Shanghai ATTRACTIONS See all

Shanghai Maglev

If you’ve ever wondered what it feels like to travel at speeds upward of 260 miles per hour (418 kilometers per hour), the Shanghai Maglev train is your chance. Using magnetic levitation technology that allows the train to literally “float” along ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 30 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

writepennyh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This is an excellent service. I made the reservation and paid for it before I left home. I received a voucher. When it came close to time for the trip to the airport, I was contacted to confirm the time and place of pickup. Then the day before, I received a call at my hotel to again confirm. This reassured my confidence in the service. And as expected, the guide was punctual.

The trip from hotel to train station to airport was seamless and pleasurable. The guide, Mr. Tom, was courteous, helpful, and knowledgeable. I enjoyed talking to him. He took care of my luggage and took me to the check in point in the airport.

All of this made a trip to the airport easy and stress free. But also important is the experience of riding the Maglev train.
Smooth and fast. I highly recommend this service...and experience.

Penny Harris

Doing what: Departure Transfer by High-Speed Maglev Train: Hotel to Shanghai Pudong International Airport

Matthew P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

For never having been to Shanghai and having no idea how to get around, this was a great first introduction. Met at the airport by a friendly guide and escorted the entire way to the hotel in maglev and then a nice car.

Doing what: Arrival Transfer by High-Speed Maglev Train: Shanghai Pudong International Airport to Hotel

Christina L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great tour with our lovely guide Julie. It started at the Shanghai Urban Planning ExhibitionHall, very interesting, then we visited Oriental Pearl Tower, the Bund Tunnel, Shanghai Art Museum and finished with a trip in the Maglev Magnetic Train that speeded up to 431 km/h - amazing experience !

Doing what: Private Former French Concession Walking Tour

Christina L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great tour with our lovely guide Julie. It started at the Urban Planification Exhibition Hall, then we visited the Oriental Pearl Tower, the Bund Tunnel, Shanghai Art Museum and ended up with a trip in the Maglev Magnetic Train that speeded up to 431 km/h - an amazing experience ! Thanks Julie !!!!

Doing what: Private Tour: The Face of Modern Shanghai

CLAYTON F USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Was met just outside of customs and escorted to the Maglev and then the driver met us at the train station in Shanghai to take me to my hotel. Very well run

Doing what: Arrival Transfer by High-Speed Maglev Train: Shanghai Pudong International Airport to Hotel

Sheila N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Everything went like clockwork for our return to Pudong Airport. We had a bit of trouble trying to reconfirm our booking due to not getting an answer from the tour operator but once we finally got hold of them everything as fine. Our car and guide arrived on time and we had a seamless journey from the hotel to the Maglev train and then right to or check in desk at the airport. It saved us any trouble in trying to do this ourselves. Many thanks

Doing what: Departure Transfer by High-Speed Maglev Train: Hotel to Shanghai Pudong International Airport

Coman O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

This tour was very good.Maglev's journey was nice experience.Also beautiful view of the city
World Financial Center was fantastic.

Doing what: Private Tour: The Face of Modern Shanghai

Pierre Bellavance Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Really satisfied. We had too much luggage for a happy Maglev trip and I asked to change to car transportation from the hotel to the airport, and this was quickly organized. Our guide was very helpful at the airport.

Doing what: Departure Transfer by High-Speed Maglev Train: Hotel to Shanghai Pudong International Airport

Richard B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

This is the only maglev train in the world. We arrived at 9 pm exhausted and were quite happy to not have to think - just follow the tour guide who was informative about the train and then the Bundt as we took a taxi to go to our hotel. The maglev is very convenient if you are staying in Pudong (the new convention area) and it wouldn't take much brainpower (lots of signs) and it would take much less money (8 yuan per person) if you did without the guide. If you do need a taxi, you should be mentally sharp and forceful in fending off the "black" taxis.

Doing what: Arrival Transfer by High-Speed Maglev Train: Shanghai Pudong International Airport to Hotel

Michael

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

We were met by the lovely hostess who helped us with our luggage, took us to the Maglev Station, made sure we were comfortably seated on the train, explained how the train worked, took us by taxi to our hotel and made sure we were booked in quickly and without fuss. We would take this tour again !

Doing what: Departure Transfer by High-Speed Maglev Train: Hotel to Shanghai Pudong International Airport

Betsy USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

Our guide, Tracy, was waiting for us when we arrived. She guided us through the airport to the Maglev without difficulty and had arranged for a ride from the Maglev to our hotel. All went flawlessly. On the return trip she helped us through the airport until we reached security. We spent two days with Tracy without any problems. She was knowledgeable and very helpful.

Doing what: Round-trip Transfer by High-Speed Maglev Train: Shanghai Pudong International Airport

Kenton S United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

Fantastic experience. The guide had great English, and the MagLev experience was wonderful! Fully escorted to our hotel, with no problems at all.

Doing what: Round-trip Transfer by High-Speed Maglev Train: Shanghai Pudong International Airport

Prof K F S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

The best thing about the transfer was Michael this was my first visit to China and and hassles that could have occurred in a city that is as busy as Shanghai was alleviated by Michael. Michael is a sophisticated warm and intelligent guide and made my transfers a pleasure. He also arranged for me to take an excellent tour. He was efficient, thorough and explained many details that assisted my understandings about modern China and Shanghai. Our driver was excellent also and travelling on the MagLev was great fun, although negotiating the Shanghai traffic could be described as even more interesting. Keith Sullivan.

Doing what: Round-trip Transfer by High-Speed Maglev Train: Shanghai Pudong International Airport

Ruth M J W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

First class service. Transfers on the MagLev train in Shanghai were fast and well organized. Expensive but it greatly enhansed the quality and fun of the holiday.
Ruth
Diss UK

Doing what: Round-trip Transfer by High-Speed Maglev Train: Shanghai Pudong International Airport

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2009

Used this service to and from the airport - worth every penny - the assistance from the Viator guide was a massive stress reliever - first class service. The MagLev train is brilliant.

Doing what: Arrival Transfer by High-Speed Maglev Train: Shanghai Pudong International Airport to Hotel

Jeffrey M

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Efficient greeting and escorting to the hotel via the Maglev by a guide who spoke good English, accompanied us in to the desk to confirm the correct destination, but disappeared without showing teh slightest expectation of a tip.

Doing what: Arrival Transfer by High-Speed Maglev Train: Shanghai Pudong International Airport to Hotel

twinbees2

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2012

As we were arriving in Shanghai for the first time and my partner was disabled with a foot injury and needing crutches I was so glad I had booked the transfer. We were met by a very friendly English-speaking guide who helped with the luggage, organised the Maglev tickets, and then drove us from the Maglev station to our hotel. Overall a very worthwhile experience, especially under the difficult circumstances.

Doing what: Arrival Transfer by High-Speed Maglev Train: Shanghai Pudong International Airport to Hotel

Nicola R

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2012

Excellent. Met us off the plane and escorted us onto the MagLev and right to check in at our hotel. Great service.Thanks.

Doing what: Arrival Transfer by High-Speed Maglev Train: Shanghai Pudong International Airport to Hotel

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2010

So good to be taken to the airport. Would have been difficult to manage 2 bags on the escalators couple of them. Advice getting a big suitcase on and off them is an art! The Maglev train was unreal. While the transfer was outrageously expensive taxis and maglev train fares are cheap in comparison to the price of the transfer the convenience was certainly just right for me. Guides again were very helpful and good to have someone to guide me through and to speak in local language to attendants. Got there just as check in counter opening. Great timing. To calculate traffic times in Shanghai is a real art. Glad I did it.

Doing what: Departure Transfer by High-Speed Maglev Train: Hotel to Shanghai Pudong International Airport

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2010

So good to be met at the airport. Would have been difficult to manage 2 bags on the escalators couple of them. Advice getting a big suitcase on and off them is an art! The Maglev train was unreal. While the transfer was outrageously expensive taxis and maglev train fares are cheap in comparison to the price of the transfer the convenience was certainly just right for me. Guides again were very helpful and good to have someone to guide me through and to speak in local language to attendants.

Doing what: Arrival Transfer by High-Speed Maglev Train: Shanghai Pudong International Airport to Hotel

Reni B

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2013

Maglev train was fast, but could have been better air conditioned. Guide was nice and transfer to hotel was seamless.

Doing what: Round-trip Transfer by High-Speed Maglev Train: Shanghai Pudong International Airport

Ronald J J

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2013

The guide who met the flight was nice and spoke very good English. Maglev ride quick, taxi to hotel fine. Cost $100.00 On the return I took a taxi to the train station and caught the Maglev back to the airport Cost $20.00 Total!!!!!!!!!!

Doing what: Arrival Transfer by High-Speed Maglev Train: Shanghai Pudong International Airport to Hotel

gregwhittle Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2012

We were met at the Airport upon arrival and taken to the MagLev train.It was quite exciting when you conside you are travelling at 430Kms per hour. Only for a short time but it was a great way to head towards Shanghai. The Maglev station is on the outskirts of Pudong and you take a van or car to your hotel. Our Van did not arrive for over 45 minutes (a miscommunication aparently) so the value of the train ride, was long gone by the time we made it to our hotel. Our guide was very nice and enbarrased by the delay. The return trip was via a nice car from the city to the Maglev terminal but the trains speed was restricted to 300Klms for some reason. All round, a really great trip just spoilt a little with delay at the terminal on the way into Shanghai. With the substantial cost of the Maglev, we would have to review before automatically rebooking next time.

Doing what: Round-trip Transfer by High-Speed Maglev Train: Shanghai Pudong International Airport

Note from Viator: Note from Viator: Thank you for your review. We apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced during your tour. We have contacted the tour company and have addressed your concern about the transfer delay with them. Thank you for helping us ensure the quality of our tours.

JESUS B Jordan

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2012

Interesting to use the Maglev train. The transfers were well organized and we were expected both at Airport and at Hotel with clear signs. However the transfers Maglev Station/ Hotel/ Maglev Station were done in a very old vehicle. A bit expensive when you see the train fares and taxi costs in Shanghai, but good for the first time in town.

Doing what: Round-trip Transfer by High-Speed Maglev Train: Shanghai Pudong International Airport

Sidney R USA

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2012

This was an adequate service. We were promptly met at PVG airport and escorted to the MagLev Train. The ride was quick and uneventful. Unfortunately, after arriving, we had to be transferred to another taxi cab for our ride to the hotel. This took approximately 25+ minutes additionally. In all, a taxi ride from the onset would have been faster overall and with less cost. Before booking the MagLev, I recommend checking how far the station is from your hotel. Again, the train was quick and reliable. Some additional concerns need to be addressed if you have a lot of luggage is this was a problem getting on and off the train. We ultimately decided to take a return taxi back to the PVG airport instead of taking the train. It was much faster for us this way.

Doing what: Round-trip Transfer by High-Speed Maglev Train: Shanghai Pudong International Airport

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message