Day trips are a great way to see beyond the city that you're visiting and experience a multitude of sights in one day. This is especially true in such a big country like China. Day trips from Shanghai offer a great opportunity to see more of the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 740 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

clarkwh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great tour. The sights, of course, are spectacular. In terms of the tour, the guide was excellent. Very personable and very good English. Arrangements were great. Pickup at my hotel and transfer to the airport. Pickup at Xi'an airport. Pickup back in Shanghai and return to my hotel. All were professionally handled. Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Xi'an in One Day: Day Trip from Shanghai by Air

LYNNE C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

great trip, the guide was lovely, perfect day excursion

Doing what: Suzhou and Zhouzhuang Water Village Day Trip from Shanghai

melinda l

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

Not my favorite tour. I felt l like we were being paraded into showrooms and stores just to spend money with the locals. Other tours I have had in other cities didn't parade us through shops and stores like this.

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

Laura L

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2016

I imagined floating down the river in a water boat getting an overview of the history of the towns. In reality, the tour was 7 hours, three destinations and we spent half in the van, SO touristy, people trying to sell you things everywhere - the water boat was 10 mins. Guide was friendly, good eng.

Doing what: Suzhou and Zhouzhuang Water Village Day Trip from Shanghai

Dijana

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our tour guide was amazing. It was pouring down with rain the day we went she managed to make it fun still. Full of knowledge about the places we visited. The water town was awesome and the gondola ride was a great way to see the town

Doing what: Suzhou and Zhouzhuang Water Village Day Trip from Shanghai

Johanna S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was amazing and the guide was awesome!

Doing what: Suzhou and Zhouzhuang Water Village Day Trip from Shanghai

Marina C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Well planned visit, great guide, great lunch.

Doing what: Suzhou and Zhouzhuang Water Village Day Trip from Shanghai

Sunil S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great guide and driver. Good company. Enjoyed the trip - except for the long queues to get into the Museum.

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

Jessica L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I had a great time. They called my hotel the night before to confirm pick-up time, which was so much easier than emailing/calling me since I'd just arrived in country. We got to see so much in one day and Rita was a great tour guide.

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

seufertd

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The tour gave us a nice overview of sights in the city. At two of the stops we had a short presentation of the industry being presented and then an opportunity to shop. I viewed this as how things were done as the sales were not hard selling. Our guide spoke English well, presented the tour well and engaged in additional questions about the City and culture. Hotel pick up was very convenient.

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

Helen H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

It was a very enjoyable day out and our guide Tom was knowledgeable and helpful. Both Suzhou and Zhouzhuang water village were beautiful destinations. We visited the master of the nets garden in Suzhou, made in the beautiful traditional Chinese style. The other highlight was the canal trip at Zhouzhuang water village. I thoroughly recommend this trip.

Doing what: Suzhou and Zhouzhuang Water Village Day Trip from Shanghai

Marina C

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Well organized, very knowledgable and friendly guide. Only disappointment was lunch, which mediocre at best. I would still recommend this tour though.

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

marceladiaz80

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

This tour was good!!! Gloria our tour guide spoke English well so it was easy to visit around .

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

dawnranjidavid

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

The Tour Guide, Paul, was very lovely, spoke good English and was hugely agreeable. The Master of Nets Garden was underwhelming with pockets of charm, and the Silk Factory proved to be a surprise with great buys and good value on the products. Lots of quality souvenirs to pick up for female friends and family back home. ZhouZhuang was a mix of very exquisite old heritage and disturbingly modern commercial retail. Overall a good tour - try to avoid the weekends.

Doing what: Suzhou and Zhouzhuang Water Village Day Trip from Shanghai

Rita P

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

It was a really good tour, especially if you are staying only a short time in Shanghai and you want to make the most out of it

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

Chris K

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Great tour, lots of interesting information at each stop. Good value.

Doing what: Suzhou and Zhouzhuang Water Village Day Trip from Shanghai

Helen H

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

The guide was very helpful and informative. The travelling by bus from and to Shanghai took more than half the time. The boat cruise on the lake was pleasant. I would have liked more time to walk around the park by the lake despite the weather being hot.

Doing what: Hangzhou: Heaven on Earth Day Trip from Shanghai

Julie S

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Zhouzhuang was very clean and beautiful. The boat tour was nice since this was my first time visiting a water village
Wish to have more time visiting more gardens in Suzhou

Doing what: Suzhou and Zhouzhuang Water Village Day Trip from Shanghai

Kyle C

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

Not very interesting. Just a lot of shopping opportunities. Was hoping for a bit more authenticity. But good value for the money. The cost of transport alone round trip probably justifies the price.

Doing what: Suzhou and Zhouzhuang Water Village Day Trip from Shanghai

sporis

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2016

Guide Rita got less and less communicative as the day went on. She seemed annoyed when most of the group did not buy anything at the silk factory, which took way too much time from the tour anyway. I did not sign up for a shopping tour. The boat ride was short, lunch was bad, the van was dirty.

Doing what: Suzhou and Zhouzhuang Water Village Day Trip from Shanghai

Suit C

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2016

Logistics and guide content was good except we have an issue with honesty. We have a 5 year old child in the party who is less than 1.2 m tall. The guide told us that we need to purchase a full price ticket even for him. We have a person in the party who reads Chinese and told her that the posted ticket information says the child is free. Only then we were able to not have to pay for the child.

Doing what: Private Custom Tour: Shanghai in One Day

Hendrik B

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2016

I would only recommend the Zhouzang water village on this trip! Spent 5 hours in the bus because of the hotel pickup, The garden is small and crowded, the Souzou part of this trip is walking over a bridge and look at a wall 5 minutes. The silk factory selling tour is long and includes the lunch which seems to be some kind of a deal for the operator. The guide was nice, but mostly concentrated on numbers rather than history. All in all too expensive.

Doing what: Suzhou and Zhouzhuang Water Village Day Trip from Shanghai

Jody B

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2016

Not a good tour. Our tour guide Frank tended to talk softly and without any enthusiasm so it was difficult to hear even if he was saying something interesting which rarely happened.At the end of the tour he hassled us about the appropriate amount to tip which is not appropriate. We felt generous tipping at all given the poor experience. I don't trust the reviews on Viator after this, there is no way this tour should have ever gotten 5 stars. We started with the museum where we stood in line for over an hour no skip the line pass. We had less than an hour in the museum, which is quite interesting and worth a visit. At times during the day I asked Frank questions i.e. why is it called the french concession and received very non-descriptive answers brushing me off concession is just another word for colonial. He seemed to have very little interest in giving for context for the history of the city. The pearl museum and silk factory are outdated showroom 'demonstrations' with several people literally following you around pushing you to buy pearls/silk goods. Lunch was not bad but the restaurant was run-down. With so many great places to eat, this was disappointing. The gardens and Jade temple were great but our guide made visiting into a chore. Really not great guys. And tipping is a discretionary expression of gratitude for a job well done, not a given.

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

Hoda E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Much Appreciated....Awesome experience....

Doing what: Private Custom Tour: Shanghai in One Day

Matthew Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We only had one full day in Shanghai and we hit a home run with this tour. We didn't feel rushed but the tour guide kept things moving so we could see as much as possible in the limited time. Joy, our tour guide, was FANTASTIC!

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message