Since 1990 Shanghai has grown at a startling rate, to become the largest center of commerce and business in central China and largest cargo port in the world. The city is a huge draw for tourists, who have the chance to connect with more traditional ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 817 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Dijana

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our tour guide was amazing. It was pouring down with rain the day we went she managed to make it fun still. Full of knowledge about the places we visited. The water town was awesome and the gondola ride was a great way to see the town

Doing what: Suzhou and Zhouzhuang Water Village Day Trip from Shanghai

dawnranjidavid

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Excellent. If you're a dumpling lover / foodie, this is the tour for you. It ends with a remarkable hands-on class that sets you up for success. Highlight of my trip. Worth every penny.

Doing what: Experience Shanghai: Dumpling Cooking Class and Tasting Tour

Paul H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Thomas was a fantastic guide - knowledgable, entertaining and caring. Looked after us, took us to places we would never had gone on our own, and we tried things we didn and #39;t even know existed! Hugely recommended way to experience a side of Shanghai you would NEVER see on your own.

Doing what: Eat Like A Local: Shanghai Street Food Night Tour

William C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

It was a lovely tour. My guide was informative as we walked through a charming section of Shanghai.

Doing what: Experience Shanghai: Dumpling Cooking Class and Tasting Tour

Johanna S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was amazing and the guide was awesome!

Doing what: Suzhou and Zhouzhuang Water Village Day Trip from Shanghai

Kyle C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Excellent! Thomas and Andres made a great team. It was a large group but I liked that and it was organized well enough that it ran smooth. Massive amounts of food, drink and laughs. Highly reccomend. Early in your trip.

Doing what: Eat Like A Local: Shanghai Street Food Night Tour

pvh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

excellent tour, knowledgeable guides, great stories, and delicious eats

Doing what: Eat Like A Local: Shanghai Street Food Night Tour

Marina C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Well planned visit, great guide, great lunch.

Doing what: Suzhou and Zhouzhuang Water Village Day Trip from Shanghai

Sunil S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great guide and driver. Good company. Enjoyed the trip - except for the long queues to get into the Museum.

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

Christie C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great tour with Chris! He was very knowledgeable and helpful. We tasted a variety of dumplings and buns before getting to make our own. The chef was very skilled and made cooking very simple for us! I had a great experience on this tour.

Doing what: Experience Shanghai: Dumpling Cooking Class and Tasting Tour

Jessica L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I had a great time. They called my hotel the night before to confirm pick-up time, which was so much easier than emailing/calling me since I'd just arrived in country. We got to see so much in one day and Rita was a great tour guide.

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

Marina C

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Well organized, very knowledgable and friendly guide. Only disappointment was lunch, which mediocre at best. I would still recommend this tour though.

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

marceladiaz80

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

This tour was good!!! Gloria our tour guide spoke English well so it was easy to visit around .

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

Nancy B

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Both the guide and cooking teacher were helpful and patient. Received good inside on Shanghai street for and making dumplings from scratch.

Doing what: Experience Shanghai: Dumpling Cooking Class and Tasting Tour

Nancy B

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Very nice tour. Guide was knowledgable and flexible. Gave good insights on Shanghai living.

Doing what: Eat Like a Local: Street Breakfast Tour in Shanghai

dawnranjidavid

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

The Tour Guide, Paul, was very lovely, spoke good English and was hugely agreeable. The Master of Nets Garden was underwhelming with pockets of charm, and the Silk Factory proved to be a surprise with great buys and good value on the products. Lots of quality souvenirs to pick up for female friends and family back home. ZhouZhuang was a mix of very exquisite old heritage and disturbingly modern commercial retail. Overall a good tour - try to avoid the weekends.

Doing what: Suzhou and Zhouzhuang Water Village Day Trip from Shanghai

Rita P

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

It was a really good tour, especially if you are staying only a short time in Shanghai and you want to make the most out of it

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

Chris K

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Great tour, lots of interesting information at each stop. Good value.

Doing what: Suzhou and Zhouzhuang Water Village Day Trip from Shanghai

Linda D

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Lots of fun. Our guide Christopher was informative and making the dumplings lots of fun.

Doing what: Experience Shanghai: Dumpling Cooking Class and Tasting Tour

Deborah M

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Fascinating and interestin tour. Guide was delightful

Doing what: Small-Group Shanghai Lanes and Alleyways Walking Tour

Kyle C

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

Not very interesting. Just a lot of shopping opportunities. Was hoping for a bit more authenticity. But good value for the money. The cost of transport alone round trip probably justifies the price.

Doing what: Suzhou and Zhouzhuang Water Village Day Trip from Shanghai

sporis

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2016

Guide Rita got less and less communicative as the day went on. She seemed annoyed when most of the group did not buy anything at the silk factory, which took way too much time from the tour anyway. I did not sign up for a shopping tour. The boat ride was short, lunch was bad, the van was dirty.

Doing what: Suzhou and Zhouzhuang Water Village Day Trip from Shanghai

Suit C

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2016

Logistics and guide content was good except we have an issue with honesty. We have a 5 year old child in the party who is less than 1.2 m tall. The guide told us that we need to purchase a full price ticket even for him. We have a person in the party who reads Chinese and told her that the posted ticket information says the child is free. Only then we were able to not have to pay for the child.

Doing what: Private Custom Tour: Shanghai in One Day

Hendrik B

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2016

I would only recommend the Zhouzang water village on this trip! Spent 5 hours in the bus because of the hotel pickup, The garden is small and crowded, the Souzou part of this trip is walking over a bridge and look at a wall 5 minutes. The silk factory selling tour is long and includes the lunch which seems to be some kind of a deal for the operator. The guide was nice, but mostly concentrated on numbers rather than history. All in all too expensive.

Doing what: Suzhou and Zhouzhuang Water Village Day Trip from Shanghai

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message