Seville ATTRACTIONS See all

Basilica Macarena

The chief attraction of the Basilica Macarena is La Macarena , or "the Virgin of Hope," a 17th century wooden sculpture of Christ's mother mourning his death (complete with tears). She's the patron saint of bullfighters, friend to gypsies ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 32 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Josh S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This tour was great. While the description might be a little vague on activities our group certainly saw and experienced sites we would never have found on our own. The trip started with a prompt pick up of our group with a drop off for the river cruise. We we were taken up and down the Guadalquivir River, visited the Basílica de la Macarena, and the Torre del Oro. If there was a slight negative, it would be our tour guide spoke rapid fire Spanish and English so our group mixed English and Spanish speakers occasionally had some challenges keeping up, but the tour was great overall and having it in the early evening only enhanced the experience.

Doing what: Seville Afternoon Sightseeing Tour

Jane R

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2016

I did not find this tour so interesting partly because the guide spoken very quickly and in a rather bored, routine fashion. She was efficient but seemed to lack enthusiasm unlike the 3 other guides on subsequent tours in Spain. I missed a lot of her commentary. I did not find the river cruiide very interesting, however the Macarena church is very beautiful.

Doing what: Seville Afternoon Sightseeing Tour

Kevin B

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2016

This tour was the worst tour I have ever been on. We took a cruise down a river to no where. It was the most uninteresting cruise I have ever been on. The tour to the Marcarena was not even five minutes but there was no explanation from the tour guide that followed the visit. The bullring was nice.

Doing what: Seville Sightseeing, River Cruise, Bullring and Basilica Macarena Guided Tour

boswellfield

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2016

Our family was not very impressed with the river portion of this tour. It was basically a ferry ride down and back on part of the river. They views weren't great. But the Bullring tour was great.

Doing what: Seville Sightseeing, River Cruise, Bullring and Basilica Macarena Guided Tour

Sandra M

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

This was a nice way to experience my first day in Seville. The guide was very friendly and funny. We started with a boatride, and afterwards visited the bullfighting rink of Seville, which was not expected and a very interesting experience. How many people can say they have actually been inside a bullfighting rink?

Doing what: Seville Afternoon Sightseeing Tour

Timo K

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2015

They took care of our comfort very well especially in the hot summer. Good to get an overall idea about Sevilla, but couldn't gain detailed information.

Doing what: Seville Afternoon Sightseeing Tour

Roberta M

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

Would have liked to hear more about history.

Doing what: Seville Afternoon Sightseeing Tour

Frédérique H

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2015

The guide was friendly but he did not take us to the Carthusian monastery , as announced in the program on your site. I chose specially to make the tour on Saturday and not on Sunday to visit the monastery. When I asked him, he said it was closed . The tour finished at 6.15 pm instead of 7.p.m as announced as well in your program. I had a very good experienc with your organisation in Barcelona for a Dali tour. But this tour was just average and I wont recommend it to other people.

Doing what: Seville Afternoon Sightseeing Tour

William E

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

guide was very knowledgable

Doing what: Seville Afternoon Sightseeing Tour

rob

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

By the time we met our guide at @4:00PM she had already been with a couple since 9:00AM and it seemed she was exhausted at this point. She was very pleasant, but it was hard to follow what she was saying. We saw a few basic sights, but had to see most of the city on our own after the tour.

Doing what: Seville Afternoon Sightseeing Tour

JOSE F Brazil

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2014

There should be a better description of the tour. If we knew that included visit to bullfighting ring, for instance, we would not have taken it. As we thought that it would include a visit to the castle, we did not take the morning visit, and so we lost the Alcazar of Seville. The boat trip was the only thing that we enjoyed.

Doing what: Seville Afternoon Sightseeing Tour

Gloria B

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2014

The tour itself was ok. Our guide was a little speedy for my liking and a little hard to understand her English . The driver zoomed around the city so I didn't get pictures while on the bus. The tour of the bullring was good tho. Gave good bearings as too city layout.

Doing what: Seville Afternoon Sightseeing Tour

Joyce S

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2013

The guide was TERRIBLE!!! Spoke at supersonic speed, monotonously and was almost totally INCOMPREHENSIBLE!!! Kept looking at the watch, never looked at us people.
Horrible tour, totally unworth of its price!

Doing what: Seville Afternoon Sightseeing Tour

Ryan L

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

The hotel pick up was appreciated. During the tour we visted the Plaza de Espana, the Bull Ring, Royal gardens and the Macarena Church. Air conditioned transport was appreciated on the warm day. The tour guide was lovely, and fluent in English and Spanish.

Doing what: Seville Afternoon Sightseeing Tour

Em L

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2013

One of the employees was extremely rude. The actual tour to see around city was never close enough to anything so you couldn't see what they were talking about.

Doing what: Seville Afternoon Sightseeing Tour

Em L

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2013

One of the employees was extremely rude. The actual tour to see around city was never close enough to anything so you couldn't see what they were talking about.

Doing what: Seville Afternoon Sightseeing Tour

Philly

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2013

Very good tour with excellent guide

Doing what: Seville Afternoon Sightseeing Tour

Sue

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2012

Staff were very helpful. Educational tour with lots to see.

Doing what: Seville Afternoon Sightseeing Tour

Irma

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2012

A good tour for those of you who have a short time in Seville. My guide was knowledgeable of Seville. I do think it needs more though. You go on the boat ride which is fine and you can plan out what you want to see more of on your own but you do see a real Bull Ring which is cool to see. I recommend for those of you in a short time and it gives an idea to plan out what you really want to see on your own. The tour did pick me up close to my hotel which was nice.

Doing what: Seville Afternoon Sightseeing Tour

Ibolya Eniko O

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2012

I was not aware that this sightseeing tour doesn't include any of the important sights. At least
PLAYA D'Espagna have to be included. Time was wasted on minor tours with a very mediocre guidance.Nice and helpful people, with little knowledge. Or it was just too hot....

Doing what: Seville Afternoon Sightseeing Tour

jas

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2012

The tour was good with a boat curise included. However the guide we had did not speak very fluent English and we had a problem understanding her. Also the guide did not give us any information about the Alcazar and the cathedral (the main attractions of Seville) which were in the city centre which we had to visit seperately on our own.

Doing what: Seville Afternoon Sightseeing Tour

Lori S

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2011

Would not recommend. Enjoyed the river tour but then the bus tour that followed drove by the same locations and repeated what was said on the river tour, only lasted about 3 hours vs the scheduled 4.

Doing what: Seville Afternoon Sightseeing Tour

Asif S

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2011

Mini bus was around 15 min. late. Though there was no one else on the bus to be picked up. The tour was supposed to last till 7:15 pm, but abruptly ended at 6. Tour guide did not seem to be more enthusiastic as there were only two of us. It was just so so.

Doing what: Seville Afternoon Sightseeing Tour

William D USA

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2011

Good, but I would have preferred to see the cathedral and the alcazar instead of the boat ride and bull ring.

Doing what: Seville Afternoon Sightseeing Tour

Carlos C Puerto Rico

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2011

Nothing really worth seeing, the boat trip was nice but didnt really "show" you anything except some interesting bridges over the river.

Doing what: Seville Afternoon Sightseeing Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message