Day trips are a great way to see beyond the city that you're visiting and experience a multitude of sights in one day. This is especially true in such a big country like China. Day trips from Shanghai offer a great opportunity to see more of the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 773 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

jaltdm

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Great guide lovely driver best way to see the city

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

Sofia

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

Very long day, but worth doing it, if you have only 24 hours. No doubt the Terracotta Army is the highlight. I enjoyed a lot the biking along the city wall as well.

Doing what: Xi'an in One Day: Day Trip from Shanghai by Air

Walter S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

I debated between four stars and five stars and finally opted for five because the tour itself was excellent. The only drawback was Shanghai traffic. Our tour guide was very good and attentive to what we needed. She also provided us with great and interesting information about both Suzhou and Zhouzhuang. I would take this tour again.

Doing what: Suzhou and Zhouzhuang Water Village Day Trip from Shanghai

margaret k

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Great organisation and accommodation. Michael was fabulous - knowledgeable and friendly and very accommodating. Food was great, the hotel very luxurious and the car was clean and very comfortable. We weren't rushed and yet we saw all we wanted to see. Highly recommend this product.

Doing what: 2-Day Private Tour of Xi'an from Shanghai by Air

Julie C.

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

Excellent option for traveling to China on business. I booked this tour to see as many sights as I could with my limited schedule. Airport pick ups were great and drop offs included attentive check in at the airports. The guides were great and the food was abundant. I could have skipped the shopping stops, but that's just my own preference. There was another woman from US also traveling on business that had booked the same tour, so we enjoyed some meals together. Too bad the tour company didn't offer to pair us up to share a guide and driver, as we could both have saved some money. First hotel so-so, second was great. Overall, a fantastic option for a quick visit to this amazing country.

Doing what: 3-Day Private Tour of Xi'an and Beijing from Shanghai by Air

Janine Kate D

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

This was a wonderful introduction to Shanghai It was a small-group tour and the tour guide Rita was excellent- fantastic communicator, highly knowledgeable and very friendly. I'd highly recommend this tour if you are new to the city and want to get a good, general impression.
Suggestions for improvement: I think for me personally it would have been nicer to have a little free time for looking around the Old Town instead of spending so much time at the Silk Factory.

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

yourgalval

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

The tour was well organized and the tour guide, Valerie, was quite knowledgeable. I went to Shanghai on a work trip and had no idea what the city was like - this tour gave me a great feel for what I discovered was an AMAZING city. I hope I get to return!

I felt like a schmuck for buying it, but I have to say I love my comforter from the silk factory. The only thing I would change, and the reason the tour loses a star, is the lunch spot. The food was barely mediocre, the air was smoky, and we were packed in like sardines. Surely EVERY tour group in town doesn't need to eat at the same place at the same time?

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

Pat T

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2016

The Suzhou garden was good but not great. The garden was worn and I saw better stuff in Shanghai Museum for free. Zhouzhuang water was rather poetic, but the light rain killed off half of the fun. Most of the shops along the shore sold nothing but pig feet. Too much time was spending in the silk factory is a minus.

Doing what: Suzhou and Zhouzhuang Water Village Day Trip from Shanghai

ALOK K

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2016

It was supposed to be a day trip with bullet train to maximise time efficiency and enhance experience of travel in the famed bullet trains.
It was a surprise to learn that the travel to Hangzhou from Shanghai was arranged in a A/C coach in which travel time was 3 hrs one way. No where in the voucher was this aspect mentioned and the rates charged talked about transportation in A/c coach which typically would be understood to mean within city travel.
Even for the lunch - which is a part of the package - the tie up is not with any quality restaurant but with a group booking eating place that serves limited quality irrespective of number of guests 1 plate of each item to be shared between the tourist having lunch. Pointed out about the same ,extra was being offered at add on costs- which is a complete rip off.Not seen it happening anywhere else.
Overall charge for the package and its delivery there is a huge gap and a feeling of being taken on a ride. Caution for other who trust that benefit of tourist is being protected and there is honest transparency in the packages being created. I have seen Bullet train package being offered at 138 wherein I had paid 169 and still got trapped on 6 hours of commute on 1 day trip.

Doing what: Hangzhou: Heaven on Earth Day Trip from Shanghai

Linda D

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2016

This tour tried to do too much, the tour guide was uninformative, and too much time was wasted in transit in Shanghai and between Shanghai and Suzhou. The water village was the best thing on the tour and I recommend just doing that by yourself or with a competent guide.
Further detail: it is far better to take the bullet train to Suzhou from Shanghai round trip about 1.5 hours and hire a taxi or vehicle vs wasting 4 hours of your tour in a van. This could possibly have been compensated if our guide had been great, but he is probably the worst guide I have had - Tom gave barely any or no information at each site including no information on how silk is made at the silk factory or any history on the water village. He also berated me for being 5 minutes late for a 7:30am start before I proceeded to spend 1.5 hours waiting for everyone else to be collected and who certainly weren't waiting outside their hotels. He seemed far more interested in discussing Buddhism with the four Indians on the tour, who weren't even Buddhists. Also, this tour was far too rushed - we barely had any time at any site. I like to do a lot in one day, but this was just stressful. Tom literally herded us from site to site, telling us to hurry up.

Doing what: Suzhou and Zhouzhuang Water Village Day Trip from Shanghai

Gordon S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Great trip. Our tour guide, Frank, made it truly extraordinary and delightful. He was soft spoken, knowledgable, warm, friendly, and really made this trip memorable.

Doing what: Suzhou and Zhouzhuang Water Village Day Trip from Shanghai

Marco S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Excellent tour and guide. I absolutely recommend it. Regards from México

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

Margaretha K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The water village and The silk Factory wereboth verf Nice. The Guide Spike verf Well English. So we had a Great day and advies everybody to do this excursion with Viator.

Doing what: Suzhou and Zhouzhuang Water Village Day Trip from Shanghai

Matthew P

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

This is a good tour. Highly recommend it over other similarly-priced day tours in Shanghai.

Doing what: Suzhou and Zhouzhuang Water Village Day Trip from Shanghai

Robin N

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

The 3 stops on this trip offered very different glimpses of the region. The Net Master's Garden may not be the largest of the famous gardens in Suzhou, but it was lovely. The tour of the silk factory was interesting and don't pass up the chance to touch the silkworms even if the intention is to introduce a commercial/souvenier element to the day. When you think of the history of silk you must think of China. And the trip to Zhouzhuang and time to explore the water village was an interesting contrast. I even enjoyed the view from the van window driving to and fro! The weak spot of the tour is the relatively uninspired lunch included in the tour.

Doing what: Suzhou and Zhouzhuang Water Village Day Trip from Shanghai

DEREK L

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Highly recommended although seemed quite expensive for a day. Both Maria the guide and the drivers were excellent, and I manages to see the Great Wall, a jade factory, the Olympic Park and the Forbidden City all in one day. I was taken to the airport far too early but I do understand that Beijing traffic can be very temperamental.

Doing what: Beijing in One Day: Day Trip from Shanghai by Air

JOHN B

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

It was a rainy day and we were the only two on the tour but our guide Frank and the driver gave us a good trip in a new Buick van. Hangzhou is a beautiful city in the tea growing region and it was impressive to see the new highways and rail lines along the way. Did the West Lake boat trip in the rain and stopped at an impressive pagoda built by an emperor around the year 950.

Doing what: Hangzhou: Heaven on Earth Day Trip from Shanghai

Matthew P

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2016

This trip was a huge disappointment. We slowly walked through some but not all of the sites listed in the tour description, and our guide talked very quietly, if at all. It seemed that we spent much of the day sitting and waiting to go to other more interesting sites, but this never happened. A few members of our group were disappointed enough that they left in the middle of the tour.

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

Rafael F

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2016

It was an interesting day, very fast paced. It did not start out great though.... At 5:30 am, on our way down in elevator, when the doors opened, the Guide that was shuttling us to airport said You are late. It turns out it was 5:32am-Apple time. Not a pleasant start. At airport we were given paperwork, but struggled to get past security as the paper barding pass was not accepted. After 3 tries of very mean airport personnel, we finally were able to get on. I personally think, that you know your own airport, Guide should have helped us print a boarding pass at the airport. Shanghai airport everyone is pushy, rude, and have no sense of personal space at all-to the point of feeling uncomfortable. Ran to gate, and got on plane, but we thought we would miss the plane with all the back and forth with boarding pass. Guide in Beijing was good. Great Wall was amazing, as were T Square and Forbidden City. Lunch at a Jade Store was good, but salespeople were indeed pushy, and follow you around the entire store. On our way back we were dropped off 3 hours prior to departure, which was a bit early. We could have gone somewhere else as we are only in Beijing once. Once dropped off at airport, Guide was in extreme hurry to leave us. Above complaints I am providing as this was an expensive tour and the described airport experience make a huge difference on stress and in how you spend the day.

Doing what: Beijing in One Day: Day Trip from Shanghai by Air

Rafael F

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2016

Started tour by picking up tourists from 6 different hotels. This took 2.5 hours. Had the guide been explaining what we saw along the route, then it would not have been so bad. We went to a museum, were told to walk fast to get into queue, and when we got there the line was incredible. So guide changed plans and we went for a walk in the gardens. At this time he would tell us a bit about where we were, however, guide was soft spoken. One of the tourists complained that he could not hear what the guide was explaining. This little comment turned into a bit of an argument. Guide said that he was picking on him and that he had gotten up early at 5am and this was not fair, as it is humid today and very hot. This set the tone for the rest of the tour. It gave us the impression that this guide was new to tourism. For lunch we were basically on our own at a restaurant. I had no idea what were served to eat. The Pearl Factory employees were quite pushy, and I think we spent way too much time there. Then the Silk Factory was interesting to see how silk is spun, but the sales people were too pushy, once again. We are on vacation, and paying for a tour, I did not like having to continually say no thank you to sales people that have been trained to by pushy. No, thank you, I do not need a comforter, I live in Miami where it routinely is hotter than Shanghai. Sales people would literally follow you throughout store, even listening to the our conversation, and responding when we did not address them. We were kind, but I did see other tourists not be so kind. Guide made a heavy pitch at the end for us to be left in town and find our way back by taxi. I didn't think this was appropriate either.

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

jordice

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Worth the trip to get out of Shanghai and see true chine just 2 hours away from the big city

Doing what: Suzhou and Zhouzhuang Water Village Day Trip from Shanghai

Amy S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We only had 24 hours in Shanghai and this 8 hour tour proved to be the perfect snapshot of the city. Our tour guide Frank was fantastic. We were taken care of at every turn and given adequate time to explore each site.

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

Susan T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was a really great tour - the tour guide Frank was lovely and very knowledgeable. We started at the Museum, this was okay but a little dry - I think it was a matter of too much time to just skim, and not enough time to really look at it properly. What I suggest is to choose just one or two of the galleries and really spend some time in those rather than trying to race through them all. The furniture is very good, and so it the coins. Next stop was the Jade Buddha temple - truthfully the Jade Buddha was okay, but the rest of the temple was amazing - loved the Hall of the 4 Kings - and the laughing Buddha. Was lovely to hear a bit about the history of Buddhism in China and how it was brought from India. It was then off to the Silk factory - very interesting - but be warned the sales people will hook into you like limpets - firmly tell them nicely you would like some time alone to discuss/make your own decisions. Saying that there are some lovely scarves, duvets, and covers and clothing to choose from. We then had lunch at a nice restaurant - plenty of food. We then went to the Pearl centre - once again - I thought this was just ok - truthfully I think the one in the Isle of Wight is actually better - and the pearls though good quality, were expensive.
So then we went to the Bund - which is not the name of the river, but instead it is the name of the war memorial. This was a very interesting talk and the view is lovely.
We then went to my favourite part of the tour which was the Yuyuan Garden. You go through an incredibly busy part of Shanghai to get to it - look out for the Turtles by the zig zag bridge but it is a wonderful place with lots of history. Look out for the Dragon Wall and the Chinese Theatre. I imagine it would be incredibly peaceful if there were not so many people - but even with all the tourists it was just lovely.We finished in the French Quarter where we strolled around the section looking at all the shops and restaurants -Wonderful!

Doing what: Best of Shanghai Day Tour including Jade Buddha Temple and The Bund

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message