To understand South Korea, you have to also understand its other half in the North and the ongoing conflict that separates them. One of Seoul’s top attractions is actually located several hours to the North, at the demilitarized zone (DMZ) that ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 130 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

kmisener

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Our DMZ Tour Guide, Shrek Lee was extraordinary. He tailored the tour to our teen and preteen sons' interests and delivered a day long adventure that they will never forget. As happens often, the JSA cancelled at the last minute, so we switched to the Private DMZ Spy Invasion Route 2nd Tunnel. Prior to the tour, Mr. Lee communicated the status of the JSA and was very responsive to our requests. Shrek can get access to just about anywhere you want to go within and outside of the DMZ. Submitting your passport information to Mr. Lee is necessary for him to secure the booking and you must have your passport with you on the tour.
You simply can't go to South Korea without taking this tour. Shrek Lee is fluent in English, Korean, Chinese and Japanese and the best tour guide we've ever had.

Doing what: Ultimate DMZ and JSA: Private Tour including North Korea Spy Commando Invasion Route

Michal M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

It was great expirience. BJ, our guide, has plenty of knowledge about DMZ and korean national and millitary history. We have visited many places including korean war memorial and dmz. We have seen north korea territory, and fence where north korea infiltration commando came to south korea. We've also had great lunch, where we first time ate barbecue duck way koreans do. Thank you BJ.

Doing what: Private DMZ Tour: North Korean Spy Commando Invasion Route

Margaret H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This tour was great! Our tour guide Jinny was very helpful and knowledgeable, and for all that is included I think the price was very reasonable. I would definitely recommend this tour to anyone looking to experience the DMZ.

Doing what: Full-Day Tour of DMZ Including a Pistol Shooting Experience

Karin B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

We had a terrific guide named Hans who is a Captain in the army and had so much knowledge of the DMZ. It was incredible to hear his stories and then see in person the different areas of the DMZ. Well worth the visit.

Doing what: DMZ Past and Present: Korean Demilitarized Zone Tour from Seoul

Elizabeth R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was a great tour. Our guide spoke English well, he was humourous, and very knowledgable. We had enough time to explore the tunnel and the view platform. Would definitely recommend this half day tour to the DMZ.

Doing what: Half-Day Korean DMZ Tour from Seoul

spacepod7

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The real value of this private tour vs the group tour for the 2 of us was spending a full day with an ex-senior officer in the ROK military police who drove us to the various DMZ and JSA highlights. It was a great opportunity to ask him many questions not just about the DMZ and its history, but also South Korea itself. Though we weren't able to visit all the promised attractions such as Imjingak Peace Park and the War Memorial of Korea the latter we ended up doing on our own another day, this was still an amazing tour. The first major half consisted of joining a group bus tour that led us into the JSA/Panmunjon with all its various restrictions on everything, i.e. what to photograph, wear, how to behave, line up, etc. Note: although Viator didn't indicate it, shorts that expose the knee are prohibited and continual accompaniment by an armed soldier. Tense is the best adjective to describe the atmosphere at Panmunjom, the former truce village. The JSA portion ends with a visit to the gift shop but you should skip this and go upstairs to the 2nd floor museum, which was vastly more informative and interesting. When we rejoined our tour guide/driver for the second half, we went to the DMZ where we surrendered our passports temporarily and visited a military observation outpost. There we were given a briefing about the 4 km-wide buffer zone. At the outpost, one could see views of the North Korean countryside of which we weren't allowed to take pictures and manned observation posts. We also walked part of the foot patrol path taken by ROK soldiers alongside the southern barbed wire fence. All in all, a day well spent!

Doing what: Ultimate DMZ and JSA: Private Tour including North Korea Spy Commando Invasion Route

Rejean C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The tour was good and we had a really good tour guide named Kim. He was knowledgeable, helpful and pleasant and we would highly recommend him. The DMZ part of the tour was very interesting and well worth it. The Dragon Hill Spa was OK but it took a long time to work out what we were able to do and then how to do it. I would have happily left that part out.

Doing what: Korean Demilitarized Zone and N Seoul Tower Private Tour

Vanessa R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

David Kang was an excellent tour guide for the DMZ and provided a lot of interesting personal insights. The JSA Panmunjom guide was not quite as good but the experience itself of being there was memorable.

Doing what: Korean Demilitarized Zone (DMZ) and JSA Panmunjom Tour from Seoul

Darcy J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We were being picked up at our hotel at 8am. They were running 10 minutes late and called the hotel to let us know. The guide on our tour spoke good English. Our first stop was Imjingak . We only had 15 minutes there, I wish that we had more time. The next stop was the Third Tunnel. This was my favorite stop of the trip. Note that you cannot take your camera into the tunnel. Definitely bring a 500 won coin to use in the telescope at the Dora Observatory to view North Korea up close. We did the tour with lunch that was at an authentic Korean restaurant. The only thing I didn't like was that we had to stop at a Duty Free shop near Seoul Station before the tour ended for those without lunch, and before we went to lunch. I know this is a way they make money, but I'd rather not stop there, or at least have less time there and more at the actual DMZ sites.

Doing what: Korean Demilitarized Zone (DMZ) Half-Day Tour from Seoul

Marie-Louise S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

An amazing experience. The tour guide for the DMZ portion was more fluent in English but you have to do the JSA section to get the full experience. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Korean Demilitarized Zone (DMZ) and JSA Panmunjom Tour from Seoul

Michael H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Had a really enjoyable time on this day tour - our guide, David, was really knowledgeable and approachable and his English was excellent. There's much to learn about the conflict and it can feel quite surreal being in the DMZ. Only thing is, as with every other tour company I'm sure, is that you've got limited time on each stop, whereas it would have been better to allow for a bit more time to read the information on display and explore each area more. The lunch at the end was very delicious also.

Doing what: DMZ Past and Present: Korean Demilitarized Zone Tour from Seoul

Natalio Isidoro P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Very interesting tour and experience. The tension felt in DMZ border was incredible. I recommend this trip to everyone visiting South Korea.

Doing what: Korean Demilitarized Zone (DMZ) and JSA Panmunjom Tour from Seoul

hornster

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We had a fantastic time on this tour. Brian the tour guide was knowledgable, friendly and polite. We spent two hours in the National War Museum which was a tad short but still good to see the major exhibits. The visit to the DMZ and tunnel 3 was great. We are glad we went on this tour.

Doing what: Full Day Korean DMZ Tour including the War Memorial of Korea

Kenneth M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Seeing both the JSA and DMZ is a must. Don't just do one of the tours that does not do both. This was wonderful.

Doing what: Ultimate DMZ and JSA: Private Tour including North Korea Spy Commando Invasion Route

Melanie S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

It was clearly the best part of our trip. Im SO glad that we did it with the JSA part too and not just the DMZ. The DMZ and the JSA tour are led by two different companies and so also have different guides for the parts. The lunch is served at a diner in the middle of nowhere and it was not that great. You dont get to decide what you are going to eat and the place was a bit boring. The guide for the DMZ was great! She was very knowledgeable and spoke good english and made the whole tour a great experience. The guide for the JSA part of the tour was not good at all. His english was poor and barely understandable even when he repeted the same instructions several times because no one understood. The organisation on the JSA part of the tour was overall messy and confusing but the destination was worth it!

Doing what: Korean Demilitarized Zone (DMZ) and JSA Panmunjom Tour from Seoul

Suzshi L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

My 11 year old son and I had such a great time learning about the DMZ and this invasion route. It was due to our amazing guide B.J. who was not only a gracious host, but also so well informed. He made the experience fun and meaningful, and we even learned about other aspects of Korean life and history. It was even better than I had expected, and would highly recommend this to everyone!

Doing what: Private DMZ Tour: North Korean Spy Commando Invasion Route

Reyna M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

hands down 100% our tour guide was super sweet, and very informative. She was very helpful with the language barriers we encounter, and my baby who was having a rough day. She really made the whole experience great. We were able to see a lot, and had a good time shooting after the DMZ.

Doing what: Full-Day Tour of DMZ Including a Pistol Shooting Experience

Stefan Sweden

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The highlight of our Seoul trip. Both parts of the tour were great DMZ and JSA. We had an early tour pickup at hotel at 07:30 which seems like a negative, but the result was arriving at every spot along the tour before the crowds so we would leave when all the other buses arrived.

Doing what: Korean Demilitarized Zone (DMZ) and JSA Panmunjom Tour from Seoul

Roslyn R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was a very interesting tour. We had 2 different guides for the DMZ and the JSA and neither spoke great English so it was difficult to understand the stories they were telling. The locations we were taken to were interesting and seeing the soldiers from North Korea close up made it very real.

Doing what: Korean Demilitarized Zone (DMZ) and JSA Panmunjom Tour from Seoul

Emilie M Philippines

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

and #34;In front of them all and #34; in DMZ, escorted by JSA soldier- under the watchful eye of lone NoKor soldier, Bridge of No Return, 3rd Tunnel with a depth of 73 meters below ground, Dora Observatory allowed us to get a view of the DMZ and Gaesung Village in North Korea- amazing and surereal!

Doing what: Korean Demilitarized Zone (DMZ) and JSA Panmunjom Tour from Seoul

Ronald B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The pick up was on time. The driver had my name on an iPad screen so we found each other easily. We picked up a group from another hotel. They had left the same conference as I did so we made friends easily. The guide, Brian was friendly and so everyone was comfortable early on. The War Memorial was amazing. Wish I had more time there. We had to leave Seoul early to get to the several stops along the DMZ. We visited a look out to see a North Korean village, had a duck lunch at a South Korean village diner. It may have been odd if I didn't feel comfortable with the rest of the group as it was a self serve family style meal. We went to a military outpost and had an insightful interaction with a young training officer who explained the day to day operations guarding a section of border. We finally visited an area where the North Korean commandos entered to try to assassinate the South Korean leader. The last bit was a bit staged. This tour does not actually enter tunnels, but that should be obvious from the preview when you book. Great day and good value for money.

Doing what: Private DMZ Tour: North Korean Spy Commando Invasion Route

sdinakar

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

If you're visiting Seoul, this tour is a must. I will highly recommend doing the JSA along with the DMZ. Going to the JSA is on a totally different level of it's own. Amazing experience!

Doing what: Korean Demilitarized Zone (DMZ) and JSA Panmunjom Tour from Seoul

Joe B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Sunny was great, she was funny and passionate about the history of Korea and the DMZ. She expressed optimism for a future reunification of North and South Korea. Highly recommend Sunny for leading the tour.
It would have been nice for a bit more time at some of the stops. The JSA stop was rushed at the photo opportunity at the conference building and at the gift shop. Unfortunately, getting everyone back to the back on time in a timely manner was a problem at almost evey stop. I was one of the first to miss getting back on time and time is lost that way. If you take this tour, it is important to return to the bus at the appointed time, otherwise everyone loses valuable time at other stops. There is a constant flow if tours to the DMZ and JSA with lots of people so a smooth flow is critical.
Thank you Sunny and Justin for a good day.

Doing what: Korean Demilitarized Zone (DMZ) and JSA Panmunjom Tour from Seoul

Katarzyna M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This is an amazing tour! I enjoyed every minut of it! Definetly worth to see place! Tunnel at DMZ - cool, Train Station - super, Panmunjom - best! Even soldier from North Korea let us make a look of photos! At the day of trip weather wasnt so great - it was havy rained and windy but still trip was great! Guides told us many interesting things and even show them if it was possible! And Mrs 김소미 - Thank you for song!

Doing what: Korean Demilitarized Zone (DMZ) and JSA Panmunjom Tour from Seoul

LFG M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Very cool tour. Especially the JSA part. Very effeciently run. It gives great insight and information about the history of the 2 koreas. Also being right in the middle of the DMZ on the exact border under UN protection makes it rather special.

Doing what: Korean Demilitarized Zone (DMZ) and JSA Panmunjom Tour from Seoul

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message