Mount Etna, on the island of Sicily, is Europe’s tallest active volcano. Not only that, it’s one of the world’s most active volcanoes and, as of 2013, is an UNESCO World Heritage Site. It is a small wonder, then, that this mountain has shaped much ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 169 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Suzigloworm

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Brilliant trip. Took the coach to the base of Etna. The cable car takes you up so far and then you catch a jeep up to the summit. When you get off the cable car you are asked if you want to hire a coat - I would highly recommend this as it's really cold thousands of feet up Etna! We just had shorts and tops on - not ideal! Once at the top you meet up with your guide and they take you round various craters - absolutely fantastic - would love to do it again.

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

Melody M

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

This was a very nice tour of Mt Etna. Unfortunately, we could not reach the summit due to inclement weather, but it was still very interesting to visit. Even at the altitude we were at, it was very windy and cold I went in October, so if you go outside of the summer months be sure to dress warmly. I thought the Alcantara Gorges was an unnecessary stop and not very interesting, but that is just my opinion. The train ride was very nice. Alfreddo was our guide and he kept us very well informed during the day trip. I would recommend it and would go again if I have the opportunity in the future.

Doing what: Mount Etna and Alcantara Gorges Day Trip with Circumetnea Railway Ride

Gary T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This trip is a highlight of any visit to Taormina. We went to the top and while it was nice sunny on the way up it clouded over at the top and were unable to actually see the sun set. The trip down over the lava fields in the dark and fog was exhilarating. The subsequent dinner was very good.

Doing what: Sunset Mount Etna Tour from Taormina

Shane E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Although the weather conditions on Mt Etna obscured any good views of the mountain, this trip was worth it. Taking the cable car and 4-wheel drive bus to the 3000 metre mark was also worth the extra cost. The landscape was amazing - like the surface of the moon or of Mars.

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

kku99

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Well worth every A true experience and a thrill of a lifetime.

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

Maria Catena S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

FANTASTIC!!!!!! It was great and I highly recommend doing it all-the full day one!!!
Mt Etna was beautiful and our local tour guide was great. We drove up to the top and even took the cable car!
We had a day to see Mt Etna and this was a great way! It was well organised and I recommend it to everyone!
Worth doing!

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

ES1742 United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was an amazing way to explore Mt Etna!! We absolutely loved this tour and we would highly recommend it to anyone visiting the region. Make sure to choose the 4.5 hour option because it allows you enough time to explore Etna. We had never driven ATVs before, but it was easy to pick up. Also make sure to wear close toed shoes, long pants, and bring a sweatshirt.

We we glad that we arranged a hotel pick up. We spent the day with our local guide, Denise, who was wonderful! This trip took us through various small towns, off-roading on various nature trails, and we even drove through a few small streams. The views were incredible and the experience was one of the highlights of our trip to Sicily!

Doing what: Mt Etna Off-Road Quad Bike

freiberg3

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This tour was really exciting. The ride on the Circumetna train gave us a real chance to see the countryside and Mt. Etna. Unfortunately as we arrived at the mountain, the weather had changed for the worse and the gondola was shut down due to high winds. We were transported up the mountain in an all terrain 28 passenger bus, which was quite a ride. It was very foggy, windy, and started to rain so we chose not to continue on to the top of the crater. There was about a 45 minute wait for the bus to take everyone back down, but we made it safely.

Doing what: Mount Etna and Alcantara Gorges Day Trip with Circumetnea Railway Ride

Steve United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Trip was good as Etna is spectacular. Guide on coach could have been more involved and wasted time at 2000 on Etna waiting for lift passes etc. Toilet facilities very poor at Etna so use earlier pop to go!
Very windy and cold at top so go prepared, it is a a lovely day out

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

davidmstalker

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Well worth going up to craters. Again guides gave lots of useful information.

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

Vladimir K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was beautiful experience.

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

Susan R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The Alcantara Gorges were stunning and Mount Etna was impressive. Although it was a warm day, we got caught in a sleet storm at the summit, so the walking tour of the craters was cancelled. Luckily they hire ski jackets for 3 euros which came in handy as we were wearing summer clothing. Still worthwhile doing, but best come prepared for all weather conditions.

Doing what: Mount Etna and Alcantara Gorges Day Trip with Circumetnea Railway Ride

Jonathan S

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

The tour was very interesting and the guide was also very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Mount Etna and Alcantara Gorges Day Trip with Circumetnea Railway Ride

Tracey F

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Enjoyable trip a long day traveling if your not a good traveller. We enjoyed the trip and the scenery well worth the cable car journey. The food in the store at the base was very tasty.

Doing what: Mount Etna and Alcantara Gorges Day Trip with Circumetnea Railway Ride

Antoinette N

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

This was a good trip. Our guide spoke English and was able to give us history and information on the way to Mt. Etna. I understood about 80 of what she was telling us.

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

lisalive24

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Beautiful experience! But luckily for us it wasn't raining, I can imagine that that can make it not so beautiful.

Doing what: Sunset Mount Etna Tour from Taormina

Chia Jung Y

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2016

Paid 8 euros visiting Alcantara Gorge but ended up spending only 1 hour inside.

If you could, please cut off the train tour part.

Don't see any point of taking the train tour since we simply just sat on the train for an hour and went back to the same train station.

Doing what: Mount Etna and Alcantara Gorges Day Trip with Circumetnea Railway Ride

Nikki L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

I booked this trip as a surprise for my husband and we're so glad we did it! I arranged for us to be picked up from our hotel in Taormina. Everybody we met from this company was so friendly and we were given a bit of history of Etna before the tour. We were lucky to be the only ones on this tour, so we very much had a personal service. Our guide was Josef and he was an enthusiastic guide, keen to make sure we had the whole experience. We had a double quad, as I wasn't confident at riding one myself and we set off first through the valley, which is beautiful and very green and lush, before getting higher into the black lava soil of Etna. Josef stopped on the way to give us some information about the area and also took us to a cave that had been created in the eruption of 2002. When we reached the top, it was a bit surreal as the weather was noticeably cooler and the landscape was like nothing we'd seen before. There are a few cabins where you can get refreshments and souvenirs though you'd need to take a rucksack if you intended buying anything. Then we travelled back down a slightly different route, which took us through a forest. I think the tour was about 4.5 hours and we were very dusty but very happy to have had the experience! We went in July and I would definitely recommend sunscreen and sunglasses and be prepared to get a bit grubby. In our view, the best way to see Mount Etna!

Doing what: Mt Etna Off-Road Quad Bike

Julia S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great tour. Very informative. Not to be missed

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

John V United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

A great experience - A full day out - the highlight is the Summit of Etna but the whole day was fun. The AirCon on the coach was a god-send

Doing what: Mount Etna and Alcantara Gorges Day Trip with Circumetnea Railway Ride

Jos G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

It was great! Organisation was ok.

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

Billstav33

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

It was a great experience!

Doing what: Sunset Mount Etna Tour from Taormina

Richard D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Tour was amazing....worth every cent, experiencing the internal parts of Etna.... forests, caves etc A must for families, nature lovers, adventures and those in search of something different. Brilliant

Doing what: Mt Etna Off-Road Quad Bike

alohagrimm

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Loved the trip! It was a great adventure with none of the stress.Wear comfortable shoes for lots of walking and take water. Also check the weather, there was still snow on top and very windy when we went.

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message