To understand South Korea, you have to also understand its other half in the North and the ongoing conflict that separates them. One of Seoul’s top attractions is actually located several hours to the North, at the demilitarized zone (DMZ) that ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 106 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Suzshi L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

My 11 year old son and I had such a great time learning about the DMZ and this invasion route. It was due to our amazing guide B.J. who was not only a gracious host, but also so well informed. He made the experience fun and meaningful, and we even learned about other aspects of Korean life and history. It was even better than I had expected, and would highly recommend this to everyone!

Doing what: Private DMZ Tour: North Korean Spy Commando Invasion Route

Reyna M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

hands down 100% our tour guide was super sweet, and very informative. She was very helpful with the language barriers we encounter, and my baby who was having a rough day. She really made the whole experience great. We were able to see a lot, and had a good time shooting after the DMZ.

Doing what: Full-Day Tour of DMZ Including a Pistol Shooting Experience

Stefan Sweden

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The highlight of our Seoul trip. Both parts of the tour were great DMZ and JSA. We had an early tour pickup at hotel at 07:30 which seems like a negative, but the result was arriving at every spot along the tour before the crowds so we would leave when all the other buses arrived.

Doing what: Korean Demilitarized Zone (DMZ) and JSA Panmunjom Tour from Seoul

Roslyn R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was a very interesting tour. We had 2 different guides for the DMZ and the JSA and neither spoke great English so it was difficult to understand the stories they were telling. The locations we were taken to were interesting and seeing the soldiers from North Korea close up made it very real.

Doing what: Korean Demilitarized Zone (DMZ) and JSA Panmunjom Tour from Seoul

Emilie M Philippines

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

and #34;In front of them all and #34; in DMZ, escorted by JSA soldier- under the watchful eye of lone NoKor soldier, Bridge of No Return, 3rd Tunnel with a depth of 73 meters below ground, Dora Observatory allowed us to get a view of the DMZ and Gaesung Village in North Korea- amazing and surereal!

Doing what: Korean Demilitarized Zone (DMZ) and JSA Panmunjom Tour from Seoul

Ronald B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The pick up was on time. The driver had my name on an iPad screen so we found each other easily. We picked up a group from another hotel. They had left the same conference as I did so we made friends easily. The guide, Brian was friendly and so everyone was comfortable early on. The War Memorial was amazing. Wish I had more time there. We had to leave Seoul early to get to the several stops along the DMZ. We visited a look out to see a North Korean village, had a duck lunch at a South Korean village diner. It may have been odd if I didn't feel comfortable with the rest of the group as it was a self serve family style meal. We went to a military outpost and had an insightful interaction with a young training officer who explained the day to day operations guarding a section of border. We finally visited an area where the North Korean commandos entered to try to assassinate the South Korean leader. The last bit was a bit staged. This tour does not actually enter tunnels, but that should be obvious from the preview when you book. Great day and good value for money.

Doing what: Private DMZ Tour: North Korean Spy Commando Invasion Route

sdinakar

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

If you're visiting Seoul, this tour is a must. I will highly recommend doing the JSA along with the DMZ. Going to the JSA is on a totally different level of it's own. Amazing experience!

Doing what: Korean Demilitarized Zone (DMZ) and JSA Panmunjom Tour from Seoul

Joe B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Sunny was great, she was funny and passionate about the history of Korea and the DMZ. She expressed optimism for a future reunification of North and South Korea. Highly recommend Sunny for leading the tour.
It would have been nice for a bit more time at some of the stops. The JSA stop was rushed at the photo opportunity at the conference building and at the gift shop. Unfortunately, getting everyone back to the back on time in a timely manner was a problem at almost evey stop. I was one of the first to miss getting back on time and time is lost that way. If you take this tour, it is important to return to the bus at the appointed time, otherwise everyone loses valuable time at other stops. There is a constant flow if tours to the DMZ and JSA with lots of people so a smooth flow is critical.
Thank you Sunny and Justin for a good day.

Doing what: Korean Demilitarized Zone (DMZ) and JSA Panmunjom Tour from Seoul

Katarzyna M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This is an amazing tour! I enjoyed every minut of it! Definetly worth to see place! Tunnel at DMZ - cool, Train Station - super, Panmunjom - best! Even soldier from North Korea let us make a look of photos! At the day of trip weather wasnt so great - it was havy rained and windy but still trip was great! Guides told us many interesting things and even show them if it was possible! And Mrs 김소미 - Thank you for song!

Doing what: Korean Demilitarized Zone (DMZ) and JSA Panmunjom Tour from Seoul

LFG M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Very cool tour. Especially the JSA part. Very effeciently run. It gives great insight and information about the history of the 2 koreas. Also being right in the middle of the DMZ on the exact border under UN protection makes it rather special.

Doing what: Korean Demilitarized Zone (DMZ) and JSA Panmunjom Tour from Seoul

david

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Do book the joint DMZ and JSA tour as those who book the DMZ only tour will miss visiting the blue huts at the actual border in the JSA. You will need a reasonable level of fitness to go down the tunnel under the border,going down is easy but the steep climb back up is a hard slog. At the bottom of the tunnel where it levels out it is difficult to stand upright if you are over 5ft tall,so you have to walk to where the tunnel is sealed in a stooped position,hard hats provided.There isn't much to see at the end of the tunnel but worth going for the experience. When in the JSA you will go inside the blue huts that straddle the actual border,once inside you can take photos standing inside DPRK.
A very good tour with a decent lunch provided, Highly recommend

Doing what: Korean Demilitarized Zone (DMZ) and JSA Panmunjom Tour from Seoul

David L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

The tensions were running high between the North and South Korean governments when we were scheduled to go. The South had just issued some major economic sanctions the day prior. We were thrilled that the tour was moving forward. We enjoyed learning about the historical context and timeline and exploring the Third Tunnel was interesting. The highlight for us, though, was visiting the JSA. Being right on the border and seeing the opposing sides' soldiers standing literally just meters away from each other. Do not do the DMZ tour without the JSA component. That would be a regret.

Doing what: Korean Demilitarized Zone (DMZ) and JSA Panmunjom Tour from Seoul

Deborah L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Very well planned. Our guide Michelle was very engaging, animated and very personable. She shared her personal perspective of N. Korea which made the drive to the DMZ zone interesting. She kept us abreast of what we were going to see and how much time we would have. Highly recommend. Best part of our trip to Seoul.

Doing what: DMZ Past and Present: Korean Demilitarized Zone Tour from Seoul

Alvin C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

It was a great learning experience.

Because of a miscommunication the confirmation email from the tour company was dumped into my Spam folder in my email, and we were advised also by the hotel officer that nobody from the tour came at the agreed time, we missed the hotel pick-up. However, Sunny and Erica were very gracious and asked us to meet them at another pick-up point, and they paid for the taxi fare.

On our way to Imjingak and DMZ, our tour guide, Erica, kept reminding us of important details so that we don't run into problems while visiting DMZ, such was when not to take photos because we will be in a military facility, the steep slope going to the tunnel so that we can gauge if we are healthy/fit enough to be able to go up and down the tunnel, to stay with the group so that we don't get lost since it is peak season of the tour, etc.

The way Erica provides information about the tour, the history of the Korean War, etc. is very inspiring and moving. I can sense in her the national pride of being able to fully recover and develop into a rich nation from being a totally poor and devastated post-war country, and the hopefulness for a reunification. It made me respect South Korea and its people even more.

When we got to the observation platform overlooking the demarcation line/Korean border and North Korea, my friend told me that some of the tour guides from the other tour groups simply pointed the tourists to the huge billboard and asked them to read the labels of the interesting spots, and them left them on their own. Our tour guide, Erica, however, took time to point and explain to us the interesting things we can see where is the flag pole, where is North Korea, where is the Kaesong Industrial Park, etc..

Overall, we were taken care of very well and Erica provided a very good learning time to us.

Doing what: DMZ Past and Present: Korean Demilitarized Zone Tour from Seoul

Amy I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was a very interesting tour and learnt a lot about Korea's history. The pick up was on time and transportation was comfortable, the tour initially went to the DMZ for the morning and we joined another tour group to visit the JSA in the afternoon.
Both tours, particularly the morning, covered a lot, we were going to different places and although sometimes you don't have a huge amount of time it was definitely enough to see each place. Personal highlights were the tunnels, the JSA itself and the view into North Korea. Unfortunately the weather wasn't great, I imagine on a clearer day you would have been able to see more into the North but that can't be helped.
Both guides we had were very engaging and were full of facts and information which I didn't know prior to the tour.
To anyone with an interest in North/South Korea, Korean History or history in general this is a must do tour.

Doing what: Korean Demilitarized Zone (DMZ) and JSA Panmunjom Tour from Seoul

Anish P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

A very enjoyable tour. DMZ was nice to see, but the JSA was very interesting and would defo recommend to go there over DMZ.
Excellent and very knowledgable tour guide. Very helpful and answered all sorts of questions. Very funny too.
Overall a great tour! A must do if visiting Seoul and South Korea

Doing what: Korean Demilitarized Zone (DMZ) and JSA Panmunjom Tour from Seoul

Michael C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

When I took the tour, I happened to be the only one signed up for that particular day. Regardless, Shrek showed up early, picked me up from my hostel, and gave and excellent tour. It is a very personal tour, Shrek is extremely knowledgeable and willing to answer any questions. For my particular time in Korea, the JSA was closed to tourists and I was a bit worried I wouldn't get the full experience, but on this tour we were still able to enter the DMZ, speak to soldiers, and see the actual routes used by North Korean spys. To top it all off, the lunch was authentic Korean BBQ at a local place and not touristy at all. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Private DMZ Tour: North Korean Spy Commando Invasion Route

Timothy W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Wow! What an experience! Mind blowing and massively eye opening. Our guide was excellent and the tour was soooo informative. Our guide educated us on the border, the conflicts and the current state of affairs between North and South Korea. I highly recommend for anyone to take a private tour of the DMZ and JSA if they want their mind blown and to have an experience like nothing else. Thanks Viator and we look forward to booking our next tour.

Doing what: Ultimate DMZ and JSA: Private Tour including North Korea Spy Commando Invasion Route

Lise C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The afternoon part of the tour was more exciting than the morning part, which just went to the tunnel and the train station, and other places around the DMZ but not actually in it. However, the morning tour guide was better at providing context for what we were seeing. The trip to the JSA in the afternoon was thrilling! Definitely a bucket list day. I can't imagine passing this up on a visit to Seoul.

Doing what: Korean Demilitarized Zone (DMZ) and JSA Panmunjom Tour from Seoul

Brian S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great way to see DMZ! Highly recommend to all!!!

Doing what: DMZ Past and Present: Korean Demilitarized Zone Tour from Seoul

Amanda H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

AWESOME TRIP. I 100 recommend booking the DMZ JSA tour. The JSA was a really unique place and really made it incredible... you'll definitely come out of it feeling like it was worth it. One of my favorite parts about visiting Korea. They give you access to the museum, one of the tunnels, and a full tour of the JSA. There is a dress code and code of conduct they take very seriously. Photography only allowed in limited areas -- they will let you know when and where you can and cannot take your selfies. Got to kinda walk into North Korea and it was sweet

Doing what: Korean Demilitarized Zone (DMZ) and JSA Panmunjom Tour from Seoul

patrick s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Best tour I took during my stay in South Korea. Michelle and her driver were outstanding!! her knowledge of the DMZ and history were spot on. loved seeing the DMZ without a large group. the outpost were very interesting. very well worth the money.

Doing what: Ultimate DMZ and JSA: Private Tour including North Korea Spy Commando Invasion Route

Ron H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

a good trip well organised ,we were a bit late back due to some demonstrations in the city ,the tour showed all about the DMZ and the tunnels what wasn't included was a trip to the actual border so if you want to see the North Koreans make sure you include that in your trip ,this one didn't but all round a great day out well guided by a lovely lady callled Sunny ,and she was !

Doing what: DMZ Past and Present: Korean Demilitarized Zone Tour from Seoul

Julie L G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The DMZ tour was one of the larger tours we went on during our trip to Seoul but thoroughly enjoyable. Our tour guide, Yunha, provided us with an insightful lesson on the history of Korea. She was a wonderful guide, ensuring that we were all accounted for and went out of her way to make sure we were comfortable and well informed. Would definitely recommend this tour to those who are visiting Seoul for the first time.

Doing what: DMZ Past and Present: Korean Demilitarized Zone Tour from Seoul

Bruce G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Fascinating visit through the DMZ with knowledgeable tour guide, and access to infrequently visited military instillations. Plus a wonderful and generous authentic Korean lunch.

Doing what: Ultimate DMZ and JSA: Private Tour including North Korea Spy Commando Invasion Route

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message