A must on any trip to Singapore is to visit a hawker center; a variety of food stalls under one roof. The hawker stalls are somewhere between street food and a restaurant, with lots of seating, eating utensils provided, and a wide variety of foods ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 141 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Jo L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Gerry was awesome. My husband and I had the best time. The food was fantastic, and Gerry is the best tour guide ever. It was just the two of us, and we were very well looked after. Gerry gave us a great experience, lots of insider information on living in Singapore, picked some fantastic foods out for us, and generally made it the highlight of our trip! Thank you so much!

Doing what: Singapore Hawker Center Food Tasting Tour and Neighbourhood Discovery Experience with Hotel Transfer

Rebecca J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

What a wonderful tour! Rene was such an informative guide and taught us so much about the history of Singapore. We expected the usual, walking through hawker centers and trying local fare, but this tour was so much more. Highly suggest this tour!!

Doing what: Singapore Hawker Center Food Tour in Chinatown

John L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Jerry was great. Really showed us a local scene we would not have done if by ourselves.

Doing what: Singapore Hawker Center Food Tasting Tour and Neighbourhood Discovery Experience with Hotel Transfer

Mei Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The tour guide is so knowledgeable and considerste!
It was an amazing experience. Thanks!

Doing what: Singapore Heritage Tour: Peranakan Museum, Spice Garden and Food Tasting

Benjamin S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was a great afternoon. Gerry took the time to confirm our meeting details before the day via text, and was at the hotel early to greet us. We enjoyed the walk around Chinatown and of course the various types of food that Gerry provided for us. And on top of that, once he figured out we were beer drinkers he made sure we had plenty of that as well. Gerry was a great source of information about Chinatown and Singapore in general, and we enjoyed the conversation. Great tour - give it a go!

Doing what: Singapore Hawker Center Food Tasting Tour and Neighbourhood Discovery Experience with Hotel Transfer

Gerry A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Great tour!.. our guide was personable, fluent in English language, and knowlegeable about the food and culture of Singapore. He escorted us through the Hawker Center and explaind the variety of food and food preparation. Then he fund a table for us and went in search of a variety of dishes which he rought to us for tasting. As we ate, he continued to describe the food and its place in the cultur.

Doing what: Singapore Hawker Center Food Tour in Chinatown

rodney s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Our guide gave us history about the Chinese quarter as we walked through the area and a glimpse of ome of the life in Singapore. The food at the Hawker area was very interesting and fun to try.

Doing what: Singapore Hawker Center Food Tasting Tour and Neighbourhood Discovery Experience with Hotel Transfer

Deborah C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

A really interesting trip appealing to all the senses. Very informative. Great to see another cultural aspect of Singapore that is not so obvious.

Doing what: Singapore Heritage Tour: Peranakan Museum, Spice Garden and Food Tasting

Ian J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Very know knowledgeable guide which made for a wondering tour

Doing what: Singapore Hawker Center Food Tour in Chinatown

Marama P New Zealand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Fantastic tour and tour guide highly recommend.

Doing what: Singapore Hawker Center Food Tour in Chinatown

Tracey H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

My husband and I went on this tour in February 2016 on our first visit to Singapore. What we didn't realise was that this was a private tour so it was just us and Gerry our tour guide which was great! It was so personal it felt like we were meeting a friend. It was great to walk around with a local, trying different local dishes and having our questions about Singapore answered. Gerry was very friendly and knowledgeable. We got to try many different dishes and in the end had to say we can't possibly eat anymore! Gerry paid for everything...transport to and from our hotel and all meals and drinks. The food was delicious and we got to try things we normally wouldn't have even known about! This tour is great if you're into trying local street food and getting off the tourist track. You won't get fine dining, what you will get is a great local food experience! Thanks Gerry!

Doing what: Singapore Hawker Center Food Tasting Tour and Neighbourhood Discovery Experience with Hotel Transfer

Dale G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

The tour was a quick view of a few areas of the city and the guide was great. It was during the Chinese New Year and he managed the touring extremely well with the traffic, closed businesses and returned us to the hotel happy and refreshed.

Doing what: Singapore Heritage Tour: Peranakan Museum, Spice Garden and Food Tasting

Cheryl P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

We had a great time with Gerry! He picked us up at our hotel and we then spent a very enjoyable 3 hrs with him. We visited the China town Hawker market no other tourists in sight there!, did a walk about and then headed to the Maxwell Hawker Centre. We tried a variety of foods and Gerry gave us some background on the area and Singapore in general. We were very pleased with this tour and can highly recommend it! Thank you Gerry and Singapore Foodsters!

Doing what: Singapore Hawker Center Food Tasting Tour and Neighbourhood Discovery Experience with Hotel Transfer

Robert S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

I was ill and unable to attend the tour, 3 others in our party did join Gerry and had a great time. Our party returned to Singapore cruise ship about a week after our original tour and Gerry ended up being a huge help to us in coordinating a logistical issue we'd run into. Gerry went well above and beyond. In short Gerry is one of those guides that we hope to be able to return the favor to some day. We hope when he visits our home town we'll have an opportunity help him learn about the local flavors!

Doing what: Singapore Hawker Center Food Tasting Tour and Neighbourhood Discovery Experience with Hotel Transfer

James S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Our guide was great. We learned so much about the history of Chinatown and the city of Singapore. He took us around to many food stalls and fed us a lot more than we ever imagined. This tour was five star.

Doing what: Singapore Hawker Center Food Tour in Chinatown

jemr72

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

We were privileged to have a tour with Gerry who has a wealth of knowledge of this beautiful country. Gerry took us through the wet markets, Sri Mariamman temple, hawkers market where we sampled many of the local dishes famous to Singapore. The food was in abundance and absolutely delicious. As walked through Chinatown we learnt about the history and culture. We found this a very informative tour and definitely worth doing. Thanks Gerry.

Doing what: Singapore Hawker Center Food Tasting Tour and Neighbourhood Discovery Experience with Hotel Transfer

Sarai M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Fantastic introduction to life in Singapore. We thought it was simply a food tour but were treated to lots of information on modern Singapore. After the tour we felt confident enough to try Hawker centres on a daily basis. Thanks!

Doing what: Singapore Hawker Center Food Tour in Chinatown

Sammy M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Awesome experience. Rene did a great job of showing the culture and history of Singapore and Chinatown as well as the food. He also gave me some great tips for going out at night. Would definitely recommend again, and I will do this trip again the next time I am in Sinagpore

Doing what: Singapore Hawker Center Food Tour in Chinatown

Jennifer A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Wonderfully knowledgeable entertaining guide Rene. Passionate about Singapore. We tried many different dishes, many of which we probably wouldn't have tried without his guidance. All of which were excellent. We also visited the market under the Hawker Centre which was fascinating. It was a well worthwhile tour. Would love to do it again.

Doing what: Singapore Hawker Center Food Tour in Chinatown

Kaz Japan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

英語が理解できてディープなチャイナタウン探索をしたい方、ホーカーフード初心者の方、そしてシンガポールの文化や成り立ちについて知りたい方にお勧めのツアーです。純ジャパの娘高校生は「経済の話はよくわからなかったけど、あとは結構理解できた」と申しておりました。ガイドのルネは日本語を勉強した経験があり、結構単語はご存知でした。

Doing what: Singapore Hawker Center Food Tour in Chinatown

Anne S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This tour was excellent and far exceeded our expectations. Rene is so enthusiastic and passionate about Singapore, it's food, history and daily life. I would recommend this to anyone. Anne New Zealand

Doing what: Singapore Hawker Center Food Tour in Chinatown

Vicky M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This tour was really great. Rene is so knowledgable making Singapore come alive for us. The food was fabulous, we enjoyed it so much that we went back to the market the next day.

Doing what: Singapore Hawker Center Food Tour in Chinatown

Janine A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Singapore Hawker Center Food Tour in Chinatown

HugoS

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Excellent tour. Rene was entertaining, knowledgeable and informative in an enthusiastic manner. Well worth the fee. Better to take the MRT than a taxi as easier to find the meeting spot from within the station than without.

Doing what: Singapore Hawker Center Food Tour in Chinatown

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message