Shanghai ATTRACTIONS See all

The Bund (Waitan)

The Bund (or Waitan) is the grand center of Colonial architecture in Shanghai. The former International Settlement runs along the waterfront of the Huangpu River, facing the Pudong district ('Bund' is a word of Indian derivation meaning ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 40 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Rebecca K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Good for taking pictures of the Bund and waterfront close up.

Doing what: Huangpu River Cruise and Bund City Lights Evening Tour of Shanghai

Susan T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was a really great tour - the tour guide Frank was lovely and very knowledgeable. We started at the Museum, this was okay but a little dry - I think it was a matter of too much time to just skim, and not enough time to really look at it properly. What I suggest is to choose just one or two of the galleries and really spend some time in those rather than trying to race through them all. The furniture is very good, and so it the coins. Next stop was the Jade Buddha temple - truthfully the Jade Buddha was okay, but the rest of the temple was amazing - loved the Hall of the 4 Kings - and the laughing Buddha. Was lovely to hear a bit about the history of Buddhism in China and how it was brought from India. It was then off to the Silk factory - very interesting - but be warned the sales people will hook into you like limpets - firmly tell them nicely you would like some time alone to discuss/make your own decisions. Saying that there are some lovely scarves, duvets, and covers and clothing to choose from. We then had lunch at a nice restaurant - plenty of food. We then went to the Pearl centre - once again - I thought this was just ok - truthfully I think the one in the Isle of Wight is actually better - and the pearls though good quality, were expensive.
So then we went to the Bund - which is not the name of the river, but instead it is the name of the war memorial. This was a very interesting talk and the view is lovely.
We then went to my favourite part of the tour which was the Yuyuan Garden. You go through an incredibly busy part of Shanghai to get to it - look out for the Turtles by the zig zag bridge but it is a wonderful place with lots of history. Look out for the Dragon Wall and the Chinese Theatre. I imagine it would be incredibly peaceful if there were not so many people - but even with all the tourists it was just lovely.We finished in the French Quarter where we strolled around the section looking at all the shops and restaurants -Wonderful!

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

Christina L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great tour with our lovely guide Julie. It started at the Urban Planification Exhibition Hall, then we visited the Oriental Pearl Tower, the Bund Tunnel, Shanghai Art Museum and ended up with a trip in the Maglev Magnetic Train that speeded up to 431 km/h - an amazing experience ! Thanks Julie !!!!

Doing what: Private Tour: The Face of Modern Shanghai

Laura C United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Excellent whirlwind intro to Shanghai. Joy was an informative and delightful guide. The only downside was the lunch restaurant. To quote one of my travel companions, I would far rather have paid for my own lunch and enjoyed something much better to eat on the Bund.

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

Grayden H Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Excellent tour - we also covered a Pearl factory and had a tea ceremony, as well as the Bund, Jade Template and the Yu Garden. Lunch was one of the better quality set lunches. Would recommend this tour!

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

denise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

We went on this tour our first full day (out of 8) in Shanghai, after coming from Beijing on the very fast train (this is highly recommended!!!) It was an excellent tour of Shanghai which took in the main highlights and gave us a great idea of what was available in that very busy city. The Jade Buddha Temple was fascinating and the museum well worth a look. The Jade Buddha himself is quite reasonably kept a long way from the people, so a little underwhelming. But there are many other buddhas and statues that are very striking. The Yuyuan Gardens were certainly a highlight of the tour and a treasure trove of photographic opportunities. Even though we were there at the end of winter it is still an amazing place and i am sure in late spring it is even more beautiful. The Old town, Bund and Museum were also great and gave us a clear idea of where we could go and what we could return to spend more time at over the next few days (especially with a BigBus hop on hop off bus 48 pass which we also purchased, also very highly recommended). Our guide Jennifer was excellent and informative and as it was not high season there were only three of us in our big car, so very pleasant. There are, of course the ubiquitous silk factories, pearl factories etc that they take you on during every tour, but if you have not yet been to them then they are very interesting (in our two weeks in China we saw 4 silk factories, 3 tea houses, 2 pearl factories and 1 jade factory... I must admit that this becomes very repetitive after a while). However, researching and booking this tour with Viator was easy and painless and I would thoroughly recommend the tour,

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

David U

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

I was travelling on my own to Shanghai and what better way to become orientated and see the beautiful sights and lights from the Bund. Chris our guide was very informative and provided lots of information about the local area and the Peace Hotel and Nanjing Road. Thoroughly recommend the Tour.

Doing what: Huangpu River Cruise and Bund City Lights Evening Tour of Shanghai

Neda E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

Great tour! A must! We saw 4 more sites on this tour than sticking with the offer from our larger tour group...lunch by the bund was tasty!

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

Peter C Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2011

Excellent tour, provided insight to old Shanghai mixed with 1930's European buildings on the Bund. The traditional entertainment at the restaurant during lunch was a surprise.Our guide, Fenny, was enthusiastic and knowledgeable which made the tour thoroughly enjoyable.

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

Wayne S Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2010

This is a wonderful way to see the lights of the Bund in the evening and walk the mall. The tour guide a young female, was excelent, good knowledge and good english. Most helpful directing us to all our needs.

Doing what: Huangpu River Cruise and Bund City Lights Evening Tour of Shanghai

Pat Canada

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

The boat cruise is very enjoyable it is a great way to see the glittering lights of Shangai city at night time. Unfortunately, we happened to take this tour during the Dragaon boat festival, we were not able to stop by to visit the Peace Hotel at night, due to the massive crowds in the Bund area in that evening. Nonetheless, we still enjoy the tour and recommend it to especially first time visitor to Shanghai.

Doing what: Huangpu River Cruise and Bund City Lights Evening Tour of Shanghai

James G

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

Good intro to Shanghai. The tour guide and driver were great. Good stops but the one at the Shanghai Museum was very short. Nice lunch but we also had a shopping stop for an hour at a pearl shop at the Bund. I could have done without that.

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

Bettina J

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

Great tour with very informative guide. Would have linked to spend a bit more time walking around the Bund, but we had a very tights schedule to fit everything in.

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

Rajiv

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

The tour stared with a pick-up from the Hotel Holiday Inn Express in Zhabei for four of us at the right time given. the tour guide was knowledgeable courteous and answered all questions that we had. He was also good in English and could communicate well and explain the details of the places we visited. The lunch in a restaurant around the Bund area was also very good as the tour guide took care of ordering dishes we wanted to have. Enough time was spent at each of the venue listed and it attended in time with a drop-off at the hotel. I would strongly recommend the use of Vitaor.com website for booking the tours as it is safe and secure as well as prompt in providing services.

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

Margie C USA

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

The tour was really good. We received a boat ride on the Hungo River and the lights at night were fantastic. We then went to the Bund. We rode on a train down the Bund and watched the lights. The only issue I had was I thought it was a little unprofessional that the tour guide left the tour before we were dropped off at our hotel. Other than that it was a fun tour.

Doing what: Huangpu River Cruise and Bund City Lights Evening Tour of Shanghai

Allison L

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

All in all a good tour, I found the museum a little dull but I am not a big fan of them anyway. Jackie our tour guide was very knowledgeable but sometimes he spoke too quickly and it was hard to follow what he was saying. The river front overlooking the bund was amazing and I loved the French concession area. I would certainly recommend this tour for an overview of shanghai.

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

Jennifer D

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

Good tour, though there seems to be a lot of driving around the city that isn't necessary. I think I'd recommend just doing a half-day tour, seeing the Jade Buddha Temple, maybe the museum, and the oyster pearl factory. Things like the Bund, Yu Gardens, and the French Concession are easy enough to see on your own on your trip if you've got time to sight-see.

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

Julie K S

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

The tour guide was quite charming and knowledgeable and the tour itself was fine, the Jade Buddha Temple, the Bund, the Gardens, even the pearl and silk stores I didn't mind. Starting at the Shanghai Museum was also good - even if racing through it in an hour hardly did it justice, but a good intro nonetheless.
HOWEVER, the lunch was worse than Chinese food in America, just touristy and nothing particularly good, interesting or special. After hearing from the local guide about the yummy breakfast items he savored at street stands, it would've been lovely to have some really good Shanghai treats. The young couple in our small group opted to lunch at a nearby Haagen Dazs. They made a wise choice.

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

Nelson R

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2012

highly recommended within a day of arrival so the traveler can orient him/herself on the sites of the city--then afterwards one can pick out the favorite areas and visit/explore independently-- the lunch food was ok... visit to the shanghai museum and the bund were the highlights of this tour

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

labmagic

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2012

This is a great tour and the size of the group was small (total of 6) in air condition van. Got a lot of history from tour guide and saw many sites in Shanghai. Had a great tasty Shanghai lunch ordered by the guide. Loved the museum, learning about pearls, silk, and jade, history and sites of the Bund, beautiful Jade Buddha Temple, and the beauty of Yuyaun Garden. Tour was timely and didn't feel rushed.

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

Geoff L

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2011

Enjoyed visiting the French Quarter and the Bund

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

Sarah F

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2011

guide once again was great, brilliant command of English, only thing was we felt a little rushed from one place to the next. jade buddha temple is amazing, fantastic sites to see. lunch was great, good food in a clean restaurant. we visited a silk factory which was interesting to see how silk is made and there's tons of things to buy. the weather wasn't great on our trip so we had to cut short the walk through the xintandi area and i wished we'd had gone lower down on the bund and seen the historic buildings versus focusing on the waterfront. but great day trip to see a lot of key sights and find your bearings for the next day.

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

William W United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2010

Tour guide was very informative. We had a private guide as there were no other people on he tour due to the time of year. We were taken for our lunch, & I must say this was the only bad meal we had during our nineteen day trip. Very little choice, & what there was to eat was not very good. We were unable to walk along the Bund area due to the construction work which was going on for Expo 2010.

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

Christopher B

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2011

The Bund area and former French Concession area were the highlights.

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

Joanne M B

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2015

There were some great things and not so great things about this tour. Thomas and the tour driver picked me up promptly from my hotel. I was the only person on the tour so had the mini bus to myself. We started at a Pearl factory which was really a shop who provided me with a very basic description of how pearls are formed and then I was shown their many pearl jewellery displays with a view to buy. We then went to the Jade Buddah Temple which was stunning and Thomas as a practicing Buddhist was very knowledgeable, describing all the figures and their role within his faith.

After the temple was the Shanghai Museum where I was given half an hour to look around. Not much time to cover four floors of antiquities. Lunch which was a solitary affair with a set menu delivered in a restaurant that is obviously a tour group favourite. The food was basic and tasty but I would have preferred to order for myself and paid any extra cost. It was followed by a walk on the Bund where I took photos of the skyline opposite. We also visited the beautiful Peace Hotel.

The next stop was the silk factory where I was given a good description of the silk making process and an opportunity to see how the silk is extracted. This was followed by a tour of their 'shops' with a view to buy duvets, pillows, bedcovers, etc. As I was at the start of a six week trip I really didn't want to buy big items that needed to be carried around and ended up wasting alot of time here that could have been best spent elsewhere.

Following the Silk Factory we went to a beautiful private garden that was in a much more interesting area of Shanghai. Very crowded and vibrant. Thomas whisked me through the garden getting impatient when I wanted to stop to take photos. To me this was the most interesting part of the tour and like the museum I didn't get enough time to explore this or the area which incidentally would have been great to have lunch in.

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message