Day trips are a great way to see beyond the city that you're visiting and experience a multitude of sights in one day. This is especially true in such a big country like China. Day trips from Shanghai offer a great opportunity to see more of the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 732 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Dijana

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our tour guide was amazing. It was pouring down with rain the day we went she managed to make it fun still. Full of knowledge about the places we visited. The water town was awesome and the gondola ride was a great way to see the town

Doing what: Suzhou and Zhouzhuang Water Village Day Trip from Shanghai

Johanna S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was amazing and the guide was awesome!

Doing what: Suzhou and Zhouzhuang Water Village Day Trip from Shanghai

Marina C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Well planned visit, great guide, great lunch.

Doing what: Suzhou and Zhouzhuang Water Village Day Trip from Shanghai

Sunil S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great guide and driver. Good company. Enjoyed the trip - except for the long queues to get into the Museum.

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

Jessica L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I had a great time. They called my hotel the night before to confirm pick-up time, which was so much easier than emailing/calling me since I'd just arrived in country. We got to see so much in one day and Rita was a great tour guide.

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

Marina C

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Well organized, very knowledgable and friendly guide. Only disappointment was lunch, which mediocre at best. I would still recommend this tour though.

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

marceladiaz80

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

This tour was good!!! Gloria our tour guide spoke English well so it was easy to visit around .

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

dawnranjidavid

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

The Tour Guide, Paul, was very lovely, spoke good English and was hugely agreeable. The Master of Nets Garden was underwhelming with pockets of charm, and the Silk Factory proved to be a surprise with great buys and good value on the products. Lots of quality souvenirs to pick up for female friends and family back home. ZhouZhuang was a mix of very exquisite old heritage and disturbingly modern commercial retail. Overall a good tour - try to avoid the weekends.

Doing what: Suzhou and Zhouzhuang Water Village Day Trip from Shanghai

Rita P

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

It was a really good tour, especially if you are staying only a short time in Shanghai and you want to make the most out of it

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

Chris K

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Great tour, lots of interesting information at each stop. Good value.

Doing what: Suzhou and Zhouzhuang Water Village Day Trip from Shanghai

Kyle C

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

Not very interesting. Just a lot of shopping opportunities. Was hoping for a bit more authenticity. But good value for the money. The cost of transport alone round trip probably justifies the price.

Doing what: Suzhou and Zhouzhuang Water Village Day Trip from Shanghai

sporis

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2016

Guide Rita got less and less communicative as the day went on. She seemed annoyed when most of the group did not buy anything at the silk factory, which took way too much time from the tour anyway. I did not sign up for a shopping tour. The boat ride was short, lunch was bad, the van was dirty.

Doing what: Suzhou and Zhouzhuang Water Village Day Trip from Shanghai

Suit C

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2016

Logistics and guide content was good except we have an issue with honesty. We have a 5 year old child in the party who is less than 1.2 m tall. The guide told us that we need to purchase a full price ticket even for him. We have a person in the party who reads Chinese and told her that the posted ticket information says the child is free. Only then we were able to not have to pay for the child.

Doing what: Private Custom Tour: Shanghai in One Day

Hendrik B

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2016

I would only recommend the Zhouzang water village on this trip! Spent 5 hours in the bus because of the hotel pickup, The garden is small and crowded, the Souzou part of this trip is walking over a bridge and look at a wall 5 minutes. The silk factory selling tour is long and includes the lunch which seems to be some kind of a deal for the operator. The guide was nice, but mostly concentrated on numbers rather than history. All in all too expensive.

Doing what: Suzhou and Zhouzhuang Water Village Day Trip from Shanghai

Jody B

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2016

Not a good tour. Our tour guide Frank tended to talk softly and without any enthusiasm so it was difficult to hear even if he was saying something interesting which rarely happened.At the end of the tour he hassled us about the appropriate amount to tip which is not appropriate. We felt generous tipping at all given the poor experience. I don't trust the reviews on Viator after this, there is no way this tour should have ever gotten 5 stars. We started with the museum where we stood in line for over an hour no skip the line pass. We had less than an hour in the museum, which is quite interesting and worth a visit. At times during the day I asked Frank questions i.e. why is it called the french concession and received very non-descriptive answers brushing me off concession is just another word for colonial. He seemed to have very little interest in giving for context for the history of the city. The pearl museum and silk factory are outdated showroom 'demonstrations' with several people literally following you around pushing you to buy pearls/silk goods. Lunch was not bad but the restaurant was run-down. With so many great places to eat, this was disappointing. The gardens and Jade temple were great but our guide made visiting into a chore. Really not great guys. And tipping is a discretionary expression of gratitude for a job well done, not a given.

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

Hoda E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Much Appreciated....Awesome experience....

Doing what: Private Custom Tour: Shanghai in One Day

Matthew Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We only had one full day in Shanghai and we hit a home run with this tour. We didn't feel rushed but the tour guide kept things moving so we could see as much as possible in the limited time. Joy, our tour guide, was FANTASTIC!

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

Endre S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent tour. Our tour guide was very friendly and informative. Expect some delays in pick-up time depending on traffic and the number of hotel pick-ups. Overall, I highly recommend this tour if you have a spare day in Shanghai.

Doing what: Suzhou and Zhouzhuang Water Village Day Trip from Shanghai

Robert R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our guide, Joy was super. She explained lots of background on what we were seeing, which made the things we were seeing so much more meaningful. Her English was excellent. We had a small group as well, which made things very nice, and relaxed.

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

Robert R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our tour guide, Joy, Was very knowledgeable and informative.
She was also very friendly and spoke very good english. We had a small group which made it easier to see everything. We also had a great lunch.

Doing what: Suzhou and Zhouzhuang Water Village Day Trip from Shanghai

Shirley W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was an impressive tour with professional service. Steven was prompt when meeting me at my hotel 5am the first day. We traveled to the airport and the excellent service provided for my departure was appreciated. Likewise when I returned. The flight was late and when I arrived from Xi'an he was waiting with a clear sign bearing my name. No anxiety about how to locate Steven so the start and end was a great experince.

When i arrived in Xi'an Michael met me also with a sign and introduced himself. He inquired if I needed anything after my flight and before leaving the airport. Then he carefully explained the itinerary and was conscientious when asking about preferences and/or allergies to foods for lunch and dinner. His English was excellent. The knowledge he shared about the places we went was fascinating. He is a good converationalist engaging me in the discussions rather than just presenting a memorzied speech. Not having been to Xi'an before I was a little nervous. Michael put me right at ease with his easy and professional manner.

Our driver, Mr. Dong was great. His driving skills in the traffic and rain were incredible. He never took unsafe chances when navigating through the narrow, crowded streets. Mr. Dong was courteous making sure to open the door, assist me as needed and even provide an umbrella in the rain.

I would highly recommend this tour for anyone who is interested in a quality experience seeing the terra cotta soldiers, the museum, the drum tower, and more. The tour was not rushed, the atmosphere was relaxed and informative, and the accomodations at the five star hotel were good.

This is not the first time I have used Viator - used them in Hawaii, Frankfurt and France. Always professional staff, on time, and my go to company for sightseeing in a country where I don't have a command of the language.

Doing what: 2-Day Private Tour of Xi'an from Shanghai by Air

ROBERT S USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

It was a great tour. There were 6 of us and that made it easy to see things. Our guide,Joy, was delightful. She knew a lot and made sure we did too. We saw her the next day in a market and she was waving to get our attention. That was really nice. The Water village tour was worth taking

Doing what: Suzhou and Zhouzhuang Water Village Day Trip from Shanghai

AVIVA H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

WE REALY SAW THE BEST OF SHANGHAI WITH THE BEST GIDE EVER THANK YOU

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

shaye j

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great fantastic tour I had a private tour in shanghai as I was only one booked for that day. Kimi my tour guide was very pleasant, and very knowlegable. I enjoyed the day, which was VERY long ,tremendously. Day began with pickup at hotel at 530 AM , flight to Xian, and return to my shanghai hotel at midnite. The warriors were highlight of day,or maybe even my entire stay in China. Kudos

Doing what: Xi'an in One Day: Day Trip from Shanghai by Air

e3canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was my first time using Viator. The tour was amazing, everything worked like clockwork. The driver and tour guide were right on time and the content of the tour was phenomenal. In my opinion, as a world traveller, there is no better way to see a new city or get a sense for a country than to book a tour like this especially on small layovers. Thanks Viator!

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message