Mount Etna, on the island of Sicily, is Europe’s tallest active volcano. Not only that, it’s one of the world’s most active volcanoes and, as of 2013, is an UNESCO World Heritage Site. It is a small wonder, then, that this mountain has shaped much ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 159 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

davidmstalker

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Well worth going up to craters. Again guides gave lots of useful information.

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

Vladimir K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was beautiful experience.

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

Susan R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The Alcantara Gorges were stunning and Mount Etna was impressive. Although it was a warm day, we got caught in a sleet storm at the summit, so the walking tour of the craters was cancelled. Luckily they hire ski jackets for 3 euros which came in handy as we were wearing summer clothing. Still worthwhile doing, but best come prepared for all weather conditions.

Doing what: Mount Etna and Alcantara Gorges Day Trip with Circumetnea Railway Ride

Jonathan S

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

The tour was very interesting and the guide was also very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Mount Etna and Alcantara Gorges Day Trip with Circumetnea Railway Ride

Tracey F

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Enjoyable trip a long day traveling if your not a good traveller. We enjoyed the trip and the scenery well worth the cable car journey. The food in the store at the base was very tasty.

Doing what: Mount Etna and Alcantara Gorges Day Trip with Circumetnea Railway Ride

Antoinette N

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

This was a good trip. Our guide spoke English and was able to give us history and information on the way to Mt. Etna. I understood about 80 of what she was telling us.

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

lisalive24

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Beautiful experience! But luckily for us it wasn't raining, I can imagine that that can make it not so beautiful.

Doing what: Sunset Mount Etna Tour from Taormina

Chia Jung Y

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2016

Paid 8 euros visiting Alcantara Gorge but ended up spending only 1 hour inside.

If you could, please cut off the train tour part.

Don't see any point of taking the train tour since we simply just sat on the train for an hour and went back to the same train station.

Doing what: Mount Etna and Alcantara Gorges Day Trip with Circumetnea Railway Ride

Nikki L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

I booked this trip as a surprise for my husband and we're so glad we did it! I arranged for us to be picked up from our hotel in Taormina. Everybody we met from this company was so friendly and we were given a bit of history of Etna before the tour. We were lucky to be the only ones on this tour, so we very much had a personal service. Our guide was Josef and he was an enthusiastic guide, keen to make sure we had the whole experience. We had a double quad, as I wasn't confident at riding one myself and we set off first through the valley, which is beautiful and very green and lush, before getting higher into the black lava soil of Etna. Josef stopped on the way to give us some information about the area and also took us to a cave that had been created in the eruption of 2002. When we reached the top, it was a bit surreal as the weather was noticeably cooler and the landscape was like nothing we'd seen before. There are a few cabins where you can get refreshments and souvenirs though you'd need to take a rucksack if you intended buying anything. Then we travelled back down a slightly different route, which took us through a forest. I think the tour was about 4.5 hours and we were very dusty but very happy to have had the experience! We went in July and I would definitely recommend sunscreen and sunglasses and be prepared to get a bit grubby. In our view, the best way to see Mount Etna!

Doing what: Mt Etna Off-Road Quad Bike

Julia S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great tour. Very informative. Not to be missed

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

John V United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

A great experience - A full day out - the highlight is the Summit of Etna but the whole day was fun. The AirCon on the coach was a god-send

Doing what: Mount Etna and Alcantara Gorges Day Trip with Circumetnea Railway Ride

Jos G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

It was great! Organisation was ok.

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

Billstav33

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

It was a great experience!

Doing what: Sunset Mount Etna Tour from Taormina

Richard D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Tour was amazing....worth every cent, experiencing the internal parts of Etna.... forests, caves etc A must for families, nature lovers, adventures and those in search of something different. Brilliant

Doing what: Mt Etna Off-Road Quad Bike

alohagrimm

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Loved the trip! It was a great adventure with none of the stress.Wear comfortable shoes for lots of walking and take water. Also check the weather, there was still snow on top and very windy when we went.

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

Julie F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Excellent experience , well worth going to the top !

Doing what: Sunset Mount Etna Tour from Taormina

Edina D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Everything was perfectly organized, we were picked up at our apartment in Taormina-Mazzaro, thanks to the flexibility of the local organizer. The trip was convenient, comfortable with air-cindioned bus, our guide was well-prepared and fluent both in English and German. The view from Etna is unforgettable - highly fecommended to everyone!

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

lee

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Very interesting day - easy pick up from taormina bus station. Well worth paying the supplement for the cable car and off road vehicles

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

Christine W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed the trip. The guide was excellent.

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

Sonya L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellant!!! A must do! Our tour guide was really nice so informative so much fun!!!

Doing what: Mt Etna Off-Road Quad Bike

Barbara H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Brilliant experience. Well worth the money to do the cable car and 4 x 4 minibus. Our guide was very informative and took us round a crater explaining the formation etc. A very well organised trip - picked up and dropped off right outside our hotel.

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

Jenane M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Mt Etna Off-Road Quad Bike

Tanya D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent tour guide and driver! Mt Etna tour was amazing. Make sure to dress warm as it is cold near top.

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

Christine S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

Derek K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message