Seoul ATTRACTIONS See all

Namdaemun Market

If you need to do any shopping in Seoul, whether it be for clothes, housewares, jewelry, appliances or souvenirs, you’ll find it for a good price somewhere in the packed alleys and streets of Namdaemun Market. Ginseng, outdoors gear, imported goods ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 125 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Jennifer H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

fantastic tour guides. lovely lunch. really good value

Doing what: Korean Palace and Market Tour in Seoul Including Insadong and Gyeongbokgung Palace

Skye D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

I had arrived in Seoul on my own and decided to book this tour so I could get my bearings. Being alone in a large city was daunting until I went on this tour. Ben was very accommodating and extremely knowledgeable about Korean history and culture. I learned so much more on this tour than I would have exploring on my own. We walked on main roads but also back streets which I found extremely interesting.
I opted for the full day option and if you have the time, I recommend this as you get to have not only a great lunch but also watch the amazing performance of Youll.
I highly recommend this tour if you want to explore this beautiful city like a local, it's worth every cent.
Thank you, Ben!

Doing what: Morning Walking Tour of Namdaemun Market, Namsan Mountain and Myeongdong Including Full-Day Option

Hampton

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Ben was very knowledgeable about Korean History and culture. We met and went on a walking tour of the Namdaemum Market, Myeongdong Street, and changed plans from the Namsan mountain, to another marketplace on Jong-Gu street. Fantastic to see all these places in one day. Ben's english was very good, and I would hightly recommend this tour to anyone.

Doing what: Morning Walking Tour of Namdaemun Market, Namsan Mountain and Myeongdong Including Full-Day Option

Hampton

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Ben was very knowledgeable about Korean History and culture. We met and went on a walking tour of the Namdaemum Market, Myeongdong Street, and changed plans from the Namsan mountain, to another marketplace on Jong-Gu street. Fantastic to see all these places in one day. Ben's english was very good, and I would hightly recommend this tour to anyone.

Doing what: Morning Walking Tour of Namdaemun Market, Namsan Mountain and Myeongdong Including Full-Day Option

Hampton

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This full day tour was execelent, and I would recommend it to anyone. We saw the changeing of the guard at Gyeonbokgung Palace, went to Insadong market place, had a great lunch in a small out of the way restauarant. The only downside was the side trip to the Ginsing Center, which was a captive market to force us to buy a product we did not really want. But overall I liked the tour and would recommend it.

Doing what: Korean Palace and Market Tour in Seoul Including Insadong and Gyeongbokgung Palace

Julie C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Was definitely a packed day. Perfect for our travel schedule as we had limited time. Our guide was very helpful in teaching us about the palaces. We found it extremely interesting to learn about Korean Ginseng--we had no idea. Very, Very informative. We will always consider Insadong our favorite market that we will definitely visit again if we come to Korea again.

Doing what: Korean Palace and Market Tour in Seoul Including Insadong and Gyeongbokgung Palace

Frank H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

they picked me up on time, the tour guide was very informative. I enjoyed the day and the food was very good at lunch

Doing what: Korean Palace and Market Tour in Seoul Including Insadong and Gyeongbokgung Palace

dinahrayfitzgerald United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was a fantastic introduction to Seoul. Our guide Sara was so patient and informative and her English was great. We went to Jongmyo shrine instead of Changdeokgung because it was Monday and the palace was closed. But the shrine was so interesting and a beautiful oasis in the middle of a busy city. Much to our surprise this was private tour. I guess because there were no other reservations. I highly recommend using I love Korea tour company.

Doing what: Seoul Afternoon Tour Including Palgakjeong, Changdeokgug and Namdaemun Market

AiLi L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We got to see many places and market shoppings in a day. Angie was our tour guide. Her stories about the palace was funny and entertaining. She gave us sufficient free time to walk around the market. No push to buy any ginseng or amethyst. No rush. Very good. I would recommend the tour.

Doing what: Korean Palace and Market Tour in Seoul Including Insadong and Gyeongbokgung Palace

Wendy L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This was a comprehensive tour of the main palaces and temples of Seoul. Our guide, Jay Song, gave a good history of all the places and paced the tour as to not miss the changing of the guards. We stopped for a Korean lunch in the Insadong district which was very pleasant. This was a good briefing of the city so that we were able to return to a couple districts to explore further on our own,

Doing what: Korean Palace and Market Tour in Seoul Including Insadong and Gyeongbokgung Palace

Sharon M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

I highly recommend this tour, it allowed me to visit three of the most famous places in Seoul with a very knowledgeable guide, Ben Kim. For all the tour he clearly explained the history of the places as well as others curiosities and he was really accommodating to my requests.
The duration of the tour was just right and it ended at Myeongdong Street, therefore is possible to stay there after the tour and enjoy some shopping.
In conclusion I recommend this well planned tour and if you book it be sure to have Ben Kim as your guide!

Doing what: Morning Walking Tour of Namdaemun Market, Namsan Mountain and Myeongdong Including Full-Day Option

Kathryn Rachel B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

I really enjoyed this tour. Ben is a really good guide. He is very knowledgeable about his city and clearly explained different points of history or architecture to me as I asked. It is also very clear that he enjoys sharing his city with foreigners. As we walked from point to point, he would also take back roads and paths so that he could show more of the city than is generally seen. He was flexible as also adjusted the tour as I was going solo.

This tour is highly recommended for the evening-night view. The tower and city are both so beautiful all lit up, and I think that, as a tourist, you can understand more about Myeongdong Street in the evening craziness--and it was crazy! But a lot of fun. The tour is only a couple hours long but gives you a good understanding of the sites, and then leaves you with lots of time after to spend the night how you wish.

Doing what: Morning Walking Tour of Namdaemun Market, Namsan Mountain and Myeongdong Including Full-Day Option

Stanton K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We had a wonderful, wonderful tour with Saena Sweet Lee. She is an asset to the company.

Doing what: Korean Palace and Market Tour in Seoul Including Insadong and Gyeongbokgung Palace

James H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Half-day tour of Seoul including Namdaemun Market, Namsan Mountain and Myeongdong Street

This is an excellent late-afternoon/evening tour to get a good overview and history of Seoul.

Namdaemun Market, what I would call a traditional style farmers market, is the largest and oldest market in South Korea with numerous shops lining the streets near the Namdaemun Gate. This is ideal for getting a quick snack before taking a cable car ride to reach our second destination, Namsan Mountain which offers a 360-degree view of the Seoul skyline. Ask your guide about the padlocks on the observation deck. We took a bus to Myeongdong Street, modern market with numerous commercial and shopping attractions, and food stores. You will cover a lot of ground in this short tour, but these locations can be revisited allowing you to spend more time depending on what catches your interest. All entry tickets, bus transportation from the Namsan Mountain, and refreshments were provided by my tour guide, Ben, who has an extensive knowledge on the history of these attractions.

Doing what: Morning Walking Tour of Namdaemun Market, Namsan Mountain and Myeongdong Including Full-Day Option

Karen D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Satisfying and good value for money. Our guide, Rebecca, was very friendly, helpful and professional. We were able to cover all the places we wanted to visit in one day and lots of good shopping too!

Doing what: Korean Palace and Market Tour in Seoul Including Insadong and Gyeongbokgung Palace

Brandolin P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This was an amazing day, and tour guide Sunny was fantastic. Intellegent, informative, funny, and diligent about communicating with every guest, even though there were eleven of us from five countries! This is a super packed 8-9 hour day, be sure you're up to it or consider a half day tour. Several folks faded after lunch and opted to stay on the bus. Bummer. As other reviewers have noted, the ginseng and amethyst stops are clear money grabs, but you don't stay long and I assume they pay the tour company for stops, which may help keep the price of the tour extremely reasonable? Anyway, incredible day, try to get Sunny as your guide!

Doing what: Korean Palace and Market Tour in Seoul Including Insadong and Gyeongbokgung Palace

Rona L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

My husband and I had never been to Korea before and this tour was a wonderful introduction to Seoul. What made it even better was that we had a small group 5 of very compatible travelers. Our guide, Sonny, was the best she was friendly, concerned about the needs of her group, spoke English very well, and shared interesting and important historical and cultural information. We highly recommend this tour. Keep in mind that it includes a good deal of walking.

Doing what: Korean Palace and Market Tour in Seoul Including Insadong and Gyeongbokgung Palace

manoela B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

very interesting with a good guide explaining things very well.
Lunch quite palatable.. and enough of it.
A long day but enjoyed it very much.

Doing what: Korean Palace and Market Tour in Seoul Including Insadong and Gyeongbokgung Palace

Anne M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

tour is a great way to see several of Seouls palaces and markets in a day. Guide Michelle was lovely -very informative but so warm and friendly. Includes a couple of shopping stops ginsing and then jewellery but fairly brief and did not feel too pressured to buy.

Doing what: Korean Palace and Market Tour in Seoul Including Insadong and Gyeongbokgung Palace

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message