Singapore ATTRACTIONS See all

Changi Memorial and Chapel

Having moved from the prison site to its new location directly across the Changi Gaol in 2001, the Changi Memorial and Chapel is a testament to those prisoners of war who were made to suffer and perish during World War II. In the memorial, several ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 202 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Lorraine C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

an amazing guide - Mr Foo - what a caring and knowledgeable man - wish I could have sat somewhere and listened to him over a cup of green tea somewhere - only downside for me was a longish wait at the terminal with no information as to the delay. The visit to Kranji and to Changi bought me undone to see so many young lives wasted and the horrors of the suffering at Changi. Mr Foo's knowledge and energy was boundless - could not have asked for a more efficient, honest and caring guide - thank you
The highlight for me was the Buddhist Centre with the massive statu

Doing what: Singapore Round-Island Tour with Changi Prison, Kranji War Memorial and Bright Hill Temple

Lance C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The Singapore tour that I did was very good. I am a World War II history buff so, I really enjoyed Changi Prison Museum and Kranji War Memorial. I also enjoyed the rest of the sights and was able to get some good pictures of the city and the Cause Way,

Doing what: Singapore Round-Island Tour with Changi Prison, Kranji War Memorial and Bright Hill Temple

Marie W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed this day tour and would highly recommend it. The tour guide was very informative with the history of Singapore a at all of the stop off points. Particularly poignant was the visit to Kranji War Memorial and Changi Museum and very informative of the level of suffering during the occupation in WW2. The lunch we had in Sembawang Park was superb!!

Doing what: Singapore Round-Island Tour with Changi Prison, Kranji War Memorial and Bright Hill Temple

Maryanne G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our guide, Joo Ling was brilliant. She gave us just the right blend of historical facts and her personal and family background that made the horror of Changi prison during WWII come alive for our group of mostly Australians in a sensitive and respectful way. Arrangements were simple and seamless, the meeting point convenient, the bus clean and efficient and the places we visited were interesting and well interpreted. If you wanted to ensure the success of the restaurant at the site of the Johore Battery gun, you could easily add lunch to the tour cost - I'm sure that many of us were ready for lunch by that time.

Doing what: Changi WWII War Trail and Museum Tour

Ronald J H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

great tour showed lot fo Singapore and the Changi Memorial was up lifting when you so many who gave so much

Doing what: Singapore Round-Island Tour with Changi Prison, Kranji War Memorial and Bright Hill Temple

Denise C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our guide was very knowledgeable and made our day very enjoyable. It was a very emotional experience at th Kranji Cemetary and Changi Chapel and Museum. I would recommend this tour.

Doing what: Singapore Round-Island Tour with Changi Prison, Kranji War Memorial and Bright Hill Temple

Doug R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Just a couple of things for Viator to update - Changi Prison no longer exists Tour is of Changi Chapel and Musuem, Also Gardens by the Bay drop off is not done.
Tour is highly recommended especially if you get Joseph as tour guide. The facts you learn about Singapore en route to stops are worth the tour alone. Kranji and Changi are a little sobering. Bright Hill Temple is unbelievable.
Kaw Paw Park can take or leave. Really good thopugh if into Tao Buddhist mythology.

Doing what: Singapore Round-Island Tour with Changi Prison, Kranji War Memorial and Bright Hill Temple

cathie H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was a really great tour , our guide was really informative about I've in Singapore as well as the Changi prison , and world war 2 . I would highly recommend the tour guide and the tour

Doing what: Singapore Round-Island Tour with Changi Prison, Kranji War Memorial and Bright Hill Temple

COLYN S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

good guide and excellent commentary and time at Changi Chapel

Doing what: Changi Chapel and Museum Half-Day Tour from Singapore

Jenny

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Helena was a very interesting tour guide and I really appreciated her knowledge and explanations of the Fall of Singapore in 1942 and in particular the aftermath suffered by not only the Australian and other Allied forces, but also the impact on the people living in Singapore. Learning about what happened at Changi Beach and in the PoW camps should be very important to us all and touring the Changi Museum helped in increasing our awareness of the terrible suffering of those interned in these camps during WW2. Thank you for a very valuable history lesson.

Doing what: Changi WWII War Trail and Museum Tour

Kathy D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent and very moving. The war memorial Changi prison 10/10

Doing what: Singapore Round-Island Tour with Changi Prison, Kranji War Memorial and Bright Hill Temple

Carole L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

The tour and our enthusiastic guide was excellent. The Changi museum and memorial were informative and very moving brought tears to the eyes.

Doing what: Changi WWII War Trail and Museum Tour

Anne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Really interesting morning. Tour was exactly how it was described - found it quite moving finding out what happened during WW2. Wui Wui, our Guide, was brilliant! She certainly knew her stuff, any question asked was answered and didn't feel rushed. The Tour ended at Changi War Museum, where you could stay and see the displays in more detail, however, I felt that Wui Wui covered everything so well. The bus takes you back to the MRT station where they pick you up from. If you have the time - go and see

Doing what: Changi WWII War Trail and Museum Tour

Joyce G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

This was a fantastic tour and well worth the money. The lady who did the commentary was wonderful. Her knowledge of Singapore was comprehensive. She spoke clearly and slowly so that she could be understood. Each time we made a stop we were given plenty of time to look around. The Kranji war memorial was moving Although we could not go into Changi Prison itself, we were able to look around Changi Chapel and Museum. This was very interesting. We were given the opportunity to stay at the Gardens by the Bay or return to our hotel. Lunch was provided at a local Chinese restaurant on the coast facing Malaysia. It was delicious. We would recommend this tour.

Doing what: Singapore Round-Island Tour with Changi Prison, Kranji War Memorial and Bright Hill Temple

Corney L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Excellent tour with great guide. Very informative. We learned so much about many aspects of Singapore, a place like no other! The Changi Prison and Museum is amazing. Note that Gardens by the Bay is only a stop - not admission.

Doing what: Singapore Round-Island Tour with Changi Prison, Kranji War Memorial and Bright Hill Temple

Pam H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Our guide was very informative. Changi is a very emotional 'step back in time' and it certainly makes you think. It is very humbling to see pictures and read stories about the suffering which people endured.
We would suggest all should visit and remember.

Doing what: Private Changi Chapel and Museum Tour from Singapore

Danijela B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

It was a wonderful walking tour, we felt very emotional at the beach and also the Changi chapel. Our tour guide was wonderful and very friendly wui wui you were great thank you for making the trip so wonderful..

Doing what: Changi WWII War Trail and Museum Tour

Patricia S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Fantastic guide, Maggie, was a fountain of knowledge about everything from politics to housing! Very interesting lady. The tour was vary good. First visit was to a monastery where an actual cremation was taking place in the crematorium below. We learned about burial and death customs for the different religions and nationalities that make Singapore their home. The Kranji war museum was interesting as was Changi museum. Lunch was excellent and well worth the money. We ran out of time at Gardens by the Bay so we didn't get to enjoy this part of the tour for more than 30 minutes due to tardy people on the bus. A great tour, worth doing.

Doing what: Singapore Round-Island Tour with Changi Prison, Kranji War Memorial and Bright Hill Temple

Veronica C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Excellent trip around the island. We thought timings may have been a little tight but actually worked well. The guide was very informative. Changi Prison Museum and the Kranji Memorial are extremely moving. The Gardens at the Bay are stunning we spent 3 hours there without any trouble. The tour price only allows for the outside gardens but it is well worth S28 to go inside the different domes.

Doing what: Singapore Round-Island Tour with Changi Prison, Kranji War Memorial and Bright Hill Temple

Keena S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Changi tour was excellent and at times emotional. Our guide Sha was great and very knowledgeable. This tour is a must.

Doing what: Changi WWII War Trail and Museum Tour

Peter K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Very interesting tour of the usually unseen parts of Singapore. The Changi museum was a bit disappointing. Very pleasant lunch.

Doing what: Singapore Round-Island Tour with Changi Prison, Kranji War Memorial and Bright Hill Temple

Warwick M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

My husband and I were so impressed with our tour with Carol. We were so lucky to only have 6 in our group 4 Aussies and 2 Kiwis and so she tailored the tour to what we wanted to hear and do. We could have spent almost 1 day listening to her and browsing through the museum, instead of the 3 hour visit. My husbands father was a POW in Changi prison so being able to visit these areas, see the chapel although not the original,wander through the museum, listen to the stories was a very moving and quite emotional experience. Being able to pay our respects also was so very important. The staff even printed out my husbands fathers war history and details whilst he was imprisoned. There was so much to appreciate and we could have stayed longeras it was we didnt return back to Pasir Ris station till almost 6pm. It is an easy MRT trip to the meeting place and dont be anxious if you wondering if you are at the right point for meeting your tour guideliterally stand at the steps at Exit B and she/he will be there around 2.00pm. Thank you Carol for an unforgettable experience.

Doing what: Changi WWII War Trail and Museum Tour

Laurence H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

The tour guide on this trip Joo Ling was very interesting and informative. She seemed to work with the museum and had met many POW's who had returned to Changi at various times. Knew a lot about the museum and guided the group through and told lots of stories about the background of various items. On this tour you also get out to see the Battery gun. It is such a shame the actual prison was torn down and only a wall with two guard towers remain and you can see it driving by on the bus. Although the tour does not pick up from hotels it is very easy to get to the meeting point at Pasir Ris on the MRT, and was no problem at all.

Doing what: Changi WWII War Trail and Museum Tour

Gregory J E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

A great tour, revealing all the suffering of war at Changi and surrounding areas! Our guide Wina was first class giving us insights into the cruelty, suffering and even some of the humour of the POWs while in captivity. She presented with some humour and had a vast knowledge of the tragedies that occurred , with a little personal history of her own families involvement! I would highly recommend this tour, our only wish was to have spent more time in the museum!

Doing what: Changi WWII War Trail and Museum Tour

Gary F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Thoroughly enjoyed this tour.It was quite emotional for me as my step father had been captured in Singapore in WW2 and had been a P.O.W in Changi and Railway for 3 years! Our tour guide Wui Wui was excellent and her knowledge of Changi history was excellent !! Would highly recommend this tour !!!

Doing what: Changi WWII War Trail and Museum Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message