Siena ATTRACTIONS See all

Chiesa di San Domenico

St Catherine of Siena brought this basilica to prominence by taking her vows here in 1363 when she was just 15. Having had her first vision at the age of 6 near this church and deciding to follow a religious life from 7, she went on to lead a highly ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1727 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

arn-087

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Nice day spent. our tour guide Matteo was amazing.

Thank you

Doing what: Siena, San Gimignano, and Greve in Chianti Day Trip from Florence with Wine Tasting

Eda T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

We enjoyed our walking tour of Siena with Claudia. Claudia's english, knowledge and personality were all excellent! We learned about the seventeen contrade and the Palio. We especially enjoyed our visit to the beautiful Duomo. We had a bit of a parking problem because our Wednesday morning tour coincided with market day in Siena. If your tour is on a Wednesday do leave extra time to park and get to the meeting spot.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Siena Duomo and City Walking Tour

Abowes441

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Great tour guide, wonderful sites, highly recommend

Doing what: Siena, San Gimignano, and Greve in Chianti Day Trip from Florence with Wine Tasting

Jimmy Ray P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Outstanding trip of these two amazing cities. If your in Florence, don't pass this one up!

Doing what: Siena, San Gimignano, and Greve in Chianti Day Trip from Florence with Wine Tasting

Kathleen W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed this trip. Our local guide in San Gimignana Paul was very knowledgeable and entertaining. All stops were well worth the time and gave us a different aspect to this area. Would recommend this trip.

Doing what: Siena, San Gimignano, and Greve in Chianti Day Trip from Florence with Wine Tasting

Catherine F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was a wonderful day trip that took us through beautiful Tuscan countryside. Our very knowledgeable tour guide on our bus trip out pointed out sights as we moved out of Florence into the Tuscan countryside and shared history and traditions involving the Florence/Siena rivalry and history. Our first stop was the medieval hilltop town of San Gimignano, and I do mean hilltop. We enjoyed exploring the beautiful medieval town on our own -- the shops, the church, as well as a delightful opportunity to enjoy a cafe and delicious pastry on the square. Siena, was our next stop where after some free time and we met up with a very informative local guide who shared Siena's history, including the district horse racing extraganza, she took us to visit a contrada museum, churches, and much more. Greve in Chianti was next and finally a wine tasting at a private local winery as the sun was setting before boarding the bus to return to Florence. All in all a very worthwhile trip.

Doing what: Siena, San Gimignano, and Greve in Chianti Day Trip from Florence with Wine Tasting

Richard M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Excellent trip and excellent tour guide,whose name escapes me at this moment. Thoroughly enjoyable

Doing what: Siena, San Gimignano, and Greve in Chianti Day Trip from Florence with Wine Tasting

Trent S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was an excellent tour. The guide in Siena was so knowledgeable and entertaining. She was well organized with her stories following the flow of our path through the city. Both Siena and San Gimignano were incredible to see and would be difficult to do as a day trip on your own using the bus and train. We know, we looked. I was thinking that it might be too much to try to add Greve in as well for the wine tasting, but I was wrong. It was a great addition to the trip. We were so glad that we ended up doing this tour. On our next visit to Italy we are going to try to stay in Siena and Greve for a few days. It was love at first sight with regards to these two cities in Toscana! Ciao!

Doing what: Siena, San Gimignano, and Greve in Chianti Day Trip from Florence with Wine Tasting

Claire R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and extremely helpful, answering all our questions with considerable patience. She was able to give us a locals point of view, especially about the rivalries between neighbourhoods. The cathedral is stunning and the library took my breath away. Siena is a lovely small city I think I prefer it to Florence and I'd highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Siena Duomo and City Walking Tour

Robert B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Very good tour. Guide well versed in 3 languages. Adequate bathroom opportunities. If she could have managed the weather it would have been perfect. Glad we did it as opposed to renting a car.

Doing what: Siena, San Gimignano, and Greve in Chianti Day Trip from Florence with Wine Tasting

David G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This tour was outstanding. Only 4 in group. Claudia is a great guide with a depth of knowledge and a deep understanding and love for her city

Doing what: Skip the Line: Siena Duomo and City Walking Tour

Christine N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This tour was a great way to see Siena, San Gimignano love, love, love and Greve in Chiati all in one day! The guide was very knowledgeable and sweet! The wine tasting and the beautiful vineyard was a nice end to a very nice tour!

Doing what: Siena, San Gimignano, and Greve in Chianti Day Trip from Florence with Wine Tasting

Jeff D Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We really enjoyed this tour. Highly recommend it along with Tour guide Claudia. She was friendly and passionate about her city.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Siena Duomo and City Walking Tour

John B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Perfect way to get to know Sienna and learn about the beautiful Cathedrals.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Siena Duomo and City Walking Tour

Simon J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was a fantastic way to fit in San Gimignano and Sienna into our itinerary. The trip through the Chianti hills and stop at the vineyard were excellent. The stop at Greve made the day a little bit long. Great tour guide through Sienna.

Doing what: Siena, San Gimignano, and Greve in Chianti Day Trip from Florence with Wine Tasting

Mhmessner

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Fascinating tour with history, beautiful sights, and interesting stories,especially about the neighborhood mascots.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Siena Duomo and City Walking Tour

Christopher W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Claudia was our tour guide 3 weeks ago in Siena. She was extremely enthusiastic and charming - what a great tour. Her Siena pride shines through! After spending 2 weeks in central Italy Rome to Venice and everything in-between, Siena became our favorite city - largely due to the exceptional introduction to this small city and important churches and landmarks by our tour guide. Thanks again Claudia!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Siena Duomo and City Walking Tour

Alex B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Excellent tour guide in Siena but the bus tour guide was disorganised leaving people unsure where and when to meet causing some confusion. He also gave little local information while on the bus. The wine tasting was done very efficiently considering the size of the group.

Doing what: Siena, San Gimignano, and Greve in Chianti Day Trip from Florence with Wine Tasting

Robert T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Our guide, Claudia, was great. She is a native of Siena and provided great insight into the annual horse race and made the tour very enjoyable. This was a nice tour and since Siena is quite small, we were treated to a great highlight of the area. Worth the effort to get to Siena we took the bus from Florence for this tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Siena Duomo and City Walking Tour

Jennifer C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Absolutely loved this tour. Next time I come to Italy I'm definitely staying in San Gimignano! Such a beautiful part of Italy. Our tour guide in Siena was fabulous. The wine tasting could be a bit longer.

Doing what: Siena, San Gimignano, and Greve in Chianti Day Trip from Florence with Wine Tasting

Mary S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Excellent tour which was the first day of our holiday and really gave us a great sense of the countryside and steeped us in the culture and history of the area . Was a fabulous day . Mary

Doing what: Siena, San Gimignano, and Greve in Chianti Day Trip from Florence with Wine Tasting

Nancy K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Tour lasted almost two and a half hours. Group of six. Tour included St Domenico, Il Campo and a visit to the Duomo. Tour guide Claudia was knowledgeable and personable, sharing lots of information about her hometown. Enjoyed learning about the Palio race and the 17 neighborhood rivalries.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Siena Duomo and City Walking Tour

Susan F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Loved all three towns!!! Our tour guide was Great!

Doing what: Siena, San Gimignano, and Greve in Chianti Day Trip from Florence with Wine Tasting

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message