The name of the Yuyuan Garden means 'Garden of Peace and Comfort', a slightly ironic moniker these days. Owing to its position in the center of the Old Town and its reputation as one of China's finest and best-preserved gardens, Yuyuan is crowded to ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 33 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Susan T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was a really great tour - the tour guide Frank was lovely and very knowledgeable. We started at the Museum, this was okay but a little dry - I think it was a matter of too much time to just skim, and not enough time to really look at it properly. What I suggest is to choose just one or two of the galleries and really spend some time in those rather than trying to race through them all. The furniture is very good, and so it the coins. Next stop was the Jade Buddha temple - truthfully the Jade Buddha was okay, but the rest of the temple was amazing - loved the Hall of the 4 Kings - and the laughing Buddha. Was lovely to hear a bit about the history of Buddhism in China and how it was brought from India. It was then off to the Silk factory - very interesting - but be warned the sales people will hook into you like limpets - firmly tell them nicely you would like some time alone to discuss/make your own decisions. Saying that there are some lovely scarves, duvets, and covers and clothing to choose from. We then had lunch at a nice restaurant - plenty of food. We then went to the Pearl centre - once again - I thought this was just ok - truthfully I think the one in the Isle of Wight is actually better - and the pearls though good quality, were expensive.
So then we went to the Bund - which is not the name of the river, but instead it is the name of the war memorial. This was a very interesting talk and the view is lovely.
We then went to my favourite part of the tour which was the Yuyuan Garden. You go through an incredibly busy part of Shanghai to get to it - look out for the Turtles by the zig zag bridge but it is a wonderful place with lots of history. Look out for the Dragon Wall and the Chinese Theatre. I imagine it would be incredibly peaceful if there were not so many people - but even with all the tourists it was just lovely.We finished in the French Quarter where we strolled around the section looking at all the shops and restaurants -Wonderful!

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

Janet N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

The tour was interesting and our tour guide was quite knowledgeable. I particularly enjoyed Fuxing Park and Yu Gardens.

Doing what: Private Custom Tour: One Day Shanghai Historic Walking Tour

Maxim Vorobyev

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Good experience! Yuyuan Garden is beautiful!

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

Phillip C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

This tour was really fun. We met at the meeting point and walked around the old town, including Yuyuan garden, Susie our guide was excellent. She was very relaxed and made the tour feel like we were walking around with a friend. She showed us many interesting places. We asked her about buying a Marjong set in Shanghai, so at the end she took us to a market and helped us purchase two for our sons at a really good price. We really enjoyed our morning with Susie.

Doing what: Shanghai Old Town Walking Tour Including Yuyuan Garden

Mary Ruth M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This tour far exceeded our expectations. We had a very small group and Fran was our guide. We went to the Shanghai museum and spent a long time with the collection of bronzes that go back 13 centuries BC. We toured the Yu gardens where Fran gave a lot of extra information about the meaning of the Gardens and special features. We visited the Jade Buddah Temple and Fran made it come alive with information. We also had a very informative and pleasant tea tasting and a productive pearl shopping visit. Because we took so much time with pictures and reading at the museum and gardens, we ran out of time for the French Concession, but we had booked the custom tour the next day so we combined that with the Shanghai Art Museum and a great lunch, for a wonderful day. The only thing that needs to change, for us foodies, is where Viator schedules the lunch for this all day tour, which apparently is based on where parking is available not the food. Fran could not change that so I suggest you make a special request in advance to have a different lunch spot.

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

Galina G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Excellent tour with Fran. She took us to the beautiful Yuyuan garden and knew the most beautiful spots there.
Delicious lunch, enough time to see the important sites although I would have liked to spend more time in the museum
Highly recommended
Highly recommended

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

Grayden H Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Excellent tour - we also covered a Pearl factory and had a tea ceremony, as well as the Bund, Jade Template and the Yu Garden. Lunch was one of the better quality set lunches. Would recommend this tour!

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

denise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

We went on this tour our first full day (out of 8) in Shanghai, after coming from Beijing on the very fast train (this is highly recommended!!!) It was an excellent tour of Shanghai which took in the main highlights and gave us a great idea of what was available in that very busy city. The Jade Buddha Temple was fascinating and the museum well worth a look. The Jade Buddha himself is quite reasonably kept a long way from the people, so a little underwhelming. But there are many other buddhas and statues that are very striking. The Yuyuan Gardens were certainly a highlight of the tour and a treasure trove of photographic opportunities. Even though we were there at the end of winter it is still an amazing place and i am sure in late spring it is even more beautiful. The Old town, Bund and Museum were also great and gave us a clear idea of where we could go and what we could return to spend more time at over the next few days (especially with a BigBus hop on hop off bus 48 pass which we also purchased, also very highly recommended). Our guide Jennifer was excellent and informative and as it was not high season there were only three of us in our big car, so very pleasant. There are, of course the ubiquitous silk factories, pearl factories etc that they take you on during every tour, but if you have not yet been to them then they are very interesting (in our two weeks in China we saw 4 silk factories, 3 tea houses, 2 pearl factories and 1 jade factory... I must admit that this becomes very repetitive after a while). However, researching and booking this tour with Viator was easy and painless and I would thoroughly recommend the tour,

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

Louai A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

The trip was excellent, the tourist guide was very knowlegable and organized. we were able to see all the attractions within the time assigned for the trip.
the most enjoyable attraction was Yu Garden.

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

Susan E D

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Museun and Yu Yuan gardens very great!

Doing what: Shanghai Half Day Morning or Afternoon Sightseeing Tour

luke.szarafinski

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

Very knowledgeable and polite guide, great must see spots are included in the itinerary beautiful Yu Garden, Shanghai Museum are especially worth seeing. The lunch is included - simple but very homely.
The only issue I had with the tour was the minivan we were driven in - it was not the newest nor the cleanest one - but the driver was very polite and drove carefully in mad Shanghai traffic.

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

Alejandra B

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Really enjoyed the Yu Garden and the Jade Buddha temple! Only wished we would have had more time to shop a little at the market outside the Garden but you can always go back after the tour.

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

c_e_mcnamara

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Highly recommended. My tour guide Mary provided a fun and interactive tour giving me information about the history of the gardens that you wouldn't get just walking around. Mary was very friendly and excellent guide.

Doing what: Shanghai Old Town Walking Tour Including Yuyuan Garden

Arthi R

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

I took the afternoon group tour and enjoyed the trip with our guide Jane. I particularly enjoyed the garden and silk museum.

Doing what: Shanghai Half Day Morning or Afternoon Sightseeing Tour

Jennifer D

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

Good tour, though there seems to be a lot of driving around the city that isn't necessary. I think I'd recommend just doing a half-day tour, seeing the Jade Buddha Temple, maybe the museum, and the oyster pearl factory. Things like the Bund, Yu Gardens, and the French Concession are easy enough to see on your own on your trip if you've got time to sight-see.

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

Julie K S

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

The tour guide was quite charming and knowledgeable and the tour itself was fine, the Jade Buddha Temple, the Bund, the Gardens, even the pearl and silk stores I didn't mind. Starting at the Shanghai Museum was also good - even if racing through it in an hour hardly did it justice, but a good intro nonetheless.
HOWEVER, the lunch was worse than Chinese food in America, just touristy and nothing particularly good, interesting or special. After hearing from the local guide about the yummy breakfast items he savored at street stands, it would've been lovely to have some really good Shanghai treats. The young couple in our small group opted to lunch at a nearby Haagen Dazs. They made a wise choice.

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

labmagic

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2012

This is a great tour and the size of the group was small (total of 6) in air condition van. Got a lot of history from tour guide and saw many sites in Shanghai. Had a great tasty Shanghai lunch ordered by the guide. Loved the museum, learning about pearls, silk, and jade, history and sites of the Bund, beautiful Jade Buddha Temple, and the beauty of Yuyaun Garden. Tour was timely and didn't feel rushed.

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

Annette v

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2011

I really enjoyed this tour. Especially the old-city and the yu-garden. The Jade Buddha Tempel is magnificent. The kasmier-shop I didn't like, instead I would have liked to spent more time with the tea ceremony. The tour takes you across the city, and our tourguide Helen knew so much about her city. If you don't feel like exploring the city on your own, this is the tour you should book.

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

CHONA S Philippines

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2007

It was fantastic and educational. The tour guide speaks English well and she gave vital information in every destination especially the Yuan Garden and the Jade Buddha Temple. What is boring is the tea preparation which took a long time. We would rather spend some time buying souvenir items outside Yu Garden and Shanghai Museum. The lunch was okay but there were so many dishes, it should be replaced by 1 bottle of mineral water per head instead.

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2007

The half-day tour was the ideal length. We wandered through the French Concession, toured the elaborate garden mentioned, and strolled the Bund. If you're shopping for silk, you'll love the Silk Factory stop, but it was a bit out of the way from the other sites and time-consuming. Our Chinese guide spoke very good English and stayed cheerful, despite the hundred-degree heat. The tour size, seven people, was perfect. Note that the order of sites listed on the Viator description doesn't necessarily correlate to reality if you're making plans following the tour.

Doing what: Shanghai Half Day Morning or Afternoon Sightseeing Tour

Syed H

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

This tour wasn't the best since Shanghai doesn't really have much history compare to Beijing. On that note, the Buddha temple and garden were nice to see. You could probably see these locations on your own though.

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

Wayne P

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2012

nice, more stiff in presentation so not as engaging. some wrong facts about raised entrance to each rm Yu garden - stated to keep out water and snow. later told by Beijing guide was wrong info. took us to jade shop where high pressured instead of where actually carving jade as seen later as passig by. not engaging and charismatic but very polite.

Doing what: Private Custom Tour: Shanghai in One Day

Tiara-Kirsten A

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2011

The historical and educational sites were really good such as the Shanghai Museum, Yu Gardens and Jade Buddha Temple but a lot of time was spent on the "tourist" shopping sites (Pearl, Jade and Silk) instead of allowing us to roam around Old Shanghai Street to shop like the locals. We felt like our tour guide was also trying to pressure us to book another tour which we felt was rather pushy.

Overall the tour was ok. Intimate and small so we learnt a lot as there were only 5 passengers with the tour guide and driver. Driver handled the traffic really well and we enjoyed the sites.

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

Joanne M B

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2015

There were some great things and not so great things about this tour. Thomas and the tour driver picked me up promptly from my hotel. I was the only person on the tour so had the mini bus to myself. We started at a Pearl factory which was really a shop who provided me with a very basic description of how pearls are formed and then I was shown their many pearl jewellery displays with a view to buy. We then went to the Jade Buddah Temple which was stunning and Thomas as a practicing Buddhist was very knowledgeable, describing all the figures and their role within his faith.

After the temple was the Shanghai Museum where I was given half an hour to look around. Not much time to cover four floors of antiquities. Lunch which was a solitary affair with a set menu delivered in a restaurant that is obviously a tour group favourite. The food was basic and tasty but I would have preferred to order for myself and paid any extra cost. It was followed by a walk on the Bund where I took photos of the skyline opposite. We also visited the beautiful Peace Hotel.

The next stop was the silk factory where I was given a good description of the silk making process and an opportunity to see how the silk is extracted. This was followed by a tour of their 'shops' with a view to buy duvets, pillows, bedcovers, etc. As I was at the start of a six week trip I really didn't want to buy big items that needed to be carried around and ended up wasting alot of time here that could have been best spent elsewhere.

Following the Silk Factory we went to a beautiful private garden that was in a much more interesting area of Shanghai. Very crowded and vibrant. Thomas whisked me through the garden getting impatient when I wanted to stop to take photos. To me this was the most interesting part of the tour and like the museum I didn't get enough time to explore this or the area which incidentally would have been great to have lunch in.

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

Maya R

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2015

The guide tour is nice but kinda rush me..I can't enjoy my trip in The Bund and Yu Garden..

Doing what: Shanghai Half Day Morning or Afternoon Sightseeing Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message