Since 1990 Shanghai has grown at a startling rate, to become the largest center of commerce and business in central China and largest cargo port in the world. The city is a huge draw for tourists, who have the chance to connect with more traditional ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 828 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

C.S.M. M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Good real China food a lot!, with stories about the food. Great tour!

Doing what: Eat Like A Local: Shanghai Street Food Night Tour

Korey B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Really enjoyed this tour! Was fun to taste all the different dumplings at the various stops and our guide, Mina, was most helpful and informative! Made our own dumplings at the end of it and enjoyed our own cooking. Stuffed by the time the tour was over!! Great half-day tasting tour!

Doing what: Experience Shanghai: Dumpling Cooking Class and Tasting Tour

Cedric C

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Great and fun experience to share. Good guides Andreas and Juan to walk us through the different foods. Attentive guides. They made sure that we had plenty of food and drink. I would recommend the tour.

Cedric

Doing what: Eat Like A Local: Shanghai Street Food Night Tour

melinda l

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

Not my favorite tour. I felt l like we were being paraded into showrooms and stores just to spend money with the locals. Other tours I have had in other cities didn't parade us through shops and stores like this.

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

jason f

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

Tour was good in that you got to see parts of Shanghai you couldn't have by car or coach. My Guide was very nice but his English was not amazing and he was obsessed with discussing Brexit rather than telling me about Shaghai!

Doing what: Shanghai Highlights Bike Tour Including the Bund and Xintiandi

Laura L

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2016

I imagined floating down the river in a water boat getting an overview of the history of the towns. In reality, the tour was 7 hours, three destinations and we spent half in the van, SO touristy, people trying to sell you things everywhere - the water boat was 10 mins. Guide was friendly, good eng.

Doing what: Suzhou and Zhouzhuang Water Village Day Trip from Shanghai

Dijana

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our tour guide was amazing. It was pouring down with rain the day we went she managed to make it fun still. Full of knowledge about the places we visited. The water town was awesome and the gondola ride was a great way to see the town

Doing what: Suzhou and Zhouzhuang Water Village Day Trip from Shanghai

dawnranjidavid

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Excellent. If you're a dumpling lover / foodie, this is the tour for you. It ends with a remarkable hands-on class that sets you up for success. Highlight of my trip. Worth every penny.

Doing what: Experience Shanghai: Dumpling Cooking Class and Tasting Tour

Paul H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Thomas was a fantastic guide - knowledgable, entertaining and caring. Looked after us, took us to places we would never had gone on our own, and we tried things we didn and #39;t even know existed! Hugely recommended way to experience a side of Shanghai you would NEVER see on your own.

Doing what: Eat Like A Local: Shanghai Street Food Night Tour

William C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

It was a lovely tour. My guide was informative as we walked through a charming section of Shanghai.

Doing what: Experience Shanghai: Dumpling Cooking Class and Tasting Tour

Johanna S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was amazing and the guide was awesome!

Doing what: Suzhou and Zhouzhuang Water Village Day Trip from Shanghai

Kyle C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Excellent! Thomas and Andres made a great team. It was a large group but I liked that and it was organized well enough that it ran smooth. Massive amounts of food, drink and laughs. Highly reccomend. Early in your trip.

Doing what: Eat Like A Local: Shanghai Street Food Night Tour

pvh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

excellent tour, knowledgeable guides, great stories, and delicious eats

Doing what: Eat Like A Local: Shanghai Street Food Night Tour

Marina C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Well planned visit, great guide, great lunch.

Doing what: Suzhou and Zhouzhuang Water Village Day Trip from Shanghai

Sunil S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great guide and driver. Good company. Enjoyed the trip - except for the long queues to get into the Museum.

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

Christie C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great tour with Chris! He was very knowledgeable and helpful. We tasted a variety of dumplings and buns before getting to make our own. The chef was very skilled and made cooking very simple for us! I had a great experience on this tour.

Doing what: Experience Shanghai: Dumpling Cooking Class and Tasting Tour

Jessica L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I had a great time. They called my hotel the night before to confirm pick-up time, which was so much easier than emailing/calling me since I'd just arrived in country. We got to see so much in one day and Rita was a great tour guide.

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

seufertd

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The tour gave us a nice overview of sights in the city. At two of the stops we had a short presentation of the industry being presented and then an opportunity to shop. I viewed this as how things were done as the sales were not hard selling. Our guide spoke English well, presented the tour well and engaged in additional questions about the City and culture. Hotel pick up was very convenient.

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

Helen H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

It was a very enjoyable day out and our guide Tom was knowledgeable and helpful. Both Suzhou and Zhouzhuang water village were beautiful destinations. We visited the master of the nets garden in Suzhou, made in the beautiful traditional Chinese style. The other highlight was the canal trip at Zhouzhuang water village. I thoroughly recommend this trip.

Doing what: Suzhou and Zhouzhuang Water Village Day Trip from Shanghai

Marina C

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Well organized, very knowledgable and friendly guide. Only disappointment was lunch, which mediocre at best. I would still recommend this tour though.

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

marceladiaz80

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

This tour was good!!! Gloria our tour guide spoke English well so it was easy to visit around .

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

Nancy B

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Both the guide and cooking teacher were helpful and patient. Received good inside on Shanghai street for and making dumplings from scratch.

Doing what: Experience Shanghai: Dumpling Cooking Class and Tasting Tour

Nancy B

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Very nice tour. Guide was knowledgable and flexible. Gave good insights on Shanghai living.

Doing what: Eat Like a Local: Street Breakfast Tour in Shanghai

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message