul

Neil S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This is a must do when in South Korea. One of the best tours I have been on in my travels around the world. Very interesting and professionally done.

Doing what: Korean Demilitarized Zone (DMZ) and JSA Panmunjom Tour from Seoul

Rachel I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The tour was very informative and well-paced. The places we visited were very interesting and relevant to the history of Seoul. In just half a day, we learned so much about the country. Sunny was simply amazing--knowledgeable and entertaining at the same time (she and #39;s exactly what her name means!).

Doing what: DMZ Past and Present: Korean Demilitarized Zone Tour from Seoul

Allen B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Very interesting for anyone who enjoys the study of history and current events. Professionally done.

Doing what: Korean Demilitarized Zone (DMZ) and JSA Panmunjom Tour from Seoul

Roslyn R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was a very interesting tour. We had 2 different guides for the DMZ and the JSA and neither spoke great English so it was difficult to understand the stories they were telling. The locations we were taken to were interesting and seeing the soldiers from North Korea close up made it very real.

Doing what: Korean Demilitarized Zone (DMZ) and JSA Panmunjom Tour from Seoul

Susan H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was informative and interesting. Our guide gave us very good history and facts. We didn and #39;t realize it until we arrived to view the introduction video that we visited on the 66th anniversary of the start of the Korean War which increased the significance of the tour for us.

Doing what: Full-Day Paju DMZ and 3rd Infiltration Tunnel Tour with Lunch from Seoul

Emily T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Well organized and a great experience.

Doing what: Korean Demilitarized Zone (DMZ) and JSA Panmunjom Tour from Seoul

Nhon T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This trip was so amazing, but most memorial part of it is our tour guide, BJ. If you need a knowledgeable safe drive, considerate, then you should request to have him as your tour guide. Beside, the lunch was so good too.

Doing what: Private DMZ Tour: North Korean Spy Commando Invasion Route

Emilie M Philippines

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

and #34;In front of them all and #34; in DMZ, escorted by JSA soldier- under the watchful eye of lone NoKor soldier, Bridge of No Return, 3rd Tunnel with a depth of 73 meters below ground, Dora Observatory allowed us to get a view of the DMZ and Gaesung Village in North Korea- amazing and surereal!

Doing what: Korean Demilitarized Zone (DMZ) and JSA Panmunjom Tour from Seoul

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message