While Sicily is very much part of modern Italy, it retains its own identity in many ways. The island, the largest in the Mediterranean, absolutely warrants two weeks of its own during an Italy trip. Of course, most travelers don’t want to spend ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 279 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

caramia23us

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The tour was excellent. The right amount of time on each island to enjoy everything they had to offer.

Doing what: Aeolian Islands Day Trip from Taormina: Lipari and Vulcano

Adrienne M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

There is no other way I would have seen these islands. So the opportunity alone was worth it! We got to go to the beach on one island and eat a very late lunch on the other. Fabulous.

Doing what: Aeolian Islands Day Trip from Taormina: Stromboli and Panarea

kristyn m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

You just have to see this when you're in Sicily

Doing what: Valley of the Temples and Villa Romana del Casale Day Trip from Taormina

Moorso

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

This is well worth going on but be advised bring plenty of water. It was a very long day and it was really hot but some of the sights are unbelievable and it is hard to believe you are standing in Sicily. Really interesting and the guides are brilliant sharing loads of information.

Doing what: Valley of the Temples and Villa Romana del Casale Day Trip from Taormina

Moorso

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Great day out. We had plenty of time on both islands. We didn't go into the mud baths as our guide put us off a bit but we spent a really enjoyable time in the sea and the whole experience was really worthwhile.

Doing what: Aeolian Islands Day Trip from Taormina: Lipari and Vulcano

Philip G

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

The sites were very impressive. Some better preserved temples than we and #39;ve seen in Greece.
14 hours was a very long day. Listing says 12.

Doing what: Valley of the Temples and Villa Romana del Casale Day Trip from Taormina

Milena M

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

I loved the tour but it is really long hours. The driver and our tour guide were very good. The only problem I had was at Agrigento the tour should have lasted more than an hour less-there were people asking a lot of questions in front of every item, in the scorching heat, and I think the tour guide should have been more stern and prompt. Overall the two archaeological sites are amazing! I was very impressed with the driver who drove long hours and despite that he did a great job!

Doing what: Valley of the Temples and Villa Romana del Casale Day Trip from Taormina

Philip G

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Pararea was very nice. Should have spent more time there.
Stromboli is small with less shops to see, so best to wait to eat lunch there.

Doing what: Aeolian Islands Day Trip from Taormina: Stromboli and Panarea

kristyn m

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2016

There were WAY too many people crammed onto our boat to make this trip pleasurable. The dinner was horrible and took over an hour to serve everyone. We enjoyed the beach at Stromboli. Didn't care for Panarea.

Doing what: Aeolian Islands Day Trip from Taormina: Stromboli and Panarea

Julia S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great tour. Very informative. Not to be missed

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

Daughertyj

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great guide - loved Alfredo! Very good tour and well managed. Enough time and detail at each place without feeling bored and rushed. Definitely recommend.

Doing what: Valley of the Temples and Villa Romana del Casale Day Trip from Taormina

John V United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

A great experience - A full day out - the highlight is the Summit of Etna but the whole day was fun. The AirCon on the coach was a god-send

Doing what: Mount Etna and Alcantara Gorges Day Trip with Circumetnea Railway Ride

Jos G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

It was great! Organisation was ok.

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

alohagrimm

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

It was a great tour and the guides were wonderful! It was a full day, so take water and snacks for the bus ride. It was very nice to have someone else do the driving because it was a long trip and a lot of walking once you got there but sooo worth it!

Doing what: Valley of the Temples and Villa Romana del Casale Day Trip from Taormina

alohagrimm

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Loved the trip! It was a great adventure with none of the stress.Wear comfortable shoes for lots of walking and take water. Also check the weather, there was still snow on top and very windy when we went.

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

Edina D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Everything was perfectly organized, we were picked up at our apartment in Taormina-Mazzaro, thanks to the flexibility of the local organizer. The trip was convenient, comfortable with air-cindioned bus, our guide was well-prepared and fluent both in English and German. The view from Etna is unforgettable - highly fecommended to everyone!

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

lee

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Very interesting day - easy pick up from taormina bus station. Well worth paying the supplement for the cable car and off road vehicles

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

SERGIO E

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

This tour is a window to the past. Agrigento temples and Villa Romana del Casale are amazing. Our guides were so kind. Just a little concern: the journey from/to Taormina is extenuating!!

Doing what: Valley of the Temples and Villa Romana del Casale Day Trip from Taormina

Héctor B

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Genial, Panarea un paraiso y Stromboli y sus playas volcanicas dignas de visita; una pena no ver el volcan en actividad, cosa que debe ser entre dificil e imposible. Me sorprendió que a pesar de haber pagado la excursión por adelantado en el autobus me pidieron mas dinero por tasas turísticas, raro.

Doing what: Aeolian Islands Day Trip from Taormina: Stromboli and Panarea

Reuben R

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Value for money, long day trip, well organised with lots of time on boats but dinner was very basic.

Doing what: Aeolian Islands Day Trip from Taormina: Stromboli and Panarea

Chantal W

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

A spectacular day for a boat ride around the stunning Aeolian Islands, the only blip on our radar was that mother nature didn't do her part with the eruptions.... maybe another time.

Doing what: Aeolian Islands Day Trip from Taormina: Stromboli and Panarea

Daughertyj

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

This tour uses public ferries to get to the various islands. I don and #39;t think that and #39;s clear on the summary so wanted to point that out. The ferry was very crowded and hot. The optional bus tour of Lipari was underwhelming. I guess a way to see two islands in one day from Taormina but it wasn and #39;t great

Doing what: Aeolian Islands Day Trip from Taormina: Lipari and Vulcano

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message