While Sicily is very much part of modern Italy, it retains its own identity in many ways. The island, the largest in the Mediterranean, absolutely warrants two weeks of its own during an Italy trip. Of course, most travelers don’t want to spend ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 291 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

davidmstalker

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Well worth going up to craters. Again guides gave lots of useful information.

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

Vladimir K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was beautiful experience.

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

Andreas A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Excellent day trip to do if you don't have much time, otherwise I recommend spending at least a night in Panarea and Stromboli! Very beautiful places to be!

Doing what: Aeolian Islands Day Trip from Taormina: Stromboli and Panarea

David H

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Places visited were amazing. Villa Romana was a delight to see. The best example of roman mosaics ever seen. Guide was professional and local guide very knowledgably Temples Only. Really needed local guide at Villa Romana and more time as only had an hour there. Be prepared for a long trip. Day lasted 14 hours and we were travelling by coach for approximately 9 hours. But well worth it. We enjoyed our day.

Doing what: Valley of the Temples and Villa Romana del Casale Day Trip from Taormina

Jonathan S

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

The tour was very interesting and the guide was also very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Mount Etna and Alcantara Gorges Day Trip with Circumetnea Railway Ride

Tracey F

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Enjoyable trip a long day traveling if your not a good traveller. We enjoyed the trip and the scenery well worth the cable car journey. The food in the store at the base was very tasty.

Doing what: Mount Etna and Alcantara Gorges Day Trip with Circumetnea Railway Ride

Antoinette N

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

This was a good trip. Our guide spoke English and was able to give us history and information on the way to Mt. Etna. I understood about 80 of what she was telling us.

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

bsalzman1944

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

The tour guide was extremely knowledgeable. We were able to see the beauty of both islands and had the opportunity to see three actual volcanic eruption at night. The water and islands were terrific.

Doing what: Aeolian Islands Day Trip from Taormina: Stromboli and Panarea

Carmen P

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

Recommendation: take a Taxi ride around Lipari. It's 10 Euro/person and it's well worth it! You get to see the entire island in 1 hour and our driver was very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Aeolian Islands Day Trip from Taormina: Lipari and Vulcano

Robyn Anne F

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

It was an enjoyable day. If you are looking for a relaxing change of pace , we suggest you visit areas away from main tourist area.

Doing what: Aeolian Islands Day Trip from Taormina: Lipari and Vulcano

Chia Jung Y

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2016

Paid 8 euros visiting Alcantara Gorge but ended up spending only 1 hour inside.

If you could, please cut off the train tour part.

Don't see any point of taking the train tour since we simply just sat on the train for an hour and went back to the same train station.

Doing what: Mount Etna and Alcantara Gorges Day Trip with Circumetnea Railway Ride

mamadeniina

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2016

It was a WASTE of a vacation day, I regret having that tour. it was a 45 guide Santos driver Caetano.
We were told to be at the bus station at 6:30, the bus arrived after 7:00, no explanations or appologies given. a woman was told that she could no drink coffee in the bus, not warnings before.
We picked up people in a lot of hotels and left Taormina until 8:00 am. We waited for a family for 15 minutes. We had bathroom stops for 47 people, and waited for the people who were not on time in the bathroom stops, and walks.
in the Valley of the temples, it was 1.5 hours, they had the tickets ready for us and we had a guide in English, Italian and German, but because we were late, we did not have time to visit the museum. it was hard to walk away from the group because the explanation of each temple was in a different order for each language.
We went to a 'captive' audience restaurant that adverstised pizza in the name of the restaurant but there was no pizza in the menu, everything was overpriced for the quality and it is hard to have bad quality food in Sicily.
in the Villa Romana we did not have a guide, after we arrived we had to make a line, 45 people to get tickets. we had 1 hour and 20 minutes including ticket purchase to see Villa Romana.
We got back to our hotel at 8:00 pm after delivering people in many hotels.
I recommend a smaller group tour. Santos gave longer explanations in Italian than in English or German. the Italian people loved him. the people who had us waiting for 15 minutes applauded at him for his patience. we had a 13.5 hours day and only 3 hours were watching sites. we had almost as much time seeing sights as delivering people, Get a tour where everybody is picked up in the same place, make the best use of your vacation time. and you can select your own restaurant or take your food.

Doing what: Valley of the Temples and Villa Romana del Casale Day Trip from Taormina

caramia23us

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The tour was excellent. The right amount of time on each island to enjoy everything they had to offer.

Doing what: Aeolian Islands Day Trip from Taormina: Lipari and Vulcano

Adrienne M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

There is no other way I would have seen these islands. So the opportunity alone was worth it! We got to go to the beach on one island and eat a very late lunch on the other. Fabulous.

Doing what: Aeolian Islands Day Trip from Taormina: Stromboli and Panarea

kristyn m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

You just have to see this when you're in Sicily

Doing what: Valley of the Temples and Villa Romana del Casale Day Trip from Taormina

Moorso

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

This is well worth going on but be advised bring plenty of water. It was a very long day and it was really hot but some of the sights are unbelievable and it is hard to believe you are standing in Sicily. Really interesting and the guides are brilliant sharing loads of information.

Doing what: Valley of the Temples and Villa Romana del Casale Day Trip from Taormina

Moorso

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Great day out. We had plenty of time on both islands. We didn't go into the mud baths as our guide put us off a bit but we spent a really enjoyable time in the sea and the whole experience was really worthwhile.

Doing what: Aeolian Islands Day Trip from Taormina: Lipari and Vulcano

Philip G

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

The sites were very impressive. Some better preserved temples than we and #39;ve seen in Greece.
14 hours was a very long day. Listing says 12.

Doing what: Valley of the Temples and Villa Romana del Casale Day Trip from Taormina

Milena M

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

I loved the tour but it is really long hours. The driver and our tour guide were very good. The only problem I had was at Agrigento the tour should have lasted more than an hour less-there were people asking a lot of questions in front of every item, in the scorching heat, and I think the tour guide should have been more stern and prompt. Overall the two archaeological sites are amazing! I was very impressed with the driver who drove long hours and despite that he did a great job!

Doing what: Valley of the Temples and Villa Romana del Casale Day Trip from Taormina

Philip G

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Pararea was very nice. Should have spent more time there.
Stromboli is small with less shops to see, so best to wait to eat lunch there.

Doing what: Aeolian Islands Day Trip from Taormina: Stromboli and Panarea

kristyn m

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2016

There were WAY too many people crammed onto our boat to make this trip pleasurable. The dinner was horrible and took over an hour to serve everyone. We enjoyed the beach at Stromboli. Didn't care for Panarea.

Doing what: Aeolian Islands Day Trip from Taormina: Stromboli and Panarea

Julia S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great tour. Very informative. Not to be missed

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

Daughertyj

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great guide - loved Alfredo! Very good tour and well managed. Enough time and detail at each place without feeling bored and rushed. Definitely recommend.

Doing what: Valley of the Temples and Villa Romana del Casale Day Trip from Taormina

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message