Shanghai ATTRACTIONS See all

Jade Buddha Temple (Yufo Si)

Yufo Si is a working Buddhist community - one of the few in China - but the star attractions of the Jade Buddha Temple are two figures brought to Shanghai by a Burmese monk in the 19th century.  The most impressive is the sitting Buddha, a 1.9 m ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 34 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Susan T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was a really great tour - the tour guide Frank was lovely and very knowledgeable. We started at the Museum, this was okay but a little dry - I think it was a matter of too much time to just skim, and not enough time to really look at it properly. What I suggest is to choose just one or two of the galleries and really spend some time in those rather than trying to race through them all. The furniture is very good, and so it the coins. Next stop was the Jade Buddha temple - truthfully the Jade Buddha was okay, but the rest of the temple was amazing - loved the Hall of the 4 Kings - and the laughing Buddha. Was lovely to hear a bit about the history of Buddhism in China and how it was brought from India. It was then off to the Silk factory - very interesting - but be warned the sales people will hook into you like limpets - firmly tell them nicely you would like some time alone to discuss/make your own decisions. Saying that there are some lovely scarves, duvets, and covers and clothing to choose from. We then had lunch at a nice restaurant - plenty of food. We then went to the Pearl centre - once again - I thought this was just ok - truthfully I think the one in the Isle of Wight is actually better - and the pearls though good quality, were expensive.
So then we went to the Bund - which is not the name of the river, but instead it is the name of the war memorial. This was a very interesting talk and the view is lovely.
We then went to my favourite part of the tour which was the Yuyuan Garden. You go through an incredibly busy part of Shanghai to get to it - look out for the Turtles by the zig zag bridge but it is a wonderful place with lots of history. Look out for the Dragon Wall and the Chinese Theatre. I imagine it would be incredibly peaceful if there were not so many people - but even with all the tourists it was just lovely.We finished in the French Quarter where we strolled around the section looking at all the shops and restaurants -Wonderful!

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

Robert W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Trip was a very good overview of Shanghai's highlights. I especially enjoyed the Jade Buddha Temple. Our guide, Ms. Joy, was very friendly and informative.

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

Kellie M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

I was the only person on this tour so it was a very personalized morning. Our driver was very safe by Shanghai standards and I felt comfortable in his car. The guide, Fiona, is a local from Shanghai and filled the tour with great snippets of information - she knew all the interesting little things that you are not likely to read in a tourist guide. Like, which taxi companies are more likely to scam a tourist etc. Fiona is well traveled herself and spoke excellent English. She was also very interested in my home country (Australia) which was quite sweet. I did the morning tour and was not expecting a visit to the silk factory but Fiona managed to squeeze it in. If you are thinking of doing this half day tour make sure you do the afternoon one to ENSURE a visit to the Silk factory (It is very clearly stated in the booking info that the Silk factory is NOT included in the morning tour so DO NOT be disappointed if you book the morning tour and don't go there). The silk factory really is amazing and very worthwhile. Rainbow was the name of the tour guide there and she also spoke very good English. The pearl museum really is just a pearl shop with a snippet of interesting info in the foyer. At the silk shop I was able to wander on my own a bit and look at the merchandise. So I was able to make my own mind up about purchases. However at the pearl shop the sales attendant really shadowed me which made me slightly uncomfortable. We also had an hour at the Shanghai Museum which was perfect for me. Four floors of Chinese antiquities - very interesting, but for me, any more than an hour and I would loose interest. The Jade temple was also interesting but a little sad that it has become such a commercial enterprise. Each temple had a shop in or next to it. I guess the Vatican in Rome does the same thing so..... Definitely try this tour if you only have half a day to spare as I did. It is not rushed, nor is it too slow. I had a great morning.

Doing what: Shanghai Half Day Morning or Afternoon Sightseeing Tour

Mary Ruth M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This tour far exceeded our expectations. We had a very small group and Fran was our guide. We went to the Shanghai museum and spent a long time with the collection of bronzes that go back 13 centuries BC. We toured the Yu gardens where Fran gave a lot of extra information about the meaning of the Gardens and special features. We visited the Jade Buddah Temple and Fran made it come alive with information. We also had a very informative and pleasant tea tasting and a productive pearl shopping visit. Because we took so much time with pictures and reading at the museum and gardens, we ran out of time for the French Concession, but we had booked the custom tour the next day so we combined that with the Shanghai Art Museum and a great lunch, for a wonderful day. The only thing that needs to change, for us foodies, is where Viator schedules the lunch for this all day tour, which apparently is based on where parking is available not the food. Fran could not change that so I suggest you make a special request in advance to have a different lunch spot.

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

Grayden H Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Excellent tour - we also covered a Pearl factory and had a tea ceremony, as well as the Bund, Jade Template and the Yu Garden. Lunch was one of the better quality set lunches. Would recommend this tour!

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

denise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

We went on this tour our first full day (out of 8) in Shanghai, after coming from Beijing on the very fast train (this is highly recommended!!!) It was an excellent tour of Shanghai which took in the main highlights and gave us a great idea of what was available in that very busy city. The Jade Buddha Temple was fascinating and the museum well worth a look. The Jade Buddha himself is quite reasonably kept a long way from the people, so a little underwhelming. But there are many other buddhas and statues that are very striking. The Yuyuan Gardens were certainly a highlight of the tour and a treasure trove of photographic opportunities. Even though we were there at the end of winter it is still an amazing place and i am sure in late spring it is even more beautiful. The Old town, Bund and Museum were also great and gave us a clear idea of where we could go and what we could return to spend more time at over the next few days (especially with a BigBus hop on hop off bus 48 pass which we also purchased, also very highly recommended). Our guide Jennifer was excellent and informative and as it was not high season there were only three of us in our big car, so very pleasant. There are, of course the ubiquitous silk factories, pearl factories etc that they take you on during every tour, but if you have not yet been to them then they are very interesting (in our two weeks in China we saw 4 silk factories, 3 tea houses, 2 pearl factories and 1 jade factory... I must admit that this becomes very repetitive after a while). However, researching and booking this tour with Viator was easy and painless and I would thoroughly recommend the tour,

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

Eben F USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

This was a great tour (we only had three people so it was very personal and we learned a great deal about the pearl industry, Buddhism (at the Jade Buddha temple). The Shanghai museum has tremendous historical items and one could easily spend an entire day there.

Doing what: Shanghai Half Day Morning or Afternoon Sightseeing Tour

Steven E United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

enjoyed tour very interesting lots to see and the jade buddha was beautiful.

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

Gretel B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2008

Very enjoyable, informative and interesting. Lunch was plentiful and very good. Well informed tour guide. Jade Buddha Temple is not to be missed & the Fresh Water Pearl Gallery is a real treat where pearl jewelery can be bought at great bargains. Not enough time at the Shanghai Museum but anyone can revisit at his own leisure if required.

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

Alejandra B

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Really enjoyed the Yu Garden and the Jade Buddha temple! Only wished we would have had more time to shop a little at the market outside the Garden but you can always go back after the tour.

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

Jennifer D

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

Good tour, though there seems to be a lot of driving around the city that isn't necessary. I think I'd recommend just doing a half-day tour, seeing the Jade Buddha Temple, maybe the museum, and the oyster pearl factory. Things like the Bund, Yu Gardens, and the French Concession are easy enough to see on your own on your trip if you've got time to sight-see.

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

Julie K S

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

The tour guide was quite charming and knowledgeable and the tour itself was fine, the Jade Buddha Temple, the Bund, the Gardens, even the pearl and silk stores I didn't mind. Starting at the Shanghai Museum was also good - even if racing through it in an hour hardly did it justice, but a good intro nonetheless.
HOWEVER, the lunch was worse than Chinese food in America, just touristy and nothing particularly good, interesting or special. After hearing from the local guide about the yummy breakfast items he savored at street stands, it would've been lovely to have some really good Shanghai treats. The young couple in our small group opted to lunch at a nearby Haagen Dazs. They made a wise choice.

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

Laura B

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2013

The Shanghai Museum is really worth the trip - very well arranged and a beautiful collection. Chris was a pleasant and knowledgeable guide. HIs commentary on the Jade Buddha Temple made for a richer experience. The Pearl Gallery is just a store and lunch was so so but overall the tour was definitely a good value and we all enjoyed ourselves.

Doing what: Shanghai Half Day Morning or Afternoon Sightseeing Tour

mjb81

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

Great day trip around Shanghai! Frank our tour guide was amazing with excellent knowledge of the local attractions. The Jade Buddha temple is excellent.

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

labmagic

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2012

This is a great tour and the size of the group was small (total of 6) in air condition van. Got a lot of history from tour guide and saw many sites in Shanghai. Had a great tasty Shanghai lunch ordered by the guide. Loved the museum, learning about pearls, silk, and jade, history and sites of the Bund, beautiful Jade Buddha Temple, and the beauty of Yuyaun Garden. Tour was timely and didn't feel rushed.

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

Aaron S

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2012

We went to alot of nice places in Shanghai, such as a museum and the Jade Bhudda temple. It was a good mixture of old and new things to see. For the price it was well worth it.

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

Sarah F

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2011

guide once again was great, brilliant command of English, only thing was we felt a little rushed from one place to the next. jade buddha temple is amazing, fantastic sites to see. lunch was great, good food in a clean restaurant. we visited a silk factory which was interesting to see how silk is made and there's tons of things to buy. the weather wasn't great on our trip so we had to cut short the walk through the xintandi area and i wished we'd had gone lower down on the bund and seen the historic buildings versus focusing on the waterfront. but great day trip to see a lot of key sights and find your bearings for the next day.

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

Annette v

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2011

I really enjoyed this tour. Especially the old-city and the yu-garden. The Jade Buddha Tempel is magnificent. The kasmier-shop I didn't like, instead I would have liked to spent more time with the tea ceremony. The tour takes you across the city, and our tourguide Helen knew so much about her city. If you don't feel like exploring the city on your own, this is the tour you should book.

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2010

Our tour guide Burney was great. His english was impecable. He gave us alot of recommendations. As with my other 2 experiences with Viator in China, we had 2 unannounced Pearl factory and Jade factory shopping stops. The sights were great. The Shanghai Museum was a pleasant surprise. Once again, lunch was mediocre. There is so much great food in China, its disappointing that the tours take you to these restaurants that offer a sub par menu. I would recommend this trip if you have a short time to sightsee in Shanghai. Bring your own lunch or snacks.

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

CHONA S Philippines

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2007

It was fantastic and educational. The tour guide speaks English well and she gave vital information in every destination especially the Yuan Garden and the Jade Buddha Temple. What is boring is the tea preparation which took a long time. We would rather spend some time buying souvenir items outside Yu Garden and Shanghai Museum. The lunch was okay but there were so many dishes, it should be replaced by 1 bottle of mineral water per head instead.

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

Laura M

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2015

The only reason I gave this tour 3 stars is because there was a miscommunication about what I was purchasing from Viator. Viator did not communicate the itinerary to the local tour company. Based upon the Viator description, I was expecting a small group possibly bus tour with a set itinerary: The Jade Buddha Temple, Shanghai Confucian Temple, Yu Garden, Old Town and a tea ceremony.
When I met our guide in the hotel lobby and she first asked me for my itinerary. Huh? She had no clue about the Experience Ancient Shanghai Day Tour of Jade Buddha Temple and Shanghai Old Town.
What we ended up with was a private guide, a driver, and a car which was really fantastic! I just had to remember what I wanted to see that would not duplicate the other guided tour which was to be provided later by our cruise line.
Our tour guide was a very pleasant young lady named Megan who spoke excellent English and was knowledgeable about the places we visited. She took us to the Jade Buddha temple, The Confucian Temple, the Shanghai Museum, and the French Concession. She also took us to a local restaurant for lunch and ordered food for us. This was not a restaurant that I would have ventured to on my own because we had been warned about the lack of hygiene in many smaller local Chinese restaurants, but the dishes/plates were covered in a shrink wrap to keep them clean and the food was good, and best of all we had no stomach issues later.
I would recommend that anyone wanting to tour Shanghai employ some type of guided tour as this is a city that is NOT easy to do on your own. Pedestrian traffic is a dangerous nightmare as signals and traffic lanes are generally ignored by the locals, and pedestrians don't have the right of way.
If not for the itinerary confusion, I would have given this tour a 5 star rating.

Doing what: Experience Ancient Shanghai Day Tour of Jade Buddha Temple and Shanghai Old Town

jnork

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2014

I liked most of this trip. Fred was a very nice guy and very knowledgable. I did not appreciate the pearl part at all, seemed hokey and like all they wanted was for us to buy stuff. The silk factory was just okay. Loved the jade palace! The museum was nice as well.

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

Matthew Francis K

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2013

This tour takes you to some great places. The Shanghai museum has some very interesting exhibits. We had 1.5 hours in there, which was fine for me, but if you are a bit more of a musuem buff then this maybe too short. I would recommend you go there yourself outside of this tour. The rest of this places are interesting but watch out for the hard sell. At the Pearl Museum and the Jade Budda Temple charity shop they will follow you around and push hard for sales. The tour guide will probably offer to take you to the silk factory too. Again, very interesting demonstration, but then its straight in to the hard sell.

Doing what: Shanghai Half Day Morning or Afternoon Sightseeing Tour

Steve F New Zealand

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2012

Good tour o fill in your morning, The temple was awesome not so fussed on the Jade factory but a good tour thanks

Doing what: Shanghai Half Day Morning or Afternoon Sightseeing Tour

Randall T

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2011

Viator...best company to book with from overseas, best local land operator in Shanghai, one of the best local tour guides I've ever had in China or around the world for that matter. However, spending time in three government stores so we can spend our tourist monies is not my idea of sightseeing in Shanghai. One hour at the Shanghai museum is not acceptable when you spend three hours in a Jade, Pearl and Handicraft store. Really???

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message