Singapore ATTRACTIONS See all

Changi Memorial and Chapel

Having moved from the prison site to its new location directly across the Changi Gaol in 2001, the Changi Memorial and Chapel is a testament to those prisoners of war who were made to suffer and perish during World War II. In the memorial, several ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 213 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

jimmy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Full day tour. Well worth the cost. Guide was good. Get plenty info on route the war memorial and changi chapel the real highlight.

Doing what: Singapore Round-Island Tour with Changi Prison, Kranji War Memorial and Bright Hill Temple

Peter L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

We attended this tour on January 18th 2017. It provided a great but sad insite into the history of Changi and the war in Singapore. Our guide Sharul was fantastic with his story telling, and commentary throughout the tour. Even though war is nothing to celebrate, it is important not to forget the impact that this war had in shaping Singapore as it is today. I am Australian, and knowing the sacrifice that many Australian soldiers made to the war in Singapore, really filling in the gaps of knowledge I had about the war. This tour is highly recommended for all, as a half day tour while you visit Singapore.

Doing what: Changi WWII War Trail and Museum Tour

Christine A Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

My Husband and I enjoyed this Walking tour on our recent visit to Singapore. We were to meet the tour guide Helena and others at a MRT station where we went on a bus to The Changi WWII War Museum. The guide was extremely informative and added a personal touch with her own family experiences and how they survived. We were driven past the Changi prison and on to sights of where some of the tragic events had happened. The Museum was amazing. Helena told us the highlights of what is on display at the Museum and then we had time to go into it in more detail at our leisure. There were many stories of the Prisoners and how they spent their time in Prison. Some people on the tour felt there was not enough time to take in all the information so they stayed on and took local transport at their own cost when they had finished. It was good to have that flexibility. As it was nearly the Chinese New Year, the guide was able to explain some of the customs that the Singapore people share at this special time. I highly recommend this tour to Adults not suitable for children.

Doing what: Changi WWII War Trail and Museum Tour

Helen S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

We thought Joanne was a wonderful guide who told the Changi story from both an historical and personal side.

Doing what: Changi WWII War Trail and Museum Tour

Rodney K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

A very informative tour delivered by a highly experienced guide. The highlights were the visit to Kranji war cemetery and Changi museum. The included lunch was good.

Doing what: Singapore Round-Island Tour with Changi Prison, Kranji War Memorial and Bright Hill Temple

Suzanne F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

We throughly enjoyed this trip, ,we booked it as a easy way to see Kranji war memorial a friends Dad is there and we said we would visit opOur your guide was amazing he was so helpful, he even took the time to help us locate the grave.
Changi prison was quite emotional as you read the stories.
A wonderful day , excellant tour.

Doing what: Singapore Round-Island Tour with Changi Prison, Kranji War Memorial and Bright Hill Temple

Lorraine C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

an amazing guide - Mr Foo - what a caring and knowledgeable man - wish I could have sat somewhere and listened to him over a cup of green tea somewhere - only downside for me was a longish wait at the terminal with no information as to the delay. The visit to Kranji and to Changi bought me undone to see so many young lives wasted and the horrors of the suffering at Changi. Mr Foo's knowledge and energy was boundless - could not have asked for a more efficient, honest and caring guide - thank you
The highlight for me was the Buddhist Centre with the massive statu

Doing what: Singapore Round-Island Tour with Changi Prison, Kranji War Memorial and Bright Hill Temple

Lance C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The Singapore tour that I did was very good. I am a World War II history buff so, I really enjoyed Changi Prison Museum and Kranji War Memorial. I also enjoyed the rest of the sights and was able to get some good pictures of the city and the Cause Way,

Doing what: Singapore Round-Island Tour with Changi Prison, Kranji War Memorial and Bright Hill Temple

Marie W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed this day tour and would highly recommend it. The tour guide was very informative with the history of Singapore a at all of the stop off points. Particularly poignant was the visit to Kranji War Memorial and Changi Museum and very informative of the level of suffering during the occupation in WW2. The lunch we had in Sembawang Park was superb!!

Doing what: Singapore Round-Island Tour with Changi Prison, Kranji War Memorial and Bright Hill Temple

Maryanne G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our guide, Joo Ling was brilliant. She gave us just the right blend of historical facts and her personal and family background that made the horror of Changi prison during WWII come alive for our group of mostly Australians in a sensitive and respectful way. Arrangements were simple and seamless, the meeting point convenient, the bus clean and efficient and the places we visited were interesting and well interpreted. If you wanted to ensure the success of the restaurant at the site of the Johore Battery gun, you could easily add lunch to the tour cost - I'm sure that many of us were ready for lunch by that time.

Doing what: Changi WWII War Trail and Museum Tour

Ronald J H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

great tour showed lot fo Singapore and the Changi Memorial was up lifting when you so many who gave so much

Doing what: Singapore Round-Island Tour with Changi Prison, Kranji War Memorial and Bright Hill Temple

Denise C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our guide was very knowledgeable and made our day very enjoyable. It was a very emotional experience at th Kranji Cemetary and Changi Chapel and Museum. I would recommend this tour.

Doing what: Singapore Round-Island Tour with Changi Prison, Kranji War Memorial and Bright Hill Temple

Doug R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Just a couple of things for Viator to update - Changi Prison no longer exists Tour is of Changi Chapel and Musuem, Also Gardens by the Bay drop off is not done.
Tour is highly recommended especially if you get Joseph as tour guide. The facts you learn about Singapore en route to stops are worth the tour alone. Kranji and Changi are a little sobering. Bright Hill Temple is unbelievable.
Kaw Paw Park can take or leave. Really good thopugh if into Tao Buddhist mythology.

Doing what: Singapore Round-Island Tour with Changi Prison, Kranji War Memorial and Bright Hill Temple

cathie H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was a really great tour , our guide was really informative about I've in Singapore as well as the Changi prison , and world war 2 . I would highly recommend the tour guide and the tour

Doing what: Singapore Round-Island Tour with Changi Prison, Kranji War Memorial and Bright Hill Temple

COLYN S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

good guide and excellent commentary and time at Changi Chapel

Doing what: Changi Chapel and Museum Half-Day Tour from Singapore

Jenny

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Helena was a very interesting tour guide and I really appreciated her knowledge and explanations of the Fall of Singapore in 1942 and in particular the aftermath suffered by not only the Australian and other Allied forces, but also the impact on the people living in Singapore. Learning about what happened at Changi Beach and in the PoW camps should be very important to us all and touring the Changi Museum helped in increasing our awareness of the terrible suffering of those interned in these camps during WW2. Thank you for a very valuable history lesson.

Doing what: Changi WWII War Trail and Museum Tour

Kathy D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent and very moving. The war memorial Changi prison 10/10

Doing what: Singapore Round-Island Tour with Changi Prison, Kranji War Memorial and Bright Hill Temple

Carole L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

The tour and our enthusiastic guide was excellent. The Changi museum and memorial were informative and very moving brought tears to the eyes.

Doing what: Changi WWII War Trail and Museum Tour

Anne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Really interesting morning. Tour was exactly how it was described - found it quite moving finding out what happened during WW2. Wui Wui, our Guide, was brilliant! She certainly knew her stuff, any question asked was answered and didn't feel rushed. The Tour ended at Changi War Museum, where you could stay and see the displays in more detail, however, I felt that Wui Wui covered everything so well. The bus takes you back to the MRT station where they pick you up from. If you have the time - go and see

Doing what: Changi WWII War Trail and Museum Tour

Joyce G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

This was a fantastic tour and well worth the money. The lady who did the commentary was wonderful. Her knowledge of Singapore was comprehensive. She spoke clearly and slowly so that she could be understood. Each time we made a stop we were given plenty of time to look around. The Kranji war memorial was moving Although we could not go into Changi Prison itself, we were able to look around Changi Chapel and Museum. This was very interesting. We were given the opportunity to stay at the Gardens by the Bay or return to our hotel. Lunch was provided at a local Chinese restaurant on the coast facing Malaysia. It was delicious. We would recommend this tour.

Doing what: Singapore Round-Island Tour with Changi Prison, Kranji War Memorial and Bright Hill Temple

Corney L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Excellent tour with great guide. Very informative. We learned so much about many aspects of Singapore, a place like no other! The Changi Prison and Museum is amazing. Note that Gardens by the Bay is only a stop - not admission.

Doing what: Singapore Round-Island Tour with Changi Prison, Kranji War Memorial and Bright Hill Temple

Pam H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Our guide was very informative. Changi is a very emotional 'step back in time' and it certainly makes you think. It is very humbling to see pictures and read stories about the suffering which people endured.
We would suggest all should visit and remember.

Doing what: Private Changi Chapel and Museum Tour from Singapore

Danijela B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

It was a wonderful walking tour, we felt very emotional at the beach and also the Changi chapel. Our tour guide was wonderful and very friendly wui wui you were great thank you for making the trip so wonderful..

Doing what: Changi WWII War Trail and Museum Tour

Patricia S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Fantastic guide, Maggie, was a fountain of knowledge about everything from politics to housing! Very interesting lady. The tour was vary good. First visit was to a monastery where an actual cremation was taking place in the crematorium below. We learned about burial and death customs for the different religions and nationalities that make Singapore their home. The Kranji war museum was interesting as was Changi museum. Lunch was excellent and well worth the money. We ran out of time at Gardens by the Bay so we didn't get to enjoy this part of the tour for more than 30 minutes due to tardy people on the bus. A great tour, worth doing.

Doing what: Singapore Round-Island Tour with Changi Prison, Kranji War Memorial and Bright Hill Temple

Veronica C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Excellent trip around the island. We thought timings may have been a little tight but actually worked well. The guide was very informative. Changi Prison Museum and the Kranji Memorial are extremely moving. The Gardens at the Bay are stunning we spent 3 hours there without any trouble. The tour price only allows for the outside gardens but it is well worth S28 to go inside the different domes.

Doing what: Singapore Round-Island Tour with Changi Prison, Kranji War Memorial and Bright Hill Temple

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message