Singapore ATTRACTIONS See all

Singapore Chinatown

For many visitors, Singapore Chinatown is the sightseeing focus of the city, home to traditional shop houses, temples and cultural heritage. Take a wander down the atmospheric streets, dropping into shop houses to see what’s for sale. Admire ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 242 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Nicole K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We did the Singapore Hawker centre food tour of Chinatown. It was a wonderful experience. Rene is a fabulous and informative host, sharing his extensive knowledge of both the food, but also the history, culture and political life of Singapore. Don and #39;t eat before this tour! The food is generously supplied. I highly recommend this tour. You will have a wonderful time.

Doing what: Singapore Hawker Center Food Tour in Chinatown

martha.gillespie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

It was a great way to see Chinatown!

Doing what: Singapore's Chinatown Trishaw Night Tour with Transfer

Mark Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

A very informative tour.
Not only for the Chinatown history, culture and food, but also Singapore more broadly with a visit to the impressive City Gallery.
Guide spoke excellent English and was eager to help and answer any questions.
Highly recommended.

Doing what: Singapore Hawker Center Food Tour in Chinatown

Dean P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Another awesome evening with a lovely dinner included in Chinatown. The trishaw ride was very interesting and an experience that I will never forget, simply amazing. You also got picked up and taken back to your hotel included in the price. I would have liked to have had some more free time there, but you can always go back if you have some free time on your holiday. Chinatown is a great place to visit.

Doing what: Singapore's Chinatown Trishaw Night Tour with Transfer

Steven H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Started the guided tour in Chinatown followed by dinner which was so-so. Then given 45 minutes or so to wander round Chinatown on our own which we felt really wasn't needed after the guided tour. The trishaw ride through the city centre to Clarke Quay was fantastic, traffic passing on both sides but some really good views of Singapore at night. The bumboat ride on the river nearly eclipsed the trishaw ride but it was a close call. Hotel pick-up and drop off was invaluable. All in all a good tour.

Doing what: Singapore's Chinatown Trishaw Night Tour with Transfer

Robert R B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Our Tour guide explained a lot of great facts and very organized. Even though this was a quick tour we were able to see a good amount. Enjoyed the Orchid Garden and Chinatown along with a quick stop for little Italy. I would recommend doing this one the very first part of your trip. this will allow you to get a layout of the city and see the places. you can then on your own go back to these places or if a specialized tour for 1 place is offered then you can do that.

Doing what: Singapore City Tour

Fred R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

The was a great nighttime tour !! Some people did not enjoy the Chinese herbal remedies shop at the beginning of the tour but most did. It was only 15 or 20 minutes regardless. The shopping in Chinatown at night was fun with the lights and different outdoor shops. The provided dinner was local at the Chinese market and was delicious. The Rickshaw ride was nice and long and the music provide added to the fun. Our driver was fun and we encouraged him which just made it even better. The sights, sounds , traffic and lights made this very enjoyable. A 10 tip for him made his evening even better as the suggested tip was 5. The boat ride was really interesting and the lights around the bay are terrific. I do suggest that you get a seat outside on the aft portion of the boat for the best views. The pick up and drop off worked perfectly and once we all met at the central meeting point it took about 10 minutes and we were off. We only had a third of a bus load so we were very lucky. Our tour guide was fun and kept an eye on us and kept us informed all the time. I highly recommend this nighttime tour as a great way to spend an evening in Singapore !!!!

Doing what: Singapore's Chinatown Trishaw Night Tour with Transfer

Helen C Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Trishaws fun, night ride down Singapore relaxing and lights were stunnng. Food in Chinatown restaurant pleasant. Chinatown market had plenty of variety : a place to find charming souvenirs.

Doing what: Singapore's Chinatown Trishaw Night Tour with Transfer

Mrs C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

better than imagined. Trishaw ride took you on the streets in amongst 4 lanes of traffic. Was amazing. Food was awesome. Not a long time in Chinatown. More of a sampler. Boat ride was pretty relaxing. Great night had by all

Doing what: Singapore's Chinatown Trishaw Night Tour with Transfer

Alisha B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was an awesome tour and a great introduction to Singapore. The dinner was delicious but Chinatown was very disappointing - a lot of junky shops selling the same tacky merchandise. The trishaw ride was brilliant and the bumboat the definite highlights of the night. We had a perfect still night on the water which led to some amazing photos. Our guide Linda was a fantastic and kept the group very well informed and organised given the size and age of some of the attendees a tendency to get lost and hold the tour up. Overall I would definitely recommend this tour to anyone in Singapore for the first time..

Doing what: Singapore's Chinatown Trishaw Night Tour with Transfer

Julie H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This tour was the most fun evening! We loved Chinatown itself, and the boat ride was relaxing, but the highlight was the trishaw ride. Our driver was hilarious - we rode along with music blasting out, all singing along. He was full of information about the local area, quick to joke and really friendly. I haven't laughed so much for a long time!! Would highly recommend this tour to all ages, its a light hearted and inexpensive evening that was one of the highlights of my trip

Doing what: Singapore's Chinatown Trishaw Night Tour with Transfer

Robert D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

What a great adventure, picked up from hotel, group of eight people, toured Chinatown, had great meal, trishaw ride was the pinnacle, then the bum boat ride and our guide was fantastic, well worth the money. Bob and Elaine

Doing what: Singapore's Chinatown Trishaw Night Tour with Transfer

Anne E H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Would recommend this tour to everyone. Excellent value for money. Our meal in Chinatown was very enjoyable and the boat ride gave great views around the bay. Our guide Gary was very informative.

Doing what: Singapore's Chinatown Trishaw Night Tour with Transfer

Carol M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our tour of Chinatown. Our tour guide was extremely pleasant and knowledgeable. Would recommend it to others who want to learn more about the Chinese culture and the NiuCheShui or Chinatown area.

Doing what: Singapore Walking Tour: Chinatown's Rituals and Traditions Including Market Tour and Tea Tasting

John K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our Tour guide Linda Chan was excellent and she had a fantastic sense of humour that made the tour great. Included chinese dinner was seven courses and was in a local restaurant in China Town, only included drinks was Tea so if you want a beer or other drinks then you need to pay extra. Free time given after dinner to browse and shop in the stalls. Trishaw ride from Chinatown to Clarke Quay was fun, and then evening topped off with a boat ride on the river with stunning views of The Marina Bay Sands and the Merlion which were brilliantly lit up at night.

Doing what: Singapore's Chinatown Trishaw Night Tour with Transfer

SAGAR P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Loved the way they helped us understand Singapore !! From understanding the real hidden history of Chinatown and going through the some of the dark underbelly of Singapore to understanding how Singapore became what it is today. Special appreciation to our guide who made the tour exciting and answered all our questions...

Doing what: Singapore at Night: Cultural and Historical Tour of Chinatown

Marilyn S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was a great tour. Bus picked us up promptly at our hotel and took us to Chinatown. We walked around with our tour guide and visited a traditional Chinese medicine shop then walked to dinner at a restaurant. Dinner was so-so but okay. We then had about 30 min. of free time to look in the shops before boarding our trishaws for an E-ticket ride through the streets of Singapore. Very fun despite auto traffic whizzing by at high speeds! They pedaled us to the Singapore riverfront where we boarded boats for a nighttime view of Singapore.....very beautiful and a very different vantage point than on land. For me it was a tie between the trishaw ride and the boat tour as the the best part of this package. Highly recommend it.

Doing what: Singapore's Chinatown Trishaw Night Tour with Transfer

Stefanie S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

First - a heads up. This is not really a 'cultural and historical tour of Chinatown', it is a tour of Singapore's red light districts, past and present, that starts in Chinatown.

WOW! This tour was amazing. Our guide really knew her stuff, was friendly, and really seemed to love her job. We started off in Chinatown, where we went through a restored house cum museum which showed what conditions were like way back when. We then walked through Chinatown to meet the bus, with the guide telling us stories specific to the places we were moving through. She really brought it to life.

We then caught a chartered bus into the very much current red light district of Geylang. Those willing were given the opportunity to try 'shellfish' hmm... turtle! crocodile! lauded by some locals for its virility-increasing powers at a restaurant, before we walked through the main street and some very well lit, only in Singapore back alleys.

All in all, a fantastic night and highly recommended tour. Our guide was fantastic, and it was great to see the other side of Singapore's squeaky clean reputation.

Doing what: Singapore at Night: Cultural and Historical Tour of Chinatown

dlayton1015

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Great evening with all items furnished as promised. Guide was extremely knowledgable, very organized, and coordinated the features of dinner in Chinatown, the Trishaw ride, and riverboat ride with a very keen eye toward excellent outcomes. Worth the time and money for this excursion.

Doing what: Singapore's Chinatown Trishaw Night Tour with Transfer

jonesy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

A great first intro to Chinatown
Our guide Linda Chan was both funny and informative with a exciting Trishaw ride through the busy streets a highlight
The meal was good and the boat ride down the Singapore river finished the night off well
Highly recommended

Doing what: Singapore's Chinatown Trishaw Night Tour with Transfer

eloy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Well worth the money. It was Chinese New Year so everything was very festive. The trishaw and boat ride were worth the price. Chinatown and dinner were fine.

Doing what: Singapore's Chinatown Trishaw Night Tour with Transfer

ALLAN S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This is a terrific tour. After hotel pick-up, we started out in Chinatown, which was decorated
for the new year. There were entertainers there for, I was told, the elderly in the area. We did a walking tour of the Chinatown area, ate in a restaurant there, and next had a trishaw ride to Clarke Quay.
The ride was a lot of fun this caravan of trishaws going down the streets. We then had a night boat
ride which took us to the bay, Marina area. Everyone in our group thought this tour was great.

Doing what: Singapore's Chinatown Trishaw Night Tour with Transfer

Gene

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

We were picked up at the Hotel right on time 4 People and taken to a central lWOW! This was the best of all the Viator tours we have taken. A MUST if visiting Singapore. ocation in Chinatown. There we met our wonderful, experienced, funny and charming tour guide. First we walked the streets with full narration of everything we saw. Then dinner which was fantastic. We were at a local restaurant where asking for a fork and spoon was frowned upon. But OK Then the Trishaw ride through the very busy streets of Chinatown. Actually all that would have been worth the price but then we were taken on a boat ride around the busy downtown area of Singapore. We had the boat to ourselves while our tour guide explained everything. To cap off the night we were picked up and taken back to our hotel. How can they do this? The price was great, the tour was great, the guide was great and the city is a once in a lifetime experience.
DO IT!

Doing what: Singapore's Chinatown Trishaw Night Tour with Transfer

Brian M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This was a fantastic tour! Began in Chinatown and got free time to explore the markets, dinner was at a lovely restaurant and was Yum-Cha style. The tri-shaw tour was definitely a highlight of this whole night: it began in Chinatown, went along the streets of Singapore, finishing in Clarke Quay. The riders were all friendly and made it such a great experience. Our bum boat ride was equally amazing, it went right past Marina Bay Sands and the Merlion which were highlights to see at night. Highly recommend this tour to anyone seeing Singapore for the first time, or just looking for a different experience. Great for all ages!

Doing what: Singapore's Chinatown Trishaw Night Tour with Transfer

James S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Our guide was great. We learned so much about the history of Chinatown and the city of Singapore. He took us around to many food stalls and fed us a lot more than we ever imagined. This tour was five star.

Doing what: Singapore Hawker Center Food Tour in Chinatown

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message