Day trips are a great way to see beyond the city that you're visiting and experience a multitude of sights in one day. This is especially true in such a big country like China. Day trips from Shanghai offer a great opportunity to see more of the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 751 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

jordice

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Worth the trip to get out of Shanghai and see true chine just 2 hours away from the big city

Doing what: Suzhou and Zhouzhuang Water Village Day Trip from Shanghai

Amy S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We only had 24 hours in Shanghai and this 8 hour tour proved to be the perfect snapshot of the city. Our tour guide Frank was fantastic. We were taken care of at every turn and given adequate time to explore each site.

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

Susan T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was a really great tour - the tour guide Frank was lovely and very knowledgeable. We started at the Museum, this was okay but a little dry - I think it was a matter of too much time to just skim, and not enough time to really look at it properly. What I suggest is to choose just one or two of the galleries and really spend some time in those rather than trying to race through them all. The furniture is very good, and so it the coins. Next stop was the Jade Buddha temple - truthfully the Jade Buddha was okay, but the rest of the temple was amazing - loved the Hall of the 4 Kings - and the laughing Buddha. Was lovely to hear a bit about the history of Buddhism in China and how it was brought from India. It was then off to the Silk factory - very interesting - but be warned the sales people will hook into you like limpets - firmly tell them nicely you would like some time alone to discuss/make your own decisions. Saying that there are some lovely scarves, duvets, and covers and clothing to choose from. We then had lunch at a nice restaurant - plenty of food. We then went to the Pearl centre - once again - I thought this was just ok - truthfully I think the one in the Isle of Wight is actually better - and the pearls though good quality, were expensive.
So then we went to the Bund - which is not the name of the river, but instead it is the name of the war memorial. This was a very interesting talk and the view is lovely.
We then went to my favourite part of the tour which was the Yuyuan Garden. You go through an incredibly busy part of Shanghai to get to it - look out for the Turtles by the zig zag bridge but it is a wonderful place with lots of history. Look out for the Dragon Wall and the Chinese Theatre. I imagine it would be incredibly peaceful if there were not so many people - but even with all the tourists it was just lovely.We finished in the French Quarter where we strolled around the section looking at all the shops and restaurants -Wonderful!

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

jjmcculla

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Really enjoyed this tour, our guide was excellent and very informative. We covered pretty much everything you need to in Shanghai! The reason for one less star is the bus was a bit old and run down with lack of airconditioning.

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

Valerie S

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Excellent tour, I highly recommend getting to these two cities if you have an extra day in Shanghai. Our guide even took the extra time to walk us to Old Shanghai once we were back in the city.

Doing what: Suzhou and Zhouzhuang Water Village Day Trip from Shanghai

stacey h

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

beautiful place to see, lots of tourist but deserve a look

Doing what: Suzhou and Zhouzhuang Water Village Day Trip from Shanghai

Jennifer M Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

A good all round introduction to Shanghai and the hotel pick up and drop off is very convenient. I joined this trip as a lone traveller, so a good way to enjoy the city if not already familiar. The shopping stops silk and pearls are not enjoyable as there is pressure to buy and not enough time to truly look. The temple and museum were very worthwhile. I travelled on a Sunday so the traffic was acceptable.

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

STEPHEN W

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2016

This tour was not my fav, it was more of a shopping trip than a tourist trip , the guide was not realy very good at explaining the sites, most of th etouring around you could have done yourself with a private driver , and the food near the silk factory was very average , and not enough and very little in the way of refreshments . A trip that promised so much , actually delivered very little in the way of everlasting memories , plus you HAVE to give the guide a Tip.

Doing what: Suzhou and Zhouzhuang Water Village Day Trip from Shanghai

Celso R

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2016

Very bad experience with this trip... they pick us at the hotel in shanghai with a private car, without any identification, after we landed in beijing we wait it the airport more than 1 hour until our guide person pick us with our name written in chinese... then we go to the great wall, this was the only good part of the trip, the hotel in beijing is very disgusting, dirty and broken curtains, dirty carpet, bathrooms with sewage smell, pipelines above the floor, very disgusting hotel, even the location of this hotel was not good to walk around it... next day we went to forbidden city after that to the airport... we do not recommend this trip to anyone... very bad experience...

Doing what: 2-Day Private Tour of Beijing from Shanghai by Air

clarkwh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great tour. The sights, of course, are spectacular. In terms of the tour, the guide was excellent. Very personable and very good English. Arrangements were great. Pickup at my hotel and transfer to the airport. Pickup at Xi'an airport. Pickup back in Shanghai and return to my hotel. All were professionally handled. Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Xi'an in One Day: Day Trip from Shanghai by Air

LYNNE C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

great trip, the guide was lovely, perfect day excursion

Doing what: Suzhou and Zhouzhuang Water Village Day Trip from Shanghai

Shirley D

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Good and informative tour with a very good guide

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

melinda l

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

Not my favorite tour. I felt l like we were being paraded into showrooms and stores just to spend money with the locals. Other tours I have had in other cities didn't parade us through shops and stores like this.

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

Laura L

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2016

I imagined floating down the river in a water boat getting an overview of the history of the towns. In reality, the tour was 7 hours, three destinations and we spent half in the van, SO touristy, people trying to sell you things everywhere - the water boat was 10 mins. Guide was friendly, good eng.

Doing what: Suzhou and Zhouzhuang Water Village Day Trip from Shanghai

Cmullen16

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2016

Lots of time in the bus. Less garden and more water town

Doing what: Suzhou and Zhouzhuang Water Village Day Trip from Shanghai

Dijana

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our tour guide was amazing. It was pouring down with rain the day we went she managed to make it fun still. Full of knowledge about the places we visited. The water town was awesome and the gondola ride was a great way to see the town

Doing what: Suzhou and Zhouzhuang Water Village Day Trip from Shanghai

Johanna S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was amazing and the guide was awesome!

Doing what: Suzhou and Zhouzhuang Water Village Day Trip from Shanghai

Marina C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Well planned visit, great guide, great lunch.

Doing what: Suzhou and Zhouzhuang Water Village Day Trip from Shanghai

Sunil S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great guide and driver. Good company. Enjoyed the trip - except for the long queues to get into the Museum.

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

Jessica L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I had a great time. They called my hotel the night before to confirm pick-up time, which was so much easier than emailing/calling me since I'd just arrived in country. We got to see so much in one day and Rita was a great tour guide.

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

seufertd

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The tour gave us a nice overview of sights in the city. At two of the stops we had a short presentation of the industry being presented and then an opportunity to shop. I viewed this as how things were done as the sales were not hard selling. Our guide spoke English well, presented the tour well and engaged in additional questions about the City and culture. Hotel pick up was very convenient.

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

Helen H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

It was a very enjoyable day out and our guide Tom was knowledgeable and helpful. Both Suzhou and Zhouzhuang water village were beautiful destinations. We visited the master of the nets garden in Suzhou, made in the beautiful traditional Chinese style. The other highlight was the canal trip at Zhouzhuang water village. I thoroughly recommend this trip.

Doing what: Suzhou and Zhouzhuang Water Village Day Trip from Shanghai

Marina C

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Well organized, very knowledgable and friendly guide. Only disappointment was lunch, which mediocre at best. I would still recommend this tour though.

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

marceladiaz80

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

This tour was good!!! Gloria our tour guide spoke English well so it was easy to visit around .

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

dawnranjidavid

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

The Tour Guide, Paul, was very lovely, spoke good English and was hugely agreeable. The Master of Nets Garden was underwhelming with pockets of charm, and the Silk Factory proved to be a surprise with great buys and good value on the products. Lots of quality souvenirs to pick up for female friends and family back home. ZhouZhuang was a mix of very exquisite old heritage and disturbingly modern commercial retail. Overall a good tour - try to avoid the weekends.

Doing what: Suzhou and Zhouzhuang Water Village Day Trip from Shanghai

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message