While Sicily is very much part of modern Italy, it retains its own identity in many ways. The island, the largest in the Mediterranean, absolutely warrants two weeks of its own during an Italy trip. Of course, most travelers don’t want to spend ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 314 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Suzigloworm

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

I can highly recommend this trip. Picked the coach up at Taormina which took as to the port. Had plenty of time to explore both islands. When we got to Vulcano we were shown the mud baths ... bit to smelly for my liking!

Doing what: Aeolian Islands Day Trip from Taormina: Lipari and Vulcano

Suzigloworm

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Brilliant trip. Took the coach to the base of Etna. The cable car takes you up so far and then you catch a jeep up to the summit. When you get off the cable car you are asked if you want to hire a coat - I would highly recommend this as it's really cold thousands of feet up Etna! We just had shorts and tops on - not ideal! Once at the top you meet up with your guide and they take you round various craters - absolutely fantastic - would love to do it again.

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

Michael T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

I would absolutely recommend it! We saw so much on the water and the islands. The volcano was smoking and we saw sparks spewing out at night! The food was great and the crew was very welcoming. It was a great value.

Doing what: Aeolian Islands Day Trip from Taormina: Stromboli and Panarea

qwhites

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

The Valley of the Temples and Villa Romana are amazing places to visit and should not be missed. It is a long way to travel and the driving part of the trip was slowed due to numerous road works underway but this will make the driving part of the trip much better in the very near future. Despite it being a long day we would still make the effort as the Temples and Villa were well worth it.

Doing what: Valley of the Temples and Villa Romana del Casale Day Trip from Taormina

Melody M

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

This was a very nice tour of Mt Etna. Unfortunately, we could not reach the summit due to inclement weather, but it was still very interesting to visit. Even at the altitude we were at, it was very windy and cold I went in October, so if you go outside of the summer months be sure to dress warmly. I thought the Alcantara Gorges was an unnecessary stop and not very interesting, but that is just my opinion. The train ride was very nice. Alfreddo was our guide and he kept us very well informed during the day trip. I would recommend it and would go again if I have the opportunity in the future.

Doing what: Mount Etna and Alcantara Gorges Day Trip with Circumetnea Railway Ride

Angela R

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2016

The tour was efficiently run - the bus arrived on time and collected us from near our hotel. The journey from Taormina was a beautiful drive along the coast. The only real problem was that the boat was quite crowded - the 3 of us couldn't sit together on the way out to Panarea - and it is quite a long way - but the sea was calm and it was a real blue-sky day. We had an excellent lunch in Panarea overlooking the harbour - there are a good range of restaurants to choose from. We had some time to wander around the very pretty little village, and to visit some of the extremely attractive boutique style shops. We then rejoined our boat and headed for Stromboli - the volcano was smoking nicely. We had time to rent a very expensive deck chair, sit on a black volcanic beach, and to go for a swim to cool off as we were pretty hot and sticky by that time. We also had time to explore the village, but as others have said, it is not as attractive as the village on Panarea.
Supper was a basic pasta dish, and garlic bread, on the boat, and was tastier than we expected. We motored round the island as darkness fell, but there was only smoke to be seen and no volcanic fireworks. The journey back to the mainland seemed very long as we were pretty tired by then. We arrived back at our hotel around midnight, quite exhausted. All in all we had enjoyed our day. I think in a perfect world we would have liked to spend more time on Panarea and less on Stromboli - we would also have loved to have been on a smaller boat with fewer people - however this trip was reasonable value for money, and we were all glad we had done it - but we were grateful to be able to relax the following day to fully recover! I would recommend this tour - but not if you hate crowds...!

Doing what: Aeolian Islands Day Trip from Taormina: Stromboli and Panarea

Suzigloworm

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2016

When booking this trip didn't realise we had to travel to the other side of the island. Spent a VERY long time on the coach. Valley of the Temples was really nice and spent time wandering around the different temples. Back on the coach and stopped for lunch then headed off to Villa Romana del Casale. This was beautiful.

Doing what: Valley of the Temples and Villa Romana del Casale Day Trip from Taormina

Melody M

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2016

This was a pretty good trip, but in my opinion was very crowded almost too much so for it to be enjoyable. It is still a good way to see the islands, but there were a lot of people pushing and shoving their way to get back on the boat. The guide was great about letting us know exactly what time we needed to be back. Also, there was a snack bar where you could purchase food and beverages during the day. One thing that would be helpful would be to provide small printed maps with suggestions of things to do while we are there, and also perhaps pointing out where there are restrooms on the islands that passengers can use. The first place I stopped to use the restroom at Panarea, I was told that restrooms were for clients only, so this would be helpful information. Overall, it is still a good way to see the islands and I would say a good value for the money you are spending. They even give you a small dinner after you get back on the boat after visiting Stromboli, which I thought was nice, and also they did a good job of organizing the dinner and the seating, because otherwise I fear I would have gotten trampled by some of the more aggressive passengers. I am still glad I took the tour, but probably would not take it again.

Doing what: Aeolian Islands Day Trip from Taormina: Stromboli and Panarea

Shane E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

A long time on the bus from Taormina, and a long day, but worth it. The Valley of the Temples was fascinating, and the mosaics at Villa Romana deserved more time to view them. The lunch break was too long, and in an area where there was very little to see.

Doing what: Valley of the Temples and Villa Romana del Casale Day Trip from Taormina

Shane E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Although the weather conditions on Mt Etna obscured any good views of the mountain, this trip was worth it. Taking the cable car and 4-wheel drive bus to the 3000 metre mark was also worth the extra cost. The landscape was amazing - like the surface of the moon or of Mars.

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

kku99

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The guide Heidi was great!!! Very knowledgeable and happy to share the info.

Doing what: Aeolian Islands Day Trip from Taormina: Stromboli and Panarea

kku99

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Well worth every A true experience and a thrill of a lifetime.

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

Maria Catena S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

FANTASTIC!!!!!! It was great and I highly recommend doing it all-the full day one!!!
Mt Etna was beautiful and our local tour guide was great. We drove up to the top and even took the cable car!
We had a day to see Mt Etna and this was a great way! It was well organised and I recommend it to everyone!
Worth doing!

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

freiberg3

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This tour was really exciting. The ride on the Circumetna train gave us a real chance to see the countryside and Mt. Etna. Unfortunately as we arrived at the mountain, the weather had changed for the worse and the gondola was shut down due to high winds. We were transported up the mountain in an all terrain 28 passenger bus, which was quite a ride. It was very foggy, windy, and started to rain so we chose not to continue on to the top of the crater. There was about a 45 minute wait for the bus to take everyone back down, but we made it safely.

Doing what: Mount Etna and Alcantara Gorges Day Trip with Circumetnea Railway Ride

Steve United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Trip was good as Etna is spectacular. Guide on coach could have been more involved and wasted time at 2000 on Etna waiting for lift passes etc. Toilet facilities very poor at Etna so use earlier pop to go!
Very windy and cold at top so go prepared, it is a a lovely day out

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

Ben-Zion K

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

A very long trip. The islands are amazing. Guide and driver were fine.

Doing what: Aeolian Islands Day Trip from Taormina: Stromboli and Panarea

Sanders K

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2016

I was very glad to get to visit these impressive sites. There were many hours on the bus but without a car this was the only option for me. The guide at the Valley of the Temples was very good. I think that the admission cost to the 2 sites should be included in the price of the tour.

Doing what: Valley of the Temples and Villa Romana del Casale Day Trip from Taormina

marmalade61

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2016

The coach was really hot and the air conditioning didn't work at the back of the bus. 2.5 hours at each island was too long, it should have been 1.5 hours at most, nothing much to do. Dinner was pretty ordinary. Stromboli erupting was by far the highlight of the day......

Doing what: Aeolian Islands Day Trip from Taormina: Stromboli and Panarea

davidmstalker

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Well worth going up to craters. Again guides gave lots of useful information.

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

Vladimir K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was beautiful experience.

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

Andreas A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Excellent day trip to do if you don't have much time, otherwise I recommend spending at least a night in Panarea and Stromboli! Very beautiful places to be!

Doing what: Aeolian Islands Day Trip from Taormina: Stromboli and Panarea

Susan R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The Alcantara Gorges were stunning and Mount Etna was impressive. Although it was a warm day, we got caught in a sleet storm at the summit, so the walking tour of the craters was cancelled. Luckily they hire ski jackets for 3 euros which came in handy as we were wearing summer clothing. Still worthwhile doing, but best come prepared for all weather conditions.

Doing what: Mount Etna and Alcantara Gorges Day Trip with Circumetnea Railway Ride

Susan R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed the temples, ruins and Villa Romana mosaics. The bus trip is a long one though. Be prepared for delays in pick ups and drop off times due to traffic conditions.

Doing what: Valley of the Temples and Villa Romana del Casale Day Trip from Taormina

Bonnie F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

OUr guide, Tommy, was excellent. We very much enjoyed this excursion. He was right on time picking us up and made sure we made it back to our cruise ship within plenty of time. He was quite knowledgeable about the area, history and so forth. We learned a lot, saw a lot, and were entertained. I would recommend this co.

Doing what: Messina Shore Excursion: Private Day Trip to Taormina and Mt Etna

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message