Mount Etna, on the island of Sicily, is Europe’s tallest active volcano. Not only that, it’s one of the world’s most active volcanoes and, as of 2013, is an UNESCO World Heritage Site. It is a small wonder, then, that this mountain has shaped much ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 151 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Nikki L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

I booked this trip as a surprise for my husband and we're so glad we did it! I arranged for us to be picked up from our hotel in Taormina. Everybody we met from this company was so friendly and we were given a bit of history of Etna before the tour. We were lucky to be the only ones on this tour, so we very much had a personal service. Our guide was Josef and he was an enthusiastic guide, keen to make sure we had the whole experience. We had a double quad, as I wasn't confident at riding one myself and we set off first through the valley, which is beautiful and very green and lush, before getting higher into the black lava soil of Etna. Josef stopped on the way to give us some information about the area and also took us to a cave that had been created in the eruption of 2002. When we reached the top, it was a bit surreal as the weather was noticeably cooler and the landscape was like nothing we'd seen before. There are a few cabins where you can get refreshments and souvenirs though you'd need to take a rucksack if you intended buying anything. Then we travelled back down a slightly different route, which took us through a forest. I think the tour was about 4.5 hours and we were very dusty but very happy to have had the experience! We went in July and I would definitely recommend sunscreen and sunglasses and be prepared to get a bit grubby. In our view, the best way to see Mount Etna!

Doing what: Mt Etna Off-Road Quad Bike

Julia S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great tour. Very informative. Not to be missed

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

John V United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

A great experience - A full day out - the highlight is the Summit of Etna but the whole day was fun. The AirCon on the coach was a god-send

Doing what: Mount Etna and Alcantara Gorges Day Trip with Circumetnea Railway Ride

Jos G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

It was great! Organisation was ok.

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

Billstav33

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

It was a great experience!

Doing what: Sunset Mount Etna Tour from Taormina

Richard D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Tour was amazing....worth every cent, experiencing the internal parts of Etna.... forests, caves etc A must for families, nature lovers, adventures and those in search of something different. Brilliant

Doing what: Mt Etna Off-Road Quad Bike

alohagrimm

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Loved the trip! It was a great adventure with none of the stress.Wear comfortable shoes for lots of walking and take water. Also check the weather, there was still snow on top and very windy when we went.

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

Julie F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Excellent experience , well worth going to the top !

Doing what: Sunset Mount Etna Tour from Taormina

Edina D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Everything was perfectly organized, we were picked up at our apartment in Taormina-Mazzaro, thanks to the flexibility of the local organizer. The trip was convenient, comfortable with air-cindioned bus, our guide was well-prepared and fluent both in English and German. The view from Etna is unforgettable - highly fecommended to everyone!

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

lee

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Very interesting day - easy pick up from taormina bus station. Well worth paying the supplement for the cable car and off road vehicles

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

Christine W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed the trip. The guide was excellent.

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

Sonya L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellant!!! A must do! Our tour guide was really nice so informative so much fun!!!

Doing what: Mt Etna Off-Road Quad Bike

Barbara H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Brilliant experience. Well worth the money to do the cable car and 4 x 4 minibus. Our guide was very informative and took us round a crater explaining the formation etc. A very well organised trip - picked up and dropped off right outside our hotel.

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

Jenane M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Mt Etna Off-Road Quad Bike

Tanya D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent tour guide and driver! Mt Etna tour was amazing. Make sure to dress warm as it is cold near top.

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

Christine S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

Derek K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

Emma S

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

The tour was great - be prepared for lots of travel, but so worth it

Doing what: Mount Etna and Alcantara Gorges Day Trip with Circumetnea Railway Ride

MGINNELLY

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Great views..comedy ticketing for the trip up to the to

Doing what: Sunset Mount Etna Tour from Taormina

Ruth S

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

It was an o.k. experience and what we expected.

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

andrei nicolae g

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Great trip. so many things to see, so many things to remember. Especially the trip on Etna Mountain was very interesting and the guide was great.

Doing what: Mount Etna and Alcantara Gorges Day Trip with Circumetnea Railway Ride

Peter A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This is a long day 10hours but worthwhile. Our guide Alfredo was knowledgeable and enthusiastic with a great sense of humor. The Circumetnea railway ride is a real plus but the Alcantara Gorges trip slightly irrelevant. Mount Etna is well organized and well worth while but, as advised, not for people with heart or breathing problems. I would happily recommend this trip to all fit and healthy people

Doing what: Mount Etna and Alcantara Gorges Day Trip with Circumetnea Railway Ride

Jess T United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

My top tip for this tour is be prepared for temperature changes and have a warm coat. When we left Taormina it was 19C, 3000m up Mt Etna not only was it windy.... hello snow blizzard. We upgraded our tour to include transport to the top, it's worth it for the views and craters. My mum is on crutches, whilst it wasn't the easiest terrain for her we were aware it wouldn't be she did what she could and it was manageable.

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

Chitsanu K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Unique experience!
We visited on April 2016. The weather is highly windy such that the cablecar had to occationally pause the operation, and swinging travellers mid-air. There's no need to fear, it's just that it took us more time up and down than usual.

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message