Skagway ATTRACTIONS See all

Klondike Gold Rush National Historical Park

The Klondike is synonymous with the gold rush days of the late 19th century, when the frontier settlement of Skagway exploded from a population of just two to 20,000 in a mere 10 years. The Klondike Gold Rush National Historical Park protects the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 89 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Emily A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

It was a great hike and float. Our guide was nice, knowledgeable and fun. Nothing but good things to say!

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Chilkoot Trail Hike and Float Tour

Lauren G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Excellent trip! A short but challenging two mile hike on rooty and rocky terrain through the woods followed by a leisurely float down the river where all you need to do is enjoy the beautiful scenery. Unfortunately we saw no wildlife. The closest we got to seeing a bear was skat on the trail!
Our guide Brooke was amazing! She is a native Alaskan and was so knowledgeable regarding the history of the Chilkoot trail as well as, the wild plants we passed along the way. Under her guidance, we able to taste many of the wild berries and learn the medicinal purposes for several plants growing on the mountains.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Chilkoot Trail Hike and Float Tour

Donald A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

A great excursion. Tour guide met us at the ship and stayed with us until the tour concluded and dropped us off in town or would have taken us back to the ship. The group was small a total of 5 and made for a great tour. The guide was knowledgeable and well trained on the float. I would recommend taking this excursion.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Chilkoot Trail Hike and Float Tour

REID B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We had a great time on the hike and float. Gan was a great guide and gave us great flora and fauna information, as well as history of the area as we were hiking. The float was very fun as the river was up and carried us down the river rather swiftly. We saw 4 bald eagles nesting by the river.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Chilkoot Trail Hike and Float Tour

coralie.pieper

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Wonderful excursion. Highly recommend this trip for lovers of hiking and river rafting. Absolutely gorgeous part of the world. Our guide was so informative.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Chilkoot Trail Hike and Float Tour

tcbcshopping United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Luckily we had great weather. The hike is pretty strenuous not recommended for those out of shape or having balance problems.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Chilkoot Trail Hike and Float Tour

Duey97

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Awesome from start to finish!!! Bob is the perfect guide for the tour and was a bundle of information.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Chilkoot Trail Hike and Float Tour

Carl H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Sam was great. He was very knowledgeable about the plants and history of the area. A hike and a float give you two perspectives and some excellent views.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Chilkoot Trail Hike and Float Tour

Barbara L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We had an excellent guide who was so knowledgeable and friendly. The hike was strenuous and the day was very warm but we were with a fun group. The float took a bit too long but overall it was a very good and challenging experience.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Chilkoot Trail Hike and Float Tour

Todd S

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Brian was a great guide. We had a group of 9, ages 9 to 78 and all seemed to enjoy the experience.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Chilkoot Trail Hike and Float Tour

Linda S T

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

This tour was a wonderful but very challenging experience. I think that this hike is harder than was advertised with more down hill climbing than I expected. Otherwise, the guide was awesome and did no try to move us along any faster than we could handle. Just make sure you know that this hike is really for those in pretty good shape and can handle the rocks, roots and down hill climb. The float trip was magical. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Chilkoot Trail Hike and Float Tour

Randal H

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

Rush to the finish line! Although our guide tried repeatedly to pause the group and tell us about the forest and edible plants, most of the group was on an athletic outing and wanted only to reach the finish line. My wife and I struggled to keep up and were not able to enjoy the time in the forest. The place was beautiful, and worthy of pausing and looking at it.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Chilkoot Trail Hike and Float Tour

Robert P

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2016

Fabulous day! Small group, beautiful hike through rainforest and our guide helped us over the steep parts........and we needed it! Sonia and Robert

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Chilkoot Trail Hike and Float Tour

Marnie Thao N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great great hike! Beautiful forest and a great light workout to counter the inactivity on the cruise. It was breathtaking at every corner and our tour guide Sam is super knowledgeable about not only the area and its history but also about the vegetation in the forest. He was so excited about nature and made the hike a memorable one.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Chilkoot Trail Hike and Float Tour

David J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our tour guide, Gann, was very patient and knowledgable. He made the tour interesting and safe at all times. Speed was limited by the slowest person in the group, which was too slow for us. Overall though the best tour on our cruise.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Chilkoot Trail Hike and Float Tour

melinda1az

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We absolutely loved our excursion! Brooke was a wealth of knowledge and opened our eyes to the beauty and serenity of Alaska. Thanks so much for everything!

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Chilkoot Trail Hike and Float Tour

Steven H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We went hiking at every port in Alaska. We could have skipped the others. Brooke was by far the most knowledgeable guide we had on our trip.We learned a ton about the native plants and their uses. This was a true hike not just a dirt path through the woods. The final float down the river to enjoy the beautiful scenery was a terrific way to finish. This excursion was our favorite outing of our entire time in Alaska.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Chilkoot Trail Hike and Float Tour

Lisa E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Becca was a great guide-very knowledgable about the flora and fauna.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Chilkoot Trail Hike and Float Tour

Linda P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Everything about this trip was wonderful. Our leader, Brook, was so informative and pleasant. She kept a good pace for our small group. Would recommend.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Chilkoot Trail Hike and Float Tour

Lucy R

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2015

This was OK. The trail hike was reasonably easy and the float down the river was pleasant.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Chilkoot Trail Hike and Float Tour

Jim H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

One of the best tours we have every taken. Loved every minute.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Chilkoot Trail Hike and Float Tour

Jonquille C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Really good tour. Our guide, Joe, was excellent. Hike was moderate nice mix of up , down, and flats. Float trip was great, saw Bear, Eagles, seals
Highly recommend

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Chilkoot Trail Hike and Float Tour

Susan G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

We had a fabulous time. The hike was pretty strenuous, but our guide, Gann Brewer, went out of his way to help. He made the excursion fun and exciting, keeping us safe, yet having fun. On the way back, he pointed out fun facts about Skagway and dropped us off wherever we wanted to go. I would highly recommend the trip.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Chilkoot Trail Hike and Float Tour

Kim K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This was a great tour. The first mile of the 2 mile hike was a little steep, but our tour guide, Bob, had us take breaks so it wasn't too hard. There were lots of tree roots on the trail to avoid, but Bob showed us where to step to we wouldn't fall. He explained a lot about the rainforest trees and plants. The second mile of the trail was mostly flat and easier, but just as scenic. The float on the river was also very good. Bob showed us how to get into the raft so we wouldn't fall. As we floated down the river he pointed out bald eagles and other wildlife. For a short while we were followed by two harbor seals. So cute. At the end of the trip we got a light snack. The ride in the van to the trail was also scenic and Bob told us more interesting stories about the area. It was a great trip and worth the price.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Chilkoot Trail Hike and Float Tour

Donald S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The tour was excellent but it was strenuous for my wife who has a knee issue. The guide was the best.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Chilkoot Trail Hike and Float Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message