Seville ATTRACTIONS See all

Alcázar of Seville

Sights across the entire Spanish south have been shaped by centuries of Moorish and Catholic influence, and in few places is this more evident and captivating than at the Alcázar of Seville. This palace — or a version of it, anyway — started ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 23 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Jennifer G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour ended to left me in love with Seville. We enter into Alcázar and were almost alone there. We enjoyed the impressive architecture of the place, its gardens and we were able to make faboulous pictures to never forget this place. Our guide was very nice and knew every detail of Alcazar. A totally must tour if you visit Seville. I will come back for sure!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive Tour: Early Access to Alcazar of Seville with Optional Cathedral Upgrade

Dave

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This is a must do if you're in Seville! Our guide was great describing the hisotry and details of Alcazar. I would highly recommend it to anyone.

Doing what: Seville Guided Tour into Alcazar

SCV

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Wow, amazing tour! the Alcazar is quite a magical place and the cathedral is incredible too. We went into the Alcazar an hour before opening hours, so we were on our own! It's quite an experience to walk around a building like that with no one around, and to be able to take pictures with no one else on them :) On the way out we saw a long queue of people waiting to get in, and I definitely felt special. The cathedral is very nice too, and i was glad to visit it on the same tour as the guide did a great job at linking the history of both the Alcazar and the cathedral of Seville. The views from the Giralda were amazing, definitely worth the walk up the tower. The guide was great and had a good sense humour. I'd recommend it to anyone visiting Seville.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive Tour: Early Access to Alcazar of Seville with Optional Cathedral Upgrade

jerry

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Alcazar was wonderful, our guide was very nice but her commentary lacked depth.

Doing what: Seville Guided Tour into Alcazar

Ian B

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2016

We did the tour on Friday 1st July. We spent almost the first two hours going from hotel to hotel picking up various people who were on different parts of the tour. Some were doing just the half day tour, some were doing the tour including lunch, and others like ourselves were doing the full day tour. A lot of time was spent with various people paying for the tour on the coach it was not a mini bus but a full size coach. We then made a stop where we were all given the small radio receivers and earphones. The earphones came out of one huge bag and several of the clients requested whether these had been cleaned as they were not separately wrapped as they had been on a previous tour we did in Portugal the previous week. Some of these didn't work and had to be replaced which took up more time! After now approx. three hours, we now started the tour proper. The tour of the Royal Alcazar Palace and Seville Cathedral was excellent because of the male tour guide. As for the rest of the tour - forget it!! We left the tour at the Bullring and later discovered that several of the remaining people refused to get off the bus at the next stop a church and asked to be taken back to their hotel.
This was certainly not value for money.

Doing what: Seville In One Day: Santa Cruz Quarter, Royal Alcazar Palace, Seville Cathedral, Royal Maestranza Bullring and River Cruise

Takis

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2016

This was the worst tour of our trip.
We were met on time at 10 am. In the initial bus trip and visit to the Plaza de Espana the guide was speaking in three languages. We were assured that we would be split in different language groups for the Alcazar and Cathedral visit.
However, when we met Melissa and Christina that did not happen. Melissa our guide had to make the tour in English and Spanish. We also had long delays at the entrance of the Alcazar as they had to buy the tickets when we arrived. They also added two more tourists at the entrance of the Alcazar. At that point the group was 36-38 person strong. Melissa was very good and tried very hard to make both groups happy but because of the two languages the visit was disjointed and full of delays. At the end of the Cathedral tour we had to ask where we had to go for the boat trip. The one hour boat trip was very boring and not worth the time. After the boat trip we were so disappointed that we went back to the hotel. We did not do the bullring and museum visit. A very unpleasant experience. However, the history, the old city, buildings and architecture are amazing to visit.

Doing what: Seville In One Day: Santa Cruz Quarter, Royal Alcazar Palace, Seville Cathedral, Royal Maestranza Bullring and River Cruise

Marc R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Very nice tour of the cathedral and alcazar. Enjoyed easy going pace and explanation of history.

Doing what: Private Monumental Seville Walking Tour

Jane M Australia

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2016

Tour guide didn't turn up at 9.45 as planned and we couldn't contact anyone by phone. Turned out that the Alcazar was closed that morning due to a religious function, and no one bothered to let us know. One of the highlights of our trip to Spain was going to be the Alcazar but as we were leaving the next day we didn't get to see it! Very disappointing and very poor!!

Doing what: Seville Guided Tour into Alcazar

Robert W USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

My wife and I had a private tour with Antonio during Holy Week and were very impressed. He was very friendly,knowledgeable, and entertaining. Perfect guide for the Cathedral and Alcazar and Jewish Quarter. Would recommend this tour to everyone! Bob Wennick

Doing what: Private Monumental Seville Walking Tour

Valerie M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Our Private walking tour with Antonio was fabulous! A real hi-light of our trip to Spain. Antonio was knowledgeable and entertaining. We had skip-the-line visits at the Royal Alcazar and the Cathedral Santa Maria and a lot of fun walking around the Santa Cruz area. Seville was wonderful and I would highly recommend the city, this tour and Antonio!

Doing what: Private Monumental Seville Walking Tour

Francisco N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

The Royal Alcazar Palace and the Seville Cathedral excursion was wonderful. I was also very pleasantly surprised in seeing the beautiful interior of the Plaza de Espana! Inside here we were able to view representations of all the provinces located within Spain -- including Zamora, the birthplace of my husband. We were very impressed!

Doing what: Seville Sightseeing Tour: Royal Alcazar Palace, Plaza de Espana, Seville Cathedral and Santa Cruz Quarter

Deanna S

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

Our guide was the sweetest thing ever. His english was a little hard to understand, but he was such an excited and enthusiastic tour guide. Although I thought this tour would have more insider information i.e. Jamie Lannister stood here, the Sand Snakes like to visit this tapas bar, etc, it was interesting how our guide compared the history of Dorne to the history of the Alcazar instead. I would have loved some pictures printed from the season in Dorne so we could see exactly where they filmed so I could clearly recreate them for my own person Game of Thrones memories. Overall, the place was beautiful, and it was nice getting there early before the crowd came in.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour in Seville with Optional Trip to Osuna

Thanh P

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2015

Hi

Unfortunately I found this tour extremely disappointing. The tour had very little if anything to do with Game of Thrones and our guide despite his best attempts was extremely hard to understand. The tour had a total of eight people who all seemed to have troubles understanding our guide.

From the get go it seemed very unprofessional with the guide lining up to pay for our tickets rather than having it ready before hand unlike many other tours we'd been on. The tour was mainly about the history of Seville and history of the Alcazar itself although this was also very hard to understand.

Finally, the water fountains which looked to be one of the more interesting parts of the tour was skipped completely. I would not recommend this tour to anyone. I would rather recommend just going to the Alcazar for a self guided tour which is what I ended up doing at the end of this guided tour.

I hope this review helps anyone looking to do the same tour.

Regards

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour in Seville with Optional Trip to Osuna

Brynda D

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

My son is a Game of Thrones fan me, not so much so we booked this trip and I was pleasantly surprised. The trip focuses mostly in the Alcazar of Seville - our guide had a tablet with scenes from Game of Thrones which he would show us when we were in the spot that the filming occured. Along with some interesting tidbits about when the cast was filming in the area, our guide was very knowledgable about real world history which made this interesting and worthwhile for me as well. Plan on staying at the Alcazar after the tour as there is plenty more to see and there are no return priviledges with the admission ticket.
Please note that we did not do the optional trip to Osuna.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour in Seville with Optional Trip to Osuna

Amanda T

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

The Tour was very informative but was turned out to be quite expensive as the tour charges do not include entry into the Alcazar palace which I thought was included
Takes about 3 hours and really enjoyed it.

Doing what: Private Monumental Seville Walking Tour

Thomas S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was by far the best tour of the three while in Sevilla, Cordova and Granada. The Alcazar and its gardens are AMAZING. So much better than the one in Cordova. Our tour guide Antonio was great and had great insight to Sevilla. I highly recommend this private walking tour.

Doing what: Private Monumental Seville Walking Tour

Elizabeth J

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

This is a really good introduction to the beautiful city of Seville - if I had time I would have done the full-day tour, which includes a boat trip on the river, but this morning tour was also good. I found the tour guide was not as good as I'd hoped - she has obviously done this tour 100 times, and was determined to say what she needed to say whether people were listening or not! The attractions were really good to see however - we went to the 1929 expo pavilions and gardens, the Alcazar, the Cathedral and the Jewish quarter - all beautiful places. Be aware that this tour ends at the cathedral, so you will need to find your own way back after this.

Doing what: Seville Sightseeing Tour: Royal Alcazar Palace, Plaza de Espana, Seville Cathedral and Santa Cruz Quarter

karime n

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

Great guide! Was very knowledgeable and helpful. Entering the Alcazar with a guide is great as you get preferential entrance, but it is a bit rushed.

Doing what: Seville Sightseeing Tour: Royal Alcazar Palace, Plaza de Espana, Seville Cathedral and Santa Cruz Quarter

Gonzalo USA

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2013

Other than the female guide herself complaining about the lack of organization from the company who hired her and the fact that she manage to lose 4 people right before entering the Royal Alcazar Palace this tour was not good. Also they advertised a visit to the Bull Fighting Ring that never happened, their excuse was that a national holiday interfered with the visit, my question to them is how didn't they know about this? Other than that, the bus that they use for transportation is very comfortable and clean, they were on time for the visits and they were knowledgeable about the locations.

Doing what: Seville In One Day: Santa Cruz Quarter, Royal Alcazar Palace, Seville Cathedral, Royal Maestranza Bullring and River Cruise

travel

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2013

This was doomed from the start. Our contact left a message for us stating he'd pick us up at a coffee shop down the street not at the hotel as planned. The next morning we waited for 10 minutes then called him. He said he was in a traffic jam and would be there in 15 minutes. 15 minutes later, a lady comes up to us from a huge tour bus and says come with her. This was suppose to be an English speaking tour guide in a luxury mini van. Now we are with a huge tour. The translator spoke Spanish first - English 2nd then French. The Spanish translation was always long, English and French much shorter. We didn't see the Royal Alcazar Palace that much, because we were already 30 minutes behind schedule and she rushed us so much. She didn't have a microphone, so we could barely hear her and her English was poor. She had a bad attitude and nobody was happy on this tour.

Doing what: Seville In One Day: Santa Cruz Quarter, Royal Alcazar Palace, Seville Cathedral, Royal Maestranza Bullring and River Cruise

Jenny Z

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2013

This is the worst tour ever. First of all, this is a large group. The tour guide spoke 3 languages. The English version is shortened. Then, we took a walking tour at Santa Cruz where she told us to use the restrooms. By the time I came out, the tour group was gone! The tour guide didnot make an effort to wait for me at any of the following sight point. Just left me in the middle of no where. When i called the office, the was no one speak English! This happened all before I visited the Cathedral and the Alcazar. So I had to wait in line to purchase my own tickets. I sent an email to Viator and did not received any apology or response after two weeks. The one star is for the sight of Seville. A beautiful city!

Doing what: Seville Sightseeing Tour: Royal Alcazar Palace, Plaza de Espana, Seville Cathedral and Santa Cruz Quarter

Pong Singapore

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2013

I was extremely disappointed by this tour. I had been in Seville for almost a week (using it as a base to travel to Cordoba and Granada as well). On the tour day (Sat 1 Jun 13), the Cathedral was closed and I was just informed on the pick-up spot of this reason. I'd been in Seville for about a week (using it as a base to go to Cordoba and Granada too). I'd walked past the Cathedral a couple of times but had not entered it because I waited for this tour. The guide did not compensate anything (the tour finished at about the same time mentioned in the program though). The guide spoke in 3 languages: Spanish, French and English. I think 3 languages is just too much and it might force her to speak very fast to manage the time. I had a couple of tours in Spain and they were usually conducted in English and Spanish. Also, I did the private walking tour by another smaller company in Seville a few days prior to this tour. It was much much better and it was very personal and full of information. Overall, I felt it was not really worth the money if you miss the Cathedral. Try something like a private walking tour for half a day and it may cost almost the same or even less than this tour. Of course, it doesn't include the Cathedral and the Alcazar but at least you know that you can get to these places by yourself later!

Doing what: Seville Sightseeing Tour: Royal Alcazar Palace, Plaza de Espana, Seville Cathedral and Santa Cruz Quarter

riobella

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Our guide was so passionate and knowledgeable about this city, which really made this tour quite enjoyable. While it's very easy to show yourself around town, his narration really made it worth going on the tour.There were two less-than-stellar points; 1) waiting to enter Alcazar and then the amount of time inside the palace - too long. Since these palaces are not furnished like many castles are, the tours can really be much shorter, and become tiring. If I had it to do again, I would end the tour before entering Alcazar, find out when the lines are the shortest and go on my own. 2) The river cruise after lunch has nothing to see but bridges built in 1931 and is very short with rather unsightly scenery. By the time we got to the Bull Ring, we decided to go home and skip it altogether. I do highly recommend the morning portion, though.

Doing what: Seville In One Day: Santa Cruz Quarter, Royal Alcazar Palace, Seville Cathedral, Royal Maestranza Bullring and River Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message