For a genuine experience that not only show you the history of China, but also showcase its beauty, try a visit to China’s great ancient water town known as Zhujiajiao. Formed over 1,700 years ago, this wonderful canal laden town that was once an ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 57 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

michel95050

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great one-day tour with Melodie as our guide. Melodie was very knowledgeable and speaking perfect English. Even though it was raining that day, we ended up doing everything that was planned, and in the big list of To-Do's and To-See's in Shanghai, Melodie was able to customize parts of the tour for us. The highlight of the day was the morning spent in the small village on the water where Melodie took us to a small boat tour and treated us to some of the local delicacies sold in the village. In the afternoon, we really liked the Old Town visit despite all the tourists there. The architecture of the old Chinese buildings was amazing. We chose to have a short visit of the old French Concession and Peoples Square because it was raining very hard at that point. Despite the rain, it was an unforgettable experience. Thank you Melodie for making this rainy day a great and pleasant day.

Doing what: Small Group Day Tour: Explore the Different Angle of Shanghai

Laura F

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

The place was great, however some part of the tours, like the stroll across the old town resembled more to a marathon than a proper visit. I also would have enjoyed more info about the garden we visited. But overall the group was great and I really enjoyed spending time in their company.

Doing what: Zhujiajiao Water Village Half Day Tour

Kitty B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We enjoyed this very interesting day mostly because of our knowledgeable and patient guide,Tom.

Doing what: Private Half Day Tour: Zhujiajiao Water Town

Marcel H

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

I wanted to see some of the more traditional Shanghai surrounds so had a look at Viator and decided to book a private tour with Tom to go and see Zhujiajiao. Toms English and knowledge of Shanghai and China in general was brilliant and made the day worth my while. The actual water town was a bit touristy but since Tom was there for a good and in-depth conversation it made up for the touristy and commercial atmosphere.

Tom got in contact shortly after booking the trip, confirmed the trip the day before and was on time on the day. I would highly recommend him as a guide but would probably not go to Zhujiajiao but rather get him to show me round Shanghai.

Doing what: Private Half Day Tour: Zhujiajiao Water Town

Susan H

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Pick up at hotel was on time, the guide was very good, the only downside was not being able to have the boat trip, due to a typhoon approaching, although it was not windy nor was the water rough, and this was the part we were looking forward to. The village was good to walk round with interesting houses.

Doing what: Zhujiajiao Water Village Half Day Tour

Laura M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our tour guide was great and informative!

Doing what: Private Half Day Tour: Zhujiajiao Water Town

Marissa M

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

I would totally recomend Viator, I originally booked this tour and since there was no group for this they called me and offered me another option instead that was even longer, this definitely speaks of the great service of viator.

Doing what: Zhujiajiao Water Village Half Day Tour

Janet Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was a lovely way to spend an afternoon. Our tour guide, Frank was a friendly and very informative young man. An extremely pleasant walk through the village with Frank pointing out and explaining many of the local cuisine. This was followed by a trip on the canal in a gondola, showing us a different perspective of the village. A very peaceful place to visit during the week, the weekends though might be a bit more hectic. I can definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: Zhujiajiao Water Village Half Day Tour

scott S

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Joy our tour guide was very very informative, please pass on my thanks, the places we went to were absolutely great, the only issue I have is the travel time, one of the ladies was picked up at 7am and it was 10.30 before we got to our 1st site, then when it finished that same lady was in the car for nearly 4 hours before she got home.

Doing what: Zhujiajiao Water Village Half Day Tour

superdaveandjo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We had a marvelous day with Tom!! In Zhujiajiao we enjoyed a boat ride, strolled the streets of the ancient city and toured the pharmacy and the post office. All the while, Tom shared the history and culture of the area. Tom is a great driver, smart and sociable. We would not hesitate to contact him when in Shanghai again.

Doing what: Private Half Day Tour: Zhujiajiao Water Town

David K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Very good guide, good tour

Doing what: Private Tour: Zhujiajiao Water Town from Shanghai

Rory M

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

The tour was good fun, even though the town was a little touristy. Our guide Tom was absolutely amazing. pick up at the hotel on time and was extremely friendly and knowledgeable. In honesty, he made the tour better as the drive there and back was filled with great conversation about China and tips / info of all things China.

Doing what: Private Half Day Tour: Zhujiajiao Water Town

Jessica L

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2016

Nothing special about this tour. The water village was interesting but you can easily check it out yourself as there are signs everywhere. The guide was okay but I don't feel like I learned anything. The itinerary stated that there would be a silk demonstration but we never had one. Instead they asked for us to be picked up earlier with no explanation of why and when they arrived we were told that we would be going to a jade centre at the Bund where they tried to make us buy jewelry and that we would need to have lunch there none of this was in the itinerary. This was clearly because they were catering to the itinerary of another person on a different tour who was lumped in with us, evident because he did not seem at all surprised by this. They effectively wasted an hour of our time and changed our itinerary to suit their own convenience. Do NOT book with this dishonest company.

Doing what: Zhujiajiao Water Village Half Day Tour

Helen M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Ms Joy was a joy! Her spoken English was good but I'm not sure how much she understood the questions we asked. But it was enough. The village is pretty and Mr. Wu garden and house were an added bonus.
The van driver was a hoot. Buckle up!

Doing what: Zhujiajiao Water Village Half Day Tour

John C

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

A good tour with very good guide. The water town is interesting and the Gondola ride a highlight

Doing what: Zhujiajiao and Seven Treasure Town Day Tour from Shanghai

Ray W

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Very Interesting day visiting two water towns close to Shanghai

Doing what: Zhujiajiao and Seven Treasure Town Day Tour from Shanghai

Joy Q

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

We arrived in the morning and took this tour from midday - we saw some of the surrounding country and our tour guide Frank was superb. He ensured we saw both the old and the new, the original and the reconstructed. Excellent.

Doing what: Zhujiajiao Water Village Half Day Tour

Uriel H

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2015

The worst tour I ever had. First the van on we were traveLing smelled like an ashtray.The tour guide was so tired (I guess) that went sleeping all way on the route. When we arrived the place just took us to shops and two or three places without almost no explanations. The place although beautiful

Doing what: Zhujiajiao Water Village Half Day Tour

Phillip C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Mary was our tour guide. She picked us up at our hotel and travelled to the water town. We had a lovely time there. Mary told us lots of information about the town, she was super friendly and made the day lots of fun. We had lunch at a lovely restaurant looking out at the water. On the way back as we still had time so Mary took us to the Bund for a walk along and to a Confucius temple. A very enjoyable day!

Doing what: Private Tour: Zhujiajiao Water Town from Shanghai

Viet Quoc N Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great tour that I enjoyed end to end. The tour guide is very friendly and fluent in English. It a good alternative if you don't have time to go to Suzhou

Doing what: Zhujiajiao Water Village Half Day Tour

Quiana Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great experience!!!

Doing what: Zhujiajiao Water Village Half Day Tour

Michael F

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2014

A few things were unsatisfactory and made the tour not unjoyable.
The pickup was at 12.30 and so we had very bad traffic in both directions. The tour leader told us that they pickup at 8.30am to beat the traffic.
We were told that there was no time for even a small lunch as we had to leave early to visit the Pearl and silk shops on the way back It seemed to us that these stops were included to try and get us to spend money at the shops. We were very hungry and couldn't have lunch.
When we said that we didn't want to shop the guide said that her boss would be angry that we didn't shop and we had to write a note explaining that it was our decision not to shop .
All together we didn't enjoy the tour

Doing what: Zhujiajiao Water Village Half Day Tour

John S

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

While the tour of the village was good the overall tour did not include everything that was advertised in the brochure. We did not tour a silk factory. All we did was cruise up the canal, briefly see the town, and then drive back to Shanghai. Very disappointing.

Doing what: Zhujiajiao Water Village Half Day Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message