Singapore ATTRACTIONS See all

Singapore Chinatown

For many visitors, Singapore Chinatown is the sightseeing focus of the city, home to traditional shop houses, temples and cultural heritage. Take a wander down the atmospheric streets, dropping into shop houses to see what’s for sale. Admire ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 227 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Alisha B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was an awesome tour and a great introduction to Singapore. The dinner was delicious but Chinatown was very disappointing - a lot of junky shops selling the same tacky merchandise. The trishaw ride was brilliant and the bumboat the definite highlights of the night. We had a perfect still night on the water which led to some amazing photos. Our guide Linda was a fantastic and kept the group very well informed and organised given the size and age of some of the attendees a tendency to get lost and hold the tour up. Overall I would definitely recommend this tour to anyone in Singapore for the first time..

Doing what: Singapore's Chinatown Trishaw Night Tour with Transfer

Julie H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This tour was the most fun evening! We loved Chinatown itself, and the boat ride was relaxing, but the highlight was the trishaw ride. Our driver was hilarious - we rode along with music blasting out, all singing along. He was full of information about the local area, quick to joke and really friendly. I haven't laughed so much for a long time!! Would highly recommend this tour to all ages, its a light hearted and inexpensive evening that was one of the highlights of my trip

Doing what: Singapore's Chinatown Trishaw Night Tour with Transfer

Robert D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

What a great adventure, picked up from hotel, group of eight people, toured Chinatown, had great meal, trishaw ride was the pinnacle, then the bum boat ride and our guide was fantastic, well worth the money. Bob and Elaine

Doing what: Singapore's Chinatown Trishaw Night Tour with Transfer

Anne E H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Would recommend this tour to everyone. Excellent value for money. Our meal in Chinatown was very enjoyable and the boat ride gave great views around the bay. Our guide Gary was very informative.

Doing what: Singapore's Chinatown Trishaw Night Tour with Transfer

Carol M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our tour of Chinatown. Our tour guide was extremely pleasant and knowledgeable. Would recommend it to others who want to learn more about the Chinese culture and the NiuCheShui or Chinatown area.

Doing what: Singapore Walking Tour: Chinatown's Rituals and Traditions Including Market Tour and Tea Tasting

John K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our Tour guide Linda Chan was excellent and she had a fantastic sense of humour that made the tour great. Included chinese dinner was seven courses and was in a local restaurant in China Town, only included drinks was Tea so if you want a beer or other drinks then you need to pay extra. Free time given after dinner to browse and shop in the stalls. Trishaw ride from Chinatown to Clarke Quay was fun, and then evening topped off with a boat ride on the river with stunning views of The Marina Bay Sands and the Merlion which were brilliantly lit up at night.

Doing what: Singapore's Chinatown Trishaw Night Tour with Transfer

SAGAR P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Loved the way they helped us understand Singapore !! From understanding the real hidden history of Chinatown and going through the some of the dark underbelly of Singapore to understanding how Singapore became what it is today. Special appreciation to our guide who made the tour exciting and answered all our questions...

Doing what: Singapore at Night: Cultural and Historical Tour of Chinatown

Marilyn S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was a great tour. Bus picked us up promptly at our hotel and took us to Chinatown. We walked around with our tour guide and visited a traditional Chinese medicine shop then walked to dinner at a restaurant. Dinner was so-so but okay. We then had about 30 min. of free time to look in the shops before boarding our trishaws for an E-ticket ride through the streets of Singapore. Very fun despite auto traffic whizzing by at high speeds! They pedaled us to the Singapore riverfront where we boarded boats for a nighttime view of Singapore.....very beautiful and a very different vantage point than on land. For me it was a tie between the trishaw ride and the boat tour as the the best part of this package. Highly recommend it.

Doing what: Singapore's Chinatown Trishaw Night Tour with Transfer

Stefanie S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

First - a heads up. This is not really a 'cultural and historical tour of Chinatown', it is a tour of Singapore's red light districts, past and present, that starts in Chinatown.

WOW! This tour was amazing. Our guide really knew her stuff, was friendly, and really seemed to love her job. We started off in Chinatown, where we went through a restored house cum museum which showed what conditions were like way back when. We then walked through Chinatown to meet the bus, with the guide telling us stories specific to the places we were moving through. She really brought it to life.

We then caught a chartered bus into the very much current red light district of Geylang. Those willing were given the opportunity to try 'shellfish' hmm... turtle! crocodile! lauded by some locals for its virility-increasing powers at a restaurant, before we walked through the main street and some very well lit, only in Singapore back alleys.

All in all, a fantastic night and highly recommended tour. Our guide was fantastic, and it was great to see the other side of Singapore's squeaky clean reputation.

Doing what: Singapore at Night: Cultural and Historical Tour of Chinatown

dlayton1015

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Great evening with all items furnished as promised. Guide was extremely knowledgable, very organized, and coordinated the features of dinner in Chinatown, the Trishaw ride, and riverboat ride with a very keen eye toward excellent outcomes. Worth the time and money for this excursion.

Doing what: Singapore's Chinatown Trishaw Night Tour with Transfer

jonesy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

A great first intro to Chinatown
Our guide Linda Chan was both funny and informative with a exciting Trishaw ride through the busy streets a highlight
The meal was good and the boat ride down the Singapore river finished the night off well
Highly recommended

Doing what: Singapore's Chinatown Trishaw Night Tour with Transfer

eloy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Well worth the money. It was Chinese New Year so everything was very festive. The trishaw and boat ride were worth the price. Chinatown and dinner were fine.

Doing what: Singapore's Chinatown Trishaw Night Tour with Transfer

ALLAN S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This is a terrific tour. After hotel pick-up, we started out in Chinatown, which was decorated
for the new year. There were entertainers there for, I was told, the elderly in the area. We did a walking tour of the Chinatown area, ate in a restaurant there, and next had a trishaw ride to Clarke Quay.
The ride was a lot of fun this caravan of trishaws going down the streets. We then had a night boat
ride which took us to the bay, Marina area. Everyone in our group thought this tour was great.

Doing what: Singapore's Chinatown Trishaw Night Tour with Transfer

Gene

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

We were picked up at the Hotel right on time 4 People and taken to a central lWOW! This was the best of all the Viator tours we have taken. A MUST if visiting Singapore. ocation in Chinatown. There we met our wonderful, experienced, funny and charming tour guide. First we walked the streets with full narration of everything we saw. Then dinner which was fantastic. We were at a local restaurant where asking for a fork and spoon was frowned upon. But OK Then the Trishaw ride through the very busy streets of Chinatown. Actually all that would have been worth the price but then we were taken on a boat ride around the busy downtown area of Singapore. We had the boat to ourselves while our tour guide explained everything. To cap off the night we were picked up and taken back to our hotel. How can they do this? The price was great, the tour was great, the guide was great and the city is a once in a lifetime experience.
DO IT!

Doing what: Singapore's Chinatown Trishaw Night Tour with Transfer

Brian M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This was a fantastic tour! Began in Chinatown and got free time to explore the markets, dinner was at a lovely restaurant and was Yum-Cha style. The tri-shaw tour was definitely a highlight of this whole night: it began in Chinatown, went along the streets of Singapore, finishing in Clarke Quay. The riders were all friendly and made it such a great experience. Our bum boat ride was equally amazing, it went right past Marina Bay Sands and the Merlion which were highlights to see at night. Highly recommend this tour to anyone seeing Singapore for the first time, or just looking for a different experience. Great for all ages!

Doing what: Singapore's Chinatown Trishaw Night Tour with Transfer

James S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Our guide was great. We learned so much about the history of Chinatown and the city of Singapore. He took us around to many food stalls and fed us a lot more than we ever imagined. This tour was five star.

Doing what: Singapore Hawker Center Food Tour in Chinatown

Patricia H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Just finished the tour and loved it! It had a little of everything...Chinatown's history, an exhilarating trishaw ride, a good Chinese dinner, and a night cruise on the Singapore River. Would highly recommend it!

Doing what: Singapore's Chinatown Trishaw Night Tour with Transfer

Tomi O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

The tour guide did an excellent job presenting the history and culture of Chinatown. We visited an herbalist, took part in the tea ceremony, learned about the wedding and funeral customs and the food of Singapore. It was a very interesting and educational tour.

Doing what: Singapore Walking Tour: Chinatown's Rituals and Traditions Including Market Tour and Tea Tasting

Helen J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This is a MUST do tour. Loved every minute of it especially the Trishaw ride. We had a very entertaining rider with excellent boom boom box playing music. Public were waving and taking pics of us. Dinner was very tasty and fresh. Just the right amount of time spent shopping/viewing in Chinatown. Loved the harbour boat ride and commentary. Night time view of Singapore completely different. Well worth the money and highly recommend this. Another box ticked.

Doing what: Singapore's Chinatown Trishaw Night Tour with Transfer

Karen C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This tour was fabulous. We had the best time doing this tour out of all things we did on our 16 night holiday. The tour host was really funny and entertaining, the included meal was excellent, looking around Chinatown was great. The Trishaw ride was sooo good. We had great weather and they all worked hard to make sure we had fun. The bumboat ride was also excellent and we saw so much in a short time. Everything was timed to perfection and it couldn't have been better !! loved every minute of it !! I highly recommend this to anyone wanting a good night out.

Doing what: Singapore's Chinatown Trishaw Night Tour with Transfer

Emma J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

What a blast this tour was. Being picked up late, was not the best way to start, but the whole night after that was unforgettable. Started at a Chinese pharmacy with traditional and Western cures for just about everything, unfortunately the cost of some of the cures was enough to make you well by yourself. We then went for a small walk to a Chinese restaurant for a meal.
Chinese tea was served first up and this is definitely an acquired taste, and I haven't acquired it but the rest of the meal was great. We hen went to meet up with our Trishaw Drivers at Smith Street I still can't get over this street name being used in Chinatown. The trishaw ride was incredible, and really demonstrated the tolerance of Singapore drivers.
With both of us being on the larger side, we sought out a trishaw with what looked like the youngest and fittest driver, because we new someone was in for a hard time. The driver we ended up with was fantastic. He had a great sense of humour and answered the many questions that we asked of him. The highlight of the ride had to be the drag down the main road to Clarke Quay. We were three trishaws wide, taking up three lanes, have a drag race to get to the corner first. Everyone in the group couldn't stop laughing at this, and the cars and buses just casually passed us by without a care in the world. I could not imagine this happening in Pitt Street in Sydney.
Finally we arrived at Clarke Quay and went on a Bumboat ride. What we were in was the Singapore River and Marina Bay and it became a tour of Singapore from a different perspective and a view of many of the sights of Singapore that you might not normally get.
To add to the thrill we were treated to a light and laser show from Marina Sands, an added bonus.
This was an excellent night and one that I will do again when we return to Singapore.
This is definitely one of the best value for money tours available and you won't be disappointed.

Doing what: Singapore's Chinatown Trishaw Night Tour with Transfer

Sammy M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Awesome experience. Rene did a great job of showing the culture and history of Singapore and Chinatown as well as the food. He also gave me some great tips for going out at night. Would definitely recommend again, and I will do this trip again the next time I am in Sinagpore

Doing what: Singapore Hawker Center Food Tour in Chinatown

fionatully

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We loved this tour of Chinatown, and learned so much from our guide Siew Tin about the Chinese rituals around birth, death and marriage.

Doing what: Singapore Walking Tour: Chinatown's Rituals and Traditions Including Market Tour and Tea Tasting

Damien P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Very good tour with very good guide. The food quality was just above average on this excursion. Boat ride was very good. We had 45 minutes to walk around Chinatown. We didnt get this as described Watch a calligrapher at work and receive a personal sample of Chinese writing to keep but did go to a Traditional Chinese medicine shop and had an informative talk there, then recieved a free gift.

Doing what: Singapore's Chinatown Trishaw Night Tour with Transfer

Linda P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Had a great evening with Benny. Just a fun evening exploring some of Chinatown, having a trishaw ride and great trip around the waterways seeing the various landmarks. I did this tour 5 years ago and recommended it to the group I was with this time and we all enjoyed it.

Doing what: Singapore's Chinatown Trishaw Night Tour with Transfer

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message