Seville ATTRACTIONS See all

Alcázar of Seville

Sights across the entire Spanish south have been shaped by centuries of Moorish and Catholic influence, and in few places is this more evident and captivating than at the Alcázar of Seville. This palace — or a version of it, anyway — started ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 41 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

rkjkey

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Our guide was enthusiastic and showed her enthusiasm for what she was doing. Alcazar was amazing!

Doing what: Seville Guided Tour into Alcazar

Dr P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

The Alcazar in Seville is a must-see for everyone. We took a guided Viator tour with an excellent guide whose enthusiasm and knowledge of the history of the Alcazar brought the palace to life! Loads of interesting stories and the beautiful interiors were a delight to the ear and eye.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive Tour: Early Access to Alcazar of Seville with Optional Cathedral Upgrade

Rozaliya V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

First I wan to thank our tour guide Rosa Roza. She was very nice, knowledgeable and speak fluent english. I think the best part of this tour is being a fan of game of throne I was able to see it in person. And at the same time understand the rich history of Seville and the importance of Alcazar. My fiancé help Rosa find her last two faces of the angel carved on the wall. ask her what i meant and she will love to tell you guys the story behind the angels

Doing what: Viator Exclusive Tour: Early Access to Alcazar of Seville with Optional Cathedral Upgrade

puschridge

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Our tour of the Alcazar and the Cathedral could not have been more entertaining, educational and informative.
Rosa, our tour guide was phenomenal.
We highly recommend this tour while in Seville.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive Tour: Early Access to Alcazar of Seville with Optional Cathedral Upgrade

Fiona N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Our guide Rosa was an absolute delight... very passionate and knowledgable about the Alcazar. We thoroughly enjoyed this tour

Doing what: Viator Exclusive Tour: Early Access to Alcazar of Seville with Optional Cathedral Upgrade

Wendy J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was described as Seville Guided Tour into Alcazar and we were surprised to learn that what we had paid did not actually include the entrance fee. On looking again at the website, we see that is listed as the third exclusion but you have to click on More info to actually see this. I would consider this so important that it should be listed as the first exclusion. I would have expected more transparency.

We arrived at the specified meeting point in plenty of time for our 12:30 meeting, but had to hang around for almost half an hour for latecomers and confusion with bookings. We then had a further delay of some 15 minutes whilst several faulty headsets were exchanged. These were a further expense as our 'small group'' totalled 13.

The tour itself, when it eventually started, was excellent and the guide very knowledgeable and informative. The buildings are stunning and the surrounding gardens lush and peaceful. The Real Alcazar is a beautiful oasis in the centre of the city and well worth seeing.

Doing what: Seville Guided Tour into Alcazar

Jamie A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Our tour was led by Vincent, and he was absolutely fantastic!!!! He was so knowledgeable, friendly, and funny! Vincent really took his time explaining the history and significance of the architecture and art pieces in very relatable ways. The Alcazar is a gorgeous destination, and an important site to visit when in Sevilla. Vincent made this an even more memorable experience. We had a great time!!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive Tour: Early Access to Alcazar of Seville with Optional Cathedral Upgrade

trish w

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

The tour of the Alcazar and the Cathedral were excellent. Vincente was incredibly informative and provided a fascinating commentary at a level and pace to suit everyone.
However, it is always a gamble booking through Viator as it is more an agency than a tour provider itself. It clearly states here: 'Before-hours access to the Alcázar of Seville'. Not Vincente's fault at all that this is not an option. He was put in a very difficult position by Viator. He explained the actual situation with calm professionalism when the issue was raised at the beginning of the tour.
So, Viator is very lucky to have access to such an excellent guide but should really address the 'misleading' or just plain incorrect information.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive Tour: Early Access to Alcazar of Seville with Optional Cathedral Upgrade

Peter F

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

The tour itself was excellent and the guide was very well informed and able to communicate in English so that we all understood. Note in the fine print on a separate page that entry to the Alcazar is not included in the price.
The tour is advertised as 87 minutes, however it took around 30 minutes before our tour inside the Alcazar started. First waiting on late participants, then waiting for the guide to buy the tickets, then waiting for the guide to pick up and distribute the head phones.
Don't miss Alcazar when in Seville, but read the Viator fine print.

Doing what: Seville Guided Tour into Alcazar

Michael W

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Our guide Laura was outstanding. She had a great wealth of knowledge about the Alcazar and had an ipad with her that she used several times to show us more in depth information on certain areas and rooms. We were very pleased with her knowledge and ability to tell us all about it. The tour did start almost half an hour late, partially because there was an issue with one of the other guests, but maybe a little because she seemed like she needed some more help getting the tour organized and started.

Doing what: Seville Guided Tour into Alcazar

emily t

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2016

This is NOT early access to Alcazar. We went in the same time as everyone else, including tour groups. By the time we entered, there were already lots of people in the Alcazar.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive Tour: Early Access to Alcazar of Seville with Optional Cathedral Upgrade

Monica K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Amazing place to visit and to understand the history and the architecture. Rosa did an OUTSTANDING job building a picture of life at the Alcazar. We loved it and would highly recommend it. Even my 20 year old son thought it was great.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive Tour: Early Access to Alcazar of Seville with Optional Cathedral Upgrade

Tracee C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Rosa was exceptional...what a fantastic guide. Knowledgable, fun, passionate and she brought the Alcazar and Cathedral to life. She is by far one of the best tour guides I have ever been fortunate to enjoy. So much that the next day when wandering around Córdoba, my partner and I kept commenting that we needed Rosa with us to tell us about everything. The tour was great, well paced and just the right amount of walking and time. I thoroughly recommend this tour. The headphones made it so easy and I noticed many people trying to get near us to listen to Rosa's passionate stories. We felt lucky to be on this tour. Thank you Rosa!!!!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive Tour: Early Access to Alcazar of Seville with Optional Cathedral Upgrade

PaulGBoston United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The local guide was very informative and the pace of the tour was just right. We had a small break between the Alcazar and Cathedral. The meeting point is a bit cryptic, but you should be able to find the statue where it starts which is located between the two sites.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive Tour: Early Access to Alcazar of Seville with Optional Cathedral Upgrade

Mary-Anne W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our guide Vincent was excellent. He had a very good knowledge of both the history and culture. This was precisely the right length of time and the Alcazar is definitely worth a visit. It was astounding and refreshing that successive generations had preserved this very beautiful place.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive Tour: Early Access to Alcazar of Seville with Optional Cathedral Upgrade

ccruski

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We really lucked out on this tour. For the Alcazar there were 4 of us. For the Cathedral upgrade there was just my wife and me. It turned into a private tour for us. Our guide, Rosa, was from Seville. She spoke very good English and was very knowledgeable about both places. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive Tour: Early Access to Alcazar of Seville with Optional Cathedral Upgrade

Thomas G D

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2016

Good tour but misleading advertising. Tour does not enter alcazar before general public, so place is as crowded as it ever is.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive Tour: Early Access to Alcazar of Seville with Optional Cathedral Upgrade

Tristan M

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2016

I was incredibly disappointed to find out that this tour DID NOT include early access to the Alcazar as advertised. We had to wait until the doors opened, and by then the place was full of people. Could have purchased a normal ticket and got the same experience, not worth the extra money. Not happy!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive Tour: Early Access to Alcazar of Seville with Optional Cathedral Upgrade

Jennifer G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour ended to left me in love with Seville. We enter into Alcázar and were almost alone there. We enjoyed the impressive architecture of the place, its gardens and we were able to make faboulous pictures to never forget this place. Our guide was very nice and knew every detail of Alcazar. A totally must tour if you visit Seville. I will come back for sure!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive Tour: Early Access to Alcazar of Seville with Optional Cathedral Upgrade

Dave

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This is a must do if you're in Seville! Our guide was great describing the hisotry and details of Alcazar. I would highly recommend it to anyone.

Doing what: Seville Guided Tour into Alcazar

SCV

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Wow, amazing tour! the Alcazar is quite a magical place and the cathedral is incredible too. We went into the Alcazar an hour before opening hours, so we were on our own! It's quite an experience to walk around a building like that with no one around, and to be able to take pictures with no one else on them :) On the way out we saw a long queue of people waiting to get in, and I definitely felt special. The cathedral is very nice too, and i was glad to visit it on the same tour as the guide did a great job at linking the history of both the Alcazar and the cathedral of Seville. The views from the Giralda were amazing, definitely worth the walk up the tower. The guide was great and had a good sense humour. I'd recommend it to anyone visiting Seville.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive Tour: Early Access to Alcazar of Seville with Optional Cathedral Upgrade

jerry

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Alcazar was wonderful, our guide was very nice but her commentary lacked depth.

Doing what: Seville Guided Tour into Alcazar

Ian B

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2016

We did the tour on Friday 1st July. We spent almost the first two hours going from hotel to hotel picking up various people who were on different parts of the tour. Some were doing just the half day tour, some were doing the tour including lunch, and others like ourselves were doing the full day tour. A lot of time was spent with various people paying for the tour on the coach it was not a mini bus but a full size coach. We then made a stop where we were all given the small radio receivers and earphones. The earphones came out of one huge bag and several of the clients requested whether these had been cleaned as they were not separately wrapped as they had been on a previous tour we did in Portugal the previous week. Some of these didn't work and had to be replaced which took up more time! After now approx. three hours, we now started the tour proper. The tour of the Royal Alcazar Palace and Seville Cathedral was excellent because of the male tour guide. As for the rest of the tour - forget it!! We left the tour at the Bullring and later discovered that several of the remaining people refused to get off the bus at the next stop a church and asked to be taken back to their hotel.
This was certainly not value for money.

Doing what: Seville In One Day: Santa Cruz Quarter, Royal Alcazar Palace, Seville Cathedral, Royal Maestranza Bullring and River Cruise

Takis

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2016

This was the worst tour of our trip.
We were met on time at 10 am. In the initial bus trip and visit to the Plaza de Espana the guide was speaking in three languages. We were assured that we would be split in different language groups for the Alcazar and Cathedral visit.
However, when we met Melissa and Christina that did not happen. Melissa our guide had to make the tour in English and Spanish. We also had long delays at the entrance of the Alcazar as they had to buy the tickets when we arrived. They also added two more tourists at the entrance of the Alcazar. At that point the group was 36-38 person strong. Melissa was very good and tried very hard to make both groups happy but because of the two languages the visit was disjointed and full of delays. At the end of the Cathedral tour we had to ask where we had to go for the boat trip. The one hour boat trip was very boring and not worth the time. After the boat trip we were so disappointed that we went back to the hotel. We did not do the bullring and museum visit. A very unpleasant experience. However, the history, the old city, buildings and architecture are amazing to visit.

Doing what: Seville In One Day: Santa Cruz Quarter, Royal Alcazar Palace, Seville Cathedral, Royal Maestranza Bullring and River Cruise

Marc R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Very nice tour of the cathedral and alcazar. Enjoyed easy going pace and explanation of history.

Doing what: Private Monumental Seville Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message