Shanghai ATTRACTIONS See all

Shanghai Jewish Refugees Museum (Ohel Moshe Synagogue)

The Shanghai Jewish Refugees Museum houses the history of as many as 30,000 Jewish refugees who fled the Holocaust in Europe to settle in the Tilanqiao district of Shanghai during WWII. The museum is made up of 3 parts: the Ohel Moshe Synagogue ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 50 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Gerald C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Super guide who is also doing amazing work on Jewish tombstones.

Doing what: Tour of Jewish Shanghai led by a Jewish History Expert

Mitchell S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

This tour was one of the highlights of our Shanghai visit. Our guide, a woman who spoke Russian, Chinese, Hebrew, and English, was delightful. She was very knowledgeable about the Jewish History of Shanghai and she shared this knowledge enthusiastically. My wife and I came away having learned something we knew little about before. I highly recommend the tour.

Doing what: Tour of Jewish Shanghai led by a Jewish History Expert

Igor G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

The best tour that I had ever!

Doing what: Tour of Jewish Shanghai led by a Jewish History Expert

Cyril Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

It was fascinating learning about the history of the Jewish community in Shanghai. Brilliant guide.

Doing what: Tour of Jewish Shanghai led by a Jewish History Expert

Henry K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This trip was wonderful. Dvir is a very knowledgeable and enthusiastic tour guide who puts his soul into the Jewish history of Shaghai. It is amazing the details that he knows and the thorough understanding that he has for history. His presentation is highly absorbing and keeps everyone excited. Next time in Shaghai I will be joining his tour again!

Doing what: Tour of Jewish Shanghai led by a Jewish History Expert

Victor L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

I really liked the tour - Dvir knows history of the city and its Jewish part, and what is probably even more important can tell it with passion and involvement. For me, Dvir's story of European Jews coming to Shanghai through Soviet Union, was probably the most unexpected part - Dvir opened my eyes to something that I have never heard about, and I will definitely follow up on that.
Overall - Highly recommended.

Doing what: Tour of Jewish Shanghai led by a Jewish History Expert

Robert P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Extremely well done. Dvir keeps you riveted to the shocking events of history.

Doing what: Tour of Jewish Shanghai led by a Jewish History Expert

Samuel A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This tour was absolutely amazing. Friends had told me to sign up and I had no idea what to expect but Dvir delivered one of the most amazing and in-depth studies of a city I have ever experienced. He is knowledgeable about the subject matter but also deeply invested into continuing the research and study into the story of the Jews of Shanghai. Tour was organized very well and at every point felt was informative and fun. I highly recommend people take this tour even if you're casually interested in the subject matter, it's a great way to spend a morning in Shanghai.

Doing what: Tour of Jewish Shanghai led by a Jewish History Expert

Elizabeth M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The tour was wo derful. Dvir is extremely knowledgeable and clearly passionate about his subject.

Doing what: Tour of Jewish Shanghai led by a Jewish History Expert

Susan B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Extremely interesting and informative. Guide passionate and very knowledgable. Highly recommended no matter what religion you follow.

Doing what: Tour of Jewish Shanghai led by a Jewish History Expert

Helene S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Amiss was a wonderful guide. She is very knowledgable and answered questions eagerly. We truly enjoyed our tour.

Doing what: Tour of Jewish Shanghai led by a Jewish History Expert

Vasco S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Excellent!! Dvir is a great guide with sense of humor and also very informed.
I really recommend this tour.

Doing what: Tour of Jewish Shanghai led by a Jewish History Expert

magerlunter

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Well organized, great interaction with the group, amazing amount of information, good choices on the sites and the most knowledgeable guide we have ever had in over thirty years of travel. Dvir is a singular instructor.

Doing what: Tour of Jewish Shanghai led by a Jewish History Expert

Allen M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Highly recommend our tour. Mason our tour guide was extremely personable and informative about the history and culture of the Jewish people who came to Shanghai during the early 1900 and #39;s and also during the persecution of the Jews in Eastern Europe. you will not be disappointed with this tour!

Doing what: Private 2-Hour Walking Tour of Shanghai's Jewish Ghetto

Eileen S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Tour was excellent. Tver, our guide, was excellent and passionate about the tour. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Tour of Jewish Shanghai led by a Jewish History Expert

Cheryl s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Tour guide was extremely knowledgeable and her English was excellent.

Doing what: Private 2-Hour Walking Tour of Shanghai's Jewish Ghetto

Roberta B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We found about about a piece of history that we never knew about. The Japanese ambassador to Austria saved the lives of thousands of Jews by giving them visas to Shanghai. I know that there were Jews in Shanghai in the 1800's but this tour did not cover such. Our tour guide was knowledgeable and spoke and understood English very well.

Doing what: Private 2-Hour Walking Tour of Shanghai's Jewish Ghetto

harenheller United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great tour very interesting

Doing what: Tour of Jewish Shanghai led by a Jewish History Expert

shaye j

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

excellent informative tour by guide who spoke English very well very wothwhile

Doing what: Tour of Jewish Shanghai led by a Jewish History Expert

ruurd s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Marvellous tour! Dvir was a mine of information and projected everything wonderfully....his personal
touches in the tour showed his interest in his clients as well.
The time went so fast and all too soon the tour was over. Thank you Dvir!
Yolanthe and Ruurd Speelman

Doing what: Tour of Jewish Shanghai led by a Jewish History Expert

Bari P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Dvir is a fantastic tour guide. He is knowledgeable about the history of Jews in Shanghai and delivers information with passion and enthusiasm. I learned a lot and had a great time. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Tour of Jewish Shanghai led by a Jewish History Expert

CHRISTOPHER B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was an excellent tour. The tour leader was very well informed about the history of Jewish settlement in Shanghai and the events which led up to that settlement. His knowledge was outstanding.
We were honoured to be invited to our leaders home where he showed us typical accommodation made available to Jewish people during the war years . We were also show a most interesting collection of pictures collected by our leader.
I recommend this tour to those who want to really understand the Jewish occupance of this small part of Shanghai in the war years and to experience how good the Chinese people were to them.

Doing what: Private 2-Hour Walking Tour of Shanghai's Jewish Ghetto

Fran B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We enjoyed seeing and hearing about the history!

Doing what: Private 2-Hour Walking Tour of Shanghai's Jewish Ghetto

Howard S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The tour worked well. The guide was excellent.

Doing what: Private 2-Hour Walking Tour of Shanghai's Jewish Ghetto

James K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

I brought a few friends and they were so glad they came!

Doing what: Private 2-Hour Walking Tour of Shanghai's Jewish Ghetto

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message