Seville ATTRACTIONS See all

Seville Bullring (Plaza de Toros de la Real Maestranza)

Seville's bullring - or the Plaza de Toros de la Real Maestranza de Cabellería de Sevilla, to give it its due - is the oldest in Spain. It was here that the corrida, or bullfight, moved from horseback to foot, and many of the cherished ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 98 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Leanne

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Great trip, good location, walking tour was interesting and we ended with a 'wine flight' before lunch. Good way to get to visit the city from Seville, but you could easily spend a few days here.
Guide was knowledgeable and it was a small group tour which was good option.

Doing what: Ronda Day Trip from Seville: Wine Tasting, Bullfighting Ring and Optional Pueblos Blancos Tour

Melissa M

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Excellent tour of the city of Seville. Antonio our tour guide in the morning was very informative and considerate of taking small breaks and not rushing as it was 100 degrees F that day. Unfortunately our afternoon guide Lola for the river cruise, bullring was inconsiderate and not very friendly

Doing what: Seville In One Day: Santa Cruz Quarter, Royal Alcazar Palace, Seville Cathedral, Royal Maestranza Bullring and River Cruise

STAMATIA G

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

Pleasant trip, a bit overpriced and the local tour guide wasn't what we expected, we couldn't understand many of the things he was saying.

Doing what: Ronda Day Trip from Seville: Wine Tasting, Bullfighting Ring and Optional Pueblos Blancos Tour

Latha B

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2016

The tour was very short to my expectation - lasted for only 8 hours instead of the 11 hoursThe White hills tour was good but the Ronda trip was not worth the money. A lot of time was spent in the bull ring and the tour guide seemed to enjoy the way Bulls were killed. Not worth the money.

Doing what: Ronda Day Trip from Seville: Wine Tasting, Bullfighting Ring and Optional Pueblos Blancos Tour

Ian B

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2016

We did the tour on Friday 1st July. We spent almost the first two hours going from hotel to hotel picking up various people who were on different parts of the tour. Some were doing just the half day tour, some were doing the tour including lunch, and others like ourselves were doing the full day tour. A lot of time was spent with various people paying for the tour on the coach it was not a mini bus but a full size coach. We then made a stop where we were all given the small radio receivers and earphones. The earphones came out of one huge bag and several of the clients requested whether these had been cleaned as they were not separately wrapped as they had been on a previous tour we did in Portugal the previous week. Some of these didn't work and had to be replaced which took up more time! After now approx. three hours, we now started the tour proper. The tour of the Royal Alcazar Palace and Seville Cathedral was excellent because of the male tour guide. As for the rest of the tour - forget it!! We left the tour at the Bullring and later discovered that several of the remaining people refused to get off the bus at the next stop a church and asked to be taken back to their hotel.
This was certainly not value for money.

Doing what: Seville In One Day: Santa Cruz Quarter, Royal Alcazar Palace, Seville Cathedral, Royal Maestranza Bullring and River Cruise

Kevin B

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2016

This tour was the worst tour I have ever been on. We took a cruise down a river to no where. It was the most uninteresting cruise I have ever been on. The tour to the Marcarena was not even five minutes but there was no explanation from the tour guide that followed the visit. The bullring was nice.

Doing what: Seville Sightseeing, River Cruise, Bullring and Basilica Macarena Guided Tour

Takis

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2016

This was the worst tour of our trip.
We were met on time at 10 am. In the initial bus trip and visit to the Plaza de Espana the guide was speaking in three languages. We were assured that we would be split in different language groups for the Alcazar and Cathedral visit.
However, when we met Melissa and Christina that did not happen. Melissa our guide had to make the tour in English and Spanish. We also had long delays at the entrance of the Alcazar as they had to buy the tickets when we arrived. They also added two more tourists at the entrance of the Alcazar. At that point the group was 36-38 person strong. Melissa was very good and tried very hard to make both groups happy but because of the two languages the visit was disjointed and full of delays. At the end of the Cathedral tour we had to ask where we had to go for the boat trip. The one hour boat trip was very boring and not worth the time. After the boat trip we were so disappointed that we went back to the hotel. We did not do the bullring and museum visit. A very unpleasant experience. However, the history, the old city, buildings and architecture are amazing to visit.

Doing what: Seville In One Day: Santa Cruz Quarter, Royal Alcazar Palace, Seville Cathedral, Royal Maestranza Bullring and River Cruise

Te-Ling C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Joining this tour made everything really easy, from figuring out where to meet in the morning to actually getting to Ronda. Even though we ran into many obstacles along the way with road closures due to the 101km bike tour going through, we ended up still going to all the sights we were supposed to, albeit in different order.

Once getting to Ronda, we met with a local guide who gave us a 2 hour tour of the city, including Spain's first circular bullfighting ring, the cathedral and Casa del don Bosco, now a home for the elderly but represents a mix of Arabic and Christian culture typical to all of Andalusia. After the tour, we had about 1 hour to explore the city for ourselves.

But the views! The bridge of Ronda, the view from Zahara de la Sierra the Pueblo Blanco, and the view from Casa del don Bosco, WOW WOW WOW.

Doing what: Ronda Day Trip from Seville: Wine Tasting, Bullfighting Ring and Optional Pueblos Blancos Tour

Adaariv

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Very good sharp excellent resource. Strong people connect superlative engagement process with the visitors. Excellent resource passionate about the job. Rating 10

Doing what: Seville In One Day: Santa Cruz Quarter, Royal Alcazar Palace, Seville Cathedral, Royal Maestranza Bullring and River Cruise

M B

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

This is great! You get picked up from your hotel. First i was in a group of spanish speaking visitors. But Lola never made me feel unwelcomed. She forwarded me over to Antonio and i joined the international group. Antonio is very good, did it in several languages: English, Spanish, French, even German i think. He is very knowledgeable about Seville, it's history and culture. He is approachable and friendly and made sure he balanced his time with all the group.

Doing what: Seville In One Day: Santa Cruz Quarter, Royal Alcazar Palace, Seville Cathedral, Royal Maestranza Bullring and River Cruise

Dr David Carhar C

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

This was a very good tour. The unscheduled stop in Zahara was particularly agreeable and the tour guide in Ronda itself was superb.
The tour office in Seville is not impressive. I sent them 5 emails in advance of the tour and never received a response to any of them. I visited the office in person and was given conflicting information.

Doing what: Ronda Day Trip from Seville: Wine Tasting, Bullfighting Ring and Optional Pueblos Blancos Tour

Robin W

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed the tour. Explanations of what we were seeing were informative and interesting. A positive experience which we completed with favourable memories.

Doing what: Seville In One Day: Santa Cruz Quarter, Royal Alcazar Palace, Seville Cathedral, Royal Maestranza Bullring and River Cruise

Roman T

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Antonio was a great guide--he deserves 5+ stars, but the bus ride in the morning was a waste of time.

Doing what: Seville In One Day: Santa Cruz Quarter, Royal Alcazar Palace, Seville Cathedral, Royal Maestranza Bullring and River Cruise

greg_rowe

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

Bus was an little cramped, Guide was not well and his english not the best so commentary could have been better

Doing what: Ronda Day Trip from Seville: Wine Tasting, Bullfighting Ring and Optional Pueblos Blancos Tour

boswellfield

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2016

Our family was not very impressed with the river portion of this tour. It was basically a ferry ride down and back on part of the river. They views weren't great. But the Bullring tour was great.

Doing what: Seville Sightseeing, River Cruise, Bullring and Basilica Macarena Guided Tour

Christopher P

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2016

Just before i left for Spain, Viator messaged me that we would be picked up at the Hotel Zenit at 8am by the tour company.

We arrived there at 7.45am. At 8.30am, and with no sign of the bus, i rang the number provided for the tour company, but just received an answer phone, in Spanish. At 8.45am i got a very irate call in pigeon English asking me where we were and they cannot wait any longer. They were waiting for us at their offices. He told me that if we wanted to make the trip we must get a cab to the outskirts of Seville to a car park where we could meet the bus. It took us 15 minutes to get a cab and 15 minutes to make the journey, all combined with text messages from the guide telling us to hurry up as they would have to go without us. The cab cost 10 euros. We eventually got there an met up with the bus. The guide was clearly not happy but i explained the situation as best i could to a guide who couldn't speak much English. Disbelievingly, he asked me to forward him the email you sent as proof. I did so. He spent the rest of the trip being, at best, 'aloof' with us.

At some point during the trip he obviously read the forwarded email, and was a little more conciliatory with us. He said he didn't have the authority, but we may like to seek our cab fare back from someone. Who from it was unclear. If the chap from the tour company doesnt have the authority im not sure who does? On the way back we were told they could only take us so far, not back to our apartment, so we had to get another taxi which cost another 5 euros.
It really put a damper on the whole day and was particularly stressful to my elderly mother who paid for the trip and had been looking forward to it for weeks. Im really not very happy about the whole thing. It wasn't a cheap excursion and i would expect much better.

Doing what: Ronda Day Trip from Seville: Wine Tasting, Bullfighting Ring and Optional Pueblos Blancos Tour

Lamulaloca

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

It was a fantastic tour. Perfect for a one-day stay in Sevilla. We saw all the mayor sites and monuments and our guide was very knowledgeable and proud to show us his city.

Doing what: Seville In One Day: Santa Cruz Quarter, Royal Alcazar Palace, Seville Cathedral, Royal Maestranza Bullring and River Cruise

Tamara C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Great day out! Long tour but stopped for breakfast of churros on the way not included in price. Zahra was lovely.
Great day, with good tour around the town and visit tot he Bull ring I'm not sure about Bull Fighting but to see the museum and to learn about this huge part of the culture was a great expereince. Not sure I'll book to watch a bull fight in the future though.
Our Guide Ramon was really nice and informative and looked after the group well.
Ronda is a lovely place and the views are stunning. A busy town though, so I was glad I went with a small group to make the visit easier to navigate.

Doing what: Ronda Day Trip from Seville: Wine Tasting, Bullfighting Ring and Optional Pueblos Blancos Tour

Frainy M USA

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

with this tour, you get to see a lot of Seville that probably you wouldn't otherwise.. def a good tour..

Doing what: Seville In One Day: Santa Cruz Quarter, Royal Alcazar Palace, Seville Cathedral, Royal Maestranza Bullring and River Cruise

Danielle B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Worth the money! A great tour guide, an enchanting place!

Doing what: Ronda Day Trip from Seville: Wine Tasting, Bullfighting Ring and Optional Pueblos Blancos Tour

George T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Excellent tour!!Very full day,and included all the places of interest in Seville.

Doing what: Seville In One Day: Santa Cruz Quarter, Royal Alcazar Palace, Seville Cathedral, Royal Maestranza Bullring and River Cruise

Mon

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

Seville is a place that you have to see with a guide in order for time not to be wasted.

Doing what: Seville In One Day: Santa Cruz Quarter, Royal Alcazar Palace, Seville Cathedral, Royal Maestranza Bullring and River Cruise

Tony F United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

I haven't published a review in a very long time because none of the many tours I participated impressed me, but yesterday I took a tour, Seville in One Day, and it was a real surprise. Everything went OK. The pickup, the organization, the design of the activities but, above all, the tour guide, LOLA was outstanding. Fluent in both Spanish and English, she smoothly and effortlessly shifted between the two languages and, unlike most guides I've encountered, her English and Spanish explanations were basically the same. She knows a lot about the city and the most important points for the tour but also she knows a lot about the country's history and shared a lot of useful information. She was also patient and was pending of everybody's needs.Viajes Boreal is a great tour operator and LOLA is an outstanding tour guide. A.

Doing what: Seville In One Day: Santa Cruz Quarter, Royal Alcazar Palace, Seville Cathedral, Royal Maestranza Bullring and River Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message