In Singapore, eating is practically a national pastime, and the best place to experience the depth and diversity of the nation's melting pot gastronomic scene is at a hawker center. Similar to a mall food court (but way better), a hawker center ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 157 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

kathyking823

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

We did the tour with Gerry and Jo and had a wonderful time. The food was wonderful and plenty of it. Gerry and Jo were so easy to get along with and extremely informative. We enjoyed their company and would recommend this tour.

Doing what: Singapore Hawker Center Food Tour and Neighborhood Walk with Hotel Transfer

damienzoomers

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was a fantastic tour - thanks to our guides Gerry and Jo for this introduction to Singaporian food. Plus some great trips for our stay.

Doing what: Singapore Hawker Center Food Tour and Neighborhood Walk with Hotel Transfer

tahlia.stuhmcke

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

My husband and I had never visited Singapore before and decided we wanted to get a taste of the place from a local point of view. Gerry's tour of Little India was amazing! We took it a few local hot spots as well as a hawker centre. The Indian festival of lights 'Deepavali' forgive my terrible spelling was just around the corner so Little India really came alive with lots of markets, street decorations etc. The temple was also a great experience! Gerry was extremely knowledgable and we learnt so much. He was also exceptionally attentive and generous with his time. We tasted dishes and drinks we would never have tried before which is EXACTLY the experience we were after. To anyone who wants a tour that will show you a 'real' side of Singapore, we cannot recommend Gerry's tour enough!

Doing what: Singapore Hawker Center Food Tour and Neighborhood Walk with Hotel Transfer

Denis O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

It was amazing to see the and taste the different foods available at the markets.
We now cant wait to go back and stay somewhere we can buy and cook some of the foods we saw.

Doing what: Singapore's Chinatown Food Tour

Katherine H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We had such an awesome time! Gerry and Jo provided us with a fun evening and lots of amazing food! Highly recommend this food tour.

Doing what: Singapore Hawker Center Food Tour and Neighborhood Walk with Hotel Transfer

angiedesousa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Had a fabulous time on one of our many food tours taken through different countries. This one was brilliant. Had some proper local food in the food markets, eating locally, with some delicious flavours and variety. We also got to see a few local bits like an amazing temple and a little history of Singapore. We saw the Michelin starred hawker stall, which was closed when we went - but we knew where to go back to! Which was a horrendous queue which we passed on!. Lovely knowledgable company, was just me and my friend. Highly recommend this to get a real feel for the place, with local cuisine and also to know where to go for the good food when you are on your own. We did this at the start of our time in Singapore and feel this is the right time to do it. Lovely. Thank you. :

Doing what: Singapore Hawker Center Food Tour and Neighborhood Walk with Hotel Transfer

Florence M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We had a great time. Picked up here by Jerry who was absolutely fabulous. We then went to Chinatown and walked around the shops and bought more trinkets. Them met his wife Jo who joined us and we went to the Hawker food centre and the food was absolutely fantastic. Jo and Jerry were very entertaining and would highly recommend them. They were the best. We then walked around and did a little more shopping the taken back to our hotel. Great time was had by all. Flo

Doing what: Singapore Hawker Center Food Tour and Neighborhood Walk with Hotel Transfer

robsysr

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

One of the best tours I have ever been on! Our guide, with such a sense of humour, led us on a trip that incorporated a tasting trip, interesting plant information and then was if that was not such an amazing enough, led us to the Museum and imparted so much knowledge. Do not miss this trip!

Doing what: Singapore Heritage Tour: Peranakan Museum, Spice Garden and Food Tasting

Kaye United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This tour is great fun! Our guide navigated us through the stalls, picking out interesting dishes and explaining the food and history as we chowed down. Speaking of history, the tour includes lots of information about Singapore and its evolution. A trip across the street to the Singapore City Gallery supplied interesting visuals to historic facts. The guide was knowledgeable and I was amazed how much more I learned and enjoyed the stalls, than when I went on my own. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Singapore Hawker Center Food Tour in Chinatown

Angela D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

My sister and I thoroughly enjoyed our walking food tour. Gerry was very promptly in our lobby to begin our tour of Little India. The tour, information, food and Gerry's company was absolutely fantastic. Highly recommend. Thanks Gerry, and thanks for the pics you send.
Yes hope to see you somewhere again!
Angela and Jenny from Perth, WA.

Doing what: Singapore Hawker Center Food Tour and Neighborhood Walk with Hotel Transfer

Julia Lauren W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was the most colorful and informative tour I took in Singapore. Our guide, Wui Wui, was fun and friendly and very knowledgeable! A must try tour!

Doing what: Singapore's Chinatown Food Tour

Ritchie W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We enjoyed learning about the different foods that the locals eat in Singapore. We would highly recommend Gerry, the guide. His English was very good, he was friendly, warm and courteous.

Doing what: Singapore Hawker Center Food Tour and Neighborhood Walk with Hotel Transfer

Jo L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Gerry was awesome. My husband and I had the best time. The food was fantastic, and Gerry is the best tour guide ever. It was just the two of us, and we were very well looked after. Gerry gave us a great experience, lots of insider information on living in Singapore, picked some fantastic foods out for us, and generally made it the highlight of our trip! Thank you so much!

Doing what: Singapore Hawker Center Food Tour and Neighborhood Walk with Hotel Transfer

Rebecca J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

What a wonderful tour! Rene was such an informative guide and taught us so much about the history of Singapore. We expected the usual, walking through hawker centers and trying local fare, but this tour was so much more. Highly suggest this tour!!

Doing what: Singapore Hawker Center Food Tour in Chinatown

John L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Jerry was great. Really showed us a local scene we would not have done if by ourselves.

Doing what: Singapore Hawker Center Food Tour and Neighborhood Walk with Hotel Transfer

Mei Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The tour guide is so knowledgeable and considerste!
It was an amazing experience. Thanks!

Doing what: Singapore Heritage Tour: Peranakan Museum, Spice Garden and Food Tasting

Benjamin S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was a great afternoon. Gerry took the time to confirm our meeting details before the day via text, and was at the hotel early to greet us. We enjoyed the walk around Chinatown and of course the various types of food that Gerry provided for us. And on top of that, once he figured out we were beer drinkers he made sure we had plenty of that as well. Gerry was a great source of information about Chinatown and Singapore in general, and we enjoyed the conversation. Great tour - give it a go!

Doing what: Singapore Hawker Center Food Tour and Neighborhood Walk with Hotel Transfer

Gerry A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Great tour!.. our guide was personable, fluent in English language, and knowlegeable about the food and culture of Singapore. He escorted us through the Hawker Center and explaind the variety of food and food preparation. Then he fund a table for us and went in search of a variety of dishes which he rought to us for tasting. As we ate, he continued to describe the food and its place in the cultur.

Doing what: Singapore Hawker Center Food Tour in Chinatown

rodney s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Our guide gave us history about the Chinese quarter as we walked through the area and a glimpse of ome of the life in Singapore. The food at the Hawker area was very interesting and fun to try.

Doing what: Singapore Hawker Center Food Tour and Neighborhood Walk with Hotel Transfer

Deborah C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

A really interesting trip appealing to all the senses. Very informative. Great to see another cultural aspect of Singapore that is not so obvious.

Doing what: Singapore Heritage Tour: Peranakan Museum, Spice Garden and Food Tasting

Ian J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Very know knowledgeable guide which made for a wondering tour

Doing what: Singapore Hawker Center Food Tour in Chinatown

Marama P New Zealand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Fantastic tour and tour guide highly recommend.

Doing what: Singapore Hawker Center Food Tour in Chinatown

Tracey H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

My husband and I went on this tour in February 2016 on our first visit to Singapore. What we didn't realise was that this was a private tour so it was just us and Gerry our tour guide which was great! It was so personal it felt like we were meeting a friend. It was great to walk around with a local, trying different local dishes and having our questions about Singapore answered. Gerry was very friendly and knowledgeable. We got to try many different dishes and in the end had to say we can't possibly eat anymore! Gerry paid for everything...transport to and from our hotel and all meals and drinks. The food was delicious and we got to try things we normally wouldn't have even known about! This tour is great if you're into trying local street food and getting off the tourist track. You won't get fine dining, what you will get is a great local food experience! Thanks Gerry!

Doing what: Singapore Hawker Center Food Tour and Neighborhood Walk with Hotel Transfer

Dale G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

The tour was a quick view of a few areas of the city and the guide was great. It was during the Chinese New Year and he managed the touring extremely well with the traffic, closed businesses and returned us to the hotel happy and refreshed.

Doing what: Singapore Heritage Tour: Peranakan Museum, Spice Garden and Food Tasting

Cheryl P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

We had a great time with Gerry! He picked us up at our hotel and we then spent a very enjoyable 3 hrs with him. We visited the China town Hawker market no other tourists in sight there!, did a walk about and then headed to the Maxwell Hawker Centre. We tried a variety of foods and Gerry gave us some background on the area and Singapore in general. We were very pleased with this tour and can highly recommend it! Thank you Gerry and Singapore Foodsters!

Doing what: Singapore Hawker Center Food Tour and Neighborhood Walk with Hotel Transfer

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message