Insadong (Insa-dong), Seoul’s cultural and artistic hub, is the place to go to shop for local crafts, visit a traditional Korean tea shop or catch an impromptu street performance. The quaint neighborhood, located in Jongno-gu district, houses one of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 406 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Kathleen V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

The tour guide Ms Rebecca Kim was good and organized. She was even very patient with the annoying members of the group. Don and #39;t miss this tour when in Seoul.

Doing what: DMZ Past and Present: Korean Demilitarized Zone Tour from Seoul

Karin B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

We had a terrific guide named Hans who is a Captain in the army and had so much knowledge of the DMZ. It was incredible to hear his stories and then see in person the different areas of the DMZ. Well worth the visit.

Doing what: DMZ Past and Present: Korean Demilitarized Zone Tour from Seoul

Maria Theresa r

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

First of all, pick up time was on the dot. The tour was very educational, thru the tour guide who was very knowledgeable of the country. I was really pleased with the tour, well planned and everything went so smooth.

Doing what: Korean Palace and Market Tour in Seoul Including Insadong and Gyeongbokgung Palace

Suzette Puerto Rico

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Must do! The history of these two countries is so incredible. Came out of these tour feeling like a big part of history. Amazing feeling to be in the border of these two countries and get a glimpse of how it looks like from the other side.

Doing what: DMZ Past and Present: Korean Demilitarized Zone Tour from Seoul

mermanatlantis United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Our guide, David, made this trip extra special. He was so knowledgable and entertaining. Great place to visit if you're ever in Korea!

Doing what: Korean Demilitarized Zone (DMZ) Half-Day Tour from Seoul

Solveig K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

What an interesting day it was!! Our guide gave a facinating picture of Korea's history and what it has meant for today's situation. I was awestruck being so close to the border and even heard the propagand loudspeakers! Recomend this trip to anyone !!

Doing what: DMZ Past and Present: Korean Demilitarized Zone Tour from Seoul

Robert T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Very interesting tour. Our tour guide was great, very knowledgeable and friendly, always explaining what we were seeing, the history, where we could and could not take pictures

Doing what: DMZ Past and Present: Korean Demilitarized Zone Tour from Seoul

Alicia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Our tour guide was helpful, friendly, and informative. There is a lot to see on this tour, so be prepared for a busy day. Lunch was delicious. I wish there had been more time to look around the markets, and less time at the palaces. Overall though, a good tour and would definitely recommend.

Doing what: Korean Palace and Market Tour in Seoul Including Insadong and Gyeongbokgung Palace

Ed D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

EXCELLENT TOUR ! YOU WILL HAVE A LOT OF PHOTO OPS WITH THIS. THE CHANGING OF THE GUARD IS FABULOUS ! JUST DO IT !

Doing what: Korean Palace and Market Tour in Seoul Including Insadong and Gyeongbokgung Palace

Joe J Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Great tour, guide had a lot knowledge, really enjoyed it.

Doing what: DMZ Past and Present: Korean Demilitarized Zone Tour from Seoul

kaisa.jaarva

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Well organized, except once they didn't tell that we change bus, but I got my coat and scarf back to the hotel. Some people don't keep timetable. A flag for the guide would be needed, to show where he/she is. Some are slow and get out from the group. I was the last one left, but guide took me back to the hotel by taxi thanks for that!

Doing what: Korean Palace and Market Tour in Seoul Including Insadong and Gyeongbokgung Palace

Darcy J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We were being picked up at our hotel at 8am. They were running 10 minutes late and called the hotel to let us know. The guide on our tour spoke good English. Our first stop was Imjingak . We only had 15 minutes there, I wish that we had more time. The next stop was the Third Tunnel. This was my favorite stop of the trip. Note that you cannot take your camera into the tunnel. Definitely bring a 500 won coin to use in the telescope at the Dora Observatory to view North Korea up close. We did the tour with lunch that was at an authentic Korean restaurant. The only thing I didn't like was that we had to stop at a Duty Free shop near Seoul Station before the tour ended for those without lunch, and before we went to lunch. I know this is a way they make money, but I'd rather not stop there, or at least have less time there and more at the actual DMZ sites.

Doing what: Korean Demilitarized Zone (DMZ) Half-Day Tour from Seoul

Ping C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The tour is very interesting and the guide is very helpful

Doing what: Korean Demilitarized Zone (DMZ) Half-Day Tour from Seoul

Michael H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Had a really enjoyable time on this day tour - our guide, David, was really knowledgeable and approachable and his English was excellent. There's much to learn about the conflict and it can feel quite surreal being in the DMZ. Only thing is, as with every other tour company I'm sure, is that you've got limited time on each stop, whereas it would have been better to allow for a bit more time to read the information on display and explore each area more. The lunch at the end was very delicious also.

Doing what: DMZ Past and Present: Korean Demilitarized Zone Tour from Seoul

Pamela F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Excellent tour guide Rebekah who made it all come alive. Very efficiently run, and she did her best to help us 1 know what to expect and 2 be certain of getting all the good pix we could.

Doing what: DMZ Past and Present: Korean Demilitarized Zone Tour from Seoul

clara c

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Very good tour for people like us to cover focal points. I am glad I booked this full day tour for my family

Doing what: Seoul City Sightseeing Tour Including Gyeongbokgung Palace, N Seoul Tower and Namsangol Hanok Village

Jennifer H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

fantastic tour guides. lovely lunch. really good value

Doing what: Korean Palace and Market Tour in Seoul Including Insadong and Gyeongbokgung Palace

Gordon M United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

A fascinating trip to the border. I thoroughly enjoyed it.

Doing what: DMZ Past and Present: Korean Demilitarized Zone Tour from Seoul

Clare Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

I found this tour to be very informative. The guide was very knowledgable and spoke extremely good English. I would not hesitate to recommend this tour

Doing what: DMZ Past and Present: Korean Demilitarized Zone Tour from Seoul

Leanne B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great tour. I loved our tour guide, Sunny Lee. She was very knowledgeable and extremely nice and accommodating. She helped us to find our way to a destination upon the end of our tour by pointing us in the right direction and writing directions in Korean for any taxi driver or train information person that we may need.

Doing what: DMZ Past and Present: Korean Demilitarized Zone Tour from Seoul

Hampton

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This full day tour was execelent, and I would recommend it to anyone. We saw the changeing of the guard at Gyeonbokgung Palace, went to Insadong market place, had a great lunch in a small out of the way restauarant. The only downside was the side trip to the Ginsing Center, which was a captive market to force us to buy a product we did not really want. But overall I liked the tour and would recommend it.

Doing what: Korean Palace and Market Tour in Seoul Including Insadong and Gyeongbokgung Palace

Daniel B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Rebecca was enthusiastic and spoke English very well. She was funny, knowledgeable and pleasant from start to end. The tour was very interesting. Be sure to buy REAL North Korean grape wine at the Train Station souvenir shop. That is the only place on the trip where you can buy anything from North Korea!

Doing what: DMZ Past and Present: Korean Demilitarized Zone Tour from Seoul

Tiffany T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was GREAT! Sunny was an awesome tour guide and had so many funny stories! She really connected with the group and I would have loved to chat with her for hours! This tour was so informative and interesting and really piqued my interest of the history of Korea. The shuttle pick-up and such was a little confusing in the morning but the tour guides cleared it up fairly quickly. The 3rd infiltration tunnel was pretty steep and slippery so if you haven't exercised in a while or have heart problems, I wouldn't recommend it. It was a little anticlimactic because you get to the end and you see concrete slabs but I think Sunny's knowledge and story-telling really makes up for it. We also visited Dora observatory, which to me, was the most interesting part. When looking through the binoculars, you could actually see North Koreans going about their daily business. It was really crazy! We also visited Dorasan Station where you can pick up souvenirs and see the completely built out train station and airport if the Korean War ever ends. It was really interesting and also a little sad because it was so empty. And then I thought the stop at the ginseng market was going to take forever but we were only there for 15 minutes! It was great! I really enjoyed it and if you get Sunny, count yourself very lucky! A quirkier, funnier, and more knowledgable tour guide I cannot imagine!

Just one other sidenote, we had read that we needed to dress nicely on some blogs when in close proximity to North Korea but this is completely untrue. Just dress comfortably and you'll be just fine.

Doing what: Korean Demilitarized Zone (DMZ) Half-Day Tour from Seoul

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message